Lord Pitsligo
Caledonia's Been Everything I've Ever Hadhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TX9h558Tz1E
Remember this?
We'll I'm there, and now I'm go-o-o-ing home
Welcome back, Pitslug ...
This post should by right have gone into the music thread ... but who cares! Let's turn it into a celebration of why we all come home to the one country that's in our very blood ... let's celebrate Scotland ... and being SCOTTISH!!!
I have several friends who were never born here ... have absolutely no ties to Scotland whatsoever ... but they love it as much as we natives do. The Belgian couple who holiday here every year ... the Londoner who has been here sixty years and kept het cockney accent ... the Londoner who's been here 17 years and speaks half-Scots/half-cockney ... the Asian shopkeeper whose daughter got into Edinburgh University to study Botany (he's so proud of Scotland he says he's Black Watch!) ... the Mancunian who says he's a reborn Highland Clansman ... the second-and-third generationers with foreign roots ...
As the Bard said ... Whae's like us ....
And his people responded ... Nane! An' they're a' deid!
Aye ... Caledonia Reunited!!!
No miserable old gits required!!!
Cruachan
Re: Caledonia's Been Everything I've Ever Had
Well done Lord P. You're a lucky man. I'm right behind you (well in a few years anyway)
Tamed by a Scotsman
| Blackadder wrote: |
I have several friends who were never born here ... have absolutely no ties to Scotland whatsoever ... but they love it as much as we natives do. The Belgian couple who holiday here every year ... the Londoner who has been here sixty years and kept het cockney accent ... the Londoner who's been here 17 years and speaks half-Scots/half-cockney ... the Asian shopkeeper whose daughter got into Edinburgh University to study Botany (he's so proud of Scotland he says he's Black Watch!) ... the Mancunian who says he's a reborn Highland Clansman ... the second-and-third generationers with foreign roots ...
I think this is a really important point (incidentally I'm coming back to Scotland with Pitsligo, we're so happy about it after trying for three years to get back).
People travel around and settle down where they prefer. So some Scots prefer to live in London say, whereas some people become new-Scots. This leads to a filtering effect where it's not just about different groups of people born somewhere by chance, but about where people choose to live because they like the environment, culture, lifestyle and values. I wasn't born or raised in Scotland but when I am there I feel like I am home and when I leave I always want to get back again.
And even just the little things are a delight. Like being able to put ice cubes in my whisky again (why spoil good whisky with hard water? I have to freeze the glasses in a freezer instead which works quite well actually). I can go up mountains again, swim in rock pools, do photography and lots of sports, meet up with friends and buy decent beer again. I am looking forward to breathing in fresh clean air again and getting exercise.
And I'm also really looking forward to voting!
| Quote: | | ice cubes in my whisky |
PHILISTINE!!!!
Aye BA. The only thing which should ever be added to good Scotch, especially malt, is anothe whisky.
Tamed by a Scotsman
OK, I might have to concede the philistine accusation. Although in my defense, it's been three years since I have been able to do this and storing the glasses in the freezer seems to be quite a good technique. I just got sick of my whisky being luke warm when I started using ice cubes. At least I have never put coke in it though!
Lord Pitsligo
| mairead wrote: | Aye BA. The only thing which should ever be added to good Scotch, especially malt, is anothe whisky.  |
Its allowed. She's a girl!
Hello to those whom I haven't "met" before!
Well what a coincidence! because I'm trying to return also!! It takes a long time to unravel all the associations and legal stuff of many a year, and especially hard to say goodbye to friends/family/memories. I also realise that you can never "go back" so everything will be strange there (Scotland) ,and especially the erm "strange" reallies!!
Well good luck to those planning on moving.
Talking about not being born in Scotland but having an affinity to it, if I recall correctly,the clans of old adopted as their own anyone who wanted to join them. I think its a Celtic trait,far from the unjust accusations of the "onionist" who keep on about Indys being racist, what a load of crape!! They are so IG-RUNT!! ( a little bajan dialect there!!)
Scotland welcomes strange! After all ... we invented it!!!
Lord Pitsligo
Ever since I left Scotland three years ago, "Caledonia" has been a lament, almost too painful to listen to.
Now I can't stop playing it!!!
I sometimes have to alternate with this version though - she's certainly easier on the eye than Frankie Miller http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=v28is4jFWeo
Aw Lord P,
That's really sad. I have travelled a great deal but cannot imagine that I would ever live in any other place than Scotland, because wherever I go, my heart remains back home.
Caledonia, is beautiful haunting melody and I can understand the yearning you must feel when you here it.
BG.
Have you heard Caledonia? If you have, I expect it evokes the same kind of feeling in you.
I've been abroad many times ... in my youth to get it away from everything home reminded me of ... but as I got older, I too felt a stirring in my heart whenever I thought of home ... and most amazing of all ... bagpipes, those fiendish implements of torture .... actually evoke emotions in me that set my pulse racing and my heart beats faster. However, I only like them when I'm not in Scotland ... go figure!
Lord Pitsligo
Looks like the first day of my new life back home in Scotland will be St Andrews Day!
I'm feeling so good inside myself about coming home, every time I fart it smells of lilac and honeysuckle...
Mairead hen,its very difficult to down load videos cos' it keeps cutting out and I have to restart plus its dial up!! So I can't say for sure if I have heard Caledonia before.
But around here, its bagpipes+goosebumps = kleenex!! When I was studying gaelic online,my tutor (in Edinburg,) the first time she phoned me for the oral aspect of it. when she spoke,(cos' I hardly ever hear the accent here) I kid you not,but I "saw" a large pipe band float through my window!! It was the weirdest!! I can still see it now.
Call me mad but that is straight up!
BG ... switch your computer right off. At the mains too. Wait a couple of minutes and fire up again. But if you're using dial-up, you're asking for things to go wrong.
Rethink your connectivity!!!
Your farts are much better to be around than Baldrick's, Pitslug. Can you do Roses and Lillies??
Lord Pitsligo
| Blackadder wrote: |
Your farts are much better to be around than Baldrick's, Pitslug. Can you do Roses and Lillies??  |
Only if I lay off the garlic.
When you get back, Pitslug ... I implore you to alter the whiff of your farts into something a touch more Scots. May I suggest heather???
Lord Pitsligo
| Blackadder wrote: | When you get back, Pitslug ... I implore you to alter the whiff of your farts into something a touch more Scots. May I suggest heather???  |
I would suggest I make them smell of malt whisky, but Lady Pitsligo's burps already do that.
She's got my vote for First Minister then!!!
BG.
Google the song Caledonia at at least you will see the words. I'm not PC literate enough to post the song onto the forum. Maybe L Pitsligo could do that, or the Blackadder.
SOMEONE PLEASE POST IT UP FOR BG.
Consider it done, Mairead ...
I don't know if you can see the changes that have come over me
In these last few days I've been afraid that I might drift away
I've been telling old stories, singing songs that make me think about where I come from
And that's the reason why I seem so far away today
Chorus
Let me tell you that I love you and I think about you all the time
Caledonia, you're calling me and now I'm going home
For if I should become a stranger you know that it would make me more than sad
Caledonia's been everything I've ever had
I have moved on and I've kept on moving - proved the points that I needed proving
Lost the friends that I needed losing - found others on the way
I have kissed the ladies and left them crying - stolen dreams, yes there's no denying
I have travelled hard, sometimes with conscience flying, somewhere with the wind
(Ch)
Now I'm sitting here before the fire, the empty room, the forest choir
The flames that couldn't get any higher - they've withered now they've gone
But I'm steady thinking, my way is clear and I know what I will do tomorrow
When the hands have shaken and the kisses flowed then I will disappear
It's a great song ...... here's the YouTube link.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=dZrdo1PuUvQ
Thanks Blackadder. I appreciate that, and I am sure the BG will appreciate it too.
(Ye're no' sic a bad laddie efter a')
| Quote: | | (Ye're no' sic a bad laddie efter a') |
BITE YOUR TONGUE, MADAM!!!
See now, I was trying to be nice to you. Don't know why I bothered, ungrateful wretch that you are.
And don't you f'rget it either!!!
I won't, nor will I be nice to you again.
Good!
Thanks to both of you!
Now, where did I put that box of kleenex!! I am trying once more to get the video link up and running
Twonk!!!
BG.
Aye the song is really good, if a ptouch sad for some ex pats. Mind you, I've heard better recordings of it.
So your hearing aids have kicked in again, Mairead? Good for you. Keep a store of batteries in a drawer in future!
Bog off you blethering fool of a Lord.
| Quote: | | Bog off you blethering fool of a Lord. |
And so Lady Muck of Dirtybitch Halls mouths off again, showing her common origins as a former "working-girl" of the night! Mouth like a drunken sailor being thrown out of the doss-house!
I use the simple language which simple folk like you can understand. OK.
Say it again, Mairead ... I am quivering with fear!
Then hop over to History where my next run-in with Coolio has taken place!
In the words of Bugs Bunny ... wotta maroon!!!
Over to history I go.
I see you took a little trip. Did you enjoy it??? Kaffy and Carol went too.
I did tell Coolio I'd see if my fellow posters would like to go on every thread he's on ... just for a laugh. Glad to see you did. Now where's the postcards???
Aye, sometimes he givers me a great laugh though (at his stupidity I mean)
Looks like there's been even more fun since you and Carol have been visiting.
Gosh, I didn't know my witches were so good at stirring the pot!!
We practise faithfully.
Practising witches eh? And how many centuries must pass till you're perfect??
Erm, we have already reached that standard.
Okay ...... so how many centuries did it take then???
Lord Pitsligo
Well, the time has come. Today I pick up the van from Brighton and load it. Tomorrow I drive to Edinburgh for an overnight stay with mummy Pitsligo before heading up to my new home in Crieff on Sunday.
I'm coming home!!!!
| Lord Pitsligo wrote: | Well, the time has come. Today I pick up the van from Brighton and load it. Tomorrow I drive to Edinburgh for an overnight stay with mummy Pitsligo before heading up to my new home in Crieff on Sunday.
I'm coming home!!!! |
Fantastic. Crieff is a lovely wee town, stopped off many a time.
I guess congratulations are in order?!...
Lord Pitsligo
| azzuri wrote: |
I guess congratulations are in order?!... |
Oh, absolutely. Feel free to raise several glasses to me tonight!
It seems appropriate that I'll move into my new home on St Andrew's Day
agentmancuso
Aye, Crieff's a nice enough place. Wouldn't have thought it would be the easiest area to find work though?
Lord Pitsligo
| agentmancuso wrote: | | Aye, Crieff's a nice enough place. Wouldn't have thought it would be the easiest area to find work though? |
The other half already has the job, I'm sure a talented guy like me will find something though
agentmancuso
A good set up alright. But don't wear those trunks to any job interviews...
Tamed by a Scotsman
| agentmancuso wrote: | | A good set up alright. But don't wear those trunks to any job interviews... |
Really? I would have thought the mesmorising recursive nature of his trunks could have made them more suggestible.
As a girl you can jiggle your breasts and get much the same effect.
Glenturret distillery would always be good for a job, I would've thought?...
Lord Pitsligo
| azzuri wrote: | | Glenturret distillery would always be good for a job, I would've thought?... |
Could be frustrating on nice days with the mountains just sitting there right beside the car park begging to be climbed....
agentmancuso
| Tamed by a Scotsman wrote: | | Really? I would have thought the mesmorising recursive nature of his trunks could have made them more suggestible. |
That depends on how amenable to suggestion the interview panel happens to be. And how easily disturbed by the nature of whatever suggestion happens to be recurring.
| Quote: | | As a girl you can jiggle your breasts and get much the same effect. |
Are you speaking from personal experience?
Lord Pitsligo
I'm home at last!
Just arrived. Driven 500 miles and unpacked. Sleep beckons...
....bet it'll be the best sleep ever!
Tamed by a Scotsman,remember.... hang on tae those puppies!!
Lord Pitsligo
| Babygael wrote: | Tamed by a Scotsman,remember.... hang on tae those puppies!!  |
That's my job
Lord Pitsligo
| azzuri wrote: | | ....bet it'll be the best sleep ever! |
By the way, it was!