Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

wisnaeme
Eh! Mr Cameron said whit!.
I have just heard and seen the tory leader, Mr Cameron on the telly say," Scotland could go it alone but I would prefer if it remained within the union.
I don't like Cameron that much when it comes to political policy, but he is fast becoming the premier advocate for British Union. He has been saying a lot of things I agree with, and I think the people of Scotland broadly agree with.
wisnaeme
Re: Eh! Mr Cameron said whit! | wisnaeme wrote: | .
I have just heard and seen the tory leader, Mr Cameron on the telly say," Scotland could go it alone but I would prefer if it remained within the union.  |
Ah dinna think "Aventinian" can compute joined up words in a sentence again. Has yer computer crashed again"Aventinian?" Weel just fer yer benefit ah'll post ra first half o ra sentence frae yon nice Mr Cameron again, just fer yerself, ken.
Scotland could go it alone.........
The_Unionist
He was making the point that, as we asll know, the economic argument has lost credibility and that an independent Scotland would be able to work...However, he is clearly stating his viewpoint as being for the continued union, for many other reasons than economic ones.
"He was making the point that, as we asll know, the economic argument has lost credibility and that an independent Scotland would be able to work"
What happened to the (to quote you from another thread) "economically the figures don't stack up....What is the argument?" Unionist that we all know and love?
Well I wouldnt be suprised if Mr Cameron was secretly hoping for an SNP victory in May - it would certinly make his life easier.
Re: Eh! Mr Cameron said whit! | wisnaeme wrote: | | wisnaeme wrote: | .
I have just heard and seen the tory leader, Mr Cameron on the telly say," Scotland could go it alone but I would prefer if it remained within the union.  |
Ah dinna think "Aventinian" can compute joined up words in a sentence again. Has yer computer crashed again"Aventinian?" Weel just fer yer benefit ah'll post ra first half o ra sentence frae yon nice Mr Cameron again, just fer yerself, ken.
Scotland could go it alone......... |
Of course it could, I've never heard anyone make a sensible debate the contrary - the fact is that it is neither sensible, ethical or advantageous to do so.
| The_Unionist wrote: | | He was making the point that, as we asll know, the economic argument has lost credibility and that an independent Scotland would be able to work...However, he is clearly stating his viewpoint as being for the continued union, for many other reasons than economic ones. |
I don't think the economic argument for Union has lost credibility at all. It is still there, it just cannot be the only argument we rely on when there are plenty more, better ones out there.
| Avatar wrote: | | Well I wouldnt be suprised if Mr Cameron was secretly hoping for an SNP victory in May - it would certinly make his life easier. |
Not exactly a victory if you slice off the less winable areas, is it?
I'm sure David Cameron firmly desires to benefit us all.
George
Re: Eh! Mr Cameron said whit! | Aventinian wrote: | | the fact is that it is neither sensible, ethical or advantageous to do so. |
O.K. I'll play..........to all three; why not?
My objections on all three are already to be found on this site, restated quite a few times. All the regulars here know my stance and I don't really have the time or inclination to repeat it every time a newbie comes along.
George
| Aventinian wrote: | | My objections on all three are already to be found on this site, restated quite a few times. All the regulars here know my stance and I don't really have the time or inclination to repeat it every time a newbie comes along. |
I see, so any newcomer to the site will have to trawl through your 1500 odd postings reading every lengthy egotistical ramble to find qualification for your statements.
Highlander
Of course Scotland could go it alone. However, that sentence does not imply that Scotland would be successful going alone. That is the crux. If and I repeat if the electorate of Scotland voted for an independence party that then ended up with a referendum and the referendum got a yes to going it "alone". Then I would watch, laugh and join as the bright and talented young people of Scotland left in large numbers for a brighter future.
wisnaeme
| Aventinian wrote: | | My objections on all three are already to be found on this site, restated quite a few times. All the regulars here know my stance and I don't really have the time or inclination to repeat it every time a newbie comes along. |
Oh dearie me. The unionist canna be bothered, the unionist has nae time tae enlighten folk o his convictions or tae debate afresh. Ah do perceive that the unionist is fed up of repeating the same old tired arguments or is it a matter of losing the moral high ground argument or just plain losing it. Ah do perceive Mr unionist hase caught a dose of lax faith frae that nice Mr Cameron. terribly infectious that is, especially if yer frae Scotland. Come on "Aventinian" dinna ignore the man, its bad manners.please do answer. Ah promise to appear interested as weel.
patriot1320
| Aventinian wrote: | | I don't like Cameron that much when it comes to political policy, but he is fast becoming the premier advocate for British Union. He has been saying a lot of things I agree with, and I think the people of Scotland broadly agree with. |
What evidence or proof do you have that scotland broadly agree's with cameron...
Funny that the SNP have won 10 out of the 20 by-elections in Scotland. The tories will never win in scotland again. There is no trust there.
Michael fry supports independence
Sir tom Farmer donates £100.000
Leader of the roman catholic church supports Independence.
Sounds like big key figures are coming out of the woodwork in support of an Independent scotland.
So I ask you again. Please present evidence to support your statment.
wisnaeme
| Highlander wrote: | | Then I would watch, laugh and join as the bright and talented young people of Scotland left in large numbers for a brighter future. |
Have got a crystal ball then? Naw just mair o them unionist scare mongering again. Nae change frae frightening guid folk that bad, bad things are gonna happen after its time. Why are yer unionist tatics so, so predictable? It gets terribly boring after a while. Mibee thats wan of the reasons why folk want a change fer the better and who can blame them.
| Highlander wrote: | | and the referendum got a yes to going it "alone". Then I would watch, laugh and join as the bright and talented young people of Scotland left in large numbers for a brighter future. |
Yeah because that isn't happening already is it?
| George wrote: | | I see, so any newcomer to the site will have to trawl through your 1500 odd postings reading every lengthy egotistical ramble to find qualification for your statements. |
That's pretty much the long, short and tall of it. I should probably compose an FAQ or something. I am an imperfect being like all others and unfortunately not endowed with infinite patience or time.
Enjoy the trawling.
| patriot1320 wrote: | | What evidence or proof do you have that scotland broadly agree's with cameron... |
None, it's an opinion.
| Quote: | | Funny that the SNP have won 10 out of the 20 by-elections in Scotland. The tories will never win in scotland again. There is no trust there. |
Hmm... the Tories seem to be on track to increase their vote. The Nats meanwhile lost a fairly significant number of seats at the last SP elections, and dropped at seat at the general election.
| Quote: |
Michael fry supports independence
Sir tom Farmer donates £100.000
Leader of the roman catholic church supports Independence.
Sounds like big key figures are coming out of the woodwork in support of an Independent scotland.
One bonkers historian that nobody had heard of other than in terms of denying the highland clearances, one businessman who has a lukewarm attitude to the movement and one religious wacko. Hmm... hardly convincing. You've still only got those three, and Sean Connerry (Oh, sorry, I forgot that scary looking woman from River City, didn't I?) , on your side to provide any sort of high-profile support for your movement.
"Oh, sorry, I forgot that scary looking woman from River City, didn't I?"#
You thought she was scary looking? you should check out the video of her at the independence first march if you havent allready http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0isMWmwfO34
iIt was like suddenly finding yourself in a David Lynch film.
Highlander
Just watched that video. I cannot understand a word she is saying. I can't really tell, what language was it?
| Highlander wrote: | | Just watched that video. I cannot understand a word she is saying. I can't really tell, what language was it? |
Rivercityian? I think she was drunk, but I dont know, It was one of the most random moments of my life especially once it got to the part when she started making crying baby sounds.
Classic! I love the part where she starts randomly going mental. You can actually hear the audience pissing themselves.
Yeah someone should have taken her out for the sake of Scottish independance
The_Unionist
Economically, it is possible. However, it would mean some big spending cuts;). So, it could be done, but as part of a UK Scotland gets a better deal.
Corby Boy
Usual Unionist diatribe.
The_Unionist
Well, that's not an argument. All that I am stating is that, although Scottish contributions to the UK tax pot are larger as a region, what it takes out per person in social security etc is on average £2000 more than in other UK regions. Scotland does get a better deal. So, independence, economically viable, yes, BUT it would require a new Scottish state to have some VERY careful thoughts about how they would spend the lower amounts of money that it would have.
IF Convenor
I just want to say that I thought Joyce Falconer was the star of the Independence First rally. She was a welcome antidote to the endless parade of career politicians who went before her.
Highlander, you ignorant prick, who needs external enemies when there are fools like you who are prepared to make stupid mocking points about the way most people in Scotland speak. For your information (though I doubt it'll sink in) she is from Aberdeen and she was speaking Aberdonian Doric. I understood every word and I'm sure even you understood most of it despite your protestations.
y | Quote: | | what it takes out per person in social security etc is on average £2000 more than in other UK regions. |
More than SOME UK regions not all. What you are looking at is a figure widely used but often not understood that refers to the difference between per head public subsidy in Scotland as opposed to the UK average not all other Uk regions. It is also not just social security etc as you put it, it is a figure used by unionists for all publci subsidy as a total. Therefore subsidised ferry services and vital link to Scotlands islands are divied up as a subsidy between all scots etc.
In taking this figure you are taking the UK as a whole and Scotland as a whole.
People in Perthshire are subsidised far less than people in Merseyside. Edinburgh less than Tyneside.
It is not a figure that can just be thrown around outside of its proper context.
It is also a figure that fails to take in many aspects of where money is made and where it is spent.
You shouldnt use it unless you understand what it is and what its implications are. Much of it IS in social security and benefit payments, therefore if we have more ill people then measures to combat health problems would reduce that. Do we have worse health simply because we are scots are are their political and social reasons for that?
If you, as you claim, believe in a UK, then you should see such payments as money to be distributed on need and not counted as one region being a drain.
Highlander
I still don't have a clue what she was saying. It was a foreign language.
IF Convenor
So Doric is a foreign language in Scotland? How do you define Lallans or Gaelic? How do you define Estuary English? If you have no trouble understanding Eastenders are we to assume that you do not consider the dialect of the south east of England a foreign language?
Niall
An Gaidhealtachan a charaid.
Thu sgriob: | Highlander wrote: | | I still don't have a clue what she was saying. It was a foreign language. |
Am beul gaidhlig agam?
'S mise le meas
Niall.
garye
| Niall wrote: | An Gaidhealtachan a charaid.
Thu sgriob: | Highlander wrote: | | I still don't have a clue what she was saying. It was a foreign language. |
Am beul gaidhlig agam?
'S mise le meas
Niall. |
Niall
Na bi ag eisdeachd re “Highlander”. 'S e fior amadan a th’ ann.
Gary
| IF Convenor wrote: | | So Doric is a foreign language in Scotland? How do you define Lallans or Gaelic? How do you define Estuary English? If you have no trouble understanding Eastenders are we to assume that you do not consider the dialect of the south east of England a foreign language? |
Well it's clearly foreign to him. Then again, I'd count the dialect of some places less than 20 miles from me as foreign simply because I don't understand them and have no linguistic commonality with them.
garye
| Aventinian wrote: | | IF Convenor wrote: | | So Doric is a foreign language in Scotland? How do you define Lallans or Gaelic? How do you define Estuary English? If you have no trouble understanding Eastenders are we to assume that you do not consider the dialect of the south east of England a foreign language? |
Well it's clearly foreign to him. Then again, I'd count the dialect of some places less than 20 miles from me as foreign simply because I don't understand them and have no linguistic commonality with them. |
Note to self, Aventinian post no. 1588 to be dredged up in future debate re languages in Scotland.
The_Unionist
Rinty wrote:
what it takes out per person in social security etc is on average £2000 more than in other UK regions.
More than SOME UK regions not all. What you are looking at is a figure widely used but often not understood that refers to the difference between per head public subsidy in Scotland as opposed to the UK average not all other Uk regions. It is also not just social security etc as you put it, it is a figure used by unionists for all publci subsidy as a total. Therefore subsidised ferry services and vital link to Scotlands islands are divied up as a subsidy between all scots etc.
In taking this figure you are taking the UK as a whole and Scotland as a whole.
People in Perthshire are subsidised far less than people in Merseyside. Edinburgh less than Tyneside.
It is not a figure that can just be thrown around outside of its proper context.
It is also a figure that fails to take in many aspects of where money is made and where it is spent.
You shouldnt use it unless you understand what it is and what its implications are. Much of it IS in social security and benefit payments, therefore if we have more ill people then measures to combat health problems would reduce that. Do we have worse health simply because we are scots are are their political and social reasons for that?
If you, as you claim, believe in a UK, then you should see such payments as money to be distributed on need and not counted as one region being a drain.
---
You have missed the point entirely. I do not see Scotland as a drain, but as an important economic part of the UK, just as Greater London or the North East of England are imporant. The point that I was making was that on its own, Scotland would not benefit from these higher payments (which it does deserve in the UK), as they would not balance out! Your comments seem simply to undermine your own pro-independence position. Scotland is not a drain, it contrubtes more, and gets back even more out of being UK.
garye
| The_Unionist wrote: | | Scotland is not a drain, it contrubtes more, and gets back even more out of being UK. |
Eh, "The Unionist" said whit?
The_Unionist
The unionist said Scotland contributes over its fair share to the UK exchequer, but gets more than over its fair share back out of it.
macnumpty
How?
The_Unionist
See this thread. Scotland's contributions, although higher than other parts of the UK are balanced out by the higher payouts to the average Scot. I have no problem with this, as any region of the UK should get whatever help it so needs, but an independent Scotland would not be able to keep up this higher level of public spending with the current level of taxation (although with Mr Brown's poor management you never know)
| The_Unionist wrote: | | The unionist said Scotland contributes over its fair share to the UK exchequer, but gets more than over its fair share back out of it. |
But the calculations show that while we get more out than the average spend in the UK, we put more than enough extra to cover that. The excess is lost to Scotland - or if you like pays for the less tangible benefits of UK membership.
See http://ourscotland.myfreeforum.org/ftopic52.php
The_Unionist
Whatever the aconomic arguments are, and there are many conflicting reports, I still support the union...If I were so impassioned about the economic argument, I would try to get the spending evened out again...And I would support you..I believe in equal distribution of public services throughout the United Kingdom. And I don't see why the United Kingdom's oil has to be a major factor...The figures of money into Scotland don't count resources found elsewhere in the UK...It will soon be too expensive to get it out anyway..until far into the future...when a barrel of crude really does get expensive. ...although that should have a positive environmental impact..hmm....So would your independent Scotland have climate change on the agenda?
garye
| The_Unionist wrote: | | Whatever the aconomic arguments are, and there are many conflicting reports, I still support the union... |
Aye because the only "argument" that Unionists have left are backward looking sentimentality.
| The_Unionist wrote: | Whatever the aconomic arguments are, and there are many conflicting reports, I still support the union...If I were so impassioned about the economic argument, I would try to get the spending evened out again...And I would support you..I believe in equal distribution of public services throughout the United Kingdom. And I don't see why the United Kingdom's oil has to be a major factor...The figures of money into Scotland don't count resources found elsewhere in the UK...It will soon be too expensive to get it out anyway..until far into the future...when a barrel of crude really does get expensive. ...although that should have a positive environmental impact..hmm....So would your independent Scotland have climate change on the agenda? |
Ok, at the end of the day, it is the Unionist establishment, why can't they publish transparent figures? They are the ones with something to hide.
To look at it on purely on the tax/spend issue, I want to get it evened out. I can do this through the Union or through Indpendence. You say do it through the Union, but I don't think that's feasible. I think campaigning for independence is a more effective way to solve the problem, so that's where I devote my energies.
Oil isn't a major factor - just a factor. And yes the figures for other resources elsewhere in the UK do count. Tax generated is always included in the UK total intake, whereas oil is generally included from the published Scotland figures.
Why do you think it will soon be too expensive? As much as has been extracted is still available - that at prices of about $24 a barrel IIRC. You think we shouldn't extract it due to the environmental impact?
As for me, yes I would have climate change on the agenda in an independent Scotland - we are going to have no choice but to. However we have to strike a balance. Do you advocate that the UK stops licensing the extraction of oil on environmental grounds?
| garye wrote: | | Aye because the only "argument" that Unionists have left are backward looking sentimentality. |
Really? I thought that was the Nats...
| Aventinian wrote: | | garye wrote: | | Aye because the only "argument" that Unionists have left are backward looking sentimentality. |
Really? I thought that was the Nats... |
It might be part of it for some. But for most it's about making the best possible future for Scotland and her people.
wisnaeme
| The_Unionist wrote: | | Whatever the aconomic arguments are, and there are many conflicting reports, I still support the union. |
So whatever the economical arguments for or against Scotland becoming independent its irrelevant. Even if it would be advantageous to the fiscal well being of the Scottish nation as a whole it would be irrelevant. Doesn't really matter to the unionist, for he will be for the union whatever. There appears to be a lack of reason or logic in unionist thought processes on the subject. Weel, at least it's back to being consistent for one unionist after his bout of lax faith. Very shaky foundations to base a convicted opinion on indeed.
FALSYDE
Aventian I think when you gave us a list of three reasons your response was stretching credulity a bit, Really stretching it.
Can I pop another couple up, pride in one's nation the oldest nation state in Europe and perhaps another would be that every relationship runs its course, I think a lot of people might agree with me that this relationship with England is now a busted flush.
If, as we often have it rammed down our throat, England subsidies Scotland by this or that thousand per head of population, what does that say about the English? Daft or what. Since when did ANY sovereign government claim and actually pay out billions in subsidy for centuries while not seeking a return? None I can think of.
In that event, why would England want to maintain the status quo, were it not for her self interest. Personally, I don't think it has anything to do with our scenery as they seem to plan on trashing that with wind farms so what could it be? Deep in thought like many others in our mother country we see an insidious form of rape, natural resources such as oil and gas today, and a market and military manpower yesterday.
Personally I see the fact that our culture has been and is being subjourned and eroded. Due to the over weaning ambition of our Scottish Labour politicians who see the need themsleves to maintain the Union in order to sustain themselves on the greater stage, Scottish history is no longer taqught in our schools, that is imperialism at it's worst. The most recent examples being Blair and perhaps god forbid Brown, if not Brown maybe Reid or Darling or Alexander [on second thoughts scrub that last one, he is a sleekit wee prat not even the Englsih would put up with him].
What I think you are doing, with all due respect, is pissing in the wind hoping the light at the end of the tunnel is not the independence train. There comes a time in any 'movement' that it eventually gains sufficent momentum as to be unstoppable, I think and hope that this will be the case but I see how you might feel otherwise. I would, like everyone else [nearly], like to think that the 300th anniversary would be the day but realistically it might well not be until 2011 but if it is, with luck I should manage to hang on 'till then.
Given your clear adherence to the Union I can imagine you would be a bit frantic but it will not be the dire result you imagine. I have visited, lived and worked in several countries including Finland, Sweden, Norway and Danmark and with similar populations, three of whom have not the same resources as we do, they are doing ALRIGHT and I get exasperated when folk suggest our people are somehow not fit to run our own country when we seem to have them running the UK. Something odd about that argument wouldn't you say.
A list of Scottish UK PM's comes to mind Lord Bute, Ramsay MacDonald, Harold MacMillan, Alex Douglas Hume, Blair, and wanna bees like Brown. Surely I must have missed some. We can do it Aventian - just watch us.
Nearly forgot what about the Scots who ran Australia, Canada, Hong Kong and New Zealand.
Highlander
| Quote: | | pride in one's nation the oldest nation state in Europe |
Now if you are referring to Scotland in that statement then it is wrong. Scotland is not a nation-state. Why? Scotland is not mono-ethnic and this country or nation has never been mono-ethnic. So it is impossible to be a nation-state.
Next point, how do you are argue that Scotland is the oldest nation-state in Europe or in fact the oldest anything in Europe? Explain.
| Quote: | | Nearly forgot what about the Scots who ran Australia, Canada, Hong Kong and New Zealand. |
Sickening isn't it? Scotland's imperial past at the helm of the British Empire.
| wisnaeme wrote: |
So whatever the economical arguments for or against Scotland becoming independent its irrelevant. Even if it would be advantageous to the fiscal well being of the Scottish nation as a whole it would be irrelevant. Doesn't really matter to the unionist, for he will be for the union whatever. There appears to be a lack of reason or logic in unionist thought processes on the subject. Weel, at least it's back to being consistent for one unionist after his bout of lax faith. Very shaky foundations to base a convicted opinion on indeed. |
I doubt there are many Nationalists who would turn Unionist even if their economic arguments were completely discredited, Wisnae, so it's really a matter of the pot calling the kettle black there.
Personally I think there are far more important matters at stake in politics than economics.
| FALSYDE wrote: | Aventian I think when you gave us a list of three reasons your response was stretching credulity a bit, Really stretching it.
Can I pop another couple up, pride in one's nation the oldest nation state in Europe and perhaps another would be that every relationship runs its course, I think a lot of people might agree with me that this relationship with England is now a busted flush. |
Do you not think I have pride in being Scottish? I certainly do. However I don't think that's got anything to do with politics.
As for every relationship running its course, we are still a part of the global 'society' of nations and we should be outward looking, not taking steps backwards. An Internationalist will argue for further power-sharing, not the myth of national sovereignty. That's what I think has run its course.
If, as we often have it rammed down our throat, England subsidies Scotland by this or that thousand per head of population, what does that say about the English? Daft or what. Since when did ANY sovereign government claim and actually pay out billions in subsidy for centuries while not seeking a return? None I can think of.
I don't much care who is subsidising who. To say that I did would be roughly the equivilent of going down to the local council housing scheme and yelling that I subsidise their living and want nothing to do with them. Both sides seem to make the claim of subsidy, yet very few realise that it is bloody irrelevant.
| Quote: | | In that event, why would England want to maintain the status quo, were it not for her self interest. Personally, I don't think it has anything to do with our scenery as they seem to plan on trashing that with wind farms so what could it be? Deep in thought like many others in our mother country we see an insidious form of rape, natural resources such as oil and gas today, and a market and military manpower yesterday. |
That's very cynical of you, surely? I imagine most politicians go into politics wanting to see the best for all the people of this country, not just certain groups of them. Individual self interest has a purpose, collective 'self'-interest less so.
| Quote: | | Personally I see the fact that our culture has been and is being subjourned and eroded. Due to the over weaning ambition of our Scottish Labour politicians who see the need themsleves to maintain the Union in order to sustain themselves on the greater stage, Scottish history is no longer taqught in our schools, that is imperialism at it's worst. The most recent examples being Blair and perhaps god forbid Brown, if not Brown maybe Reid or Darling or Alexander [on second thoughts scrub that last one, he is a sleekit wee prat not even the Englsih would put up with him]. |
Come off it. I was taught Scottish history at school and my siblings' children are being taught it right now. The Wars of Independence are a staple of school history alone with WWII and bloody ancient Egypt.
As for Douglas Alexander, he might be a bit of an opportunist, but I have met him once or twice and he didn't seem too bad a guy at all.
| Quote: | Given your clear adherence to the Union I can imagine you would be a bit frantic but it will not be the dire result you imagine. I have visited, lived and worked in several countries including Finland, Sweden, Norway and Danmark and with similar populations, three of whom have not the same resources as we do, they are doing ALRIGHT and I get exasperated when folk suggest our people are somehow not fit to run our own country when we seem to have them running the UK. Something odd about that argument wouldn't you say.
An independent Scotland wouldn't make all that much practical difference to me. I wouldn't go into economic collapse or anything. That said, I find it philosophically unjustifiable. I wouldn't like to tell my children that the reason Scotland is a country is because we feel we are different to other people.
A list of Scottish UK PM's comes to mind Lord Bute, Ramsay MacDonald, Harold MacMillan, Alex Douglas Hume, Blair, and wanna bees like Brown. Surely I must have missed some. We can do it Aventian - just watch us. |
I don't doubt the ability of certain Scotsman. We have proven over history to make better politicians and political theorists than the average Englishman. That still doesn't convince me of the need for a Scottish state though. If anything, it makes me believe that we should be expanding Scottish ideals and using them to benefit the wider world, which is broadly speaking what the Enlightenment was all about.
Highlander
I studied history at high school not even 10 years ago and there was definitely Scottish in there. I did the wars of independence crap. So I have no idea why people say "Scottish" history is not taught in schools. I was also taught British history, which by definition is also Scottish history.
"Now if you are referring to Scotland in that statement then it is wrong. Scotland is not a nation-state."
He was refering to Scotland pre-union I believe - so no hes not wrong
As for "Why? Scotland is not mono-ethnic and this country or nation has never been mono-ethnic. So it is impossible to be a nation-state."
well thats just completely random jibber jabber which makes no sense whatsoever.
"Next point, how do you are argue that Scotland is the oldest nation-state in Europe or in fact the oldest anything in Europe? Explain"
interesting point - I have heard this being claimed before - I imagined that it had something to do with the declaration of Arbroath being some sort of historical reference to a national self awareness (first of its kind?) - although I dont know tbh but i'd be interested to hear more about this also..
"As for every relationship running its course, we are still a part of the global 'society' of nations and we should be outward looking, not taking steps backwards. An Internationalist will argue for further power-sharing, not the myth of national sovereignty. That's what I think has run its course. "
but surely once we all become integrated into the EU there will be absolutely no point in the union anymore - westminster will become an extra layer of buerocracy - most issues will be dealt with at Holyrood - and the issues that westminister currently deal with will be dealt with by Brussels. In fact its the unionists that should be more outward looking and not holding on to the past, not the nationalist.
"Come off it. I was taught Scottish history at school and my siblings' children are being taught it right now. The Wars of Independence are a staple of school history alone with WWII and bloody ancient Egypt. "
well I was at secondry school up until 2000 - and we studied the russian revolution, ww1 , ww2, the industrial revolution(which included a bit of Scottish history), the cold war and that was it.
| Aventinian wrote: | | Do you not think I have pride in being Scottish? I certainly do. However I don't think that's got anything to do with politics. |
Fair enough, but you're not running the country. Do you think that the political landscape of Scotland does not affect its culture?
| Aventinian wrote: | | As for every relationship running its course, we are still a part of the global 'society' of nations and we should be outward looking, not taking steps backwards. An Internationalist will argue for further power-sharing, not the myth of national sovereignty. That's what I think has run its course. |
A very admirable long term view. One which we have discussed before. However, no-one knows what's going to happen in the future, the first priority must be to those who are here today and for the politicians to serve them to the best of their ability.
As for the second bit, 'an internationalist will argue for further power-sharing', you are very wrong. Some will, some won't. I'd describe myself as an internationalist and I know of many others within the SNP that do likewise. The premise is that the old mega multinational states need to be broken down before we can build a more ecumenical global community of states. But I'm sure you're well aware of that theory.
| Highlander wrote: | | I studied history at high school not even 10 years ago and there was definitely Scottish in there. I did the wars of independence crap. So I have no idea why people say "Scottish" history is not taught in schools. I was also taught British history, which by definition is also Scottish history. |
I studied history about 15 years or so ago and I was taught almost no Scottish history. I have been led to believe that some individual teachers did teach Scottish history, but many didn't and there was no requirement to do so. I have also been led to believe that while the situation has improved, there is still little requirement as such for the teaching of Scottish history.
The_Unionist
I agree with the history bit...All over the UK, local and regional history is not being taught. The current England and Wales GCSE sylabus comprises of Nazi Germany, the Weimar republic, the treaty of Versailles, Roosevelt's New Deal and a small amount on the liberal reforms...it's a disgrace
patriot1320
I would also agree, I was never taught Scottish history at school but was taught about World War 1 and 2... When I left school at the age of 16 I became interested in Scottish politics then thought, damn!! What did happen in Scotland? So I read up about Scottish history and that’s what made me a nationalist.
British teaching in Scottish schools surely must have a set curriculum. So it must be the decision of the head teacher within Scottish schools to teach Scottish history.
I believe the unionist minds of labour and Tory set the curriculum to a purely unfair and British one. As this would only help there cause further down the line.
I believe anyone who learns about Scottish history will more than likely support independence. But I hated history when I was at school so I never soaked up bullshit about WWI or WWII. But I do believe schools in Scotland should teach history from the very beginning to the present day.
What do unionist know about the union eh !!!
The_Unionist
"I believe anyone who learns about Scottish history will more than likely support independence. "
If you believe that then you don't have faith in people to let go of grudges
Or indeed to live in the present.
Personally by learning the early history of Scotland, I made myself far more likely to hate anyone who claims to be 'a Scot'.
patriot1320
I also think that unionists know nothing about the union.
Tell me what it is you support about it?
Kendomacaroonbar
| patriot1320 wrote: | I also think that unionists know nothing about the union.
Tell me what it is you support about it? |
I truly beleive that they are either unable or unwilling to see the inequitability of the arrangement.
FALSYDE
In Highlander's post he rebutes my claim that Scotland caould be consdiered a nation state, let along the oldest one in Europe. Perhaps he might like to read the recently published book by Prof Bryan Sykes on the genetic make up of the British Isles in which the much vaunted claim by the Shetlanders e.g. that they are Vickings is tosh, only 40% have the male and female Norse lineage, the rest are still full on Picts. As to the rest of Scotland the male and female Celtic genome stands at never less than 80-90%. How homogenous do we have to be. The worst is still to come, the so called English have also got very little non Celtic genes in their makeup. The non Celtic lement of the English genome is as one would expect concentrated in little around the east coast. It is as if the Normans had never existed, in any event their genome was mostly Norse with quite a bit of Celtic from e.g. Brittanny. That should not surprise, ergo france was is known as Gaul = Celtic, as in Galicia, Portu'gal'
Gentically Scotland is a rock solid Celtic country, why else would be be fighting each other on this posting site?
Virtually everybody in the British Isles are descended from 7 women ........ good evening brothers and sisters!!!!!!!!
Aventian is of the view that I am being overly cynical, YES I am and it has something to do with the sickening hypocracy and self serving outlook of most, but not all, of our politicians going back a lone way. It is in our nature as a beast to be self serving to some degree however I don't find it any more acceptable foreby. My wife tells me I should just enjoy looming retirement, continue developing the garden and avoid the grief, she is of course quite right but being English, probably one of the few geneticly obvious Sassunach, whilst I love her dearly she cannot get into or under the skin of us Celts and why should she. The bottom line is this is my country, the current cohort of Holyrood politicians are bastards, most of them are our bastards and I have and demand higher expectations for my fellow countrymen and my country. I, like most of you on this posting, expect and demand better, we might well differ as to how that should be done and I am 100% certain that post independence we will all revert to type and fight like ferrets in a sack.
Perhaps I am overly aggressive and not nearly objective enough but I loath the status quo politically. It is simply not good enough Aventian, sorry to be blunt, but the 'subsidy issue' cannot be ducked so lightly as you have, it is rammed down our throats as a given for decades and decades, and even in todays' papers our Uncle Tom TB says we will riun everything, da da da da, etc. Bol.................ks.
On the subject of history teaching, I spent 7 years on the PTA for my kids secondary school and up till I left ten years ago there was no reall teaching of Scottish history, British of course but successive Unionist governments post war did not do not want those Scots getting uppity after all we Scots keep the Sabbath and everything else we can lay our hands on, so said an erudite politician of long ago, betetr by far to get them into the military they make damned good fighters. I never got to see one in particular, he came back in 1917 as a gibbering wreck and was locked away in an asylum so he wouldn't scare the lieges 'till he had the decency to die out of sight. Every time I raised the subject it was met with oh not again Iain its far to divisive, or it was so long ago - aye thats what history deals with .....so long ago, anything more recent is called current affairs.
Here endeth tonight's rant, with apologies.
George
| Aventinian wrote: |
Do you not think I have pride in being Scottish? I certainly do. However I don't think that's got anything to do with politics.
What do you mean when you say "pride in being Scottish"? What is it that makes you feel pride in your Scottish nationality?
As for every relationship running its course, we are still a part of the global 'society' of nations and we should be outward looking, not taking steps backwards. An Internationalist will argue for further power-sharing, not the myth of national sovereignty. That's what I think has run its course.
You must surely concede that an independent Scotland will not necessarily be more inward looking than the current U.K. Leaving the union means only that we will regain powers that are currently devolved to Westminster. It is conceivable that an independent Scotland will reach out even more than she does at present to other nations.
I don't much care who is subsidising who. To say that I did would be roughly the equivilent of going down to the local council housing scheme and yelling that I subsidise their living and want nothing to do with them. Both sides seem to make the claim of subsidy, yet very few realise that it is bloody irrelevant.
On the contrary...it isn't irrelevant. For too long now the Scots have been led to believe that the country is too poor to sustain itself. Many Scots will have fallen for this nonsense and voted accordingly. This myth has had a subliminal effect on many in that they have come to believe that the union is good for all parties...but particularly the small weak ones (us!) and that it's end would lead to instability, ruin and a mass exodus from Scotland.
The Wars of Independence are a staple of school history.......
Can anyone else confirm this, if so then it is good news.
As for Douglas Alexander, he might be a bit of an opportunist, but I have met him once or twice and he didn't seem too bad a guy at all.
Only if your definition of opportunist is slimy creep.
That said, I find it philosophically unjustifiable.
Meaningless drivel
I wouldn't like to tell my children that the reason Scotland is a country is because we feel we are different to other people.
That's good, because if you did then you would be lying; note not mistaken but lying! We would be no different from every other peoples who desired self determination and you know it.
I don't doubt the ability of certain Scotsman. We have proven over history to make better politicians and political theorists than the average Englishman.
We are not superior in any way to Englishmen or indeed any other nationality.....average or otherwise. I think that you may regret this particular statement.
I think the point that was being made is that we have long been told that we are unable to run our own affairs when the evidence clearly points to the contrary.
"and even in todays' papers our Uncle Tom TB says we will riun everything, da da da da, etc. Bol.................ks. "
Aye I read that - I couldn't believe the utter cheek of the man - to say an independent Scotland would be an Economic disaster. No Mr Blair - Iraq is a disaster. The guy needs a damn good hiding.
| George wrote: | | Aventinian wrote: |
What do you mean when you say "pride in being Scottish"? What is it that makes you feel pride in your Scottish nationality? |
On second thought, 'pride' is probably the wrong word. It is hard to feel pride by accident of birth or by a culture which one has simply fallen into. I suppose I'd have better said that I have a Scottish identity, that I enjoy it and that I would never neglect it as part of my culture.
| Aventinian wrote: | | You must surely concede that an independent Scotland will not necessarily be more inward looking than the current U.K. Leaving the union means only that we will regain powers that are currently devolved to Westminster. It is conceivable that an independent Scotland will reach out even more than she does at present to other nations. |
Perhaps it wouldn't be more insular... eventually, but it is still a step backwards. Notably as well, you are basing the legitimacy of the state on nationalist lines. That is very significant to the outlook of a country. It sends out a very broad statement that you consider yourselve different and would rather run yourselves, alone. I don't think that's a progressive message to be sending out, particularly when it will be picked up and considered the political orthodoxy of the new country.
Also from a Liberal (in the classical sense) perspective, I rather think people like you are needed. Liberals should see the state as an enemy in most situations - in Britain, nationalists perhaps serve some of that purpose not because they believe the state is inherently evil, but because they don't associate it being 'one of them' - a good thing for liberty in my mind.
| Quote: | | Aventinian wrote: |
On the contrary...it isn't irrelevant. For too long now the Scots have been led to believe that the country is too poor to sustain itself. Many Scots will have fallen for this nonsense and voted accordingly. This myth has had a subliminal effect on many in that they have come to believe that the union is good for all parties...but particularly the small weak ones (us!) and that it's end would lead to instability, ruin and a mass exodus from Scotland. |
The Union has benefited us tremendously in a financial sense for probably the vast majority of years of its existence. I appreciate that we can support our partners, and rely on their support when times are harder for ourselves. I don't think the true merits can be assessed as simply as on a balance sheet and a profit and loss account. Either way, are we not simply taking from one to feed another? Perhaps we should unite to raise the standards of living in this country rather than consider separating when one side finds itself marginally better off for a while.
I think the end of Union would lead to instability, as the attempts at the same have done in Quebec.
The Wars of Independence are a staple of school history.......
Can anyone else confirm this, if so then it is good news. |
I mentioned it down the pub to a few friends today, all of whom had studied that and most had done a bit on Mary Queen of Scots etc. Although we're talking broadly the same age group, my 'survey' included people who came from quite a diverse number of locations around Scotland.
I wouldn't like to tell my children that the reason Scotland is a country is because we feel we are different to other people.
That's good, because if you did then you would be lying; note not mistaken but lying! We would be no different from every other peoples who desired self determination and you know it. |
But it’s not self-determination, it’s group determination. Why pick out Scotsmen to the people that vote with you and can decide your future. Why not people from a unit of Scotland and Northern Ireland? Or the British Isles? Or Europe?
In a state based on Nationalism, the only answer to that can be ‘because we are different’.
I don't doubt the ability of certain Scotsman. We have proven over history to make better politicians and political theorists than the average Englishman.
We are not superior in any way to Englishmen or indeed any other nationality.....average or otherwise. I think that you may regret this particular statement. |
We each have our own skills. Scottish education has historically been far superior to that in England - couple that with a culture of open debate and academic discourse (particularly in a few periods of history) that never occurred in England and yes, I think we can safely say we have throughout the years produced and made better politicians.
IF Convenor
| Aventinian wrote: | | The Union has benefited us tremendously in a financial sense for probably the vast majority of years of its existence. |
According to whom? What is your basis for this statement? A Chartered Accountant I know has done extensive research on this and, using figures from the UK Government, has determined that Scotland has contributed more to the UK than it has received in return in all but one of the years since 1707.
| Aventinian wrote: | | I think the end of Union would lead to instability, as the attempts at the same have done in Quebec. |
Again, what is your basis for this statement? Is it based on the "common knowledge" that the last referendum in Quebec caused instability in the financial markets? If it is, you need to search out the report in a Canadian newspaper (I believe it was the Globe and Mail) which actually examined the market data and found no effect in the run-up to or aftermath of the referendum. It was just another Unionist myth.
| Aventinian wrote: | | We each have our own skills. Scottish education has historically been far superior to that in England - couple that with a culture of open debate and academic discourse (particularly in a few periods of history) that never occurred in England and yes, I think we can safely say we have throughout the years produced and made better politicians. |
Isn't this you saying "we're different"? Isn't that what you're fighting against?
Mctosh45
Avntinian,
Your a mass of contradictions, nay a walking, talking OXYMORON!!!
| IF Convenor wrote: | | According to whom? What is your basis for this statement? A Chartered Accountant I know has done extensive research on this and, using figures from the UK Government, has determined that Scotland has contributed more to the UK than it has received in return in all but one of the years since 1707. |
According to virtually every established historian who has written on Scotland in the post-union years.
Whether or not Scotland contributed or not is only a very small part of the overall question (although I don't necessarily believe or disbelieve figures than I am told about second hand with no verification) - it would be tremendously silly to argue that Scotland did not benefit from the opening of English trade routes etc and grew enormously as an economy as a result of Union.
| Quote: | | Aventinian wrote: | | I think the end of Union would lead to instability, as the attempts at the same have done in Quebec. |
Again, what is your basis for this statement? Is it based on the "common knowledge" that the last referendum in Quebec caused instability in the financial markets? If it is, you need to search out the report in a Canadian newspaper (I believe it was the Globe and Mail) which actually examined the market data and found no effect in the run-up to or aftermath of the referendum. It was just another Unionist myth. |
A Unionist myth about Canada? We seem to make a lot of these, don't we?
Anyway, from what I understand (and can quite comprehend) the Canadian markets were enormously affected by the doubt surrounding the future of Quebec. Since the SNP line is to wait a few years as the executive before a referendum on Scottish independence, I can only imagine that very thing would happen over here.
| Quote: | | Isn't this you saying "we're different"? Isn't that what you're fighting against? |
No, we are all the same as human beings. We are, however, subjected to different circumstances and ones such as education should borrow from one another and be of a commonly good standard. One of the benefits of Union, perhaps, is that we had a positive effect on the English educational system.
| Mctosh45 wrote: | Avntinian,
Your a mass of contradictions, nay a walking, talking OXYMORON!!! |
Not quite, perhaps you simply don't understand my opinions.
I make an enormous point in being consistent in my beliefs. It's the curse of the school/uni debater and occasional on-the-side philosophy student. I have yet to meet many people as consistent as I.
If you have any questions about my opinions, you can consider yourself free to ask them, but don't condemn what you haven't interpreted properly.
garye
I mentioned it down the pub to a few friends today, all of whom had studied that and most had done a bit on Mary Queen of Scots etc. Although we're talking broadly the same age group, my 'survey' included people who came from quite a diverse number of locations around Scotland. |
Lets get this straight Ave, what you really mean for "friends" and "pub" is "fellow members" and "lodge" isn't it? There's a lodge "Rose and Thistle" in Ayrshire isn't there? How was the goat anyway?
Are you suggesting I am an Orangeman? Ha.
My mother was a fairly agnostic woman, yet hated the Orange Order with all her might. My father wasn't much of a fan of it either and certainly would never have considered associating with it. Indeed, it was associated with impoverished ex-Irish bigots when I was growing up, 'the lowest of the low' as my mother used to describe it. That's how I've grown to think of the institution, and still hold most of those views.
As for goats? I have absolutely no idea what that's all about.
No, my pub is a standard village pub with plenty of decent beer on tap and a pleasant environment for sitting and having a quiet pint. It also does excellent food.
George
But it’s not self-determination, it’s group determination. Why pick out Scotsmen to the people that vote with you and can decide your future. Why not people from a unit of Scotland and Northern Ireland? Or the British Isles? Or Europe?
It is not group determination it is self determination as Scotland will decide for herself, allow me to explain;
We are talking about an abstract entity here, the landmass and peoples within, known as Scotland. When the time comes to decide on remaining within the union or otherwise then those people entitled to vote will be given the opportunity to do so. The winner if you like will be that section of the entity deemed largest.
In a state based on Nationalism, the only answer to that can be ‘because we are different’.
A bad thing if you agree that it is solely based on nationalism and you also agree with your subjective definition of the word. Using the term as I would then I would say that every nation state is based on nationalism to a degree, if it wasn't then how would we define a particular countries inhabitants and how would they define themselves, i.e how would you yourself define a U.K. national.
It's still not self-determination, in my mind. A total bloody misnomer if you ask me. Would you apply the same 'self-' prefix to an idea for Britain to withdraw from the EU and UN, I wonder?
As for the second point: yes, a lot of nation-states are nationalist to some degree or another. This is something we should work to lessen, not increase. We certainly shouldn't establish states on that basis. The British nation, for example, mostly grew up around its political establishments rather than vice-versa. That is normal and healthy.
I would define myself as a UK Citizen ( in a political sense, ie for all matters relating to the state. I define myself as such because I have UK citizenship. My nationality and identity has nothing to do with the state. I have the feeling I might have missed something in your question - in which case, feel free to elaborate.
George
It's still not self-determination, in my mind.
No further questions m'lord.
I would define myself as a UK Citizen ( in a political sense, ie for all matters relating to the state. I define myself as such because I have UK citizenship. My nationality and identity has nothing to do with the state. I have the feeling I might have missed something in your question - in which case, feel free to elaborate.
That is not a definition, please give a definition. What is it that makes you feel like a U.K. national, what distintive qualities does a U.K. national posess.
garye
| Aventinian wrote: | Are you suggesting I am an Orangeman? Ha.
My mother was a fairly agnostic woman, yet hated the Orange Order with all her might. My father wasn't much of a fan of it either and certainly would never have considered associating with it. Indeed, it was associated with impoverished ex-Irish bigots when I was growing up, 'the lowest of the low' as my mother used to describe it. That's how I've grown to think of the institution, and still hold most of those views.
As for goats? I have absolutely no idea what that's all about.
No, my pub is a standard village pub with plenty of decent beer on tap and a pleasant environment for sitting and having a quiet pint. It also does excellent food. |
Actually Ave I had you down more of a funny handshakes and aprons type of guy but by the sounds of it maybe its more Aran sweaters and beards?
patriot1320
Ave,
When’s the last time you looked at yourself and questioned why it is you are for the union? No really. Be honest about it... Question what you believe....
You are very closed when asked to elaborate on why you support the union. What is it you really like about it and what benefit does this bring to you?
There are plenty of people (unionists) who, when faced with a compelling argument seam to ignore it and rubbish any idea any nationalist has. This I think is where a nationalist is different as we will analyze when was said then respond.....
I accept change. Change has to happen for the human race to evolve.
For Scotland to evolve we need to embrace change.
Right now, the views you express are on par with Blair, One of the people responsible for 911. Maybe not directly, But he played a part. Is this something, as a unionist you support?
The_Unionist
You are twisting this out of all proportion. What has 9/11 to do with anything? Honestly, why don't you question your views for once, instead of living in a fantasy world created by the SNP.
IF Convenor
| Quote: | | Aventinian wrote: | | I think the end of Union would lead to instability, as the attempts at the same have done in Quebec. |
Again, what is your basis for this statement? Is it based on the "common knowledge" that the last referendum in Quebec caused instability in the financial markets? If it is, you need to search out the report in a Canadian newspaper (I believe it was the Globe and Mail) which actually examined the market data and found no effect in the run-up to or aftermath of the referendum. It was just another Unionist myth. |
A Unionist myth about Canada? We seem to make a lot of these, don't we?
Anyway, from what I understand (and can quite comprehend) the Canadian markets were enormously affected by the doubt surrounding the future of Quebec. Since the SNP line is to wait a few years as the executive before a referendum on Scottish independence, I can only imagine that very thing would happen over here.
Aventinian, why don't you read what I wrote? A Canadian newspaper researched the actual market data and concluded that there was no instability either before, during, or after the Quebec referendum. Why did you repeat this exact myth when I already told you it was untrue?
Kendomacaroonbar
| The_Unionist wrote: | | You are twisting this out of all proportion. What has 9/11 to do with anything? Honestly, why don't you question your views for once, instead of living in a fantasy world created by the SNP. |
What fantasy world would that be then ? exactly what is it that the SNP have said or done in particular to merit your ridicule ?
Highlander
I have no idea if the Quebec situation caused instablility or not. However, IF Convenor;
| Quote: | | A Canadian newspaper researched the... |
Now not exactly a great place to get research data that is peer reviewed or that has any stature in the academic world.
patriot1320
| The_Unionist wrote: | | You are twisting this out of all proportion. What has 9/11 to do with anything? Honestly, why don't you question your views for once, instead of living in a fantasy world created by the SNP. |
why not, Are you suggesting that the subject is irrelevant?
IF Convenor
| Highlander wrote: | I have no idea if the Quebec situation caused instablility or not. However, IF Convenor;
| Quote: | | A Canadian newspaper researched the... |
Now not exactly a great place to get research data that is peer reviewed or that has any stature in the academic world. |
We're not talking about a new theory of the Universe here, we are talking about a news story. Many British Labour people will tell you that a referendum will cause instability in the markets and will say that this happened at the time of the Quebec referendum. A newspaper in Canada (which is where you'll find Quebec) actually looked into this story which was common currency and showed that it was completely false.
Anyone who wishes to continue to say a referendum will be bad for the economy had better be prepared to indicate their sources.