Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Connery in calls for Independence...........
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Connery in calls for Independence........... Reply with quote

see - http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/4496410.stm

Actor Sir Sean Connery has reaffirmed his wish for an independent Scotland, as he accepted a lifetime achievement award at the European Film Awards.

The 75-year-old Scottish actor said he wished he could be accepting the prize, "as if Scotland was independent and had a voice in Europe".

His words were welcomed by the Scottish National Party.

Former Bond actor Sir Sean won the lifetime award in recognition of a career spanning more than 50 years.

He accepted the prize from Jean-Jacques Annaud, who directed him in The Name Of The Rose.

He then invited the audience in Berlin to the 60th Edinburgh Film Festival.

"Just ask for me and you'll get a good seat," he joked.

Seventy films

A spokesperson for the SNP said: "The SNP are very proud to have the support of Sir Sean.

"We congratulate him on this prestigious honour."

Sir Sean has appeared in more than 70 films including playing the iconic Bond character seven times.

Among his film credits are A Bridge Too Far, Marnie, and Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, working with many of the great directors including Alfred Hitchcock, Sir Richard Attenborough and Steven Spielberg.

He won a best supporting actor Oscar in 1988 for his role in The Untouchables and was knighted by the Queen in 2002 for his services to film.

But it is his years playing James Bond that he is probably best remembered for, first taking on the role in 1962 in Dr No and bowing out in 1983 in Never Say Never Again.

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'l listen to him when he moves back to the country.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you're falling into the trap of the 'daily record' unfortunately parkhead.

plenty of celebs spout their views on politics all the time - just because this one happens to be a vocal Nationalist who lives abroad doesn't mean his views are any less valid, which some of the unionist media would have you believe. Do you think you would hear the sneering comments about him in the media if he was a vocal labour supporter? - doubt it.

the guy has lived most of his life outside of Scotland - it's only natural having basically moved to the USA to pursue a career in the film industry when he was fairly young. Why would he suddenly move back here full-time? If I could I'd love to spend 6-9 months a year in a warm climate and just come back here when the weather suits! I think most people would.

Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
trueblue
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

maybe he could do a joint press confernence with that other celeb fat elaine C smith.

who gives a f**k.

now if the queen,pm,president said it i may take notice. he's a f***ing actor.
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'l listen to him when he moves back to the country.

I agree that folk from outwith Scotland should not be able to fund political parties. If this was the case, it would benefit the SNP much more than the London based parties. Beyond that, Connery is as entitled to his opinion and to support the SNP as much as anyone (Parkhead, you have strong opinions about the ROI and the 6 counties without living there). It would give him a lot more credibility if he actually lived here, but I am inclined to let him off with living abroad as he has always said he would move back when Scotland becomes Independent. In the meantime, he doesn't want to pay tax to the UK exchequer.

trueblue wrote:
maybe he could do a joint press confernence with that other celeb Elaine C smith.

who gives a f**k.

now if the queen,pm,president said it i may take notice. he's a f***ing actor.

And what was the queen talented at in order to get her position?

Apart from the stuff about the queen Confused , I actually generally agree with you. I don't take the opinion of any celeb seriously just because they are a celeb. Their opinions should not be given more credence because they are famous in a very different area. What EC Smith mainly talked about last week was Scottish culture, esp about tv media, the theatre etc, of which she has much experience.
trueblue
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the point is that the queen has more influence in such big matter'S as she is the head of the church thingy.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so would you listen to the pope's view about Scotland over Sean Connerys'?

Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i have strong views but i actually give sometime to campaigning for change there. what does sean connery really do for scotland? also were scotland to become the type of independent state i would like it to be im pretty sure sean wouldnt like to live here and see his vast wealth redistributed to help fund better public services etc. Most millionaires have got where they were by exploiting someone.

"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does sean connery do for scotland?

he is basically the face of scotland abroad - boosts our tourist industry and talks about Scotland around the world every chance he gets.

It's obvious he is very passionate about his nationality - and for the record - I hate paying my taxes to the UK exchequer and if I could I would withhold them til' I could redistribute them equally and fairly to Scots in an Independent Scotland.

trueblue
3 Strikes - Banned!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rs_azzuri wrote:
so would you listen to the pope's view about Scotland over Sean Connerys'?

aye. i may not agree with some of the doctrine of the catholic church but it would be considerebly wiser than shir shawn.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for me i would question the morals of any person who continually told me how great a place was but didnt live there, when clearly he has the choice to live whereever in the world he wants almost.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i don't live in scotland but am always trying to talk it up - does that make me 'immoral'?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i have strong views but i actually give sometime to campaigning for change there. what does sean connery really do for scotland? also were scotland to become the type of independent state i would like it to be im pretty sure sean wouldnt like to live here and see his vast wealth redistributed to help fund better public services etc. Most millionaires have got where they were by exploiting someone.

Why is Connery's campaigning for change here any different to yours in Ireland? He is regularly in Scotland. He also does a lot of charity work that is not well publicised. Maybe he wouldn't want to live in a socialist state, I don't know the answer to that. I know plenty folk who live here now who might not want to live in a socialist Scotland, that's a different point. Do you think he made much of his money exploiting people - I never heard any accusations against him. I would presume he's just a benefited from the warped global Holywood culture.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the point is that connery has the financial abilty to live anywhere he wishes rs, are you the same? i'm pretty sure there are reasons why you live in ireland rather than scotland.

how do you know about this charity work if it isnt publicised slg? do you know him personally?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the main reason I live in northern ireland is because I am getting to know the place, learn about where my partner comes from, her family, friends and culture.

also the standard of living is much higher here - you can buy a nicer house for less money - although the marching that goes on outside my front door and flags/murals all over get on my wick already. I would say that's a financial reason for living here - just in the same way as sir sean - does that make me immoral?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:
how do you know about this charity work if it isnt publicised slg? do you know him personally?

I've never met him, but my sister works for a charity he's been involved with. I understand from her that he does quite a lot of other work for Scottish charities, without the profile that has followed his political involvement.
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh right so he gives a few pennies from his countless millions, hes quite the social crusader.

i dont really want to get into your individual situation rs my point is why should i give any great credibility to a man who bangs on about an independent scotland but more than likely wouldnt live here if we were to get independence. when he puts his money where his mouth is and moves here then i will listen, lets face it he has enough money to at least be here a few months of the year. i place much greater value on the opinions of those who actually do things for the communities in scotland.

khraeigh
No Longer a Wean

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:
oh right so he gives a few pennies from his countless millions, hes quite the social crusader.

i dont really want to get into your individual situation rs my point is why should i give any great credibility to a man who bangs on about an independent scotland but more than likely wouldnt live here if we were to get independence. when he puts his money where his mouth is and moves here then i will listen, lets face it he has enough money to at least be here a few months of the year. i place much greater value on the opinions of those who actually do things for the communities in scotland.

So you give no credence to someone promoting independence living abroad?

Ok, so I was right to give you no credibiity regarding Ireland?

Thanks for clearing that up.

As someone who knows Sean and has met him about twice a year for the last 10 years I can say that Sean is more passionate about Scotland than you can ever hope to be.

He is an attribute to this country.

That's right though, he doesn't do anything for your 'main' cause does he.

You lack credibility with every post you make.

I am going back into the shadows.

[X] SNP

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

parkhead_rfb wrote:

I don't know how many pennies he gives, and neither do you. He does support charities without courting the publicity. Again, he has said that he will move back when we get independence, and I have no reason to doubt that.

Of course, you are right, you should listen more to the people who actually do so much in their comminities. But that is not to say Connery shouldn't be allowed his opinion.

Why back to the shadows Khraeigh?
Getting on a bit!

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why is he an attribute? he doesnt pay any tax to this country, he doesnt bring any special skills to this country, who would you rather have a hundred sean connerys or one doctor? i know which i would rather have.

I spend a considerable amount of my time and money working for republicanism in scotland and i am also well aware on most aspects of the political situation in scotland. does mr connery actually have any other opinions on scotland other than independence? theres a good quote i heard in relation to ireland but i will put it in a scottish context "what difference does it make if your eviction notice comes with a crown or a thistle".

i think that some people are just fooled by the cult of celebrity, a person isnt right just because they are famous.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3