AmericanScot
American support for IndependenceHave those in the Independence movement made a effort to solicit funds from everyday Americans much like the Irish did ?
Barny Rubble
Re: American support for Independence | AmericanScot wrote: | | Have those in the Independence movement made a effort to solicit funds from everyday Americans much like the Irish did ? |
What the fud! Hey I can hear Dueling Banjos Or hell, I'll have to tell the guys about this
Welcome to the forum AmericanScot. Ignore Barny Rubble, he's a troll.
I'm no expert on this but I think it is unlikely that anyone has gone down this route. May be worth thinking about, but would be too late to do anything before this election.
Cymro
Well Politcal Parties can't take funding from abroad from what I gather.
And I don't think setting up a Scottish version of Noraid is necessarily a good thing. Far better would be to raise the profile of campaigns amongst those across the Atlantic.
AmericanScot
If there could be a booth at the major Scottish festivals this would raise awareness. Thousands attend these events at each festival and money could be raised if need be. Thank you for preserving our heritage and fighting the good fight.
If you have any ideas what a American can do to support the cause please post.
Barny Rubble
//If you have any ideas what a American can do to support the cause please post.//
Or gawd - This fantasy unadulterated fantasy!
Hey Americanscot
Och awa an bile yer heid Barn lad! A wee bit worried noo' are ye? An dinna fergit that when englandshire becomes Independent,its rumoured that Morris Dancing will become mandatory for all sasannach.
So git sewing the bells oan yer breeks an be prepared tae wave yer hanky!
Maol.Chaluim
| AmericanScot wrote: | | If you have any ideas what a American can do to support the cause please post. |
Spread the word.. take a look at www.independence1st.com and in particular www.independence1st.com/content/polls.shtml
Polls conducted from 1998 to the present indicate majority support for independence, and overwhelming support for a referendum on the issue, yet the current incumbents at Holyrood and Westminster have refused to hold one.
AmericanScot
I hope you find sucess in your quest. It seems to me that a smaller country today has its benefits. The larger the nation the more out of touch the so called leadership is with its people.
Rather than try and raise funding from abroad for political parties which is not allowed, why not try and help campaigns such as Independence First which can take funding from any source they like?
Andy McH
hello to all.
I believe that the Scotland should attempt to encourage the Scottish Diaspora to return home and work for the benifit of the Country.
We require the powers of an Independent country to make this work.
Welcome to the forums Andy McH, reading quite a few comments on the Scotsman website it seems there are a number of ex-pats that wish to come back once independence has been achieved.
AmericanScot
I wonder if the Scots realize how much support they have overseas ?
You need to tap the support.
Claymore
| Quote: | I wonder if the Scots realize how much support they have overseas ?
You need to tap the support. |
I agree we should be trying to get as much international support for an Independant Scotland as possible. I don't think its legal for parties to get funding from abroad, but then again hasn't labour gotten big cash 'donations' from overseas companies in the past. Also i'm pretty sure Sinn Fein has raised quite a bit of money from both sides of the Irish border, beign that they run on both sides, they probably pass funds back and forward and Gerry is often in US attending fund raising dinners
Barny Rubble
| Babygael wrote: | Hey Americanscot
Och awa an bile yer heid Barn lad! A wee bit worried noo' are ye? An dinna fergit that when englandshire becomes Independent,its rumoured that Morris Dancing will become mandatory for all sasannach.
So git sewing the bells oan yer breeks an be prepared tae wave yer hanky!  |
No but don't you think you have a goose in with your swans here? Meaning the said American girl is really sitting in a Glasgow tenement wishing she/he was a said American girl. I have notice on many message boards this seems to be a Scotch trait and it does make one think if the said have no pride in Scotland.
Many a Scot have said they're living America, Canada, Norway, Holland, only its wishful thinking or their part. Scotland has more cyber schizo's the any other country I know cyber Fantasy seems to be their only way of. And this person is one of the said a (multi-login) he/she is relying to his/her own posts now how sad is that.
Its sad, really sad in fact there is one Scots message board that's full of fantasy drivel that's why the more intelligent poster is posting on other boards all day. Scotland and the "true" Scots can do without these sad people because they're belittle Scotland. Scotland get rid of these clowns its for your own good!
BARN!
Hi sad engerlish gabhar, ah think yer probably had tae much "Scotch" An ah cannae onderstand a wird o' whit or tae whom ye spik, Bit yer forgiven!
AAAANNNNNND A-Ring-a ding-ding and WAVE and Wave and wave Repeat often.
AmericanScot
Thank you for sharing, now isnt it time you take your medication ?
| AmericanScot wrote: | | I hope you find sucess in your quest. It seems to me that a smaller country today has its benefits. The larger the nation the more out of touch the so called leadership is with its people. |
So presumably you'll be wanting to disband the United States?
Which state independence party are you a member of back home?
AmericanScot
No need since we fought for our independence from the British over 200 years ago.
Its worked out pretty good and I think Scotland deserves the same. Same for Northern Ireland.
Barny Rubble
| Babygael wrote: | BARN!
Hi sad engerlish gabhar, ah think yer probably had tae much "Scotch" An ah cannae onderstand a wird o' whit or tae whom ye spik, Bit yer forgiven!
AAAANNNNNND A-Ring-a ding-ding and WAVE and Wave and wave Repeat often. |
Ah Babygael - The said person pops up on every board saying he/she is from the States or Canada the said is a waste of space. He/she has nothing else to do all day but daydream!
AmericanScot
I thought Scotland had a pretty good healthcare system ? Are you out of your meds ? I guess it is better to troll in here then to be out chasing cars or something.
Nah he lives in England, they have a s**t NHS
AmericanScot
I will send a check and try and get a few others as well. We need to show support. Keep up the good fight !
Barny Rubble
| AmericanScot wrote: | | I will send a check and try and get a few others as well. We need to show support. Keep up the good fight ! |
| AmericanScot wrote: | No need since we fought for our independence from the British over 200 years ago.
Its worked out pretty good and I think Scotland deserves the same. Same for Northern Ireland. |
We've, meanwhile, always been independent as an integral part of the United Kingdom. America has never been that way.
I recommend you familiarise yourself with the difference between a part of a sovereign state, and a territory associated with one.
Maol.Chaluim
| Aventinian wrote: | | AmericanScot wrote: | No need since we fought for our independence from the British over 200 years ago.
Its worked out pretty good and I think Scotland deserves the same. Same for Northern Ireland. |
We've, meanwhile, always been independent as an integral part of the United Kingdom. |
Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about?
AmericanScot
| Aventinian wrote: | | AmericanScot wrote: | No need since we fought for our independence from the British over 200 years ago.
We've, meanwhile, always been independent as an integral part of the United Kingdom. America has never been that way.
I recommend you familiarise yourself with the difference between a part of a sovereign state, and a territory associated with one. |
I recomend you familiarise yourself with the difference between a state and a country , it is at that point we can debate. Even at that point I really dont care what the English think, if Scotland wants its freedom, Scotland should get freedom.
Highlander
| Quote: | | Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about? |
It seems pretty obvious to me. Scotland is an integral part of the United Kingdom easy to comprehend just like England is an integral part of the United Kingdom is easy to comprehend. Not much to it really.
| Quote: |
I recomend you familiarise yourself with the difference between a state and a country , it is at that point we can debate. Even at that point I really dont care what the English think, if Scotland wants its freedom, Scotland should get freedom. |
Amercianscot what are you talking about, what has a state or a country got to do with it? Or the difference between a state and a country got to do with any of it. We all know that Scotland is a nation but not a state. We also know that the U.K. is a nation and a state. So what is your point?
AmericanScot
| Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about? |
It seems pretty obvious to me. Scotland is an integral part of the United Kingdom easy to comprehend just like England is an integral part of the United Kingdom is easy to comprehend. Not much to it really.
| Quote: |
I recomend you familiarise yourself with the difference between a state and a country , it is at that point we can debate. Even at that point I really dont care what the English think, if Scotland wants its freedom, Scotland should get freedom. |
Amercianscot what are you talking about, what has a state or a country got to do with it? Or the difference between a state and a country got to do with any of it. We all know that Scotland is a nation but not a state. We also know that the U.K. is a nation and a state. So what is your point? |
My point was that he in a earlier thread asked how I would feel if one of America's states wanted to leave the union, that is why I told him to learn the difference between a State and a Country...but maybe he considers Scotland a English state
Highlander
| Quote: | | but maybe he considers Scotland a English state |
Ah yes you have brought it down to that level! There is nothing much to say to that but read a little more and don't be ignorant. Americans that don't know the difference between the U.K. and England really have no place commenting on the politics of Scotland or anywhere in the U.K.
The difference between a state and a country is subjective considering that in America you have 50 states within a soverign-state and country. And we have 4 constituent countries in one country and soverign-state.
AmericanScot
| Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | but maybe he considers Scotland a English state |
Ah yes you have brought it down to that level! There is nothing much to say to that but read a little more and don't be ignorant. Americans that don't know the difference between the U.K. and England really have no place commenting on the politics of Scotland or anywhere in the U.K.
The difference between a state and a country is subjective considering that in America you have 50 states within a soverign-state and country. And we have 4 constituent countries in one country and soverign-state. |
No you occupy at least two countries and both want your asses out
Highlander
| Quote: | | No you occupy at least two countries and both want your asses out |
Who do I occupy?
Maol.Chaluim
| Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about? |
It seems pretty obvious to me. Scotland is an integral part of the United Kingdom easy to comprehend just like England is an integral part of the United Kingdom is easy to comprehend. Not much to it really. |
I was obviously responding to this:
"We've, meanwhile, always been independent as an integral part of the United Kingdom. America has never been that way."
Barny Rubble
| Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | No you occupy at least two countries and both want your asses out |
Who do I occupy? |
ROFL...
AmericanScot
| Barny Rubble wrote: | | Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | No you occupy at least two countries and both want your asses out |
Who do I occupy? |
ROFL... |
May Scotland be free
AmericanScot
May Scotland set itself free from thy bondage it is in. Free Scotland !!
Barny Rubble
| AmericanScot wrote: | | May Scotland set itself free from thy bondage it is in. Free Scotland !! |
DAH PLANE BOSS.....LOOK DAH PLANE BOSS!
AmericanScot
| Barny Rubble wrote: | | AmericanScot wrote: | | May Scotland set itself free from thy bondage it is in. Free Scotland !! |
DAH PLANE BOSS.....LOOK DAH PLANE BOSS!  |
Just cant quit humping my leg can you ?
Maol.Chaluim
Barney Rubble - Confirmed TROLL. Just ingnore him, and maybe he'll go away...
| Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about? |
The UK has always been an independent country. The 13 colonies in North America did not have this status.
| AmericanScot wrote: | | I recomend you familiarise yourself with the difference between a state and a country , it is at that point we can debate. Even at that point I really dont care what the English think, if Scotland wants its freedom, Scotland should get freedom. |
When did I mention what the English thought? I really couldn't give a toss myself.
A country is the same as a state (except in the case of non-incorporated territories - I'd say Bermuda was a country, for example) - what you are talking about is nations - and I am more than aware of that distinction.
| AmericanScot wrote: | | My point was that he in a earlier thread asked how I would feel if one of America's states wanted to leave the union, that is why I told him to learn the difference between a State and a Country...but maybe he considers Scotland a English state |
Err... maybe you should familiarise yourself with the fact that Scotland isn't in England.
Whether I call it a state or whatever else does not change what they both are, areas within a sovereign state. In fact, the US states have more status, being that they have a federal relationship with central government rather than a devolved one.
| AmericanScot wrote: | | No you occupy at least two countries and both want your asses out |
Fool.
| AmericanScot wrote: | | May Scotland set itself free from thy bondage it is in. Free Scotland !! |
Yeah, God, huge government spending, part of one of the most economically liberal countries on earth, more "human rights" than you can shake a stick at.
FREE ME FROM MY OPPRESSORS!
BRITS OUT OF BRITAIN!!
Maol.Chaluim
| Aventinian wrote: | | Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about? |
The UK has always been an independent country. The 13 colonies in North America did not have this status. |
| Aventinian wrote: | | We've, meanwhile, always been independent as an integral part of the United Kingdom. America has never been that way. |
Explain how Scotland can be independent while at the same time an integral part of the UK.
Highlander
| Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Aventinian wrote: | | Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Presumably the "integral part of the United Kingdom" you're talking about is Scotland, and if that's the case, what on earth are you talking about? |
The UK has always been an independent country. The 13 colonies in North America did not have this status. |
| Aventinian wrote: | | We've, meanwhile, always been independent as an integral part of the United Kingdom. America has never been that way. |
Explain how Scotland can be independent while at the same time an integral part of the UK. |
Scotland is independent as it is in an independent country.
Firefox
THAT is not answering the question. It's avoiding it.
All you are doing is reiterating a statement for dramatic effect to back up Aventinian's post. You are not elaborating, expanding or clarifying any specific point.
You are repeating, nothing more.
But then it's not like you're actually going to come up with anything concrete are you?
Can I formally request Highlander be designated a TROLL due to his unresponsive and unwillingness to formally engage in arguments?
| Quote: | | Scotland is independent as it is in an independent country. |
How can it be independent if its part of something else?
| Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Explain how Scotland can be independent while at the same time an integral part of the UK. |
Because it is an integral part of an independent country. As I've said, the American colonies were not.
| Avatar wrote: | How can it be independent if its part of something else?  |
Well, America wasn't part of something else. It was controlled by something else.
| Firefox wrote: | | Can I formally request Highlander be designated a TROLL due to his unresponsive and unwillingness to formally engage in arguments? |
If we started doing that, then I could name a good few.
George
| Aventinian wrote: | | Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | Explain how Scotland can be independent while at the same time an integral part of the UK. |
Because it is an integral part of an independent country. As I've said, the American colonies were not.
| Avatar wrote: | How can it be independent if its part of something else?  |
Well, America wasn't part of something else. It was controlled by something else. |
Posting without thinking again Aventinian? Your desire to have not just the last word but any word is something you should occassionally try to suppress.
Especially as you only limit yourself to twenty minutes per day to using this forum.
| George wrote: | Posting without thinking again Aventinian? Your desire to have not just the last word but any word is something you should occassionally try to suppress.
Especially as you only limit yourself to twenty minutes per day to using this forum.  |
And perhaps your desire to be a blatent troll and so persist in what is quite apparently ridiculous attacks against any person who disagrees with you should be supressed.
I don't limit my vices in the least, George. I exploit them until I feel bored with them. And I'm quite bored of you and your petty nonsense. Go back to the playground.
| Quote: | | Well, America wasn't part of something else. It was controlled by something else. |
It was part of the British Empire, controlled by Westminster..
| Quote: | | Because it is an integral part of an independent country. |
If the UK was part of a centralised Euro-state - then it would not be independent.
IF Convenor
Re: American support for Independence | AmericanScot wrote: | | Have those in the Independence movement made a effort to solicit funds from everyday Americans much like the Irish did ? |
Whoever pays the piper calls the tune. I am very wary of accepting anything more than token financial support from outside Scotland.
Moral support is another matter entirely.
Barny Rubble
| Aventinian wrote: | | George wrote: | Posting without thinking again Aventinian? Your desire to have not just the last word but any word is something you should occassionally try to suppress.
Especially as you only limit yourself to twenty minutes per day to using this forum.  |
And perhaps your desire to be a blatent troll and so persist in what is quite apparently ridiculous attacks against any person who disagrees with you should be supressed.
I don't limit my vices in the least, George. I exploit them until I feel bored with them. And I'm quite bored of you and your petty nonsense. Go back to the playground. |
Well said Aventinian - I've just had the same treatment off some guy call the 1 o clock gun. It does make one wonder what kind of upbringing these people have had...
Great put down well done!
| Avatar wrote: | | It was part of the British Empire, controlled by Westminster.. |
Ah, but the British Empire - unlike, for example, the French - never existed legally. Parliament could legislate on what it liked, where it liked of course - but it was still the United Kingdom Parliament. And British North America was not part of the United Kingdom.
| Quote: | | Quote: | | Because it is an integral part of an independent country. |
If the UK was part of a centralised Euro-state - then it would not be independent. | [/quote]
Well that goes along the same lines, I don't believe one can be considered 'dependent' (which is, presumably, the opposite of independent) simply because they are represented alongside others.
One O'Clock Gun
| Quote: | does make one wonder what kind of upbringing these people have had...
Quite a good one actually. Both my fathers were good parents.
Get back to that other thread and answer my question ya wee rascal.
Maol.Chaluim
So, Aventinian, is Glasgow independent, as it's an integral part of an independent state? How about Yorkshire, or Country Antrim? Funny, I don't see any of them (or Scotland) listed as members of the UN. They must have opted out of joining.
| Quote: | | Well that goes along the same lines, I don't believe one can be considered 'dependent' (which is, presumably, the opposite of independent) simply because they are represented alongside others. |
well Scotland is dependent on the UK government for various issues. Foreign policy springs to mind.
Barny Rubble
| One O'Clock Gun wrote: | | Quote: | does make one wonder what kind of upbringing these people have had...
Quite a good one actually. Both my fathers were good parents.
Get back to that other thread and answer my question ya wee rascal. |
Corby Boy
I wouldn't mind some American cash - pay off the overdraft.
| Avatar wrote: | | well Scotland is dependent on the UK government for various issues. Foreign policy springs to mind. |
Just like an independent Scotland wouild be dependent on a Scottish government?
| Maol.Chaluim wrote: | | So, Aventinian, is Glasgow independent, as it's an integral part of an independent state? How about Yorkshire, or Country Antrim? Funny, I don't see any of them (or Scotland) listed as members of the UN. They must have opted out of joining. |
Well, I don't think they're dependant, so yes - in a manner of speaking.
| Quote: | | Just like an independent Scotland wouild be dependent on a Scottish government? |
No, a Scottish Government would be representative of the Scottish state like a UK government is representative of the UK state. Tayside for example however would be dependent on the Scottish government.
| Avatar wrote: | | Quote: | | Just like an independent Scotland wouild be dependent on a Scottish government? |
No, a Scottish Government would be representative of the Scottish state like a UK government is representative of the UK state. Tayside for example however would be dependent on the Scottish government. |
I don't see the distinction - it's still people being dependant on a certain body.
Ok well if I put it this way - the Scottish Parliament is representative of Scotland and Scottish interests, however it doesnt have full power to represent all of Scotlands interests. These other issues are dealt with by the UK parliament, who represent the UK and the UKs interests - which do not always coincide with Scotlands interests. Being that Scotland is a minority part of the UK, and UK gov represents the interests of the majority. Therefore Scotland can not make seperate decisions, and has to follow the the rest of the UK on a number of issues. So therefore Scotland cant be independent.