Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Commonwealth Games......

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Commonwealth Games...... Reply with quote

If anyone wants to keep track of the medal tallys then you can view them by Clicking Here

Scotland are currently sitting 2nd behing Australia, but for how long I wonder?

Very Happy

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see - http://www.melbourne2006.com.au/S...0060301scots%20seek%2015%20medals

The Scottish team for the Games is playing down medal expectations, but remains confident of bringing home some gold in Melbourne.

Around half of the 169 Scottish athletes have arrived in Australia to begin final preparations.

But team captain Paul Bush said his nation had a goal of bringing home 15 medals from Melbourne - significantly less than their medal haul in Manchester.

"We got 30 in Manchester, but we don't have judo this time, and they accounted for 10 medals,” Bush said. "We are going to the other side of the world, out of season, and if you look at the rankings of the team we think 15 is a good benchmark."

Among the best hopes for winning those medals are in Cycling, Athletics and Swimming.

Gymnastics star Barry Koursasis and Athletics challenger Collette Fagan, who won the 10K event in last year's Great Scottish Run, are ranked as likely medal chances.

And Manchester gold medallist Chris Hoy will defend his Track Cycling gold.

Scotland’s Rugby Sevens squad is also in with a chance, after a victory over the highly regarded English side last weekend.

But head coach Rob Moffat said the tough draw in Melbourne meant Scotland would have to beat one of the top two teams in the competition if they want to make the finals.

"We have Fiji in our pool, and our cross-over match looks like New Zealand," said Moffat. "We will have to beat one of them to advance."

The squad were waved off by official team mascots - two Scottie dogs, Spirit and Sport, named by Scottish schoolchildren, and they were also given a preview of a special commemorative £10 note made for the Games.

The back of the note portrays a montage of the 14 sports the team is competing in during the Melbourne 2006 Games, whilst on the front it carries the Commonwealth Games Council for Scotland logo. They are set to go into circulation on 15 March, to coincide with the opening ceremony.

Scotland will be looking for a strong performance in Melbourne in the hopes of boosting national interest in the Commonwealth Games and international attention on Scotland, ahead of Glasgow's bid for the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Can we just stop the Games now? 2nd will do us just fine!

Smile

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
redlak
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great start 2 Golds and a Bronze even better to watch the saltire flying above the Australian and English flag's.
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Definitely give the Campaign for a Scottish Olympic Team a boost if we can finish high up the medal table.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scotland aren't second anymore.

Australia, England and Canada have won the most medals so far in the Commonwealth games. Australia, England and India have won the most golds.

Correct at end of day two.

................Gold ....Silver.... Bronze.... Total
1. Australia ....12 ......9 ..........8 .............29
2. India ..........4 ......3 ...........0............. 7
3. England ......3 .......7 ..........4 ............14
4. Canada .......2 .......6 ..........4............ 12
5. New Zealand .2 .....1 ...........0 .............3
6. Scotland .......2 .....0.......... 3 .............5
7. South Africa.. 2 ......0.......... 2 .............4
8. Malaysia .......1 ......0........... 2............ 3
9. Sri Lanka ......1 .......0........... 0 ...........1
10. Bangladesh ..0 .......1 ..........0 ............1
10. Papua New Guinea .0 ..1....... 0 ...........1
12. Singapore .........0......0 ......2 ...........2
12. Wales ..............0 .....0 .......2........... 2
13. Fiji .............0......... 0 ........1 ............1
13. Isle of Man ...0 ..........0 .......1 ............1

--------------------------
In the Rugby Sevens tournament (where the teams have 7-a-side rather than the normal 15-a-side) England won the silver medal after they lost 29-21 against New Zealand in the Final -

Sevens silver lining for England
17th March 2006

England's Matthew Tait scores against New Zealand in the Rugby Sevens Final.

England were forced to settle for silver as sevens masters New Zealand claimed their third successive Commonwealth Games title in Melbourne.

New Zealand, who had beaten Fiji in the final to win both of their previous two titles, completed the hat-trick with a 29-21 win in front of a packed Telstra Dome crowd.

Cory Jane, Josh Blackie (2), Lote Raikabula, Liam Messam scored the New Zealand tries, with the prolific Mathew Tait, Andy Vilk and Ben Gollings replying for England.

dailymail.co.uk

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

......per head of population our medal tally is far more impressive than England's though Blackleaf eh?

Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

per head of population our medal tally is far more impressive than England's though Blackleaf eh?

Who cares?

I'd rather win 10 gold medals, rather than winning just 2 and saying "we have won more per capita."

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've not won ten medals though. What are you going to do when an Australian comes on and tells you that England are s***e?
'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf wrote:
Scotland aren't second anymore.

Hoo Hoo Scotland aren`t second anymore!! Yipee Yipee.

I can see ye noo,jumping aboot clapping yer haunds and looking fer mair shitey statistics fae shitey tory rag papers,"Oooo theres one i haven`t put on the site so far,this one will really jolly well get these scotch chaps wound up" Naw it disnae!!! Awa an tak a guid job it bilin`yer heid wid ye.
Stockholm
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Scots make biggest splash
By Anita Lonsbrough in Melbourne

Scotland's swimmers celebrated their most successful night of any Commonwealth Games when Caitlin McClatchey and David Carry won gold medals.

"It's fantastic," said McClatchey, who can emulate David Wilkie by winning two individual gold medals in a single Games. Wilkie won gold in the 200m breast-stroke and 200m individual medley at Christchurch in 1974. McClatchey, who swims in her specialist 400m on Monday, said: "It means so much to win a gold medal for Scotland."

http://telegraph.co.uk/

It’s obvious to anyone that’s willing to listen that Scottish athletes absolutely relish the opportunity to represent their country in such events. There’s no reason whatsoever why Scotland could not compete and be successful at the Olympics.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just watched scotland get pumped at hockey off england Sad some cracking sets of thighs and some not bad burds on display though Laughing

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP
redlak
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2 more Golds yahoo and more medals to come bring on the Olympics we can definitley compete on our own

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

redlak wrote:
2 more Golds yahoo and more medals to come bring on the Olympics we can definitley compete on our own

Weel said!!,i cannae see them allowing that tae happen though,they waur talkin this mornin aboot hoo strong "Britain" wid be in the olympics wi aw these Scottish swimmers coming tae the fore.They`ll fecht tooth an nail tae keep us as pairt ae their olympic team.We need tae try an break awa fae it.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
redlak wrote:

Weel said!!,i cannae see them allowing that tae happen though,they waur talkin this mornin aboot hoo strong "Britain" wid be in the olympics wi aw these Scottish swimmers coming tae the fore.They`ll fecht tooth an nail tae keep us as pairt ae their olympic team.We need tae try an break awa fae it.

As with everything else though,despite what they might want, it's up to us. If there is a really strong campaign for a Scots Olympic team with vocal public backing, I think they would have to submit.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
As with everything else though,despite what they might want, it's up to us. If there is a really strong campaign for a Scots Olympic team with vocal public backing, I think they would have to submit.

Aye yer richt SLG an wi us daein sae weel the noo its gonnae make ony campaign that wee bit mair stronger.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see - www.c-scot.org for details guys Smile

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
What are you going to do when an Australian comes on and tells you that England are s***e?

Alright there cobbers?Wolfs Australian cousin just poppng in too tell that pommie gallah Blackleaf that his pommie whingers are s***e and...."whats that ya say Skippy"...yeah right there mate! Us Aussies have tons more medals.
Blackleaf
Confirmed TROLL

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Australia have only won the most medals because they are the home team.

................G......S......B....Total
Australia.....42....38.....32.....112
England......18.....21....15......54
India..........12.....8......3......23
Scotland......8......5......6......19
Canada........7.....16.....14.....37
Stockholm
On A Journey (500 Miles)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blackleaf wrote:
Australia have only won the most medals because they are the home team.

Funny that Australia also topped the table in Manchester, England.

So what happened to your boys (and girls) that year? Rolling Eyes
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports All times are GMT