mairead Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:10 am Post subject: Stone of Destiny |
Ten years today since the stone of Destiny which was taken to Westminster by King Edward 1st of England, was returned to Scotland although whether it is the real stone is still greatly debated.
_________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,
For Scotland, I will give my life |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:33 pm Post subject: |
| So does anyone know where the real stone is? Now would be a good time. |
Avatar I need ma own bl**dy forum!

Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:58 pm Post subject: |
Im sure I remember a story saying when when it was originally stolen it was hid in a wall somewhere. Couldn't they run tests on the one we have to check and make sure its real? _________________ "Quite simply, Labour have been caught red-handed so often that no-one believes a word they say any more." |
Wolf of Badenoch 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:24 am Post subject: |
| SLG wrote: | | So does anyone know where the real stone is? Now would be a good time. |
Ave telt this story afore oan here ahm sure,onyways, if ye want tae ken aboot ra Stane o Destiny ma wee boy seems tae ken a helluva lot aboot it.
Last year when he wis in P6 they got taken tae see ra Stane at the castle for a topic they waur daein,noo ra guide fae ra castle wis giein it the big spiel tae ra bairns and ra teachers when ma boy says tae him " Dae ye believe in real Scottish history?" tae which ra guide says "Aye" tae then be telt by ma boy "Weel ye`ll ken that that stane isnae ra real stane o destiny then",ra guide says" Whaur is ra real stane then wee smart guy",ra wee smart guy telt him "Somewhaur in Scotland." Ra guide wisnae happy when ra teachers had a laugh by aw acoonts.
Git that right up ye then so called Edinburgh castle history guide,taken tae ra cleaners by a 10 year auld.
If a get ony mair information ootae ma boy aboot ra whauraboots ae ra real stane i`ll let yees ken,micht be a while mind hes no giein much awa. _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 4:34 pm Post subject: |
Hiya Wolfie, Nice to see you back. _________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,
Wolf of Badenoch 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:09 am Post subject: |
| mairead wrote: | | Hiya Wolfie, Nice to see you back. |
Aye aye mairead,thank ye kindly.  _________________ The Wolf Is At The Door |
Lord Pitsligo No Longer a Wean

Joined: 14 Aug 2007 Posts: 84 Location: Englandshire (but not for long!)
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:09 pm Post subject: |
| Avatar wrote: | | Im sure I remember a story saying when when it was originally stolen it was hid in a wall somewhere. Couldn't they run tests on the one we have to check and make sure its real? |
As someone who studied geology, I can say that yes, we could get a very good idea of where the rock comes from. Perthshire sandstone I'd say, if I had to make a guess
I know some people have theorised that the original stone was a meteorite. The old accounts of the stone certainly fit the description of a meteorite. _________________ "Grace Me Guide" |
azzuri Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

Joined: 12 Sep 2005 Posts: 3743 Location: Edinburgh, Fort Augustus, Kilmarnock, Flodigarry, Oban
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:18 pm Post subject: |
...with some sort of celtic knot carvings in it, apparently. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
"There is British nationalism or Scottish nationalism. I prefer the civic nationalism of small nations that has been expressed through the independence of a dozen European nations of similar size to Scotland in the past 100 years. They have prospered and I'd choose the tolerance and peace of Norway and Ireland over Trident and the illegal Iraq war any day. - Alex Salmond
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 12:56 am Post subject: |
Celtic aliens?  _________________ Ath-bheothachadh
Drink beer,don't drive...its cheeper! |
Corby Boy I Love 'Our Scotland'
Joined: 12 Oct 2006 Posts: 386 Location: South of Hadrian's Wall
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:23 pm Post subject: |
The auld legend goes that the Abbott of Scone hid the true stone from Edward Longshanks (it was originally from Tara in Ireland), and produced it on the proclomation of Robert the Bruce. He was duly crowned on it. On Roberts death bed, he bade Angus Og MacDonald to spirit it away after his son's coronation (David Bruce). This happened and Angus died not long after.
So, ask someone in clan MacDonald, whaur's yon stane, ma friends?
Other theory the Knights Templar, protected by Bruce, are guarding it until a new King can be found to sit on Scotland's throne.
So, Western Isles or Roslin or some such, take ya pick! |
Holebender I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:11 pm Post subject: |
The problem with the Knights Templar story is that Scotland had a whole line of legitimate Kings after Bruce and was safe from English aggression (at least in the years immediately after Bruce) so why wasn't the stone produced then? Wouldn't it have been a great propoganda coup to unveil the stone and publicly hold a coronation after the English had gone to all the trouble of taking a fake down to Westminster Abbey? No, the Knichties story doesn't stand up. _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Blackadder Jim Baxter is God...........really!!!!

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 7:37 pm Post subject: |
The Stone of Destiny originally came from Egypt and is inscribed with heiroglyphs. It was brought to Ireland by the Tuatha de Danaan, a Celtic tribe that descended from the Celt mercenaries at the Court of the Pharaohs. Known as the Lia Fail (although there is another stone called that in Ireland) and Jacob's Pillow, "clach-na-cinneamhain", "clach Sgàin" and the Tanist Stone, the real stone was hidden from the marauding English army of Edward I (who referred to himself as the "Hammer of the Scots). The real stone is still hidden. The lump of rock in Edinburgh Castle .... is a fake!
The real stone was looked after by the Clan Dewar, Gaelic ‘Deoireach’, who were like a caste of hereditary priests to the King of Scots. It is believed they spirited the stone away to either a remote highland cave or to the Islands, possibly the Holy Isle of Iona, an island sacred to the Celt druids long before Christianity claimed it!
It's highly likely the stone iself is of polished black basalt, a stone highly favoured by Egyptians ... and the ends were carved into lotus fronds. Scrolls were more a Roman achitectural feature. |

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:28 pm Post subject: |
And the lump of rock in Edinburgh castle is alleged to be the covering of an ancient lavatory.
Does my heart good to think of all the 'British' kings and queens who were crowned over a toilet seat.
I believe the stone is still hidden and who knows it might even reappear when Scotland stands as a nation again. _________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,
Holebender I need ma own bl**dy forum!
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:33 pm Post subject: |
Again, I have to ask; if the stone was hidden away for safe keeping, why wasn't it produces as soon as Scotland's independence was secured in the 14th Century? Why not get it out of hiding and hold a grand coronation for Robert I as soon as the Treaty of Edinburgh-Northampton was signed? _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
agentmancuso Getting on a bit!

Joined: 06 Sep 2006 Posts: 1798 Location: Darkest Lanarkshire
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:37 pm Post subject: |
I've got some impressive lumps of concrete in the garden that your all welcome to if you'd like to sculpt a new Stone of Destiny. _________________ Liberty does not mean all good things, or the absence of all evils
Hayek |

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:35 pm Post subject: |
Holebender.
I have no idea why the stone was not produced at these times, but I daresay it could have had something to do with the fear of it another attempt at stealing it.. Mind you, you do raise a good point here and have set me wondering the same. _________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,