Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:12 am Post subject: Stop the bus, I want off…… |
Stop the bus, I want off…… (a rant about 21st century Britain)
So this is what 'Britain' means in the 21st century. Ding Ding, next stop is the Multiplex cinema and the Sports-Bar grill.
I went 'out' on Saturday night. I went to a 'happening' place in a local town for a few drinks with a couple of old friends. This 'great' place I found to be dull, boring and posturing – did I mention dull? Cheap watches and expensive pink FCUK T-shirts with holes fashionably ripped or burned into them. boring boring boring. people sat not talking, not being social. just sipping silly little blue drinks, texting, camera phoning. I lost count of the times I overheard the word 'babe' by girls who style themselves on Paris Hilton. People 'spice' about the place looking sulky, like the plot characters from the Daz washing powder 'a soap you can believe in' tv advert. note to self. this is boring. very boring. nothing to see . nothing to do. no culture. nothing new. everywhere I look everyone looks the same. Same tired pubs.
I don’t go out much these days other than once in a while when someone phones up and suggests a night out, which usually features in the background a load of posers dressed up in crap sitting around drinking s***e and not talking. When I was younger I didn't notice all this stuff because I was single and only interested in the girls a place was full of. when did everything become so crap? Having lived in the South-West and North-East of Scotland as well as Northern Ireland, I see loads of depressing similarities. Time to emigrate?
That was certainly my thought when I overheard the two girls sitting at the table beside me. Moaning about their money problems and debt, which no doubt was contributed to by their glitzy new outfits, one of them remarked how 'rich' she'd be if her father died, and wasn't joking either. "It's not like I would want him to suffer in agony or anything, but I'd be like so rich if he died". I thought my ears had deceived me, but apparently not.
Thank god I read the odd book and care about my friends and family I thought to myself.
Also, I always find it funny when Brits joke about how America has no culture.
What is British culture in the 21st century?
- getting drunk in 'bars'
- 'Barclaycard' Premiership football
- obsessing over property and interior design
- buying goods to boost ones 'status'
- loading yourself up with crazy, unmanageable amounts of personal debt
That is it.
'Britain' is finished. Any culture that my grandparents were proud of has been completely destroyed by greed and poor education.
Is it any wonder why people here are grappling to the idea of a Scottish cultural phenonemon? I know I certainly am.
According to many acquaintances of mine, prior to the 1980s it was possible to live a simple life. Wages were crap but bills were manageable. Every park had its own park keeper, hospitals had enough doctors & nurses and every suburb, village and town had ample, helpful coppers walking the beat. Trains & Buses were affordable and our roads were free. Dentists were free & there were no prescription charges.
Towns and markets were full of independent traders and everyone pulled together.
Welcome to 2006 you c**t – 40 quid parking tickets that double to 80 if you try and appeal them, severely under-funded endowment mortgages, Tesco is the only place left to shop, £1500.00 per year council tax, 1 pound per litre petrol, VAT on domestic fuel, ASBOs, train travel costs a fortune, tolls on roads, no standing at the football or the stewards will eject you like the criminal you are etc. etc. etc.
pence in the pound tax revenue the highest it has ever been.
Yet we're told no state pensions, retire at 80, NHS is skint, police can't cope...etc. So where the f**k is all my money going?
We're all being fiddled and they're using all our money on stupid wars and building a huge angry police force to kick the crap out of us when we start to protest about it.
They are spending our money on ID cards not to prevent terrorism but to keep tags on us to make sure we obey their rules and work hard. New laws to stop us protesting and even talking about certain subjects.
My family often tell me about the peace-loving 60s and the general 'ordinary happiness' of the 70s, then after that it all was about greed and self. The Yuppy 80s arrived and it’s just festered without correction. You reap what you sow and all that. Cheeriness seems to have gone out the window. It's all about being sullen. Like pete doherty from babyshambles. and heroin. No one is happy unless unhappy.
Voting in a UK-wide general election is about as effective as wiping your **** with a dirty nappy. We don't have a say at all.
The good things a small town like Kilmarnock had in the past are not fashionable. Quiet. Pie-eating. A coarse, industrious, proud town with coarse, hard-working people. Ruined by planners into a decaying, hybrid ‘super-town’ where all roads lead to the local multiplex cinema and DIY superstore. A modern bus station set against rows of crumbling terraces and local listed buildings falling to pieces. Why do I feel so out of sync? Doesn't anyone else recognise how crap everything is? Why does every town have to be 'happening'?
....if people want 'cool', move to Glasgow's West End or something. I'm not interested in your brightly-coloured, sugar-filled alcopops or your 3 quid pre-packed sandwiches. I like beer, and not your fizzy stuff. Dark, dark as it gets. And I'll have soup for lunch please. What do you mean you don't do soup? I don't want f***ing fajitas!
Why is it the only interesting conversations left in the world are with people much older and wiser than me?
AAARRRRGGGGHHHH!
All of this crap has resulted from a lack of investment in education, leading to everyone getting into 20Ks worth of student debt in order to complete their media studies degree which invariably leads to a job in McDonalds.
Talking about education - get this. Spoke to an old friend the other day who is now a teacher. She said that if a girl pupil came up to her in tears over something and wanted to put their hands round you for comfort you had to back away and put your hands behind your back - you must not have any contact with a pupil. This even extends to disabled pupils - the example she gave was a disabled pupil falling out of their wheelchair.... as a teacher you must not help them back in, but instead get a qualified helper to do the job whilst they lie there!!
Luckily though, we have a choice.
Scotland has a chance to get out of this dreadful situation it finds itself in. We can either get off this decaying banger of a bus now or wait until we’re thrown off at the last stop, with nothing worth left to save in 20 or 30 years.
I'm off to find myself a bit of land somewhere and build my own eco-house. I'll filter my own water, generate my own heat and electric and grow my own food. My kids will grow up being home-schooled and will be taught the core values about respecting themselves and others. Come and knock on my front door when you're ready to become Independent Scotland, I'll be the first to lend a hand and pitch in when needed.
It might or might not happen. We could become Independent and improve this country whose people and culture are decaying by the day. If it doesn't happen in the next decade, I'm off abroad – it's where all the young, smart ones from these isles seem to be heading. If you can't beat 'em, join 'em.
Yours,
Disillusioned Drunkard
_________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/
Last edited by azzuri on Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:00 pm; edited 1 time in total |
Leathlaobhair No Longer a Wean

Joined: 26 Oct 2005 Posts: 94 Location: Every day above ground is a good day
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:10 am Post subject: |
Every generation thinks itself in the setting sun of a golden age of a former one. That's all I can really say. It looks bad when you walk around these days--it seems like loads of people either don't care about politics or have extremely simplistic views--but there are always people who care about the world and how it goes. Things will always change anyway. _________________ Those must have all been important to me once. What I am now grew from that. A former self is a fool, an insufferable ass, but he's still human, you'd no more turn him out than you'd turn out any kind of cripple, would you?
-Thomas Pynchon |
parkhead_rfb Getting on a bit!
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:18 pm Post subject: |
agree with that about city centre bars, a lot of these places are full of pretentious arseholes. The student ones are the worst though, does anyone else think that spouting a catchphrase from the latest popular tv show doesnt make you instantly hilarious or is that just me? _________________ "our revenge will be the laughter of our children" bobby sands MP
"there is no equality in a society that stands upon the political and economic bog, if only the strongest make it good or survive" bobby sands MP |

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:05 pm Post subject: |
"you are the weakest link, goodbye!"
guess who was feeling angry with the world last night?......  _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Aventinian 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4403 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:50 pm Post subject: |
You think Scottish independence could solve this? It's the socialist mentality that finds itself a comfortable home within the Nationalist movement that's keeping this going. To be honest, most of the people who'd share these views about society are Tory voters or those on the right of the Lib Dems. Maybe you'll realise that it's got nothing to do with Britain - indeed, you'll find many of the people sick of this nonsense are on the fast train down to England.
This is exactly what I rant about every week in the pub. Yet you offer a completely ineffective cure for the symptoms. f**k Scottish independence, how's about strengthening the powers of local communities? I was reading the minutes of my community council recently - not only are they powerless, but they have a bank balance that doesn't exceed three figures. Imagine if people actually set about working with these organisations, donated half their moveable estates to them on death, allowed towns that can function largely independently of county control to do so...
Meanwhile this "Scotland" of yours centralises powers away from these bodies, sucks them up to Edinburgh and demands more from London...
