Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
bratachdubh

Celebrating the Act of Union

A friend celebrating this morning:

Are your friends all fat, ugly and clearly not very nice?

If you think this sort of behaviour is the way to win any friends and convince people (who, in Scotland, do generally have a British identity) that independence isn't just some old fashioned bigotry then you're very much mistaken.

Millions of good people have died for that symbol, cheaply represented and poorly printed though your version is.
Lothian Sky

Oh lighten up.
If it was the English flag, you'd have a point.
It isn't , it's a political symbol of union.
Who's it bigotted against? Unionists?
And what's wrong with being bald, ugly and fat?
Frankly I think more Scots would be offended by your remarks!

Aventinian wrote:

Totally uncalled for.

It's clearly a political act - and it's only a f***ing flag.

Get off your f***ing high horse for once....

Millions of good people have died for that symbol

and I'd wager most of them by the hand of those that marched under it.
bratachdubh

Aventinian wrote:

If you think this sort of behaviour is the way to win any friends and convince people (who, in Scotland, do generally have a British identity) that independence isn't just some old fashioned bigotry then you're very much mistaken.

Millions of good people have died for that symbol, cheaply represented and poorly printed though your version is.

Cool Hey, if it pi**ed you off pal it was well worth it for the laugh. You're obviously a poor humourless wee soul.

Blame the owner of the rag for the cheapness/poor printing. We just remove them and burn them so they're not polluting our country.

Highlander

Ah yes flag burning, what next? Book burning? Making people who regard themselves as British forced to wear symbols so they are easily identified? Creating different classes of citizens, mass deportation and extermination? Yip this is the Scotland nationalists want to create and it all started with some flag burning. Sick.
George

Highlander wrote:
Ah yes flag burning, what next? Book burning? Making people who regard themselves as British forced to wear symbols so they are easily identified? Creating different classes of citizens, mass deportation and extermination? Yip this is the Scotland nationalists want to create and it all started with some flag burning. Sick.

What symbols?......do you mean sashes, bowler hats, aprons, union flag, corrupt honours?
Deportation.......do you mean like the clearances?
Extermination......do you mean like the indiginous inhabitants of the colonies, illegal wars in Iraq?

What moronic garbage, to suggest that those of us with Scotlands interests at heart would wish to create a society remotely similar to this is laughable............but what else would you expect from the guy that agreed that the wealth from Scotland's resources should all flow South of the border.......................and with it the high quality jobs.

Aventinian wrote:

This has obviously touched a nerve Av. Laughing

This totally undermines your hundreds of posts which claim a 'civic' nationality in the name of Britain. Your overly personal and emotional response about a guy burning a bit of cloth speaks volumes about your true feelings for 'Britain'.

The truth is that you are more of a 'Gnat' than anyone else on this forum, albeit a British Nationalist. Apart from SLG and myself (the 2 admins of this board), you have posted more than any other user on this [pro-Independence] forum in defence of a British nationality.
bratachdubh

Oh dear. Have I inadvertently 'outed' a couple of British Nationalist Labour Party minions? And there was me thinking that this board was mainly nationalists of a more, shall we say, local variety.

I've obviously hurt the poor wee souls' feelings.

Oh dear, how sad, never mind.

It's a bit of cloth, you buffoons. A symbol of colonialism and imperialism, still being flown during illegal invasions of countries which have not actually done Scotland any harm.

Burning that obscenity does not automatically lead to burning books or Nazi-ism... That's Nationalism with a big N you're on about - the sort of thing practiced by the Brits during the days of Empire.

Lothian Sky wrote:
Oh lighten up.

The Union Jack, like any other national flag, is the symbol - alongside the state - of the identity of millions of people both in Scotland and in other parts of British territory.

Burning flags is a despicable act - and clearly a provocative one.

George wrote:
What moronic garbage, to suggest that those of us with Scotlands interests at heart would wish to create a society remotely similar to this is laughable...

That's the thing, generally Nationalists would rather get one over on their enemies than give a toss about their people. Look at Israel and Palestine - if they felt like it, everyone could say 'ok, we'll live in a peaceful multinational state together with equal rights and liberties' and that would be it sorted tomorrow.

But no, they hate the other side more than they love their own bloody children. And if you think Scots Nats are any different then you only need look at acts like this: if anything this sort of thing in a newspaper for example would lose the Nats votes in their thousands, but either way it'd be a success for the aforesaid fat b****rd because he wound up some people he doesn't agree with a bit.

azzuri wrote:
This has obviously touched a nerve Av. Laughing

This totally undermines your hundreds of posts which claim a 'civic' nationality in the name of Britain. Your overly personal and emotional response about a guy burning a bit of cloth speaks volumes about your true feelings for 'Britain'.

No. To be frank, I don't care much for my own sake, but I am disgusted by actions like that and thought we'd be above such things in a supposedly civilised country.

I still reserve the right to be moderately patriotic if I feel like it - it makes no difference to me. I also acknowledge I am of a Protestant Christian background - that doesn't make me sectarian because there is a separation between the two in my mind: church and state. My national identity, as I've said before, is a mixture of Scottish, British, European and a lot of local identities. I do not place one before another, so it'd be entirely illogical of me to support one state which claims to represent such an identity over one that represented another from that list. I'd be equally revolted if an English Nat was burning a saltire.

Anyway, you've got some nerve making such accusations when only this morning I was advocating a Franco-British Union.
George

Aventinian wrote:
Lothian Sky wrote:
Oh lighten up.

The Union Jack, like any other national flag, is the symbol - alongside the state - of the identity of millions of people both in Scotland and in other parts of British territory.

And you are clearly one of them, but wait.........your not a unionist are you? Laughing

Aventinian wrote:

Burning flags is a despicable act - and clearly a provocative one.

It isn't a despicable act, it's an annoying act to people like yourself, you see there you go being all subjective again. The killing of 650,000 poor Iraqi souls is a despicable act.
George

Aventinian wrote:
George wrote:
What moronic garbage, to suggest that those of us with Scotlands interests at heart would wish to create a society remotely similar to this is laughable...

That's the thing, generally Nationalists would rather get one over on their enemies than give a toss about their people. Look at Israel and Palestine - if they felt like it, everyone could say 'ok, we'll live in a peaceful multinational state together with equal rights and liberties' and that would be it sorted tomorrow.

But no, they hate the other side more than they love their own bloody children. And if you think Scots Nats are any different then you only need look at acts like this: if anything this sort of thing in a newspaper for example would lose the Nats votes in their thousands, but either way it'd be a success for the aforesaid fat b****rd because he wound up some people he doesn't agree with a bit.

You've started to rant and ramble sir........and frothing at the mouth I wouldn't wonder. You really must learn that this hypothetical little world born of a twisted and bitter hatred of those who seek self determination exists only in your own mind.
Highlander

All these images tell me is racism is rife in Scotland. And how stupid some people are, burning their own national flag, racism against their own kind, just plain weird.
George

Highlander wrote:
All these images tell me is racism is rife in Scotland. And how stupid some people are, burning their own national flag, racism against their own kind, just plain weird.

Another gem!!! keep them coming Highlander.
macnumpty

Highlander wrote:

If the Union Flag is our own flag, exactly who is it racist against to burn it?
Mctosh45

The union flag is not my flag never has been and never will. The FACT is, the Scots never wanted it......so to burn it is merely symbolic of that FACT. Shocked
Highlander

The FACT is, the Scots never wanted it

Another nationalist myth.
garye

Highlander wrote:

Of all the ridiculous nonsense spouted by "Highlander" on these boards this is a classic.

Come on "Highlander" -"racism against their own kind" please, please explain that one to us, I'm gigging at the thought of it already.
Highlander

I don't need to explain anything. I have already said how stupid and weird that is.
Firefox

Highlander wrote:
McTosh45 wrote:

Me and my "flag" beg to differ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfAnp9sdsyQ

There were risings in 1715, 1745, 1797, 1820... do all those people suggest that we were happy with the Union?

Not forgetting the Republican Chartists, Red Clydeside, the SRA, the Tartan Army (http://www.electricscotland.com/history/tartan_army.htm), and a host of politicos from 1707 until now arguing for Independence.

Maybe if Unionists were willing to accept this wasn't as clear cut as they'd want us to think this would be a more polite arguement. But it's not. The union was "fact" and we're all supposed to be happy-clappy brits and satisfied with our lot. Like I said, me and my "flag" have a little problem with that. It's not because of facts, but because we're supposed to accept propaganda which is patently false.

Surprise, surprise, surprise... our ancestors weren't happy and neither are we. Whether we're the majority or the minority is irrelevant. People have resisted from then until now. The sooner we all accept that there was a problem, the sooner we can have a civil argument about it.
macnumpty

Highlander wrote:
I don't need to explain anything. I have already said how stupid and weird that is.

Yes, you do. You've had two people asking how the implication your viewpoint - that someone can be racist against themselves - is even possible. There are only two 'stupid and weird' things here: your premise, and your continual to spout it even though it's blatant garbage, and has been called as blatant garbage.

Placing your fingers in your ears, closing your eyes and shouting 'lalala' won't change the fact that you're losing this argument. In fact, it's weakening you further.
Mctosh45

Highlander,FACT the Scottish people never voted for the union i.e.the masses Rolling Eyes Shocked
Highlander

Mctosh45 wrote:
Highlander,FACT the Scottish people never voted for the union i.e.the masses Rolling Eyes Shocked

Mctosh45, FACT the Scottish people have never voted against the union i.e.the masses Rolling Eyes Shocked
Mctosh45

Exactly my point......you make it well Shocked
Maol.Chaluim

Firefox wrote:
Highlander wrote:
McTosh45 wrote:

Me and my "flag" beg to differ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfAnp9sdsyQ

There were risings in 1715, 1745, 1797, 1820...

And, of course, there was overwhelming opposition to it at the time... that's a fact.
ProudToBeAScotsGirl

I should probably stay out of this being a timid lass...but...I do wonder. If the people of Scotland wanted to be in the union and part of Britain...woulden't Scotland have slowly mixed with England over the hundreds of years until the Scottish indentity became nothing but history? Um...I mean....well, I mean a lot of people over here don't even know Scotland isn't independent, they're shocked. That's amazing really...that a country can keep so much culture and identity going strong for so long...that to me...gosh im horrable at this, im sorry. That to me tells me something, that this country has stayed Scotland to this day for a reason. and that can only come from the people living there, am I right? That tells me the people wanted Scotland to stay Scotland, and I can see why they want to be independent...

I mean...if it's really purely each country united as great britain, woulden't each one be as independent as the countries that are on mainland Europe? I mean...there isn't a big governing body leading over Greece or Italy above their own law making. I woulden't mind the union so much if each country was 100% independent, but simply united with free trade between, sort of like the USA and Canada and Mexico (forgot the name of it). But I know they push britishness in Scotland and have sense the Union started so I can see why Scots want to be independent. To benifit the country, but in many ways to ensure the survival of Scottishness. I don't believe it will ever die, but I know if Scoland doesen't become independent...well...well...um...certainly any country that isn't independent can't hold onto it's own values for forever.

I really want to see a Scottish Passport someday...I really do. Just my 2 cents...i'll step down now. Sad
Barny Rubble

Point is who's bothered if the fat ugly guy burns the union flag? If it was the Cross of St George yes. Its just shows the mentality of the Scots its the English that ant to get rid of Scotlandshire the said shire a finacial burden on the English taxpayer. Livingstone was/is right the £3 billion a year the English give Scotland would be better spent in England. I'm sad to say Scotland will never gain independence simply because the Scots don't want it especially the thousands that are claiming benefits and of course the Scots that are on IB more Scots are claiming the said in the UK. Idependence is a pipe dream for the Mel Gibson groupies!
mal

Barny Rubble wrote:
Point is who's bothered if the fat ugly guy burns the union flag? If it was the Cross of St George yes. Its just shows the mentality of the Scots its the English that ant to get rid of Scotlandshire the said shire a finacial burden on the English taxpayer. Livingstone was/is right the £3 billion a year the English give Scotland would be better spent in England. I'm sad to say Scotland will never gain independence simply because the Scots don't want it especially the thousands that are claiming benefits and of course the Scots that are on IB more Scots are claiming the said in the UK. Idependence is a pipe dream for the Mel Gibson groupies!

Once we`re off,you can spend the £3 Billion Rolling Eyes on your education system,doubt it will make any difference to you though Laughing

Scotlands Oil revenues-UK treasury -Barnett formula- Subsidy from England Rolling Eyes

Hows that for a metamorphis?
Barny Rubble

Scotland's education system hasn't done the Scots much good but the UK benefits system has, 20% of Scotland's population are claiming the said. Christ, Glasgow the Poles run the transport system! Aberdeen relies on the Yanks, the Shetlands want to go it alone Scotland’s one big mess!
mal

Barny Rubble wrote:
Scotland's education system hasn't done the Scots much good but the UK benefits system has, 20% of Scotland's population are claiming the said. Christ, Glasgow the Poles run the transport system! Aberdeen relies on the Yanks, the Shetlands want to go it alone Scotland’s one big mess!

There`s the rub bud,it`s the UK benefit system,not the English benefit system and our superior education allows our neds to exploit it, it`s called Scotlands Unionist benefit ,bye the way Laughing
wisnaeme

Highlander wrote:

I don't need to explain anything.

Aye, that's about right from the unionists so it is.
bratachdubh

Barny Rubble wrote:

Is that why England's run by "Scottish" politicians then? Your own ones presumably aren't competent enough to screw up on the grand scale?
Blackleaf

SCOTS AND THEIR FABRICATED NATIONALISM

Both England and America I'd suggest are interesting countries in having a strong sense of statehood, but a weak sense of nationhood.. They operate through large symbols and set rituals, not local details and shared feelings. Flags, anthems, birds and so forth are a symbolic of the state but not towards national sentiments that are not really there. This is all very different to those countries that have a linguistic and folkoristic sense of the nation, the sets of stories and myth about the common folk that mark their own distinctiveness. In the last half of the 18th century there were massive self-conscious revivals of national musics, dances, folk tales, linguistic and literary traditions and where these traditions were inadequate to the political task of creating a sense of nationhood they were simply made up.

Scots I'd claim show one of the clearest cases of a fabricated nationalism. Whenever and wherever Scotsmen gather together we know what to expect. Tartan Kilts, bagpipes and scotch. Now the highland Scots had no independent tradition before the late 18th century, They were a subset of Irish culture and the Celtic lords had ruled the Scottish highlands from the 5th to the 17th centuries. The language was essentially Irish, their music came from the harp, and their poetry came from second rate druid bards who were weeded out from Ireland. The first stage in the making of an independent Scottish tradition was therefore the denial of Irish paternity and to do this there had to be a claim that the Scots were of a different and older descent. that they were descended from the ancient Caledonians who had resisted the roman armies. In the 1760s two writers of the same surname set about this task. James Macpherson, who found something called the Ossian manuscripts and John Macpherson the minister of sleat in the island of skye. Between them, by two distinct acts of forgery, they created an indigenous literature for Celtic Scotland and as a necessary support to it a new history. Both this literature and history in so far as they had any connection with reality had been stolen from the Irish. The sheer effrontery of the Macphersons must demand our admiration. James Macpherson picked up Irish ballads in Scotland, then wrote an epic in which he transferred the whole scenario from Ireland to Scotland and then dismissed the genuine ballads as debased modern compositions. The minister of Sleat John then wrote a critical dissertation in which he provided a necessary context for the Celtic homer whom his name sake had apparently discovered. he placed the Irish speaking Celts in Scotland four centuries before they actually arrived and explained away the genuine native Irish literature as having been stolen, in the dark ages, by the unscrupulous Irish from the innocent Scots. To complete the picture James Macpherson himself using the ministers papers, wrote an independent Introduction to the history of Great Britain and Ireland repeating the ministers assertions.

The remarkable thing about this forgery was how widely accepted and talked about it became. The famous historian Edward Gibbon accepted the work as fact, Madame De Stael thought the Ossian manuscripts equal to homer. Geothe praised the work as evidence of an authentic non-classical civilization. all that remained was to add some costuming to this story, to stage the ancient highlanders in a new way. The occasion fro this appears to have been a pageant devised by the novelist Sir Walter Scott, for an historical display of Highland life before the King of England in 1822. There one saw for the first time a parade of Scotsman, wearing something called kilts, with particular tartans designating the clan or family to which they belonged.

Each aspect of this sight has its own tortured history. First the kilt itself was invented by an English Quaker in 1727. Tradition highland dress was a long shirt coming all the way down to the knees usually of a brown or green color. Wealthy Scotsman could afford some patterned cloth supplied by Flemish weavers, and if they were very wealthy and wanted to conform to lowland tradition they would wear leggings, or trews from which the term trousers derives. Occasionally, to prevent the bottom of the woolen shirt getting wet or muddy they might tuck it in the belt, or if ti rained they would throw it over their heads, an act, according to an English commentator of gross indecency.

The English Quaker comes into the picture when he secures the rights to mine iron on a Scottish estate and he finds the local dress inconvenient, so he designs a skirt, like the tucked in shirt, but with the folds already pleated and sown. its a great success and local laird or chief, Macdonell, requires that his servants wear it. The history of the tartan cloth is even more bizarre. After the Scottish rebellion of 1745 the English ban traditional Celtic garb, the older shirt and the newer kilt, but they wish to use Scottish troops in the Empirial wars against the French. So Scottish soldiers were organized into regiments and in order to improve morale they were allowed to were tartan trousers, not kilts offshore as they fought Indians in north America and the other Indians in the Bengal and mysore. as the highland regiments multiplied to meet the needs of these wars, so their tartan uniforms were differentiated and when the wearing of tartan by civilians was resumed and the romantic movement encouraged the cult of the primitive clan the different tartans were transferred from regiment to families.

Ironically then the visual registration of highland uniqueness was designed to be of service by the English in imperial conquest. The tartan cloth and the kilt dress came together within the Scottish regiments as they fought the French, and the international image of the Scotsman was visually registered in Paris in 1815 at the final defeat of the French napoleonic army. By 1822 a young Scottish officer, who had never seen the outside of a mess room wrote a book, The character, manners and present state of the highlanders of Scotland, that projected back, to time immemorial, the wearing of the tartan kilt and outlined the particular colors that belonged to particular families. when George the forth came to Edinburgh in 1822 to thank the Scots for their work in defeating the revolutionary ardor of the French we was greeted by the pageant, devised by the novelist Scot, in which the modern tradition was fully established We can laugh at the thin historical legitimacy for any of these practices, but to do so would miss the point. what's of more interest surely is the enthusiasm, the almost religious fervor with which these new rituals were pursued and adopted. national tradition is obviously something very different from a local custom.

http://paperweight.cooper.edu/humani...tionalism.html
bratachdubh

Yawn... Most of those myths have long since been refuted. What history channel did you pick that one up from?

Both England and America I'd suggest are interesting countries in having a strong sense of statehood

What the hell is this "statehood"? certainly Ive never heard it in this context before, sounds like he/she has attatched an entire new meaning to the word.

What does he/she mean by Fabricated nationalism? as opposed to natural nationalism? Laughing poor bugger doesnt have a clue what he/she is talking about.

I would say there are some interesting historical points in there but considering the core of the article stinks of bullshit, I'll take them with a heavy dose of salt.

Nice flag burning by the way Wink

Mctosh45 wrote:

Yes, nor that Union that created Scotland.

ProudToBeAScotsGirl wrote:
Um...I mean....well, I mean a lot of people over here don't even know Scotland isn't independent, they're shocked.

Er... what? Who doesn't know what country they live in?

That's amazing really...that a country can keep so much culture and identity going strong for so long...that to me...gosh im horrable at this, im sorry.

Plenty of other examples of local culture existing. Just because people share a state doesn't mean they ought to do everything in the same way, after all.

I am a Unionist, yet I don't want Scotland to just disappear either.

macnumpty wrote:
Highlander wrote:

Yes, you do. You've had two people asking how the implication your viewpoint - that someone can be racist against themselves - is even possible. There are only two 'stupid and weird' things here: your premise, and your continual to spout it even though it's blatant garbage, and has been called as blatant garbage.

Placing your fingers in your ears, closing your eyes and shouting 'lalala' won't change the fact that you're losing this argument. In fact, it's weakening you further.

It's possible to be racist against your own people, it's not entirely illogical.

Personally I think this behaviour is something worse - I don't think this man sees himself as British and he differentiates between himself and 'the Brits' out there - and his act is simply a threatening and provocative one.

He's lucky no-one has reported him to the police for breaching the peace.

she lives in the USA
George

Aventinian wrote:

I am a Unionist..............

Heven't you previously contended that you aren't?

You Highlander are a supplanter and you shut yer gob!!
Crawl back tae yer engerlish highlands!!

Av,yes you are a pan loaf spikiking unionist! But at least thats your democratic right. I certainly don't hate the Engerlish but I love Scotland More.So what does that make me?? Should I stand on the Brits side? Or should I stand for My country and people???

And scotsgal from America,trust me when I say that this is a sharks pool,so walk erm swim circumspectly!!They dinnae do weather reports and reciepies here! I've found! Mr. Green

Bratachdubh failte a`charaid.

she lives in the USA

Ah... of course.

George wrote:
Aventinian wrote:

I have indeed. However the term has never been a label of self-identification and for all my problems with it, I'm not particularly uncomfortable with it.

I don't think it's by any means accurate, but it's rather like being called a British citizen rather than a citizen of the United Kingdom - sometimes one might as well go with the flow.

Babygael wrote:
Av,yes you are a pan loaf spikiking unionist!.

Um... what?
George

Aventinian wrote:

George wrote:
Aventinian wrote:

I have indeed. However the term has never been a label of self-identification and for all my problems with it, I'm not particularly uncomfortable with it.

I don't think it's by any means accurate, but it's rather like being called a British citizen rather than a citizen of the United Kingdom - sometimes one might as well go with the flow.

I'll take that as a yes then, so I wonder how many other pronouncements regarding your self are completely false.

Groan...
patriot1320

Highlander wrote:

Actually, A fact. Read your history books....

In fact read this. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acts_of_Union_1707

"The Acts of Union were far from universally popular in Scotland, particularly amongst the general population. Many petitions were sent to the Scottish Parliament against union, and there were massive protests in Edinburgh and several other Scottish towns on the day it was passed "

You should be ashamed to even call yoursel a higlander. I find it offensive. Change you name to somthing more suitable... Like, Londener....
Corby Boy

Is it really a myth Highlander? Most Scots I have known have not given too hoots about the UJ and don't identify with it. Only one or two have. They have tended to be the Rangers supporting kind.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Scottish Politics and Independence
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads