Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

chance of meeting up

anyone going to Bannockburn on the 21st?

just testing the water ............. not sure as yet if I can manage along
Alasdair

I was half thinking about it ... depends on the price of diesal though Rolling Eyes

I'm busy this year.  Put me down for 2014.  I'll expect HUGE celebrations then ... especially since this is the battle, after which my distant ancestor was created Lord Blackadder.

That should send a few of you scurrying to research the Blackadder family line ... not the fictional one created by Messrs Lloyd and Elton, based on my family's misadventures.  The similarities are there though ... they were, each and every one, absolute scoundrels with a complete lack of scruples and morals.  Oh yes ... turnip-boy asked that he be remembered too.  Baldricks have "served" our family for untold centuries.  Though why that should be remembered heaven alone knows.

Alasdair unfortunately you're not in Perth, otherwise I could've picked you up  Wink

whereas BA I would have run over  Razz

You wouldn't be fast enough!  Razz

my car has more vroom vroom than me!!

note I only slow down for wildlife  Rolling Eyes

You only have two speeds ..... slow and stop.

can easily hit 100 mph  Rolling Eyes

......... just before careening off the road and hitting a poor, innocent tree! Sad
Scott2006

chance of meetingup

. .. . ... . .. .. .. .... .. .. . .... ...

north of zero
Cruachan

It's a 600 mile round trip for me, so not this year, but will be with you in spirit.  Alba gu Brath.

Looks like no-one's going, Carol.  Well, not if you're going anyway!  Laughing

Very Happy yep the usual scaring away BA!

personally I'm not too fussed about going, I'd understand if it was a day of 'unity' it isn't.  It should be a people's march/rally and not under any particular 'ownership', moreso a political one.

Another historical day.  We both agree on something!! Very Happy

must be the first in nearly two years  Rolling Eyes

No ... it has happened before. Can't remenber when, not  do I care, but happen it did!

obviously wasn't a memorable occasion then  Razz

Wouldn't have thought so, no.

What about organising a Christmas meet up just now, so by the time it comes around, we all have a chance of making it  rendeer

Great idea, RH.  Yes yes yes, by all means you go ahead and organise it. Get everyone together in one place ... and I hope you are all completely taken unaware when the bomb goes off!  Twisted Evil

Christmas??  Bah, humbug! Evil or Very Mad

miserable old git BA Twisted Evil

We tried last year and nothing got off the ground RH

That's the problem with Internet relationships and friendships, Carol.  When you plan to meet up, you think of all sorts reasons why you shouldn't meet face-to-face. You're up for it one moment, then backing off the next, on and off till you're at sixes and sevens with yourself, and you don't go through with it.  This is not a personal experience for me obviously. But I do know people.

Which is why I don't like them much!  I prefer children and animals ... usally with a couple of baked potatoes and Mediterranean vegetables!  Twisted Evil

Either that ... or you just scare people off naturally??    Rolling Eyes

although I can be shy  Rolling Eyes face to face meetings don't bother me.  I'm unlikely to chicken out  Wink

re children and animals - I better lock mine up!!

Good idea!  Make sure you lock yourself up with them! Very Happy
Alasdair

Blackadder wrote:

Good idea!  Make sure you lock yourself up with them! Very Happy

You'll be locked up together then Shocked

Don't try to get cute, Alice. It doesn't suit you!  Evil or Very Mad
Alasdair

yawn.

Yeah ... me too!  I might go back to bed for an hour!  Very Happy

Reluctant Hero wrote:
What about organising a Christmas meet up

So, I'll take that as a no then  Laughing

Good idea! Very Happy

Only carol likes (it would seem) to meet people she met online, well as far as I am concerned that would be a real blast cos' BG doesn't really exist, well, apart from in my imagination that is!
The real me is well concealed!! Cool  Laughing

And we're probably better off for that too!  Thanks BG!  Very Happy

I can't manage a meet up this weekend (no babysitter) so RH is going to choose a time date and place near Christmas  Wink

How the heck did I get a double post????  Isn't Admin doing their job, anymore??
kathyv

Everyone can come to my house, we'll hitch up the team and go for a ride! carol you can just bring the kids with you!

You all might want to car pool! heeheehee

car pool  Shocked need a bus for my lot, and then make sure there's no room for BA  Razz

I can think of nowhere better than a pool for all your cars!  None of you have any taste in vehicles anyway!   Laughing
Alasdair

Blackadder wrote:
...  None of you have any taste in vehicles anyway!   Laughing

ya'know.  Dustbin lorries have never been my style ... Wink

inside of my faithful Rover looks like a dustcart, don't suppose anyone fancies giving it a bit of spit and polish  Razz

Blackadder wrote:
How the heck did I get a double post????  Isn't Admin doing their job, anymore??

It's not our fault people are so stupid as to post the same thing twice  Razz   Anyway, it is sorted now

I can't manage a meet up this weekend (no babysitter) so RH is going to choose a time date and place near Christmas  

A time and place for what carol  Laughing

whisky, rum and whatever comes next  Very Happy

a meeting RH!!!

It's not our fault people are so stupid as to post the same thing twice

Not knowing how it happened, I am still mystified since no explanation was forthcoming. RH was exceedingly reluctant and tried to pin the blame elsewhere ... unsuccessfully of course!  But thank you for fixing it anyway.  Now please pay attention in future so it doesn't happen any more!

I'll tell you how it happened.  

You had a lapse in concentration and couldn't remember that you had already typed the message, so you typed it again...  Laughing

BA it generally happens when you hit the submit button twice  Razz

you can delete a duplicate post yourself if you've noticed it at the time.  I think it's too late once someone posts at the back of you, although you could have went back into it and edited it.

RH ... you assume wrongly. It is clear to me that your parents obviously never leathered you enough in your childhood. I shall despatch Baldrick to administer a good beating to your over-large buttocks.  This should prevent you from being insolent to your superiors ever again!  Evil or Very Mad

Carol, as I have intimated before ... it is not I who is actually typing on the keyboard ... it is my secretary ... who has just turned very white since I am now aiming my great-grandfather's captured spear from the Battle of Omdurman at his flapping great hea... !

(Being a high ranking officer in the British Army, my father fought in the War against the Mahdi with Kitchener ... but then, according to my father, his grandfather had such a vile disposition he fought with anybody and everybody.)

I take it BA that you got a good latering in you time? Wink

Hummmmmm, having said that, I bet carol would LOVE to spank yer buttie??  Wink  Very Happy  Oh, an' yer canna hit yer submit button, nae matter whit Carol says!!
kathyv

Blackadder wrote:
I can think of nowhere better than a pool for all your cars!  None of you have any taste in vehicles anyway!   Laughing

How can you say that about my classy white Caddy? All I need is a big blond hunk named Sven to drive me around in style!

What amazing luck!  I can get you a former chauffeur of mine, a big blonde Swede called Sven!   Very Happy

Knowing him though, you wouldn't exactly be "safe" with him, since he  has an addiction to sex. Can't get enough of it. Day, night, morning, noon, teatime, dinnertime, elevenses ... matins and vespers included!  "Stud" isn't really an adequate name for this voracious "hunk". I promise you ... he's like a rabbit on speed. Rolling Eyes

I sacked him because he was never around when I needed him to drive me anywhere ... and there was a small explosion of babies in the four villages that lie within my lands. I had to pay compensation to several fathers!  Sad

Interested?  I know where he is.
kathyv

Interesting but it's not a pimp daddy caddy! I doubt I could afford him, or does your offer of local father compensation stretch to the US? hehhehheh

Money doesn't enter into it. Not since I discovered he is transmitting STDs to women.

He's nothing to do with me.  You're on your own ......... and so's he!
kathyv

Pass! I think my Sven needs to be Gay, then I don't have to worry about compensation! LOL

In which case ... I'd recommend his cousin, Torsten.  

You gotta watch these Swedes you know! It's not all blonde hair, Abba and working in the service industry! They love nudity and sex. Very healthy if you ask me.

Come to think of it ... Torsten may be the answer to your bassoonist problem! Very Happy
kathyv

Another plus!

What's his address?   Let's see what we can do!!! Very Happy
kathyv

I hear that he has gone off to Double Reed Camp this week. That should whip him into shape!

Double Reed Camp?  Tell me that's a joke!   Shocked
kathyv

No joke, these specialized educational 'camps' are pretty popular here in the US. You can sent your kids to sport camps, where they board at a college or some sporting facility and coaches and pro/semi-pro athletes work with them on various skills. Double Reed camp is held at a Uni which has a strong music program, again, top reed players come and teach, there are small ensemble playing times and they usually end with a whole group show.  The lake pretty close to my home has a nice private campground, big lodge, group cabins, and there is a Brass Camp held there every year. They ended their session last weekend. My kids took their horses off to Rodeo Camp a few times and had a blast. They actually pitched tents at a big rodeo arena, the people who ran the camp had meals under a big awning thing, all cooked from a chuck wagon. The kids picked a couple of rodeo events to focus on and there were set times during the day to practice. They also had lessons in other things like horse and people first aid, vehicle maintenance, animal management.

You can go to cooking camp, fashion camp, foreign language camp, surf camp, Space Camp at NASA, Speech camp (This is for Deaf and Hearing Impaired kids). If you can think of it, chances are there is a camp for it! And it's not just for kids! Many adults sign up for these as well, they pay huge money to attend Spring Training Camp with their favorite baseball team. It's wild!

American 'camps' have evolved from scouting and hiking!

Sex Camp??  Very Happy

camps always end up with the boys in the girls tents  Wink

camps always end up with the boys in the girls tents

Not ALL the boys ... ask Macnumpty!  Very Happy
kathyv

I imagine Sex at Camp is a given, no matter which 'direction' you take!

I wouldn't know.  Like I said ... ask our resident expert on Camp Sex ... Macnumpty.
kathyv

That's sad, didn't you ever go to camp?

Camp to me ... is a log cabin, with a separate bedroom and toilet and electricity, and has a microwave, kettle, TV, radio and all mod-cons.

Otherwise you're talking about tents and sharing and defecating in the woods ... all of which is highly unnatural and if a predator gets you ... you asked for it!  They don't set up shop in the city, do they?  Shocked
kathyv

Weeellll. . .  there are coyotes running around Los Angeles, Calif., Cougar come into the Portland, Oregon area, moose in Anchorage, Alaska, black bears have been spotted in Spokane, Washington.

Then there are the other urban terrors; drives, gangers, little paranoid old ladies, city busses, chemically treated water, McDonalds, sales at Wal-Mart.

Any public loo is questionable anyway, sometimes a tree might be safer!

I'm glad I don't live in the city.  The ancestral hall may be old ... but it is safe, secure, armed to the rafters and totally impregnable ... rather unlike Carol!  The grounds are also alarmed and secure and land-mined at certain areas.    

Anyone trying to get on to the Blackadder property without clearance, better have thei life-insurance paid up!  Twisted Evil
kathyv

I hope that poor Baldrick has a map of the land mines so he's not out there digging away in the dirt coming closer and closer and . . .

And I agree about the city, I have a 5 hour drive to get to a place that would be considered a city. Much too close at times!

The most dangerous thing around here, other than assorted wolves, cougars, tourists and in-laws, is Taffy chasing birds out of her yard!   heeheehee
Alasdair

kathyv wrote:
Weeellll. . .  there are coyotes running around Los Angeles, Calif., Cougar come into the Portland, Oregon area, moose in Anchorage, Alaska, black bears have been spotted in Spokane, Washington.

Then there are the other urban terrors; drives, gangers, little paranoid old ladies, city busses, chemically treated water, McDonalds, sales at Wal-Mart.

Any public loo is questionable anyway, sometimes a tree might be safer!

pah! Nothing so dangerous there.  Now midgies! they're where the real danger lies!

Right on the nose there, Alice!   Midgies are a true scourge!   Avoid the Scottish lochs and woods in Summer!   There's NO defence!

Right on the nose there, Alice!   Midgies are a true scourge!   Avoid the Scottisk lochs and woods in Summer!   There's NO defence!
kathyv

Midges! LOL the Defenders of the Highlands! I'd forgotten about them.

We have their larger cousins, known as "Skeeters". When they work together they can carry off a cow.  Razz

And are these in-line skeeters, perchance?

In winter, they'd be ice-skeeters!

Very Happy

anyone tried the Avon skin so soft body oil that's guaranteed to keep midgies away?
kathyv

Blackadder wrote:
And are these in-line skeeters, perchance?

In winter, they'd be ice-skeeters!

Very Happy

LOL, then the retro type, roller-skeeters!

Skin So Soft does work on skeeters, but I think it feels icky and I can't wash it off so I put some Noxema cream on instead. I don't know if you have that over there or if it works on midges.

Creams and oils don't keep midges away. They just get stuck to your skin.  There's only one way to avoid midge-infested areas ... don't go there. Ever!  Very Happy

the other half is bitten alive by midges so if we don't try something that works ie creams etc we'll need to relocate the caravan next year  Confused

apparenty the midges do not go near the skin if you're using the Avon stuff, he's yet to be used as a guinea pig  Wink

he's yet to be used as a guinea pig  

Who "he" exactly??
Alasdair

carol wrote:
anyone tried the Avon skin so soft body oil that's guaranteed to keep midgies away?

Highly effective ... the stuff was being dished out at our local 'gala' recently to the stall holders delight!

well it's not you BA!

Thanks Alasdair, I've never yet heard anything negative said about it.  It took me to figure out which oil it was, ordered the wrong stuff from a brochure, then spent time on the website and discovered it was no 1 product in their 'top ten'  Very Happy

Well, la-de-da, Alice!  Use it daily, do you?    Wink

Very Happy

well Alasdair????
Alasdair

I find that the skin soft look goes well with my well tanned and toned body ... doesn't everybody Laughing

No ... only you, Alice.  And either you're as delusional as Carol, or you haven't yet opted for the full gender-swap!
Alasdair

ach your just jealous BA, I imagine you have trouble seeing your toes over the immensity of your swollen belly Very Happy

Very Happy

oh dear BA I can imagine you trying to bite your toenails  Razz

Your imagination is running away with itself, Alice.  You ARE as bad as the ever-pathetic Carol.

Jeez ... now there's four of you!!!  Evil or Very Mad
Alasdair

carol wrote:
Very Happy

oh dear BA I can imagine you trying to bite your toenails  Razz

Now there's an image I didn't need!

Me neither!!! Shocked
kathyv

OK, someone must ask so it will be the nosy American. . .

Blacky, do you wear a kilt while you are biting your toenails?

What does that do for everyone's mental picture?

I think I'll go poke out my mind's eye now. . .  Embarassed

BA where's ur troosers!!!  Wouldn't like you to be flashing  Shocked

To wear the kilt is my delight. I'm never wrong because I'm always right. The highlanders would get a fright if they saw me wearin' troosers.  Very Happy

Does your jingle jingle?  Very Happy

or does your jangle dangle  Razz

Well, your jangled brain has certainly jingled.  And still does, no doubt!  Twisted Evil

Laughing

my brain is still intact thank you  Very Happy

And the delusion continues ..................................

Very Happy

I didn't say it was working!

No ... we noticed! Very Happy

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads