Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
True Scotsman

Changing History

If there was something you would change in history what would it be & why.
Highlander

Have a guess what 90% of people will put as answer to this. I wonder...................

Highlander wrote:
Have a guess what 90% of people will put as answer to this. I wonder...................

Or better still, ask them! Oh yeah, that's what he's just done.

The holocaust, the reason is obvious
kathyv

All wars, again, the reasons are obvious.
True Scotsman

Stop the Titanic from sinking & also the Holocaust too.

True Scotsman wrote:
Stop the Titanic from sinking.

Aye then they widnae hae needed tae make yon f***ing film wi yon daft woman squawking awa tae the soundtrack.Thats a fair shout that yin True Scotsman.

I wid need tae say the holocaust tae.
Abieuan

I wid need tae say the holocaust tae.

Which one ?
The one by Stalin against the Armenians and Tartars and Gypsies and Chechens, etc after WW2, or the old Hitler thing again?

There have been far worse crimes done more recently,but not in the name of nationalism, the big countries try to tar us (the small peacefull countries) with that same brush of Hitler's nationalism.

Nationalism is the only thing that stops us from becoming part of the U.S.A.

Aye "the old Hitler thing again" infact ony war and killings.

Recently thaur hae been far worse crimes done? Worse than the holocaust by the nazis?

I hardly think that the 6million Jews murdered in cold-blooded killing camps such as Aushwitz and Belzec has been equalled in this century
kathyv

I'm not trying to wind anyone up but I am curious about your opinions. . .

Are 6 million deaths worse that just one? I mean, we all shudder at things like the holocaust (the Hitler one) but what about all the killings Sadam apparently ordered? What about the murders of the people in the twin towers? What about subway and train bombings? For my opinion, any form of killing is wrong, even if it's one.
True Scotsman

kathyv wrote:
I'm not trying to wind anyone up but I am curious about your opinions. . .

Are 6 million deaths worse that just one? I mean, we all shudder at things like the holocaust (the Hitler one) but what about all the killings Sadam apparently ordered? What about the murders of the people in the twin towers? What about subway and train bombings? For my opinion, any form of killing is wrong, even if it's one.

That is true kathyv, any form of killing is wrong.
RedScotland

Prevent Hitler and Stalin from coming to power and ensure a Republican victory in the Spanish Civil War.

No i agree KathyV. Any form of killing is wrong, its just the clincalness and scale which makes the holocaust worse IMO

j

but what about all the killings Sadam apparently ordered? What about the murders of the people in the twin towers? What about subway and train bombings? For my opinion, any form of killing is wrong, even if it's one.

I am interested in the three examples you give. I assume you include the killings of Iraqis by our government in the list of "wrong" killing and not just the deaths in Iraq when saddam was in power.

I assume that you include the deaths from american bombers across the globe and not just the planes that became bombs in NY.

I assume that you include the slaughter in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos.

You have picked out, from a very long list, three crimes committed by muslims and I wondered why this is?

I feel Rinty that this may be due to a western spin on things, not all the american bombs that are dropped in Iraq are against civilians. They were still wrong though. These examples may be due to easy recollection due to the press
kathyv

Rinty, absolutely no reasonings for chosing these examples, they just seemed to be current to the world issues.

What I actually thought about when I posted them was:

'The killings Sadam apparently ordered' and the apparent mass graves being found in Iraq. It breaks my heart to think some family has lost a loved one and the possiblilty that the body is part of a mass grave must be heart wrenching for them. Every family needs closure not questions.

'Murders of the people in the twin towers' this is close to the heart and mind of every American. We live with it daily and were blindsided by it. I don't think of Muslems as the 'bad guys' in this act, I blame a fanatic faction that happens to be Muslim. I know very little about this religion but I do know that killing seems to be frowned upon.

'Subway and train bombings" Here I was considering not only the events last year in London and the events several years ago in Spain but each and every bombing that I have heard of that targets commuters on public transportation systems.

I also don't limit the events to world issues. What Tim McVeigh did to other Americans in OklahomaCity is included in my thoughts. I realize American bad guys can be just as bad as any other culture's bad guys, to my way of thinking, if you plan to murder someone you are wrong. Killing should never be an option. I don't care what you are, where you live, how you worship, none of that matters to me. No one should be intentionally killed by another person. I care about humanity as a whole, every person is priceless.

I appologise of any one was upset by my statements, I was truly curious about all other opinions on the matter of numbers of people killed. It just seems in America anyway that the more done makes it worse than the less done. Very odd, IMO.
SF102

The thing in history i would change would be religion. It's been the cause of more deaths throughout history than any other single cause. God (no matter what name YOU know him/it/her under) has a LOT of blood on his/its/her hands.

Well I'll let you tell him/her/it that then! Very Happy

Azzuri, ah dinna ken whit waes funnier,that or the "pee tree" Mr. Green

I don't agree that taking a life under "any circumstances" is wrong. I am the most unapologetically non-politically "correct" person around! For example, I live in a country who by law hangs those who are found guilty by a court of law and after exhausting all appeals. However because of the country's dependency on tourism, the powers that be make an ass of the law and it is never carried out.
The USA and the Uk deport west Indian criminals back to their homelands.In many cases these "creatures" have no familly/friends here anymore and are virtually cast loose in a strange land with little or no support.So what do you think they resort to?
Some months ago here in Barbados a lady waiting for a bus was chopped up with a cutlass in broad day light by a man deported from the USA who had been released for killing his wife over there and sent back here. Well we live on small Islands and every manaic is just a stones throw from where you live. Hang ther' erse I say! I could tell many a tale of this sort.
Cutlass'es are the popular weapons of choice here.UGH!

Someone I know very well was blown away at close range through his right shoulder and from the back,you could put your head through the hole it made!His wife lived in a wheel chair and could'nt even lift a cup to drink without help. They had one of those chair lift things so that she could get upstairs.The killers broke in to the house around 11pm, he went down stairs to inspect the noise and was blown right into the next dimension.

Meanwhile his wife, sitting unable to move in her chair heard the shot. Soon after, the monsters went upstairs and stripped her of all her jewelery. She had to sit there untill the old boy who does chores around the place, arrived at 5Am. The poor fellow, (had a key) opened the kitchen door,came in and soon found him dead on the kitchen floor.

The killers were a gang of men led by a character by the name of Winston Hall.When they were caught and tried the powers that be never put the garbage out, and so most of them escaped again causing more mayhem. A retired Gurka Army officer chopped to death while reading his newspaper on his front lawn. A police woman from N.I sent to Barbados for a rest,raped.She in turn later helped rape victims, working alongside The Royal Barbados Police force.
This same Winston hall" escaped three times and was on the 10 most wanted list of the FBI. He was eventually shot by the police here and finally gotten rid of while attempting to break in to a shop.

Well, they finally got around to putting the garbage out.

Oh and did I forget to mention that because the murder victims were "white fowk" Winston had become a hero? At his furneral,yes he was given one Shocked they flocked to see him lying in his casket, like he was chairman mao. i saw it on the telly.

Oh an by-the-way, back in either 1998/9 Trinidad hung nine crims,three per day!When it was happening, you could feel it from barbados,every body was quiet and you could feel the hair rising on the back of your neck.
It was a gang and they had run riot around the country for a while. Well one night they broke into a familly home and killed everyone,kids and all.Only one child survived becuse one of the killers put her in a cupboard for safety.some time later, the same gang knowing where they burried the bodies,dug them up and decapitated them so that they wouldn't be recognised.

However after having said all that,it must be traumatic for a judge to send someone to their death,regardless of the circumstances. Wrong Judgements have been made in the past!

The truth is that at the end of the day,popular oppinion rules and whatever laws are made can be changed to suit. Its called I believe,situation ethics.But i am not of that school.
SF102

BG, The death penalty is far too good for some people sadly Sad

Tae richt SF! These fowk who set these killers free tae roam among us need tae be held accountable for lettin them losoe when they kill again.I mean if you walk your Nin-Pin without a lead they want to lock you up!! Shocked :But its allright for them to let a phsyco lose on innocent law abiding fowk! OH PLEEZE!

As far as I'm concerned, if you kill ma peeps, yer erse is grass!! Cool
Chookie

Nonetheless, the question was about what you would change in history, you two (Bg and SF) are talking about current affairs and social policies.

My answer would have to be that RELIGION (of whatever form) has caused far more pain and suffering than any other concept - even greedand avarice.

So what would you change about religion, or would you have none?
SF102

I think none would be the easier of the two options having said that. Whatever people decided to fill the void that is religion would need to be looked at as that would more n likely cause as much agro.Maybe it might be best if there was only the one with one inturpretation.

What about having the one true god come down and explain to everyone how it all works. That might help out the situation a bit, especially if he's omnipotent etc.
SF102

would that be your one true god . . or mine Smile I think we're a tad late with trying to resolve that one. Maybe the question should have been . . "what can we change for the future" Hindsight is a wonderful gift if used properly alas most times it's more of a hindrance than anything else Sad

Aye! Aye! Sor salute (chookie)

BG dwarf

What would I change in History? The meteor that wiped out the dinosaurs I think. Had they evolved further, our lot wouldn't have ... and it might have been a better world with Lizard People in charge ... except that according to one conspiracy theory they already do ...
Hazel

SF102 wrote:
The thing in history i would change would be religion. It's been the cause of more deaths throughout history than any other single cause. God (no matter what name YOU know him/it/her under) has a LOT of blood on his/its/her hands.

Now, there is a truth that not very many have the courage to state. And, is the attitude therein a foreshadowing of what has followed? I am just wondering.

I sometimes suspect that we have a gene that says (in so many words), "If your eyes aren't green like mine you deserve to be blinded.

Off soap box before it gets slippery, Hazel
Theresa

Hi, everyone.

I am always at something of a loss to explain the value of religion. Usually I resort to distinguishing religion from faith, meaning that it's one thing to 'belong' to a religion and claim faithfulness; it's another thing to practice one's faith and live it out faithfully.

The point I often make in these conversations is this: I agree with you that 'religion' has caused the most deaths. But it is faulty reasoning to then conclude that all people of faith are therefore to be despised. Plus, it's historically inaccurate to paint the picture with such a broad brush. What about all the hospitals, schools, and charity work established in the name of 'religion'? It's really about sincere people of faith living out their beliefs.

What I think is really sad is that we've so often seen religious beliefs either distorted or used abusively that the general population has now become completely wary of anybody who claims a faith tradition. And I often watch these folks pretty carefully myself! But I think the more courageous path is to observe the lives of individuals and smaller groups who are faithful and who exhibit real graciousness, rather than generalizing to the point of completely discounting something of value.

And please don't blame God. It's the followers who are unfaithful, not the Deity! Otherwise, we run into too many theological problems . . .

All religions are based on a false premise. That God made man. In fact, it was the other way round.

If a REAL all-powerful deity exists "out there" ... it is utterly beyond our comprehension ... and the day we admit that ... is the day we take a huge step forward ... instead of marching and fighting in one spot as we have done for centuries.

By "we", I mean "you" of course ... I'm SO above all that. Blackadders only have one false God ... money and power ... well TWO false gods, money and power and fame ... THREE false ... er ... can I come in and start again?
Robert Craig

If I could change one thing in history,

I would probably have taken different Highers at school.

Robert Craig wrote:

What highers would you have done?
Robert Craig

SLG wrote:
Robert Craig wrote:

What highers would you have done?

I would have done more arty ones and fewer science ones!

Cos they didn't get me a job in the end, so I might as well have done ones I'd enjoy.

r

I would change the red card for Bobo Balde in the 2003 UEFA cup final. At that stage we had them on the run and the trophy was ours for the taking Wink

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bhoys_from_Seville

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History