bnp at ibroxhttp://www.bnp.org.uk/reg_showarticle.php?contentID=1212
Joe Finnie reports.
Nine Glasgow activists took part in the monthly paper sale at Ibrox Stadium on Saturday (19th August) recording their highest sales figures so far this year.
300 copies of the current edition of Voice of Freedom were sold at two of the approaches to the football ground, despite a concerted effort by 15 (yes fifteen!) Strathclyde Police Officers to end activity.
Standing at their traditional pitches, the team entice punters with calls such as “Buy your Voice of Freedom, the voice of the BNP” and “Get your BNP newspaper, only 60 pence.”
Mid way through Saturday’s activity the Police arrived telling the two teams to move on as they had had a complaint. The Officers refused to explain the nature of the complaint only repeating their orders to move or face arrest.
Know your rights
The BNP team stood their ground and explained that under “the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, Article 10, Section 1. Everyone has the right to freedom of expression. This right shall include freedom to hold opinions and to receive and impart information and ideas without interference by public authority regardless of frontiers.”
They also explained that “political organisations do not require local authority consent to sell or distribute literature on the streets and that they were not selling anything other than the newspaper.”
At one point, one of the sales teams had 15 officers surround them, half a dozen on motorcycles. One officer in particular seemed more persistent than the rest but gradually their number dissipated as our brave team continued to call out and ring up the sales.
BNP policies back the Police
Nobody was cautioned or arrested as commonsense seemed to prevail. Some of the activists were disappointed by the actions of some of these police officers as the BNP is recognised by most rank and file coppers to be supportive of the police and with policies that would help them do the job they signed up to do.
Political ambition may be the driving force for some officers but the BNP also aim to make political gains and no amount intimidation of this nature will dissuade us on our quest. Activist around the country should note the above statements to ward of any further underhanded attempts to stop us going about our legal business.
Glasgow BNP have been selling papers at Ibrox since the 1980’s and are on course to break all their sales records this season. After the last paper sale local Organiser Walter Hamilton was forced to up the monthly order. After Saturday, he has had to do so again to met the demand not just from Ibrox, but also from the monthly Activists Meetings.
neil8r
Are you a regular reader of the BNP website?
| neil8r wrote: | | Are you a regular reader of the BNP website? |
what if i am? do i need to agree with everything i read.
care to comment on the issue its self?
yI read the BNP site quite often looking for news. The only council seat they stood in in Scotland in 2003 was the next village to me (auchinleck) so I like to check on their activities.
It doesnt surpise me that the BNP contuniue to seell their papers at Ibrox, its a shady element of the scots and NI loyalist community that we could all do without.
Friends of mine who are Rangers fans have been involved in trying to stamp it out but young ill-informed men are hard to argue with.
I will be sending a copy of this article to people I know in the Rangers supporters clubs to see how they can combat it.
neil8r
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | | neil8r wrote: | | Are you a regular reader of the BNP website? |
what if i am? do i need to agree with everything i read.
care to comment on the issue its self? |
In my experience of the people that try to sell BNP publications at Ibrox i have never seen anything other than looks of disgust from Rangers supporters. I have never seen anyone go near them, they used to stand against a wire fence at the corner from the Copeland road that folk would turn off of to go up towards the stadium, after coming off the subway. I haven't been a regular at Ibrox for some years so don't know if there have been any changes but i don't recall them ever shouting out slogans to sell their publications.
tI have seen them sell at Ibrox Neil and have good feedback. I've also seen the NF do the same in the past.
The vast majority of Rangers fans will be disgusted but the BNP know that Ibrox is a place where they will get a much higher level of support than anywhere else in Scotland.
Johnny Adair and others were very much involved in the BNP/NF and that sort of link still exists. There is a very real link between ulster loyalism and the far right which unfortunately pollutes part of the Rangers support and to a lesser extent Hearst and other teams.
Of course we should remember that the BNP will be lying and probably didnt sell as many papers as they claim.
frank rizzo
Obviously the BNP share similar supremacist views as their Loyalist friends and this is what the Nazis are trying to exploit. However, that original post just looks like cheap point scoring from a Celtic fan.
no i am worried that this is allowed to go on in any ground. i would rather they would get the same treatment they would get celtic park.
neil8r
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | | no i am worried that this is allowed to go on in any ground. i would rather they would get the same treatment they would get celtic park. |
Thats funny because i would be worried if it wasn't allowed to go on.
I agree in a way with neil, in a way the freedom of speech which comes with democracy is bound to allow people from the far left and far right to have the chance to have their say and as long as contents of this paper are only seen by the people who choose to read it, which to all purposes means they must already have some knowledge and interest in the articles within, then i dont see why they should be banned. Although i personnally dont agree with any policy the BNP has i dont have the right to take away their right to an oppinion.
mal
Following on from recent posts this is beginning to stink of paranoia,what was the last crowd at Ibrox?50000? so the BNP sell 300 copies of their bile and 49700 fans are tarred with the same brush,amazing how generality is the weapon of the single issue blame brigade:roll:
mal also has a point here, we should not tar the regular family fans who have nothing to do with this, or should we blame most of the fans who enter ibrox, it would be like saying all celtic fans support the IRA which is obviously not the case
neil8r
| Morph wrote: | | I agree in a way with neil, in a way the freedom of speech which comes with democracy is bound to allow people from the far left and far right to have the chance to have their say and as long as contents of this paper are only seen by the people who choose to read it, which to all purposes means they must already have some knowledge and interest in the articles within, then i dont see why they should be banned. Although i personnally dont agree with any policy the BNP has i dont have the right to take away their right to an oppinion. |
Just to follow on to my previous comment the reason's i would be worried if they weren't allowed to produce and ditribute newspapers/leaflets is that if you stop them then who is next?
Also while they are distributing these things they can be monitored for making any kind of illegal statements, which if they weren't allowed to publicly do stuff like that they would go underground which could be far more dangerous.
| mal wrote: | | Following on from recent posts this is beginning to stink of paranoia,what was the last crowd at Ibrox?50000? so the BNP sell 300 copies of their bile and 49700 fans are tarred with the same brush,amazing how generality is the weapon of the single issue blame brigade:roll: |
I would rather the bnp were told where to go all together. i would imagine that outwith ibrox and tynecastle this would be the case? i would certainly hope so.
papalazarou
| frank rizzo wrote: | | Obviously the BNP share similar supremacist views as their Loyalist friends and this is what the Nazis are trying to exploit. However, that original post just looks like cheap point scoring from a Celtic fan. |
bang on.
papalazarou
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | | mal wrote: | | Following on from recent posts this is beginning to stink of paranoia,what was the last crowd at Ibrox?50000? so the BNP sell 300 copies of their bile and 49700 fans are tarred with the same brush,amazing how generality is the weapon of the single issue blame brigade:roll: |
I would rather the bnp were told where to go all together. i would imagine that outwith ibrox and tynecastle this would be the case? i would certainly hope so. |
of course all bnp supporters are hearts or rangers fans, sir, you are cliche of blindfolded republican and do nothing but embaress decent republicans. you are the polar opposite of those idots at ibrox going on about the uvf and flute bands etc. noting more than an unwelcome embaressment at ibrox. decent fans at parkhead say the same about the likes of you, particularly in the away support.
and for the record i have NEVER seen the bnp sell anything at ibrox, EVER and i have had a season ticket for 10 years and been going much lomger than that.
well does it get sold elsewhere other than ibrox?......seems what i am saying is a FACT
neil8r
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | well does it get sold elsewhere other than ibrox?......seems what i am saying is a FACT  |
Why don't ye go and ask them
papalazarou
thats right, the bnp only sell to rangers fans, are you daft or something. i'll take your lead here, all celtic supporters glorify terrorists and rejoice in the murder of young children at the hands of the ira. that last comment is as stupd as yours.
what are you on?
| papalazarou wrote: | thats right, the bnp only sell to rangers fans, are you daft or something. i'll take your lead here, all celtic supporters glorify terrorists and rejoice in the murder of young children at the hands of the ira. that last comment is as stupd as yours.
what are you on? |
I didnt say all rangers fans supported the bnp. i pointed out they sold papers at ibrox, doesnt seem to go on at any other ground in scotland. whats wrong with pointing that out?
Fair point IMO. I don't think that this would be tolerated at ER or any other ground (I would include Tynecastle in this, dispite a section of their fans). I'm surprised BNP members selling papers at Ibrox weren't moved on as well. Mibee they were, and just managed to sell a few copies before they were. Of course they are going to talk up their progress on their own website.
frank rizzo
C'mon, lets have a bit of hun/tim harmony here - The Catholic Church (a rampant homophobic organisation) has come out in support of the bigot firemen who refused to hand out leflets at a gay pride thingy. I'm sure members of the 'Ulster Against Sodomy' (more rampant bigots) will be surely exchaning phone numbers to congratulate their fellow idiots?
See, they can get on!
| frank rizzo wrote: | C'mon, lets have a bit of hun/tim harmony here - The Catholic Church (a rampant homophobic organisation) has come out in support of the bigot firemen who refused to hand out leflets at a gay pride thingy. I'm sure members of the 'Ulster Against Sodomy' (more rampant bigots) will be surely exchaning phone numbers to congratulate their fellow idiots?
See, they can get on! |
generally i cant stand the catholic church anyway
Saor_Alba
| papalazarou wrote: | thats right, the bnp only sell to rangers fans, are you daft or something. i'll take your lead here, all celtic supporters glorify terrorists and rejoice in the murder of young children at the hands of the ira. that last comment is as stupd as yours.
what are you on? |
every Army whether percieved as terrorists or legitimate will kill innocents at some point, it is something that cant be avoided in a war.
Cymro
BNP leaches try to cotton on to a club with unfortunate links to Unionism. Wow, what a shock . From what I gather they wheren't selling at the ground but just outside the boundaries of the ground. The Club or the Police are unable to do anything about this unless it's for public safety.
scotnat
Lets get one thing clear.
The BNP are not tolerated at Tynecastle.
I was disgusted when I read the statements saying so, so much that I had to register.
lets hope that now your here you can contribute as its most welcome. Do you feel that Hearts have the same image as Rangers as a mostly protestant club? or is the rivialry more due to the local derby?
scotnat
| Morph wrote: | | lets hope that now your here you can contribute as its most welcome. Do you feel that Hearts have the same image as Rangers as a mostly protestant club? or is the rivialry more due to the local derby? |
I would say neither. As we all know Hibernian were the first club for Irish immigrants (unofficially for the better part of 20 years) and Hearts were very much the establishment club.
We have a small section of fans (despite some Celtic fans criticism it is small) who are mini-huns but on the whole we are eradicating it. Just like the Hibs fans are eradicating the ever decreasing mini-tim mentality.
What the media will not highlight (because it doesn't sell) is the eradication of bigotry from football grounds. Our worst song, "Hello, Hello" has been aired twice this season, both at the same game, and both after those fans sang "ooh, ah, up the Ra." On both of these ocassions the majority of the fans booed out the "Hello*2" song, we as fans, have become sick of it and want it gone.
Al K Hol
Whether you like it or not,the BNP are a legitimate political party,and have the same rights as any other party.
Considering what our present and previous governments are doing or have done to this country and the rest of the UK.Their policies get more attractive as each day passes.
tAre you serious?
Their policies are all about race and race only, what policies are attractive to you?
Is it the flogging of yobs? The closing of borders? The christian nation?
The BNP have no political arguments and are opportunists.
Al K Hol
Yes
yCan you elaborate?
Can you give me of an example of something that this or previous governments are "doing to the Uk" that the the BNP has a policy that makes sense?
Al K Hol
Immigration
frank rizzo
I'd swap 10 white UK born, bone idle lazy neds from any town in the country for one hard working Asian any day.
BNP's total political activity involves paying wee boys to spray paint 'Pakis out' on walls and shouting a lot about not a lot. They have no policies other than a hatred of anyone not white.
I feel sorry for fascists really. The vast majority are weak, ignorant, social misfits who need to blame any minority for all their own personal failings in life. Hence why they appeal to your average thug.