Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Bush set to give Tartan Day official statussee - http://www.sundayherald.com/55547
Bush set to give Tartan Day official status
By Paul Hutcheon, Scottish Political Editor
A SCOTTISH version of St Pat rick’s Day could be created under plans being considered by George Bush. Members of the Scottish-American community are in talks with White House officials to recognise Tartan Day as a national event.
They are on the verge of persuading Bush to sign a proclamation making April 6 an official part of the US calendar.
The project is the work of the Friends of Scotland caucus, created on Capitol Hill earlier this year. The body, made up of Republicans and Democrats in the House of Representatives, was set up to advance Scotland’s interests in America.
US groups, such as the Scottish Coalition and the National Capital Tartan Day Committee, had tried to get the White House to sign the agreement earlier this year, but without success. One source said: “We hoped it could have been signed ahead of this year’s Tartan Day, but it got bogged down in bureaucracy.”
Now the caucus, which has close links to Bush, has committed itself to delivering the proclamation.
A staffer for the North Carolina congressman Mike McIntyre, co-chair of the group, met White House officials last week to discuss a speedy resolution to the issue.
The Sunday Herald understands the document was drafted by figures in the Scottish-American community and is awaiting the President’s signature.
Proclamations, along with executive orders, are a type of presidential legislation that carry the force of law. Recent examples include agreements to mark Jewish American Heritage Month, Religious Freedom Day and Greek independence.
Tartan Day, marking the anniversary on the date of which the Declaration of Arbroath was signed on 1320, is fast becoming the most important date on the Scottish-American calendar.
The US Senate was first to recognise the event by tabling a resolution in 1998, a move matched earlier this year by the House of Representatives.
Campaigners believe a presidential proclamation will “complete the circle” and turn the events on April 6 into a national celebration of Scottish ach ievement in the US.
James Morrison, a journalist on the Washington Times and a supporter of Tartan Day, said a proclamation would boost the event’s importance.
“It would elevate it. It would get Tartan Day on calendars,” he said.
He also said the agreement could turn the April 6 event into a Scottish version of St Patrick’s Day. The annual St Patrick’s Day parade is the biggest procession in New York City, attracting crowds of around 150,000. The President also hosts a White House reception for Irish politicians to mark the occasion.
Michael Kellet, first secretary of the Scottish Affairs Office at the British Embassy in Washington, said he believed a proclamation would advance Scottish interests in the US.
“We are continuing to work closely with the caucus and the Scottish-American societies to promote Scotland in the US – and a presidential proclamation would underline the significant progress we have made,” he said.
Alan Bain, president of the American Scottish Foundation in New York, hoped the agreement would be signed quickly.
“I think this is an extraordinarily important initiative. Firstly, it will result in Tartan Day being recognised nationally. Also, it will hopefully make Scottish Americans in Congress aware that we are an important group,” he said.
07 May 2006
Whatever some of us over here may think about Tartan Day/Week, this can't be a bad thing.
Abieuan
Yes, and it should not be confined to the USA only, the same day should be celebrated in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
It could become a world-wide event.
Except in Scotland !!
I think it originated in Canada did it not?
Aye an aw oor jumped up politicians can get a free holiday and bang oan aboot how great Scotland is in a foreign country and completely ignore the annual St Andrews parade and calls for a public holiday and a wider understanding of oor culture in oor ain land.Im nae saying its a bad thing but theyd be better stoppin at hame an promoting oor country tae the Scots here that dinnae hae the first clue aboot the country theyre living in.
Abieuan
Perhaps we should change our allegiences to "Arbroath Day", because nobody gives a hoot about St Andrew.
wisnaeme
Ah'm jist a wee bit apprehensive aboot anything that Dubya endorses. Reminds me o that advert on ra telly that Carol Voderman appeared in.
You didnae get a loan out with them just cause Carol Vordeman advertised it did you???
wisnaeme
| SLG wrote: | You didnae get a loan out with them just cause Carol Vordeman advertised it did you???  |
Naw, I'm nae saft in ra heid.I dinna hae ra need ta gan cap in hand tae them gangsters.