It's us that are going down the tubes, meanwhile we jealously look at the English, mock their sports teams and complain about how nice the South East is when we get far more money than they do to play with. Who are the fools now? |
Lothian Sky I Love 'Our Scotland'
Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:03 am Post subject: |
Babygael Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:20 pm Post subject: |
People follow trends because who or what the hell else to follow????
Where's the Bruce when we need him???
BG   |

Joined: 10 Dec 2005 Posts: 4403 Location: Broadcasting From An Anonymous Location Within the United Kingdom.
Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:12 pm Post subject: |
Deid, in case you haven't noticed... _________________ The resident pantomime villain.
'Socialists cry "Power to the people", and raise the clenched fist as they say it. We all know what they really mean—power over people, power to the State.' |
Rinty Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:31 pm Post subject: m |
In my young days in Kilmarnock pubs the culture was drinking, smoking, talking pish, vomitting and fighting. In my fathers day there would be people ranting about the idiots who go to the picture house three times a week and waste their money on brylcreem and motorbikes.
The Culture is still there Azzurri its just that you are not part of it and dont recognise it. For every person you see dressed exactly the same standing in a Wetherspoons there are 10 young people elsewhere doing something else.
If your looking for culture, you went to the wrong place.
In Killie, in my opinion, the cultural peak was the 80s gig scene that spawned Nyah Fearties, Trash Can Sinatras the Longhorns etc. But I was one of the 2 or 300 hundred people who were there. To other people who lived in the town at the same time they might not have any idea of what and when I'm talking about, yet their own cultural experience could have been right under my nose and I missed it. |
wisnaeme This is Ma' Life!

Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 7:35 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | Deid, in case you haven't noticed... |
Aye,thats a fact and so is the freedom that himself and other fought for.
Come the day,come the hour,come the people's will and that day is dawning.
Does that prospect haunt ye,"Aventinian"? The thought that yer pals will nae be in charge anymore? Aye,tough sh!te tae swalla ,aint it just.  |

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:34 am Post subject: |
| wisnaeme wrote: | Aye,thats a fact and so is the freedom that himself and other fought for.
Come the day,come the hour,come the people's will and that day is dawning. |
Um, no actually. Incase you haven't realised you were born a free human being in a free country. Very few people care about this and would happily sell that freedom for a quiet life.
| Quote: | Does that prospect haunt ye,"Aventinian"? The thought that yer pals will nae be in charge anymore? Aye,tough sh!te tae swalla ,aint it just.  |
Not to worry, if you're suggesting what I think you are then I'd just emmigrate like everyone else with some common sense.
Hope you enjoy being in charge of your own mess. |
SLG Born Again..........and still Scottish!

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:13 pm Post subject: |
| Aventinian wrote: | | You think Scottish independence could solve this? It's the socialist mentality that finds itself a comfortable home within the Nationalist movement that's keeping this going. To be honest, most of the people who'd share these views about society are Tory voters or those on the right of the Lib Dems. Maybe you'll realise that it's got nothing to do with Britain - indeed, you'll find many of the people sick of this nonsense are on the fast train down to England. |
I think issues like this cross party divides. There is definitely no particular political strand that has a monopoly on Independence - despite what some in the SNP might like to believe.
Almost all the folk I know who've taken the fast train down to London (something I've done myself) have done so for work. Many have come back and many of those who remain would like to come back if comparable work was available.
| Aventinian wrote: | | This is exactly what I rant about every week in the pub. Yet you offer a completely ineffective cure for the symptoms. f**k Scottish independence, how's about strengthening the powers of local communities? I was reading the minutes of my community council recently - not only are they powerless, but they have a bank balance that doesn't exceed three figures. Imagine if people actually set about working with these organisations, donated half their moveable estates to them on death, allowed towns that can function largely independently of county control to do so... |
I'd agree about strengthening local community powers. Independence does impact on that if you believe that more effective community organisations are more achievable post Independence compared with the present system.
| Aventinian wrote: | | Meanwhile this "Scotland" of yours centralises powers away from these bodies, sucks them up to Edinburgh and demands more from London... |
I don't think this is rs_azzuri's Scotland. This is the Unionist's Scotland. A confused attempt to keep the Union together while hoping to pacify the people of Scotland.
| Aventinian wrote: | | It's us that are going down the tubes, meanwhile we jealously look at the English, mock their sports teams and complain about how nice the South East is when we get far more money than they do to play with. Who are the fools now? |
We are of course. It's been that way for some time. There are signs that we are waking up to the situation though. |

Posted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:06 am Post subject: |
I've tried to avoid looking at this post for a few days I wasn't sure opf the replies I'd get on the thread.
Anyway, I have to pull Aventinian up on the above post
| Quote: | You think Scottish independence could solve this? It's the socialist mentality that finds itself a comfortable home within the Nationalist movement that's keeping this going. To be honest, most of the people who'd share these views about society are Tory voters or those on the right of the Lib Dems. Maybe you'll realise that it's got nothing to do with Britain - indeed, you'll find many of the people sick of this nonsense are on the fast train down to England.
This is exactly what I rant about every week in the pub. Yet you offer a completely ineffective cure for the symptoms. f**k Scottish independence, how's about strengthening the powers of local communities? I was reading the minutes of my community council recently - not only are they powerless, but they have a bank balance that doesn't exceed three figures. Imagine if people actually set about working with these organisations, donated half their moveable estates to them on death, allowed towns that can function largely independently of county control to do so...
Meanwhile this "Scotland" of yours centralises powers away from these bodies, sucks them up to Edinburgh and demands more from London...
It's us that are going down the tubes, meanwhile we jealously look at the English, mock their sports teams and complain about how nice the South East is when we get far more money than they do to play with. Who are the fools now? |
Firstly, of course Scottish Independence wouldn't solve ALL of the above on it's own, but the side-effects of it will given time. Not even taking into consideration the fact that Scotland contributes considerably more to the treasury annually than it receives back (not including the HUGE Oil/Gas revenues).
Between Oil and Gas alone, it is estimated that there is £1.7 TRILLION of the stuff in Scottish Waters.
Just to put that into figures most people can comprehend, thats £340,000 spending for EVERY man, woman and child in Scotland. For the average family of 4 thats over £1.3 million - more than all the taxes your family will pay in their entire lifetime. How, therefore, could Scotland be poorer Independent?
Factor in that Oil and Gas prices are only going to go in one direction due to phenonemons such as Peak Oil, and you can see that this windfall could cure Scotland of all it's social ills and health problems within 20 years.
*We could build huge supplies of quality, publicly owned houses for young people who can't afford to buy a house in today's market.
*We could turn the population and pensions crisis on it's head by increasing immigration or giving people 'grants' for every child they have. We could also improve trade links with growing global economies such as China and India.
*We could lower corporation tax in order to increase Global investment and increase innovation and number of business start-ups.
*We could tackle all of our social and crime problems by increasing benefits so that people can actually live on them yet also create an environment where entrepenuership and working is rewarded.
*We could drastically increase the amount of aid given to 3rd world countries and improve trade links with them.
*We could build new hospitals to take care of our ill and sick relatives, build new schools for our children and provide University education for free to those who want it. Note all student loans could also be paid off by the Government, getting rid of something which will blight a whole generation of young Scots (myself included).
*We could encourage exercise amongst children by building lots of facilities in local areas, helping to create professional athletes and 'icons' in the future.
These are just some of the things I'm sure all of us want to see in Scotland. We could acheive the above very easily and much more with these revenues. We'd also have a huge chunk left over to invest in our nation's future.
Now, when these revenues are split amongst the whole of the UK, Scotland's share becomes just £28,500 for every man, woman and child, a huge £311,150 drop. How anyone can say that Scotland would be poorer under Independence is beyond me. If you still believe that then you realy need your head checked.
This year, HM's Treasury is receiving £74 billions from Oil Revenue alone. Each year, this is increasing and the bounty that awaits us is dwindling.
I'm not interested in what's gone on in the past, 1707, Act of Union blah blah blah. We live in the here and now and what's went before is irrelevant. What matters is that we have a real chance to improve our lives, our children's lives, grandchildrens and an infinite amount of generations to come by making the right choice now.
Aventinian, you really are a curious fellow. I truly believe that you are a Libertarian. However, as you have yourself admitted in previous posts, economics and the all-mighty $ isn't really your thing. I think your beliefs in right-wing economics are driven more by the politics of the party you vote for and the people you spend your time with rather than a belief which you came to your own conclusions about. Economics, however, IS 'my thing'.
I believe that only a form of social democracy can benefit a country. It's no coincidence that countries such as Sweden and Norway have the highest living standards in the world. They are attractive to businesses and have high employment, despite having a 'large' welfare state. It's not only about social democracy - it's the way in which the Scandinavians manage it which makes their model so successful.
The whole 'Free Market' ideology fails for the same reason Communism does. It all looks good on paper, but when it comes down to the nitty-gritty it's people and human greed that f**k it all up. I'm sure Adam Smith had the best of intentions when he came up with his theory, and he was no doubt an intelligent man, but he didn't see the pitfalls. Marx was also a good guy - surely someone with the best of intentions.
Communism fails not because of the communists who are committed to it, happily working 12 hours a day for the good of the state, but those who take advantage of it for their own ends - natural human greed. The Free Market fails for similiar reasons.
In theory, it should work to improve living conditions and standards of living for people, but that's not the way it works in reality. Free trade allows businesses to relocate to foreign countries and pay lower wages in return that the goods being sold are also lower in price. While in theory people should then be able to afford to buy more and increase their standard of living, this is not always the case. The capital which is freed up goes to boost the prices of things such as houses which are only driven by demand and not actual value of the bricks and mortar, therefore pushing the cost of living back up again. Theoretically however, people's wages should stay the same while their standard of living increases, but this allows businesses to give only small wage rises below the rates of inflation, meaning real costs go up while the standard of living drops back down to it's original level. This means that the only people to benefit from this free trade are the shareholders of businesses themselves as they increase their profits whie lowering 'real' labour costs (as is their duty acording to their chairman). But really, it's only a short-term gain as those extra profits are worth less in the real world.
So who wins - well no one in the long-term.
You don't want to be controlled by an Edinburgh government and hate bureaucracy though you would be happy to give more powers to and be ruled by the ultimate in bureaucratic institutions, the EU? It's bureaucracy for bureacracy's sake man! It's a bigger, EU-wide version of New Labour, and you want to transfer power to them!?!?!?
The UK is a halfway house for all involved. Scotland, England, Wales and NI all have different needs and the UK is trying to match them all and failing miserably. All are suffering from it bar the South-East of England.
As Independent Nations, all would do better. Scotland though is suffering more than the others at the moment and it shows in almost every section of Scottish society and it's only getting worse. Suicide has risen more than 17% in Scotland from 2000, and is the leading killer amongst men in Scotland between the ages of 18-34.
I'm not asking you to value a Scotsman over an Englishman, but to look at the territory you live in. Don't you see it deteriorating all around you?
Next year will spell a huge change in the face of Scottish Politics as Labour will lose 300+ councillors all over the country. It's time for a change.
The Status Quo cannot be allowed to continue, because if so in 20 years there will be nothing worth saving.
| Quote: | | It's us that are going down the tubes, meanwhile we jealously look at the English, mock their sports teams and complain about how nice the South East is when we get far more money than they do to play with. Who are the fools now? |
I ask you, is this really how you see an Independent Scotland? The above is Scotland TODAY - a result of the union. Is it any wonder we jealously look south to our 'partners' in England? If I genuinely thought Scotland was better off within the Union I would support it. But it's not. If it were to change tomorrow and suddenly we were to be better off within the Union, I would support it.
But it's highly unlikely.
Your beloved Tories (sorry if I've wrongly assumed who you vote for) would be the biggest winners of all in an Independent Scotland. Every nation needs it's Conservatives (if only to heckle ) and their vote would no doubt rise dramatically in an Independent Scotland. You are more likely to be able to live the multicultural, libertarian lifestyle you crave in an Independent Scotland than you are in the current setup, even you must admit that.
It is more than likely that only under this sort of revolutionary scenario could Scots grow out of their unshakeable belief that "the state" should interfere in every aspect of their lives.
I would hope we could rid ourselves of being 'nanny-fied', but then that comes from having our money taken away from us in the form of stealth taxes and being redistributed as pocket money by people who couldn't care less. The funny thing is, the administration of collecting and redistributing said stealth taxes is probably costs more than the overall tax collected.
Hopefully with a sovereign government for Scotland, we could get our private sector, business investment and general economy to be ran by people who actually know what they are doing. _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum