Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:35 pm Post subject: Rabbie Burns thread............. |
A Man's a Man For A' That -
Is there for honest Poverty
That hings his head, an' a' that;
The coward slave - we pass him by,
We dare be poor for a' that!
For a' that, an' a' that.
Our toils obscure an' a' that,
The rank is but the guinea's stamp,
The Man's the gowd for a' that.
What though on hamely fare we dine,
Wear hoddin grey, an' a that;
Gie fools their silks, and knaves their wine;
A Man's a Man for a' that:
For a' that, and a' that,
Their tinsel show, an' a' that;
The honest man, tho' e'er sae poor,
Is king o' men for a' that.
Ye see yon birkie, ca'd a lord,
Wha struts, an' stares, an' a' that;
Tho' hundreds worship at his word,
He's but a coof for a' that:
For a' that, an' a' that,
His ribband, star, an' a' that:
The man o' independent mind
He looks an' laughs at a' that.
A prince can mak a belted knight,
A marquis, duke, an' a' that;
But an honest man's abon his might,
Gude faith, he maunna fa' that!
Their dignities an' a' that;
The pith o' sense, an' pride o' worth,
Are higher rank than a' that.
Then let us pray that come it may,
(As come it will for a' that,)
That Sense and Worth, o'er a' the earth,
Shall bear the gree, an' a' that.
It's coming yet for a' that,
That Man to Man, the world o'er,
Shall brothers be for a' that.
I always feel tonight has extra signifance in Ayrshire with the Burns links there, just a pity I'm in Northern Ireland and feeling a bit disconnected from it all!
I swell with pride when I think that this guy lived and worked just round the corner from where I grew up - probably one of the only historical figures I'm truly in awe of.
BBC website have a feature on Burns Night, check it out.
see - http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/history/burnsnight/
_________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:48 pm Post subject: |
see - http://www.robertburns.org/works/344.shtml
| Quote: | Such A Parcel Of Rogues In A Nation
Type: Poem
Fareweel to a' our Scottish fame,
Fareweel our ancient glory;
Fareweel ev'n to the Scottish name,
Sae fam'd in martial story.
Now Sark rins over Solway sands,
An' Tweed rins to the ocean,
To mark where England's province stands-
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation!
What force or guile could not subdue,
Thro' many warlike ages,
Is wrought now by a coward few,
For hireling traitor's wages.
The English stell we could disdain,
Secure in valour's station;
But English gold has been our bane-
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation!
O would, or I had seen the day
That Treason thus could sell us,
My auld grey head had lien in clay,
Wi' Bruce and loyal Wallace!
But pith and power, till my last hour,
I'll mak this declaration;
We're bought and sold for English gold-
Such a parcel of rogues in a nation! |
_________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Last edited by azzuri on Wed May 24, 2006 4:08 pm; edited 1 time in total |
Morph I really have nothing else to do!!!

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:48 pm Post subject: |
Tony Blair opened a new hospital in Edinburgh. After cutting the ribbon he
went on a tour of the wards. He entered a ward filled with patients who did
not seem to be suffering from any injury or obvious disability. He greeted
a bearded man in a nearby bed, who replied:
"Fair fa' your honest sonsie face, great chieftain o' the pudden race!"
Blair, somewhat bemused, smiled politely and moved on to another bed and
asked the patient how he was getting on. The patient shook his head and
replied:
"Some hae meat and canna eat, and some wad eat that want it.
But we hae meat and we can eat, and sae the Lord be thankit."
Blair again nodded politely and turned to the next patient, an older man,
wearing a Tam O'Shanter of a particularly bright plaid. When asked by Blair
how he was keeping, the old man replied:
"Wee sleekit cow'rin tim'urous beastie. O what panic's in thy breastie!"
By this time the Prime Minister was totally befuddled and turning to the
senior doctor who was accompanying him, whispered: "What sort of ward is
this? Are they psychiatric patients?"
"No", replied the doctor, "this is the Burns Unit."
A great poet and another shining example of great scots throughout the ages. _________________ "An oppressive government is to be more feared than a tiger" |
kalashnikov No Longer a Wean

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:49 pm Post subject: |
Why Should We Idly Waste Our Prime?
Why should we idly waste our prime
Repeating our oppressions?
Come rouse to arms! 'Tis now the time
To punish past transgressions.
'Tis said that Kings can do no wrong --
Their murderous deeds deny it,
And, since from us their power is sprung,
We have a right to try it.
Now each true patriot's song shall be: -
'Welcome Death or Libertie!'
Proud Priests and Bishops we'll translate
And canonize as Martyrs;
The guillotine on Peers shall wait;
And Knights shall hang in garters.
Those Despots long have trode us down,
And Judges are their engines:
Such wretched minions of a Crown
Demand the people's vengeance!
To-day 'tis theirs. To-morrow we
Shall don the Cap of Libertie!
The Golden Age we'll then revive:
Each man will be a brother;
In harmony we all shall live,
And share the earth together;
In Virtue train'd, enlighten'd Youth
Will love each fellow-creature;
And future years shall prove the truth
That Man is good by nature:
Then let us toast with three times three
The reign of Peace and Libertie! _________________ If you remove the English army to-morrow and hoist the green flag over Dublin Castle, unless you set about the organisation of the Socialist Republic your efforts would be in vain. - James Connolly |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:56 pm Post subject: h |
| Good call Kalashnikov. That one has also a real personal meaning to me and reminds me of a late friend and comrade. |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:09 pm Post subject: h |
Johnie Lad, c**k Up Your Beaver
When first my brave Johnie lad came to this town,
He had a blue bonnet that wanted the crown;
But now he has gotten a hat and a feather,
Hey, brave Johnie lad, c**k up your beaver!
c**k up your beaver, and c**k it fu' sprush,
We'll over the border, and gie them a brush;
There's somebody there we'll teach better behaviour,
Hey, brave Johnie lad, c**k up your beaver! |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum