Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
True Scotsman

Eurovision Song Contest 2006

What's your view on Finland winning the 2006 Eurovision Song Contest & what was your favourite song on this years Eurovision.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/4998186.stm

I would have to say my favourites were Denmark, Romania, United Kingdom & Finland.

Didn't watch much of it. Though Finland were great though Laughing Glad to see they won. A bit different from the usual. Glad to see the UK get nowhere!
wisnaeme

SLG wrote:
Didn't watch much of it. Though Finland were great though Laughing Glad to see they won. A bit different from the usual. Glad to see the UK get nowhere!

I didn't watch much of it myself, although I heard and saw Finland at the end of the programme. Finland has a population of Five million.Shurely if one country with a population of five million won, another country which also has a five million population with abundant musical talent and also a part of Europe could.........................?

Cool

Nina

You have to send Andy Chung...right Mr. SLG? Laughing Cool

Oh yeah. He's do us proud. In fact... he could be the Scots entry to the minority languages songcontest! Very Happy

I think this is it http://www.liet.nl
Nina

SLG wrote:
Oh yeah. He's do us proud. In fact... he could be the Scots entry to the minority languages songcontest! Very Happy

I think this is it http://www.liet.nl

I'm stupified...where did ye get that SLG?? Shocked Shocked Laughing
Frysk?? LOL!!

Well, I'd heard about it some time ago... I cannae really remember where. I think it came up on one of the Gaelic mailing lists. AFAIK no Gaelic or Scots song has ever been entered. It's pretty new though. Definitely a good initiative IMO.
Blackleaf

I don't see what popualtion's got to do with it.

You only need 1, 2 ,3, or 4 people to sing a crappy song.

was good to see a change with Finland winning. Most of the others were horrible musically. Nice to see there was no politics involved in the voting either Laughing

What is it with most of the countries voting for their neighbours even when they don't normally get on? On that glorious day when Scotland is finally represented at the Eurovision Very Happy , I won't be voting for England by default just cause they're our neighbours.
True Scotsman

It's all too do with politics. Norway might vote for Sweden because it is Norways naighbour & the same might go for Bosnia voting for Serbia because they were both part of the former Yugoslavia. Russia felt that it sould of been them that should of won.

It`s not about how good a song is and has been that way for a long time now, it`s all about politics and has been spoiled because of it !!!!

I didnae watch yon programme but when i heard it wis yon band Lordi that had entered and won it i couldnae believe it Shocked ,they played the Download Festival last year along wi the likes ae Metallica and Lacuna Coil,noo i dinnae ken if they got bottled last year or no but ive got a funny feeling if they play Download this year thaurs a guid chance it micht happen this time.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads