Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society

Army's school visits 'should end'

Army recruitment teams should be prevented from visiting schools, according to a nationalist MSP.
The call came after figures obtained by the SNP revealed that in 2005/06, there were more than 10 times as many school visits as there were in 2003/04.

Christine Grahame MSP claimed schools in deprived areas were being targeted and said the rise showed "desperation" among army chiefs due the Iraq war.

The Army said it worked with both state and private schools in Scotland.

The figures, obtained under Freedom of Information legislation, showed the number of regimental recruitment visits to schools rose from 14 in the financial year 2003/04 to 153 in the year to the end of March 2006.

According to the SNP, Govan High has had 14 visits in the last two years alone.

Ms Grahame, MSP for the South of Scotland region, said: "What we are seeing is complete desperation brought about by a combination of the ongoing Iraq war, amalgamation of the Scottish regiments and the allegations that young recruits are being murdered at training facilities such as Deepcut.

"Army chiefs appear to have made a decision to move into Scottish schools and, more disturbingly, they appear to be targeting schools in particularly deprived parts of the country.

"I am calling on education bosses in every council area to prohibit visits by recruiters. If pupils want to join the Army, then there are numerous recruitment centres around Scotland which they can choose to visit."

An Army spokeswoman said: "The Army is visiting a lot more schools compared to the past and that is largely because we have local authority permission to do so.

"The recruitment teams and careers advisors are going in upon invitation from the schools with the purpose of working within the schools curriculum, for example, giving citizenship lectures or doing technical work.

"It is not true at all to say the Army is targeting deprived areas. We work with schools across the board in Scotland, both state and private."

Schools which have received five or more visits in the year so far were all in Glasgow.

The figures do not include army recruitment visits organised through Careers Scotland.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/4988888.stm

totally agree with this and in my school days i liberated a fair old number of their s***e from my school. they are also the only people allowed to openly recruit people in job centres.

Yup! oot side af englant.

Wit the loons dae in their ain hoose is their buisness. Wit we as the people of the ancient celtic hoose daes, is oors!!

BG

Aye! they visit private schools as weel dae they?Ra recruits they get fae yon private schools wilnae be used as ra cannon fodder though will they,they jokers`ll be ra officers sitting in ra background whilst aw ra poor fellaes get there heids blawn aff.

Wolf of Badenoch wrote:
Aye! they visit private schools as weel dae they?Ra recruits they get fae yon private schools wilnae be used as ra cannon fodder though will they,they jokers`ll be ra officers sitting in ra background whilst aw ra poor fellaes get there heids blawn aff.

Plenty of army activity in private schools - probably more so than state schools. Yes, more probably will become officers, but a person from a state school could enter at that level if they chose to hang around to do highers or A-levels.
wisnaeme

I wonder if any wanna be soldier considering joining up has considered the implications of signing up,perhaps he or she should seek legal advice and study the small print carefully in the employment contract. I wonder if their potential employer can legally give the employee 13 weeks notice when the employer decides to change the conditions in the employee / employer contract? I also wonder if a serving solder could use "Breach of employment contract" with regard to terminating their employment as they would have the right to under UK/EU human rights law in civy street?
I'm sure that after reading the link posted below any potential scottish soldier would be greatly encouraged by the article to quick march to the nearest recruiting office to sign up. Smile

Quote," Soldiers who object to taking part in a military occupation of a foreign country will face life in prison under measures due to be rubber-stamped in the House of Commons on Monday.

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/politics.cfm?id=742682006

isnt it true that the army is banned from going on strike? as is the police force, therefore these rules may not apply to them

Morph wrote:
isnt it true that the army is banned from going on strike? as is the police force, therefore these rules may not apply to them

Of course the army cannot go on strike. That'd be effectively a mutiny and desertion of duty. You'll end up in prison for that.

I wonder if any wanna be soldier considering joining up has considered the implications of signing up,perhaps he or she should seek legal advice and study the small print carefully in the employment contract. I wonder if their potential employer can legally give the employee 13 weeks notice when the employer decides to change the conditions in the employee / employer contract? I also wonder if a serving solder could use "Breach of employment contract" with regard to terminating their employment as they would have the right to under UK/EU human rights law in civy street?

I think you're confusing the EU with the Council of Europe here - it's the latter that did the European Convention on Human Rights.

There isn't a lot of small print in the 'employment contract' when joining the army. In fact, it runs rather like this:

I swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, her heirs and successors and that I will as in duty bound honestly and faithfully defend Her Majesty, her heirs and successors in person, crown and dignity against all enemies and will observe and obey all orders of Her Majesty, her heirs and successors and of the generals and officers set over me.
wisnaeme

Aventinian wrote:

I swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, her heirs and successors and that I will as in duty bound honestly and faithfully defend Her Majesty, her heirs and successors in person, crown and dignity against all enemies and will observe and obey all orders of Her Majesty, her heirs and successors and of the generals and officers set over me.

Noo waur have ah heard thurm wurds afore? Ach yon Spec pals o "Aventinian" say them along wae ither wans in thur wee debating society when they become"made men". Maybe they dinnae say ra general an officers bit but a ra rest is a secret,sae ah canna tell ye. Rolling Eyes

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish News, Life and Society
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads