Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig

Dotaman...

Anybody remember Dotaman?...

Very Happy

I remember it vividly from my childhood, only understanding the odd English word that was thrown in here and there of course!

Sing along with Donnie Dotaman by CLICKING HERE

you'll need realplayer installed. That title music will haunt me for the rest of my days! Laughing

OMG Azzuri! Lol Ah seem tae hev missed oot oan some serious Scottish culture have I not? Pity really.
Donnie Doodadwotsitsthingamegummy wis gettin it oan ther' fer a wee while singin his heid aff like Kermit the puddock.
garye

Dotaman is still on. BBC 2 (during term time) has Gaelic kids programmes from 8.30 to 9.00 am in the morning. If your a learner you'll recognise more than watching Eorpa!

One of my faves is Na Brathairean Cuideudhach, which is "the Koala Brothers" except with voices etc in Gaelic.

I'm sure this must have freaked out some hungover Aussies who've woken up to find that on their tellys in the morning, two Koalas flying about the outback talking Gaelic.......
SF102

garye wrote:
Dotaman is still on. BBC 2 (during term time) has Gaelic kids programmes from 8.30 to 9.00 am in the morning. If your a learner you'll recognise more than watching Eorpa!

One of my faves is Na Brathairean Cuideudhach, which is "the Koala Brothers" except with voices etc in Gaelic.

I'm sure this must have freaked out some hungover Aussies who've woken up to find that on their tellys in the morning, two Koalas flying about the outback talking Gaelic.......

I dunno about scaring the Aussies . . it'd sure as hell scare the crap outta me
Abieuan

Ow, that's classic stuff, they were some bonnets he wore.
I learned from Dotaman and other children's programmes before i went to classes.
This gave me the "sound" of the language and so helped with my pronounciation, which was an advantage over some of the other class members, which gave me extra confidence.

I'd still watch it now with glee, Colin and Cumberland is good too.
jimtrot

Babygael wrote:
OMG Azzuri! Lol Ah seem tae hev missed oot oan some serious Scottish culture have I not? Pity really.
Donnie Doodadwotsitsthingamegummy wis gettin it oan ther' fer a wee while singin his heid aff like Kermit the puddock.

You takin the piss?

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig