Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

the bard of keppoch
facing the truthim really annoyed that for all the talk of irish politisc and republicanism and so forth,that no one has mentioned the ' facing the truth ' programmes,where former provos met former british army personnel,micheal stone also met a brother and widow of one of his victims,also martin meehan of the ardoyne in north belfast met an army officer who admitted to martin that he was going to stick his blade through martins throat when the soldier was struggling to detain him,also another former provo ronnie maccartney met an english policeman who he shot while escaping from the policeman,he went on to serve 21 years in an english prison,there has also been wide spread debate and talk about this on several radio phone in talk shows and so forth,but as i said,im annoyed but not suprised that no one has posted anything on this forum,which from my own perspective ? says alot about the people wqho keep posting in the irish politics section
Sounds interesting. Unfortunately I hadn't heard of them until just now.
Leathlaobhair
Neither have I. I doubt I could get them over here though.
I only saw part of the program with Stone. Really interesting. Seemed to me like he genuinely felt for the mans widow. Still thought he was justified in his actions though. Seemed to be effective as well. Never really saw enough to comment more than that though.
i was in dublin at the time those programmes were on so i havent seen them yet.
the bard of keppoch
in one episode,Martin Meehan takes the ex officer to the republican club where the officer nearly killed Martin 30 years before, Martin said he was absolutley delighted to meet the officer and gave him a belt with his name and h-blocks wrote on it which he made in the h blocks, Joe Doherty also met a widow of the narrow water bombs and 2 ex paras who got blasted in the second explosion,he was'nt involved in that operation,but Joe and the ex paras ended up saying that the meeting had changed there views which they previously subscribed to,so all in all hopefully more people can sit down and talk
yI missed them too, bard. I'm a bit annoyed that you criticised people for not posting on this subject without knowing whether the people you aimed your attack at had even seen the programme. It is, after all, a TV programme. Some of us are busy with politics and work to see all of the good TV programmes.
the bard of keppoch
well dont get annoyed it will do your health the world of good,Rinty you post on irish affairs often enough,so you should have been well aware of this part of peace and reconcilliation in ireland,it has been well documented,i was perplexed that no one knew of these important steps in bringing former paramilitaries with victims of the troubles together .
hI am well aware of several initiatives and saw the trailers for this programme. I didnt post about that or any other TV programme that was on TV that week, no matter how good or important it was, as I didnt see it.
I used the word "annoyed" as it was your word at the start of this thread. You then went on to say that it says a lot about people who post on Irish issues. We now find out that all it says about them is that they didn't see the programme.
Without saying it, you were implying that people from one or other side of the Irish debate didnt post about this programme because they were opposed to peace and reconciliation, weren't you?
the bard of keppoch
your very forceful with words in that manipulitive style of yours,very good at insinuations as well i see,my point was that these initiatives where an enormous step in the process of peace and reconcilliation,e.g,when would a senior republican sit and talk publicly with on officer of an enemy,it wouldnt have happened in the past but its happening now,as there is an alternative to armed struggle,it seemed to me that it wasnt appealing to peoples ideals of republicanism,so no one was posting on the subject,also i see no one agrees with me that big martin meehan meeting the officer of the b.a,was a good step in the right direction
b | Quote: | | also i see no one agrees with me that big martin meehan meeting the officer of the b.a,was a good step in the right direction |
Well I for one agree with you that this is a step in the right direction as are the many initiaives from people on all sides in NI.
| the bard of keppoch wrote: | | your very forceful with words in that manipulitive style of yours,very good at insinuations as well i see,my point was that these initiatives where an enormous step in the process of peace and reconcilliation,e.g,when would a senior republican sit and talk publicly with on officer of an enemy,it wouldnt have happened in the past but its happening now,as there is an alternative to armed struggle,it seemed to me that it wasnt appealing to peoples ideals of republicanism,so no one was posting on the subject,also i see no one agrees with me that big martin meehan meeting the officer of the b.a,was a good step in the right direction |
Why are you losing the rag?
Guess what - folk didnae watch the TV show. Nothing more, nothing less!
It's not a conspiracy and it doesn't mean that folk don't want to see lasting peace in Northern Ireland
the bard of keppoch
you have the wires crossed here,im pissing myself laughing at the thought of azzuri,rinty,slg,aventinian and rbk who i noticed hasnt got anything to say[that'll be a first] how you all need to live in the real world instead of living in cyber space,parkhead is the only one with any consistency with what he says,the wolf of badenoch is spot on as well so respect there boys,but i have to say to the others who i mentioned,you all seem to take up every cause thats going,and also you would all debate that black was white just for the sake of debate and oh yes for your right to express it ! ha ha - should we take this to the general banter forum
| the bard of keppoch wrote: | | you have the wires crossed here,im pissing myself laughing at the thought of azzuri,rinty,slg,aventinian and rbk who i noticed hasnt got anything to say[that'll be a first] how you all need to live in the real world instead of living in cyber space,parkhead is the only one with any consistency with what he says,the wolf of badenoch is spot on as well so respect there boys,but i have to say to the others who i mentioned,you all seem to take up every cause thats going,and also you would all debate that black was white just for the sake of debate and oh yes for your right to express it ! ha ha - should we take this to the general banter forum |
What are you talking about? I've tried to avoid the debate on Ireland as much as possible. It's a bit hard to sometimes on this forum though. I'm not Irish. Have no Irish family. Don't feel it is my place to have too much of an opinion either way. I try and avoid it in everyday life. I do have an opinion on the Scots Irish community, but have always qualified my remarks with an acknowledgement that I am quite ignorand of much of the Scots Irish community, especially in the west central belt.
I did watch part of the first program in the series. I then went out half way through. I wasn't that interested.
| the bard of keppoch wrote: | | you have the wires crossed here,im pissing myself laughing at the thought of azzuri,rinty,slg,aventinian and rbk who i noticed hasnt got anything to say[that'll be a first] how you all need to live in the real world instead of living in cyber space,parkhead is the only one with any consistency with what he says,the wolf of badenoch is spot on as well so respect there boys,but i have to say to the others who i mentioned,you all seem to take up every cause thats going,and also you would all debate that black was white just for the sake of debate and oh yes for your right to express it ! ha ha - should we take this to the general banter forum |
aye very good.
consistency comes from debating each point on it's merits - not trotting out the same old argument no matter what is being talked about.
The only thing you have shown in this thread is that you cannot do that and resort to criticism at every opportunity rather than sticking to the topic in hand. This criticism and pent up anger is the result of having very little to say of any real value - well done.
aye like this guy
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | aye like this guy  |
Aye me tae.
RBK
I find it amusing that some people can praise people for being consistent. No matter what they are being consistent about. If your football team is consistently bad....thats O.K. At least you can argue...they are being consistent . If that is the case....
If I sing the praises of Michael Stone, the only man in the whole troubles to go in among an enemy of thousands. What about the Shankill Butchers,hows about them. If I followed a consistent line of praise for the 'soldiers' of the U.V.F. and the U.D.A. Would that win me kudos on this site.......I hardly think so .
But, if the praise is for consistency. Then perhaps I should take that line and praise those who launch murder campaigns from the Loyalist side.
In the interests of free speech and fair play. It is only but right.
you can praise them if you wish, many loyalists do view stone as a heroe, that is your perogative. I openly state my views and am not ashamed that i hold them.
the bard of keppoch
what an acidic tongue you have on you azzuri,ive already stated that im roaring with laughter at the thought of you on the other end of this computer to be quite frank with you,i think youve been fed with a silver spoon,and you need to come and live in the real world,same one me,parkhead and the bold wolf of badenoch,if you people ever came to power in goverment,you would ruin the country,its quite obvious that your a bit of a toff in your attitudes to your average guy off the street
the bard of keppoch
also azzuri are you slgs spokesperson or can u not help getting your unhelpful statments in
RBK
I have no wish to praise anyone on a murder campaign. And anyway I would probably end up being banned. If I was so inclined.
ENGLISH ASCENDANCY AND IRISH CHAUVINISM HAVE COMBINED TO SUPPRESS KNOWLEDGE OF ULSTER AND ULSTER'S HISTORY.
nI'm glad to hear that you live in a real world bard. I cannot see how you can justify the idea that all the people who did not post about the TV programme (and we are only talking about a TV programme) were somehow wanting to delay peace.
You have gone from this to accusing everyone of inconsistency and even that Azzurri is from a priviledged background. I would say, despite acknowledging RBKs points about consistency, that my views on Ireland and the Irish communtiy in Scotland is wholly consistent and I'd like you to point out where I have been inconsistent.
can you also enlighten me as to what qualification or criterion would be needed to be living in your real world, and what gives you the idea that a few posts on a web forum lets you decide how people live or their background.
Woudn't it just have been easier to say "sorry i didnt realise that some of you have more to do than watch TV, my initial insinuations were wrong" than start personal attacks?
I've just figured what this rant is all about......
| Quote: | | born with a silver spoon in your mouth |
| Quote: | | if you ever get to run the country |
Personal attacks on SLG, Rinty and I.
Anarchy for anarchy's sake, attacks on the moderators, commenting on someone's 'class', us against them etc. etc. etc.
the phrase 'Rebel without a Cause' springs to mind
Firstly, I'm amazed you feel you have the required knowledge on someone that you can comment upon their upbringing just by posts on a web forum. The fact that you're completely wrong is irrelevant, I'm just interested as to how you arrived at said view.
All these attacks do is distance the thread from the original topic, which I'm sure was your aim seeing as though all it did was show you up as a complete muppet for attacking people who didn't watch a particular TV show. When your argument's rubbish, attack someone personally to deflect attention from it!
Maybe you should tell us all what you actually stand for bard? Your opinions on Northern Ireland - are there any consistencies in your train of thought?
Or on Scotland, Independence etc.?
| Quote: | | also azzuri are you slgs spokesperson or can u not help getting your unhelpful statments in |
eh?
the bard of keppoch
you sound as if you are ready to come smashin through this computer screen ! ha ha.listen im just your average man on the street,people like yourselves are totally out of touch with your average joe public,also you know what they say about politicians ? also ive read your joke thread and sat with a straight face,and yet im in fits of laughter at you and your last couple of threads ! ha ha
h | Quote: | | you sound as if you are ready to come smashin through this computer screen ! ha ha.listen im just your average man on the street,people like yourselves are totally out of touch with your average joe public,also you know what they say about politicians ? also ive read your joke thread and sat with a straight face,and yet im in fits of laughter at you and your last couple of threads ! ha ha |
It says below your name "no longer a wean", it seems we jumped the gun. In what way is azzurri out of touch with Joe Public? Do you think he does this for a living and gets paid? do you think he is a politician? get a grip bard, keep to the debate and dont get petty and personal.
you're just annoying at the moment, but you are verging on the abusive and irritating, so pack it in now and debate like an adult or dont bother.
the bard of keppoch
just reading they posts there,review your posts,do you not think youve annoyed and abused me ? not that i take offence,but if you were in power in goverment your party would be on the pc wagon big time,i see your good at giving insults as well rinteenio
g | Quote: | | just reading they posts there,review your posts,do you not think youve annoyed and abused me ? not that i take offence,but if you were in power in goverment your party would be on the pc wagon big time,i see your good at giving insults as well rinteenio |
Well lets just say we've both been at it and call it a draw and get back to the debate.
In what way is the PC wagon you accuse me of relevant to this thread?
Do you still think that some people on this site deliberately made the choice to not post about the TV programme because they do not want to see peace and reconciliation? If so, who are you actually accusing?
Without naming them you are allowing people to assume you are talking about RBK, rfb and others, possibly me.
Why dont you just say you were mistaken or make the accusation right out with names?
the bard of keppoch
rinty,what im saying in a nutshell is that you over analyse things too much,and you read into my post the wrong way,you come across as if you are well informed,and you have plenty to say about irish affairs,yet you didnt have anything to say about martin meehan meeting that officer,yet you had nothing to say on this highly significant meeting ? i was and still am suprised you or azzie asbo werent right in on the thick of it giving your take on events,i was Suprised,because you usually have pleny to say,or should i say an answer FOR everything,
g | Quote: | | you didnt have anything to say about martin meehan meeting that officer,yet you had nothing to say on this highly significant meeting ? |
I didnt see it, so i couldn't possibly have anything to say about it. I consistently argue on NI that all of the people are victims, I agreed with you that these sort of meetings were a step forward and a good idea.
Do you still think that some people on this forum made the deliberate decision not to post on the subject of the TV programme because they are gainst peace? If so, who do you think is guilty of this?
I could easily say that because no-one has posted on what happened in jericho yesterday that it means that you are all pro-israeli. I dont because I know that it would be ludicrous to expect someone to post on every subject. The best thing to do is to make the post yourself. If your first post was highlighting what a good prgramme it was, why its a good idea, and recommending that we all watch it, no-one would have had a beef.
As you made accusations against an un-named group of members of the forum you leave yourself open to criticism.
Unless of course you are prepared to say you still stand by your accusations and will name the guilty members. Or withdraw your accusations and admit you made a mistake.
| Quote: | | i was and still am suprised you or azzie asbo werent right in on the thick of it giving your take on events,i was Suprised,because you usually have pleny to say,or should i say an answer FOR everything, |
Why are you still surprised given that you now know we didnt watch the TV programme?