Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Burns festival line-up unveiled....see - http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/4904172.stm
Burns festival line-up unveiled....
Jools Holland, The Proclaimers and opera star Katherine Jenkins will headline the annual Burns an' a' that! festival in Ayrshire.
Launched in 2002, the event celebrates the work of Scotland's Bard and showcases new cultural assets.
Former Teardrop Explodes songwriter Julian Cope, Scots singer Eddi Reader and jazz legend John Martyn will also perform at the festival.
Music, poetry, art and other events will take place between 20 and 29 May.
Linda McClure, festival director, said: "The line-up we have for this year's festival is fantastic.
"We are providing entertainment that is varied and diverse, local and international, traditional and contemporary, and we are sure that visitors will have a wonderful time."
The Proclaimers said: "We are very happy to be playing at the Burns Festival.
"In our opinion he is the greatest Scot of all time and his work is of lasting importance for Ayrshire, Scotland and the world."
One of the highlights of the event will be the Robert Burns Humanitarian Dinner.
It will honour one individual's contribution to humanity.
Last year's winner was Zimbabwean Archbishop Pius Ncube and the nominations for this year's award will be announced in May.
The festival is expected to generate a £1m boost for Ayrshire's economy.
I was there last year. Top notch. Well done to whoever the hell organises it.
Dave78
Was anyone at Blazing Fiddles and Eddi Reader last year? Wind, rain, freezing cold wind. Bit of a disaster!
Looking forward to the proclaimers this year.
stuarty
this 'festival' is a poor attempt at bring culture to ayrshire. i was there last year as well, not for the festival but unfortunately had to spend a night in ayr (what a midden that is!!). the festival seemed to mostly consist of 3rd rate artists, poor ticket sales and the local neerdowells roaming the streets, drunk and looking for a fight.
i read this in the sunday herald letters page a few years ago ' in ayrshire, beware, if the beaches don't get you then the neds will'. very appt?
Abieuan
stuarty wrote: | Quote: | | this 'festival' is a poor attempt at bring culture to ayrshire. | I thocht we gied culture tae the sooth o Scotland.
I've no bin tae the Ayr ane as they previously (to this year) put it on at the same time as the Girvan ane, which is much mair informal and relaxed.
Mind you, watch oot for the neds.
Dae ye no have ony where you come fae stuarty?
Ive nae been tae Ayr for a wee while noo but i widnae cry it a midden,noo Bathgate thaur a midden if ever ive seen yin,plenty ae drunks looking for fechts through thaur and neds....neds is it?thaurs the finest collection ae neds ye`ll ever see wandering aboot wi thaur troosers tucked intae thaur socks an aw talkin in yon high pitched nasal whine that they spend alot ae time perfecting.
Bathgate's not the best, eh TBH though, I think most of the towns in that part of W Lothian are a bit grim
| SLG wrote: | Bathgate's not the best, eh TBH though, I think most of the towns in that part of W Lothian are a bit grim  |
I`ll hae ye ken i like tae think i`m living in the equivalent ae the garden ae eden.
Aye thaur is a grimness aboot the wee toons aroon here richt enough probably tae dae wi thaur mining and industrial history,gies them a wee bit ae character though.
Dinane worry, just taking the piss. My family mainly come from Bathgate and around there. You're right though, they've definitely got character