[ 13 ] |
| Total Votes : 22 |
Cunnings Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:14 am Post subject: Do you agree with Turkey joining the EU? |
Please vote, opinions would be appreciated too.
Cunnings Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:16 am Post subject: |
No! I desired to add an I don't care option, but it don't appearing now.  |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:04 am Post subject: u |
I would also vote neither.
I would only allow Turkey in if they met certain human rights agreements, give autonomy to Kurdish areas and pull out of Cyprus.
I have no actual objections to anyone being in or out but think membership can be a useful carrot to get Turkey to sort some stuff out. |
sandmountainslim I Love 'Our Scotland'

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:37 am Post subject: Re: u |
| Rinty wrote: | I would also vote neither.
I would only allow Turkey in if they met certain human rights agreements, give autonomy to Kurdish areas and pull out of Cyprus.
I have no actual objections to anyone being in or out but think membership can be a useful carrot to get Turkey to sort some stuff out. |
Rinty, are you mad?
Everyone knows Turkey isn't in Cyprus.
The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is a self governing nation with no outside influence... .... Or maybe not
WP _________________ William Potter
ScotWatch International
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/scotwatch/
Jefferson Republican Party
http://jeffersonrepublicanparty.com
http://jeffersonrepublican.blogspot.com/ |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4276 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:52 pm Post subject: |
Yes, eventually, but they have a human rights record to deal with first. _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really meanpower over people, power to the State.' |
Cunnings Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:38 pm Post subject: |
Thanks for your opinions
Mine is that Turkey can't join the EU because it's part of Asia, if we accept Turkey then we should also accept Morocco or Algeria If Turkey has a possibility to participate with European nations it should be under a World Union or Euroasian, let's reserve the European Union just to European nations, don't you think? |
Avatar I need ma own bl**dy forum!

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:32 pm Post subject: |
Well, I think the idea of the EU should be expanded to include as many countries as possible and eventually the world. Obviously not the EU itself but it should adapt, grow and change as time progresses and once it loses its relevance it should disassemble and be replaced by the next union which will include a broader membership, such as like you suggest a eurasian union or whatever. _________________ "Quite simply, Labour have been caught red-handed so often that no-one believes a word they say any more." |
sandmountainslim I Love 'Our Scotland'

Gorbals Finding Ma' Way
Posted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:34 am Post subject: |
I understand there are 4 requirements to join the EU:
1. Be a free, democratic nation
2. Have a stable economy
3. Be a European country
4. All the other nations are in agreement with membership
I think they fail in at at least 3 respects
1. The influence of the military is far from non-existent
3. The capital city and most of the population and land is in Asia
4. Greece has disputes with Turkey, not least over the occupation of Cyprus. Plus many catholic-dominated nations are against a Muslim nation joining the EU.
However:
2. Their economy is better than ever, and growing _________________ http://www.thisisnot1966.com- a wee laugh at the 'years of hurt' |
Morph I really have nothing else to do!!!

Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:11 am Post subject: |
I dont believe that the catholic country being against a muslim country point would be strong enough to stop the membership going through. And neither it should.
However the terrible human rights record must be addressed before being allowed to reap the economic benifits of being a member state.
Also as someone stated above why not let countries outwith the EU join if it means free trade and countries changing some aspects of their country eg Human rights to be alloweed to. If used as a force to drive out some social or diplomatic injusticies then i can only see continued expansion as a good thing. However some may state that it is a step towards a New World Order _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |
parkhead_rfb Getting on a bit!
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:44 pm Post subject: |
I wonder if the british government will talk about turkeys human rights record given they are known to have used state sanctioned murder of civillians themselves.
I agree though all available pressure should be put on them to sort their human rights record out. _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |
Neil This is Ma' Life!
Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:38 pm Post subject: |
It is poor, it is moslem, it isn't European & it will shortly be the biggest country "in Europe" except Russia. _________________ The aim of practical politics is to keep the populace alarmed by menacing it with an endless series of hobgoblins, all of them imaginary.
H. L. Mencken |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:31 pm Post subject: |
| I think it should be approached with caution. But it could be a very positive event. Turkey could be a bridge between the increasingly divided secular/christian west and the muslim world. |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:35 pm Post subject: |
Isn't Bosnia that link though, given it's also technically within the geographical area of Europe? _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:38 pm Post subject: |
| Aye, but Bosnia is a small and relatively insignificant country. Turkey is a global player. |
IF Convenor I really have nothing else to do!!!

Joined: 29 Apr 2006 Posts: 906 Location: Scotland or West Africa, it depends
Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:16 pm Post subject: |
As some people have mentioned, there is a tiny piece of Turkey which is actually in Europe so, technically, you can get away with describing Turkey as a European country. _________________ The man o independent mind,
He looks and laughs at aa that. |
Screegor No Longer a Wean
Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:07 pm Post subject: |
| imo. It would create even more political instability in the Middle East. That alone is reason enough to say no at the moment. |

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm Post subject: |
| Screegor wrote: | | imo. It would create even more political instability in the Middle East. That alone is reason enough to say no at the moment. |
How so? Do you mean internally within Turkey, or in terms of Turkey's relationship with other countries? |
Screegor No Longer a Wean
Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:25 pm Post subject: |
| SLG wrote: | | Screegor wrote: | | imo. It would create even more political instability in the Middle East. That alone is reason enough to say no at the moment. |
How so? Do you mean internally within Turkey, or in terms of Turkey's relationship with other countries? |
Where to start.
I assume you know about the history of Israel and Turkey.
In summary, throughout history they have aligned themselves together, for example, Turkey was one of the first Middle Eastern Countries to recognise it. etc. Turkey has always helped to provide military assistance to Israel etc. in exchange for Israel's connections with the EU and US.
Both have increasing become 'westernised'. and as a result have become isolated from the Middle Eastern countries.
This has created a split in the Middle East, one that is more evident at present more between Israel and the other ME countries. But Turkey is heading to an equally large divide.
This doesn't mean it will definetly cause problems, but it will certainly highten tension in an area of the world that is undergoing considerable restructuring. The militants and less westernised states will see the increased incursion of westernised values as a major problem for the middle east.
Therefore in my opinion, at present we can minimise this risk, by preventing them from joining the EU. |

Posted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:43 pm Post subject: |
Well that has its risks as well. You exclude them from the main western political block next door to them and you can send them too far in the other direction. This could create more problems in the future. The important thing would be for Turkey to improve relations with its neighbours to the south and east.
Not an easy situation, but I'm not sure excluding them is the solution. |