Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Saltires start their 2006 campaign
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports
Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Saltires start their 2006 campaign Reply with quote

Make sure you tune in tomorrow morning to Sky Sports to see the start of the Scottish Saltires cricket campaign.

They are playing Warwickshire in the C & G Trophy. I think it is the only one of their matches that is getting televised this season so tune in!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dinnae mind my saying so, but ah saw the Saltiries play yon school boys in Barbados.(BogHall) an as far as I remember they got beat!!they won wan game. Yon saltires that is!

Today,29/4/006 the Windies won against Zimbabwe with five wickets tae spare BUT nae West Indian was convinced! especially when you consider tha' the Zims were playing 18-2* yeatr olds.who were nae their best team!!

Wit folks dinnae realise,is tha' yon windies have always been a team of amatures.In other words,they have day jobs an' have tae work oan their form an' fitness after work.(Lara an' a few exceptions excluded) Unlike the Pros who have coaches who are paid handsomly tae work with them 24/7..The excluded above have tae pay oot of their ain pocket, for private coaching.I say "excluded" because they are the only wan's wha can afford it!

Well. for the informed, yer probably saying "What about Bennet King the Windies coach? Where is he then? Well as the Windies team is a combination of players from many Islands,they can only be in wan place at any given time.

The saltires are the same when it comes tae being ranked amatures, but they have tae raise their game for the World cup in the Windies.

On present form, they cannae make it oot of the first round. I expect the Windies tae do better.But if the Saltires dinnae raise their standard by several notches,even though on current form they will bomb.The Windies havenae much of a chance as it is.

BG

Here is where I come to water my roots.
Born Again..........and still Scottish!

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see we took a hammering yesterday. Maybe it's a sign that Scots shouldn't play cricket Wink

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry tae hear that,but nae surprised! Meanwhile the Windies won their second one dayer against Zim in Antigua yesterday.Concidering yon Zimbabwe'ians are just young inexperienced lads,some only eighteen.They did quite well.The next match is in Guyana Saturday comming.

I'm afraid I'm unashamedly a Windies cricket fan tae the end!! Got converted living here in Boghall!! To use a little Bajan, cricket caan play an 'doan fine muh dey!

Big up de Bajan posse!!

BG dwarf sunny

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SLG wrote:
I see we took a hammering yesterday. Maybe it's a sign that Scots shouldn't play cricket Wink

Or maybe it is a sign that we are saving ourselves for the World Cup Razz

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think its great that Scotland is in the world cup in the first place.But i still think my two favorite teams are going tae bomb.

Reluctant hero,its guid tae see a fellow cricket fan aroon here!

BG Mr. Green alien

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright BG!

How do you think the Windies will get on next week against England?

Is Lara playing?

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The windies RH are playing Zimbabwe this Saturday comming.6th May.
So far they have won two out of two.But nae wan here is overly impressed.

I was'nt aware that they were tae play England next week??? The next matches after Zim as far as I know are against India.I think!

Lara is Captain once more, so yes he should be playing.

BG dwarf Mr. Green

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Embarassed You're right!

England are playing Sri Lanka next week. Don't know what made me thought it was the West Indies.

Scotland need regular games against the likes of Zimbabwe and Bangladesh to raise their ability, before they will ever be able to compete against the likes of Windies, England, Australia etc.

So, I fully expect a first round exit in the WC, but it is all experience Very Happy

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2006 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wal RH,dinnae min' me sayin' so,but zim an' Bangladesh? The former as yer well ken are in deep political erm........ right, thats the word!
The team they've sent here are school boys,also they are not playing test match cricket,only one dayers.and while Bangladesh are more organised,well they're still playing on luck.I wuid aspire tae higher.

But unfortunately,Scots cricketers are only amatures and have day jobs.All the big teams do it full time with all the best coaches etc.The Windies are also Amatures.

Well, the match tomorrow and the wan oan Sunday in Guyana at Bourda, is in danger of being cancelled due tae heavy rains.They'd have tae play in wellies!!

BG

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fantastic result today Cool

Scotland won their first match of the C&G trophy in a reduced over match against Worcestershire.

Richards top scored with 88 not out in the 25 over match.

Come on Scotland. World Cup in 2007, here we come. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hai RH, yes I heard, it was great news.Did Ryan Watson play? He made 90 plus in Boghall and did'nt he score 40 runs off 30 balls against Warwickshire?? Very Happy

Well ticket sales for the world cup went on sale here last week.Every one is waiting with baited breath to see how that turns out.

The last international match at Bourda ground in Guyana played today.There,Windies ran up their highest one day score 333-6 and won.Zimbabwe did well and scored over two hundred.
Chanderpaul almost always does well at home matches,he got 93 and fielded like Jonty Rhodes!!

BG flower

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Windies beat Zimbabwe again this evening and without loosing a wicket.I feel sorry for zim, thier captain looked pretty green aroond the gills!! They'll go back home now an' promptly get shot!!!

India next for the Windies in the Caribbean I believe.A totally different ball game!!

BG Cool

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Babygael wrote:
Hai RH, yes I heard, it was great news.Did Ryan Watson play? He made 90 plus in Boghall and did'nt he score 40 runs off 30 balls against Warwickshire?? Very Happy

BG flower

Ryan Watson was opening the batting, but I don't even think he made the teens!

Scotland were in fine form again today against that mighty cricketing nation Namibia. In their first 4-day game in the ICC Intercontinental Cup, Scotland closed on 95-3 in reply to Namibia's 168 all out.

Ross Lyons had amazing figures of 4-10 in his 12.4 overs, 8.4 of which were maidens Very Happy

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hai RH,That is certainly good news!! I'd love tae see Scotland playing first class cricket wan day! Very Happy WOW! Thats serious bowling figures!! Does he bowl express? Pace like fire!! Cheerd me up RH,thank you!!

BG

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does he bowl express? Pace like fire!!

Looks more like a spinner to me Cool
http://www.cricketeurope2.net/scr...p;albumID=14817&photoID=14819

Scotland made a record 4th wicket stand of 174 runs today with Watson finishing on 166 not out. afro

Closed the day on 274-4. Only the rain can save Namibia now.

Are you hopeful of a 6-0 Windies white-wash this weekend BG?

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hai RH, fantastic batting by Ryan Watson an' the rest!!

I thought the series here was over!! Ah havnae ever heird of six matches, five yes! Cool

Ah dinnae really get to see Scotland play here,so am reliant oan the "net". and of course,you! Cricket isnae exactly a known Scottish past time.Kind ae hard tae bowl in a kilt fer wan!!I guess it disnae get as much publicity as other sports.Its a sasannach game onyroad,which I must confess tae being extreamly partial tae.

I didnae ken nambia played cricket,much less being a "Mighty cricketing nation" Shocked They must be pretty bad for the saltires to kick their erm rear end, dinnae mind me sayin sae!

Tak care ae yersel'
BG sunny

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You were right RH! The windies and Zim did attempt tae play a sixth match at Queens park oval,Trinidad.But it was cancelled due to rain.

India are allready in the caribbean,I think the first game will be on thursday comming.Now THAT will be a real game and not a warm up exercise! Unfortunately Tendulkar is not here with the team.We were looking forward to seeing that excellent batsman play!! In all honesty, I dont see the Windies winning this one! They are still in reconstruction mode!

Anymore Saltire news??

BG sunny

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We won the game against Namibia by an innings and 65 runs within three days Cool

Bring on the Aussies and South Africa Laughing

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YEAH RIGHT!! We wish!!! can you imaging wan against englant n' the saltires????? I love yer spirit RH!!

can you imagine that 98 countries have so far purchased tickets for the World cup?? Get ready scotland!!

India are allready daein serious damage in their warm up matches. They are gaein tae win this series.

later BG. dwarf flower

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Other Sports All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5