Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
ProudToBeAScotsGirl No Longer a Wean

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:09 pm Post subject: Researching moving to the Outer Hebrides |
Hello everyone!
Been ages sense ive posted here, but still love the community here! I have a dream to move to the Outer Hebrides, the last stronghold for Scottish Gaelic as they call it. My dream is to raise my future family there, with marriage around the corner. I know it's no guarentee, but I hope the Scottish Gaelic influence will rub off on my future weins, and if im fortunate, they might speak it! I wish to learn as well.
Unfortunetaly, the web is limited to touristic websites, but im wanting a more inside look at life in the Outer Hebrides. Im past all the cold and harsh weather stuff, im looking at the area as a place to raise a family, and which island might suit that best with a wee wish to see my children learning a bit of a dying language I want to see passed on.
I am a big fan of Julie Fowlis...who is from North Uist. Supose that's a starting point, eh! But im hoping anyone who has something to share about this area might give some friendly input and practical input.
Thank you!
Red Justice This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:39 pm Post subject: |
A Charaid
Wish you well and your family being able to converse in Gaelic.
I learnt the language to lower intermediate level by 1996.
Opportunities for Scottish Gaelic learning are pathetic in Dundee due to apathy.
I am still waiting for a hoose of Highland Council but not enough points.
However I will move to Inverness area.
Beannachd Leibh
RJ _________________ “For socialists, independence is not about the colour or type of flag flying on our public buildings. It is about creating a better society. It is about putting people before profit"
Tommy Sheridan
http://scottishsocfree.blogspot.com |
The Lithgae Jambo Helping with the Count

Posted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:31 pm Post subject: Re: Researching moving to the Outer Hebrides |
| ProudToBeAScotsGirl wrote: | Hello everyone!
Been ages sense ive posted here, but still love the community here! I have a dream to move to the Outer Hebrides, the last stronghold for Scottish Gaelic as they call it. My dream is to raise my future family there, with marriage around the corner. I know it's no guarentee, but I hope the Scottish Gaelic influence will rub off on my future weins, and if im fortunate, they might speak it! I wish to learn as well.
Unfortunetaly, the web is limited to touristic websites, but im wanting a more inside look at life in the Outer Hebrides. Im past all the cold and harsh weather stuff, im looking at the area as a place to raise a family, and which island might suit that best with a wee wish to see my children learning a bit of a dying language I want to see passed on.
I am a big fan of Julie Fowlis...who is from North Uist. Supose that's a starting point, eh! But im hoping anyone who has something to share about this area might give some friendly input and practical input.
Thank you! |
Visit the islands first - and not in midsummer when the days are long and the sun is hot but in midwinter when daylight hardly exists and the cold wind blows.
I don't want to dash your dreams but dreams and reality don't often come together. Don't make this sort of life-changing decision on the back of some romantic notion of Herbridean life.
_________________ Visit Scotsgait then follow us on Twitter !! |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum