Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig
wisnaeme

Drowned in Gaelic?

I have mentioned before in various posts that the best way to learn any language and in this instance,the Gaelic language is to totally immerse and surround yourself in it.Staying with a family who use the language at home as a matter of course in the home will bring a familiarity not known in a classroom.To learn to understand and communicate in this way has other advantages such as learning the local gaelic history of the place in which you stay,of the people past and present of that place and how to pronounce the gaelic naming of places in the surrounding terrain and the stories, poetry and songs behind why the places were so named.

Quote," Creators of a new Gaelic teaching technique are to petition the Scottish Executive to fund a series of full time courses for adults across the country.
Representitives from Gaelic development charity Comhairle Nan Sgoiltean Araich ( CNSA ) say their Total Immersion Plus ( TIP ) strategy can reduce the years of study usually needed to learn a language to less than 200 hours." Unquote.

This appears to be a first class initiative by folk who understand what needs to be done although I have my doubts that the Executive will be as far sighted or understand what is required of themselves by way of action and fiscal help to promote such a course of action.After all there doesn't seem to be many votes in it for themselves.
Full article in the Sunday Herald by Paul Dalgarno can be read in the link that I have posted below.

http://www.sundayherald.com/55578

Sounds good. Been hearing about this for a while, but don't know anyone that's been on the course yet. AFAIK it only been run in the Inbhir Nis area so far. We were meant to be getting something along these lines in Dùn Eideann a while back but it fell through.

Hai wisnaeme,sounds like a plan if it ever does come to fruitition.
But if it does, i'll be packin' mah bags an' headin' hame! Inbhir Nis is up mah way oanway, just doon the road.

BG sunny
Abieuan

You can do something similar without the need of an official course.

I went to Steòrnabhagh eight years ago, and while looking for B&B in the tourist information office i noticed that quite a few of the households said "we speak Gaelic" in their advertisements.
The people we stayed with were happy to help.
Pity i was only there one night.

Sounds great Abieuan but you can't really live in a B&B.Oh well, what is it the Chinese say "A journey of a thousand miles begins with just one step?" I would converse more on this forum but it would be a very boring conversation!!

How are you getting along these days with Gaidhlig?

I have to do my SQA1 test next month,so I'm going to have to get right into it.I'm allready getting the jitters!

BG study
darkside

Babygael wrote:
Sounds great Abieuan but you can't really live in a B&B.Oh well, what is it the Chinese say "A journey of a thousand miles begins with just one step?" I would converse more on this forum but it would be a very boring conversation!!

How are you getting along these days with Gaidhlig?

I have to do my SQA1 test next month,so I'm going to have to get right into it.I'm allready getting the jitters!

BG study

a test? whats the test for, sorry for the ignorance
Abieuan

BG wrote:
I would converse more on this forum but it would be a very boring conversation!!
I ken what you mean, BG, it's the same for me.

I'm still trying to retain what i've already learned, never mind progressing.

If you are like me, you are learning Gàidhlig because you belive it is your duty to do so and it will make you a more complete person, with more respect for yourself as a Scot.
Being able to only speak English/Scots makes it easier for some to say that we are all one Brittish nation.
Don't worry if you don't get your piece of paper this time, when you know enough you will.
But good luck anyway Smile
wisnaeme

Abieuan wrote:
You can do something similar without the need of an official course.

I went to Steòrnabhagh eight years ago, and while looking for B&B in the tourist information office i noticed that quite a few of the households said "we speak Gaelic" in their advertisements.
The people we stayed with were happy to help.
Pity i was only there one night.

I have done and made a point of doing the same as yourself when I am up in Skye. One place that I stayed in had some youngsters who had good gaelic and the giggles that came out of them when I mispronounced the words but my,weren't they keen to help me and I was so at ease in that house hold that I felt no embarrasment at my lack of commanding the gaelic.Some folk try too hard then let it fall by the wayside,for some starting to learn the language is just a fad or a notion and then you get the dedicated who unfortunately don't have enough folk around them for them to pratice on so when I get the chance I like to have that beautiful and expressive language flow around and over myself. Smile Is it not a waste if you cannot speak on a daily basis a language that you admire and have a little of, use it or loose it and I have no wish to loose the little I have learnt.

Babygael wrote:
I would converse more on this forum but it would be a very boring conversation!!

Nothing wrong with a simple conversation if it's testing.

Ok Slg

Ciamar a tha sibh? Tha mi a'fiureach an am Barbados.Tha e blath agus grianach an- diugh. De` an t`ainm a tha ort? is misa catriona.
Cait e bheil thu a`fuireach?
A bheil sibh ar iarraidh ti neo cofaidh a slg? ? Agus,a bheil sibh ag iarraidh bhriosciadean?
Tha mi ag iarraidh briscogen agus a h-aon chupa coafaidh mas e bhur toil e.

How did I do huh!

BG
Leathlaobhair

Don't make the same mistakes the Irish did Sad

Leathlaobhair wrote:
Don't make the same mistakes the Irish did Sad

What mistakes?

Babygael wrote:
Ciamar a tha sibh? Tha mi a'fiureach an am Barbados.Tha e blath agus grianach an- diugh. De` an t`ainm a tha ort? is misa catriona.
Cait e bheil thu a`fuireach?

Halo Catriona. Is mise Anndra. Tha mi a fuireach ann an Dùn Eideann. Tha mi dìreach sgoinneil an-diugh, tapadh leat. Tha e blath agus glè ghrianach an-seo cuideachd Very Happy Ach thèid mi gu m'obair a dh'aithghearr Sad . Ciamar a tha thu fhèin? Dè tha thu a' dèanamh an-diugh?

Babygael wrote:
A bheil sibh ar iarraidh ti neo cofaidh a slg? ? Agus,a bheil sibh ag iarraidh bhriosciadean?
Tha mi ag iarraidh briscogen agus a h-aon chupa coafaidh mas e bhur toil e.

'S toil leam tì gu dearbh. Òlaidh mi mòran cupannan gach latha ach chan òl mi cofaidh tric. 'S àbhaist bhomh a bhith ag igthe briosgadean le mo thì. Nì mi thu cupa tì le briosgadean, ach feumaidh tu a thighinn gu Dùn Eideann airson iad Wink

Babygael wrote:
How did I do huh!

Uamhasach math BG Very Happy . Dè cho fada ‘sa tha thu air a bhith ag ionnsachadh na Gàidhlig?

You get all that? Remember, I'm jsut learning as well Wink

Nach eil thu a' bruidhinn rium BG???

Sorry SLG I havenae been aroon yon board much lately!! I understood most of what you said the first time, but the second posting wae tae HARD!! I'm going tae write doon every thing and check up the translation at leisure later!

Sometimes I hear words and they are so familliar but the meaning is just out of reach,SO frustrating!! I try to get Radio nan Gael (streaming) even if I dont know what they are saying, at least that way I become more familliar with the sound of the language.The first time I heard a recognisable expression (is math sinn) I jumped up and down like a loon.I was so pleased!!

Thanks for responding to my small efforts!!

BG

Nae problem BG... just wondering if you'd missed it! I might have got bit carried away, having not written any Gàidhlig for ages Cool . Take your time and reply if you can, or i can translate what I've written. I sometimes listen to Radio nan Gaidheal, mainly Rapal (do you listen to it, the best show on RnG IMO Very Happy ), still don't catch too much though. I can read and write much more than I can speak.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Gàidhlig
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads