Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
x_scotsdream_x

Fave Quotes

Does anyone have some really good Scottish quotes? heres my favourite, taken from the declaration of arbroath 1320;

"...Yet if he should give up what he has begun, and agree to make us or our kingdom subject to the King of England or the English, we should exert ourselves at once to drive him out as our enemy and a subverter of his own rights and ours, and make some other man who was well able to defend us our King; for, as long as but a hundred of us remain alive, never will we on any conditions be brought under English rule. It is in truth not for glory, nor riches, nor honours that we are fighting, but for freedom — for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself."

i quite like,

Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.

I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly.

Both by the great Winston Churchill, a man even Scots can admire although not with out his vices i may add

see my sig. Very Happy

Nice one scotsdream,one ae the best quotes aroond.

I hae a couple o favourites....

"My head is still my ain",tonight when it shall be yours,treat it as you please."
[James Graham,Marquis of Montrose,morning of his execution]

"Come up an` i`ll hae a look at ye.If i think i can fecht ye,then i`ll fecht ye.If i think i canna` i`ll dae whit you did an` rin awa`."

[Andrew Skirving,reply to one of Johnnie Copes officers]

Morph wrote:
Both by the great Winston Churchill, a man even Scots can admire although not with out his vices i may add

Is that the same Winston Churchill that ordered tanks into George Square?
Nina

Here's tae the wee man in the black velvet waistcoat.
Abieuan

Here's tae the wee man in the black velvet waistcoat.
Cheers tae that Nina.

Winston Churchill seems to have liked pigs;

"Dogs look up to you,

cats look down on you,

but pigs just treat you as an equal."

"The Scots deserve no pity, if they voluntarily surrender their united and separate interests to the mercy of a united parliament, where the English shall have so vast a majority."

Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun
the bard of keppoch

i'll toast the little gentleman as well
the bard of keppoch

' the only bandits i ever saw in south armagh,were wearing british uniforms ' - peter john caraher
RedScotland

"No human being on the face of the earth, no government is going to take from me my right to speak, my right to protest against wrong, my right to do everything that is for the benefit of mankind. I am not here, then, as the accused; I am here as the accuser of capitalism dripping with blood from head to foot."

John MacLean at the High Court, Edinburgh (May 9th 1918)

That's a great quote Red.

I didnt say he was all good SLG but yes the same Churchhill
the bard of keppoch

' i would think no more a sin to shoot such a monster than i would think of taking that dram that lays before us ' - james stewart talking to james drummond macgregor [rob roys son] -in the john macgregor collection from the scottish record office,the document is titled 'copie of a conversation that past betwixt james stewart tacksman of aucharn in appin & james drummond prisoner at edinburgh 1752
x_scotsdream_x

nice yin keppoch! next week al post ye'z up a website that yez aw might find 2 b quite interestin, its a fully upgraded website which is updated regularly and its aw tae dae wi scotland! sum ae yer quotes are guni b on it anaw Very Happy

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads