RadgeJougal I really have nothing else to do!!!
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 4:06 pm Post subject: Alba - SFA |
http://www.petitiononline.com/alba777/
To: The Scottish Football Association
We, the undersigned, call upon the Scottish Football Association to proudly display the Scottish national name, "Alba," along with its equivalent, "Scotland," on the national football team's shirt.
Sincerely,
The Undersigned
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4253 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 6:15 pm Post subject: |
I would like it in Punjabi and Brythonic tongues too... _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
Maol.Chaluim 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:04 pm Post subject: |
Brythonic isn't a language, but a group of languages, the Scottish branches of which died out a long time ago.
Punjabi, though spoken by some Scots, is not native to Scotland, nor is it in danger of dying out if action isn't taken to preserve it.
Your point? _________________ The revolution will be live. |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Mon May 15, 2006 7:12 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | I would like it in Punjabi and Brythonic tongues too... |
Do you really? Why? And don't say it's because other folk want Gàidhlig on it. Tell me why you want Punjabi and a 'Brythonic' language on Scotland fitba strips. |
Posted: Thu May 18, 2006 2:32 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | I would like it in Punjabi and Brythonic tongues too... |
Aye of course. So sign the petition, and mention it in your comment.
If you want Punjabi, show support for Gaidhlig. Unless of course, you're no into the multilingualism like.
p.s. Brythonic isn't a language. Not for the past seven hundred years anyway. The Welsh have "Cymru" on their football and rugby shirts anyway. The Brythonic is actually the same word as "Alba", but I guess you didn't know that, did you? |
Nina I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Thu May 18, 2006 4:09 pm Post subject: |
I've noticed several times that Aventinian keeps awfully quiet when he knows he is wrong. He is not man enough to admit it though. Ach well, so what else is new  _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4253 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Thu May 18, 2006 5:36 pm Post subject: |
| Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Brythonic isn't a language, but a group of languages, the Scottish branches of which died out a long time ago. |
True indeed, but I did say tongues. I also note that Gaelic languages are referred to in a similar way despite their being a difference between the Scots, Irish and Manx forms.
Wasn't Gaelic almost declared officially 'dead' not too long ago?
| Quote: |
Punjabi, though spoken by some Scots, is not native to Scotland, nor is it in danger of dying out if action isn't taken to preserve it. |
Well neither's Gaelic. Punjabi and other minority languages have been spoken in Scotland for quite some time now - and probably by more people than Gaelic.
| RadgeJougal wrote: | | p.s. Brythonic isn't a language. Not for the past seven hundred years anyway. The Welsh have "Cymru" on their football and rugby shirts anyway. The Brythonic is actually the same word as "Alba", but I guess you didn't know that, did you? |
I can't say I did, no. Do you know the Punjabi word for Scotland?
| Nina wrote: | I've noticed several times that Aventinian keeps awfully quiet when he knows he is wrong. He is not man enough to admit it though. Ach well, so what else is new  |
Does not replying for three days when I've made it quite clear on this and other forums that I have a lot of commitments at this point constitution 'keeping awfully quiet'?
I have been selective in replying to threads recently, most notably the ones I care about... this comes reasonably far down the list. |

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 11:19 am Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: |
| Nina wrote: | I've noticed several times that Aventinian keeps awfully quiet when he knows he is wrong. He is not man enough to admit it though. Ach well, so what else is new  |
Does not replying for three days when I've made it quite clear on this and other forums that I have a lot of commitments at this point constitution 'keeping awfully quiet'?
I have been selective in replying to threads recently, most notably the ones I care about... this comes reasonably far down the list. |
Well regardless of what you might think Mr. Boombastic, I don't follow you around on other forums nor do I quite give a rat's erse about what you have to say. Anyways, I forget the things you write immediately after I read them. _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 12:45 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Brythonic isn't a language, but a group of languages, the Scottish branches of which died out a long time ago. |
True indeed, but I did say tongues. |
So what you meant was that you want to see Scotland written in various Brythonic tongues. It may have only been three days, but you still haven't answered my question. I wrote:
| Quote: | | Do you really? Why? And don't say it's because other folk want Gàidhlig on it. Tell me why you want Punjabi and a 'Brythonic' language on Scotland fitba strips. |
Can you answer that? Bearing in mind that you now want multiple Brythonic versions.
| Quote: | | Wasn't Gaelic almost declared officially 'dead' not too long ago? |
No, never been the case no matter how many might wish it.
| Quote: | | Quote: | | Punjabi, though spoken by some Scots, is not native to Scotland, nor is it in danger of dying out if action isn't taken to preserve it. |
Well neither's Gaelic. Punjabi and other minority languages have been spoken in Scotland for quite some time now - and probably by more people than Gaelic. |
Scots Gaelic is native to Scotland. 'Old Gaelic' was brought to the country from elsewhere, but the language evolved here, with various local influences into a native language. The form of Punjabi spoken here may do the same over time. I am positive that there are less Punjabi speakers than Gaelic although I don't have any figures to hand.
| Quote: | | I can't say I did, no. Do you know the Punjabi word for Scotland? |
You are the one calling for it to be on the Scotland strip, along with various Brythonic tongues yet you don't know what the words are . Seems a strange position to hold.
| Quote: | | I have been selective in replying to threads recently, most notably the ones I care about... this comes reasonably far down the list. |
Fair enough, but it begs the question, why did you bother making such a puerile comment in the first place? |
Maol.Chaluim 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 12:53 pm Post subject: |
Wasn't Gaelic almost declared officially 'dead' not too long ago?
Please explain how one "almost" declares something. _________________ The revolution will be live. |
Highlander I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 12:12 am Post subject: |
| Quote: | | Please explain how one "almost" declares something. |
That was not what was said. What was said was
| Quote: | | Wasn't Gaelic almost declared officially 'dead' not too long ago? |
But I can answer your question
Please explain how one "almost" declares something.
Its quite easy. Almost declared (I will break it up for you) almost is like nearly and declared well that means to announce something, to bring attention. So put those together and so it beceomes nearly announced. Its like this, they thought about doing it but didn't. It was on the edge to being declared but they didn't. It really is quite simple. So I don't know why you have to ask? |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 1:43 am Post subject: |
| Quote: | | was'nt gaelic almost declared officially"dead" not too long ago? |
http://www.hie.co.uk/gaelic-development.htm
BG  _________________ Ath-bheothachadh
Drink beer,don't drive...its cheeper! |

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:22 am Post subject: |
| Whether you can or cannot almost officially declare something, the fact remains, there has never been any such official declaration. Nor, AFAIK has there almost been one. I can't imagine where Aventinian would get such an idea. |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:35 am Post subject: |
Surely to be an officially dead language there would be no living speakers whatsoever?
That would require almost 100,000 fluent Gaelic speakers to die overnight - so it is in no way 'almost dead'.
In fact, I would say this is the start of some sort of Gaelic renaissance. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Last edited by azzuri on Sat May 20, 2006 9:59 am; edited 1 time in total |

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:59 am Post subject: |
There were one or two individuals who made up a figure of 50k being the crossing line for language death. They were just folk on an internet forum like this with a dislike of Gaelic. No language expert has ever made such a claim. It does seem to have grown legs and I've since seen it repeated as having originated from an academic source. This is definitely not the case.
| rs_azzuri wrote: | | Surely to be an officially dead language there would be no living speakers whatsoever? |
There is a theory that if a language is spoken by too few people, surrounded by a dominant language, then that language will cease to develop in the way languages do. That language could be desribed to some degree as no longer being a living language. That is not what we're seeing with Gaelic. And to put an arbirtary figure of 50k on it is ridiculous.
| rs_azzuri wrote: | | In fact, I would say this is the start of some sort of Gaelic renaissance. |
That's definitely the impression I get. Although, probably the most important area is na h-Eileanan Siar which I'm not that familiar with. I think that on mainland Scotland, there is a great increase in Gaelic medium education, adult learners and general interest in the language. There are more novels being written in Gaelic than ever before and the media industy is getting a boost as the funding is finallised for the new digital channel. |
Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 5:29 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | I can't say I did, no. Do you know the Punjabi word for Scotland? |
Do you know any Punjabi yourself like? Answer honestly, and don't cut and paste something from elsewhere on the internet.
The Punjabi for Scotland is based on English, as you full well know, which is a bit of a non-starter.
But of course, you have no interest in Punjabi whatsoever, except when it comes to discriminating against Gaidhlig.
Sign the petition, and mention the Punjabi.  |

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 11:17 pm Post subject: |
| Nina wrote: | | Well regardless of what you might think Mr. Boombastic, I don't follow you around on other forums nor do I quite give a rat's erse about what you have to say. Anyways, I forget the things you write immediately after I read them. |
Well how about instead of just making childish snipes on every thread you keep your opinions about me to yourself, because be assured that my opinions of you are hardly glowing.
| Quote: | | Do you really? Why? And don't say it's because other folk want Gàidhlig on it. Tell me why you want Punjabi and a 'Brythonic' language on Scotland fitba strips. |
I was being entirely serious I confess. To be frank, I don't care what it says on SFA strips. I was simply exposing what I perceive to be a double standard. English is the national language, that much is obvious, however there seems to be a heirarchy of minority languages and considering Scotland is now supposed to be a multicultural and diverse nation, I don't see why Gaelic should get special privileges which, say, my example (Punjabi) doesn't.
| Quote: | | No, never been the case no matter how many might wish it. |
I'm fairly sure there was some risk of it occuring not-too-many years ago based on the number of people who spoke it. I will try to find a link online.
| rs_azzuri wrote: | | Surely to be an officially dead language there would be no living speakers whatsoever? |
Not necessarily. I believe Manx is officially considered dead. Latin has plenty of living speakers too. And since when were there nearly 100,000 Gaelic speakers? The 2001 census gives the exact number as 58,652.
| Quote: | | Do you know any Punjabi yourself like? Answer honestly, and don't cut and paste something from elsewhere on the internet. |
Of course I don't know any Punjabi. In fact, I tell a lie, a know a few ways to swear in it thanks to the nice fellows at the local tandoori restaurant.
| Quote: | | The Punjabi for Scotland is based on English, as you full well know, which is a bit of a non-starter. |
I did not know that in fact. Care to tell me what it is or whether 'Scotland' is simply what is used?
| Quote: | | But of course, you have no interest in Punjabi whatsoever, except when it comes to discriminating against Gaidhlig. |
I agree, I have absolutely no interest in it. However what I do have an interest in is preventing semi-public authorities from imposing double standards. Because eventually the will find something I have an interest in... |

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 11:32 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | English is the national language, that much is obvious, however there seems to be a heirarchy of minority languages and considering Scotland is now supposed to be a multicultural and diverse nation, I don't see why Gaelic should get special privileges which, say, my example (Punjabi) doesn't. |
I believe the Gaelic Language (Scotland) Act was passed over a year ago which expressly gives Gaelic respect' to English. I don't believe that the Parliament has passed legislation on any other language.
| Aventinian wrote: | | Not necessarily. I believe Manx is officially considered dead. |
I believe that Manx was a dead language. But it is now referred to as a revived language.
| Aventinian wrote: | | I agree, I have absolutely no interest in it. However what I do have an interest in is preventing semi-public authorities from imposing double standards. Because eventually the will find something I have an interest in... |
What semi-public body is this? As far as I can see, a request is being made to the SFA via petition, it is up to them if they accept. |

Posted: Sun May 21, 2006 6:21 am Post subject: |
because be assured that my opinions of you are hardly glowing. |
I would be nauseous if ye were, and you very kinky.... _________________ "Will ye be proud when yer last battle's over?" |
Wolf of Badenoch 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Sun May 21, 2006 8:57 am Post subject: |
 _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |