Screegor No Longer a Wean
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:56 pm Post subject: Vegetarian Haggis Recipe |
Okay, I have agreed to cook Haggis for my US flatmates. They are both vegetarian to add complexity to making it.
So does anyone have a good vegetaian recipe that I can use, that will produce a good tasting haggis?
azzuri 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:19 am Post subject: |
Moved to the 'general banter' section.  _________________ "Every single person on this planet is unique. Just like everyone else..." - Random Guy in Edinburgh Pub
Possibly the funniest site in the world, 'The Daily Mash' - http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/ |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:48 pm Post subject: |
I thought the Haggis was very much part of Scottish life....
Certainly all the US people imagine that is all you eat every day anyway. Oh and pigs blood.
I'm doing my bit to ensure it is what they believe too.
Interesting recipe:-
"ginger.... a piece about a third the size of your hand"
Okay so I'm reaconing (some adaptions for the fact I felt like it):-
2 onions
4 cloves garlic
15 mushrooms
1 - 2 aubergine
1 - 2 apple (type unknown (guessing a cooking apple...))
Ton of Oatmeal
4000000 lbs ginger
Red wine and white wine (extra goes to cook).
Sage
Bit of chilli powder
Cumin
Black Pepper
Salt
(maybe even a carrot - to hold the structure????)
What do you think of that? Do you think it will work? |
Babygael Collecting my 'Our Scotland' Pension!

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 1:05 pm Post subject: |
As a carnivorous Scot, I prefer tae track doon ma prey, in this case a sheep, pinched after a night of wild carousing and border raiding. Mince well, then add to other ingredients. Serve with copious amounts of chilled pigs blood. Where traditionally, a hearty toast is raised to the sheep Farmer and other sasannach in general. The toast is given in Gaelic as follows "Pog mo thon!"
However,I liked your recipe except you need more onions and apples. Mix n' stuff it all in to mock sheep gut, Yum ! Yum! _________________ Ath-bheothachadh
Drink beer,don't drive...its cheeper! |
Holebender I need ma own bl**dy forum!
kathyv 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 595 Location: Lostine, Oregon, USA
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:04 pm Post subject: |
So if the flatmates are vegetarian, can you cook the haggis in the sheep's stomach of won't they eat it then?
That recipe sounds lovely, especially the wine! LOL _________________ I don't have hobbies; hobbies cost money. Interests are quite free.
George Carlin |
Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:54 am Post subject: |
Kathy, veggie haggis is made in an inedible plastic skin which is discarded after cooking. _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
kathyv 'Our Scotland' = 2nd Job!

Joined: 10 May 2006 Posts: 595 Location: Lostine, Oregon, USA
Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 6:42 pm Post subject: |
Ahhh (and ugh!) I guess that makes sense, I never thought about alternative 'bags'! _________________ I don't have hobbies; hobbies cost money. Interests are quite free.
George Carlin |
Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 9:10 pm Post subject: |
Thanks for the advice, I came to the conclusion I needed to experiment before tainting US views on the haggis.
When I return - I'll return with the best recipe ever (and I'll post it on here for others to try). _________________ Holebender (2007):
"Now I remember why I undertook never to respond to Neil some time last year. He's a dick." |
cymrofawr On A Journey (500 Miles)

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:29 am Post subject: |
Veggie haggis, ok! Does it contain Quorn? _________________ the fools, the fools, they have left us our Fenian dead, and while Ireland holds these graves Ireland unfree shall never be at peace-Patrick Pearse |
Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:53 am Post subject: |
No. See the links earlier in the thread for recipes. _________________ "My instinct is to agree with your opinion of his verse, but I've never so much as glanced at it." - agentmancuso |
Blackadder 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:27 pm Post subject: |
| Vegetarian haggis?? Heretical plebs!!! |
mairead Ready For Afterlife!

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 2:56 pm Post subject: |
BG, you naughty BG. I understood that.  _________________ I fear not hell, nor English strife,
For Scotland, I will give my life |
Celtic Indian Nationalist

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:56 am Post subject: |
| Screegor wrote: | I thought the Haggis was very much part of Scottish life....
It is.Every Fri or Sat night after bucket full of bevvy and when its been deep fried,served with chips,brown sauce and a pickle  _________________ A Progressive Nationalist who want to banish Insular Nationalism and is humbled to be Scottish ! |
Blackadder 'Our Scotland' Fossil

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:58 am Post subject: |
Haggis is very much a plebeian dish. It was probably created by the clanswomen during a time of famine, so that what little meat, oatmeal and preservatives they had, when mixed together, managed to feed a whole community. In other countries, oats was fed to their animals ... but in Scotland it fed the people. And you wonder why we were a nation of warriors?
This is part of a song that celebrates the value of Haggis to the people. It comes from a musical play that was written and performed to save a well-known Scots community from having its entire budget slashed in the late 70s ... and it won after this show was toured, and the city council deeply embarrassed! It is copyright and cannot be re-used elsewhere without permission.
Take the paunch of a sheep
Take its heart, lungs and liver
All these things you must keep not waste
Take some meal from your store
Onions, suet and spices, to give taste
Pepper palate to unsettle
Onion appetite to whet'll
Tempt you to a dish that's rare
Gravy mixing altogether
Helps each part flavour the other
Share its riches everywhere
Won't find a dish