Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

6 Nations
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:39 pm    Post subject: 6 Nations Reply with quote

Anyone interested in the 6 Nations coming up? I've got tickets for the France game at the weekend and looking forward to it. Think we might do ok if we can get of to a decent start and get the confidence up. The team is very much dominated by the Edinburgh side doing very well in the Celtic League at the moment.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

egg chasing, pah. Wink

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, each to their own. I think the 6 Nations is a great competition. Well, it's been a bit crap for Scotland the last couple of years... Looking to see us pick it up a bit this year though.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

World Champions are on the right track to defending their hold of the World Cup in 2007, says Thompson.

England on right track - Thompson
2nd February 2006

Steve Thompson is convinced England are heading on the right track towards next year's World Cup defence - despite their patchy form since conquering the planet in 2003.

England have lost 10 out of 19 Tests during a disappointing reign as world champions, and their RBS 6 Nations success rate stands at just 50% over the past two seasons, finishing outside the tournament's top two on each occasion.

But Thompson said: "We know we are going in the right direction, we know the experience in the squad is coming now and everyone is playing for their place in the team."

"Perhaps before, when we lost quite a few players after the World Cup, there wasn't that strength in depth.

"But in every position now there is someone putting their hand up and saying they want to be in the team, and that's the way it has got to be.

"We have a lot of players who have been gaining experience over the past couple of years, and now I think it is time we've got to actually stand up, put some performances in and really meet the Six Nations challenge.

"I was a player in the team who didn't have to do anything really, it was there on a plate for me - but all of a sudden, I was one of the senior guys.

"It was a bit different, but now, I think we are going forward and working towards where we want to be, which is something I think we showed during the autumn internationals."

dailymail.co.uk

Blackleaf's predictions for the 2006 Six Nations -

1) England
2) France
3) Wales
4) Ireland
5) Scotland
6) Italy

England are starting to look impressive again, and should have beaten the All Blacks 2 or 3 months ago. The fixtures have been kind to them - England and France don't play each other until the very last game, and the game is at Twickenham. England and France will probably win all their games each until they meet each other at Twickenham, with an England win meaning another Six Nations triumph for the country that has won it (including the old Five Nations) more times than any other country.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye England seemed to do well in the Autumn tests. 6 Nations is a different competition though. You've got to expect France and England to take the top two spots and Italy to be last. You never know though.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

England 47 - 13 Wales.

All we need now is for Scotland to do England a favour by beating France tomorrow, although I'm sure we'll beat them at Twickenham in the final game to win the Grandslam, anyway.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The standings -

....Team................Played.........For.........Against........Points....P/D
1) England...............1..............47...........13................2..........34
2) Ireland.................1..............26...........16................2..........10
3) Italy.....................1..............16...........26................0.........-10
4) Wales...................1..............13...........47................0.........-34
5) France..................0...............0.............0..................0..........0
6) Scotland...............0...............0.............0...................0..........0

Tomorrow: Scotland VS France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers for that Blackleaf. I didn't see any of the Rugby today. Did England look good? Did Wales put up any challenge at all?
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

England looked superb, especially in the second half. England lead 15-10 at half time, but England's superb defence allowed Wales to score only three points in the second half whilst England scored 32. Wales were AWFUL in their lineouts and were England punished them whenever they made a mistake. England were also too strong, physically, for the Welsh, and they dominated in the scrums.

If England and France win all their matches before they meet each other in the Final game, France would have to beat England at Twickenham to win the Six Nations, But I can't see England being being at Twickenham.

All the Welsh rugby fans on a discussion forum I've just been looking at tip England for the Grandslam.

Things sends out a message of intent that we won't give up our hold on the World Cup so easily next year.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

been some weekend for you SLG eh? Smile

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: m Reply with quote

If England and France win all their matches

But then again, if Scotland gub both of them.....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/rugby_union/international/default.stm

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aye, some weekend! Fantastic game at Murrayfield - slightly different affair from Spartans at City Park!

We totally deserved the win, we were the better team in the first half by quite a long way. We defended really well in the second half and held on well. This was probably the best display I've seen from us for a few years. Hopefully this will give the guys confidence for the rest of the games - especially Wales and Ireland. I'd be quite happy to see Blackleaf post a revised 6 Nations league table Very Happy
Lothian Sky
I Love 'Our Scotland'

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was there too, great game, and the French fans were superb. Never seen so many here.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point LS, all the French fans around me were on great form during the match and took the defeat really well.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disappointing result against Wales. We did not bad considering we had Murray sent off for most of the match. I though Murray was a bit unlucky to be sent of, but wouldn't argue too much about it. Turns out he's been banned for three weeks and will miss the Calcutta Cup game. I think that's a bit of a disgrace, fair enough sending him off, but there was nothing particularly bad in his kick, and the Welsh recipient of the kick was totally behind him at the disciplinary committee meeting. Did anyone else see the incident?
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf wrote:

although I'm sure we'll beat them at Twickenham in the final game to win the Grandslam, anyway.

Grandslam eh?Ye were a bit premature there were ye no. Laughing

Come oan its aboot time ye got yer predictions table updated!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:43 pm    Post subject: Re: m Reply with quote

Rinty wrote:
If England and France win all their matches

But then again, if Scotland gub both of them.....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/rugby_union/international/default.stm

Lottery numbers for tonight please Rinty...........? Very Happy

Well done Scotland - a thoroughly deserved victory after that 2nd half performance. Looks like Scotlan's superb defence outfoxed England's superb defence this time Blackleaf eh? Laughing

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy

Totally deserved. Did well to keep it tight in the first half. Bit of luck with the England player that fumbled when he would probably gone on to score a try. Second half we were the better team and probably looked more likely. The tackling was just fantastic though. Apart from that one time, I never though England would score a try.

Beating England and France at home Very Happy Things change pretty quickly, eh!
redlak
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh joy to the world what a game Id just woke from my night shift to watch the match and it certainly kept me on my toes. Probably the best match of the series so far nail biting at times but Scotland were tenacious and deserving in their victory.
x_scotsdream_x
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YAAAASSSS!!!!! come on Scotland!! it was hilarious to flick through all the news channels and hear all the news reporters state that england had lost to the mighty scots! yaaaaaasss!!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3