Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

Finest town in Scotland

So, yes, what does Our Scotland think is the finest town (ie, not a city) in Scotland? No further criteria offered, just a general question.

I certainly think we have a fair number of contenders. At the moment, I'm siding towards Elgin, although I haven't been in years and I may have rose-tinted my memories somewhat.
Red Justice

For me Dumfries where I was born and lived until the end of the 1970s. Still a nice SW town despite the changes over the years. Home to Rabbie Burns where he wrote his best poetry and the football team QOS who have upset Dundee in cup games occasionally over the years lol.

I'd say Perth due to being just off the A9 but also very close to the A82, standard of living, proximity to both Glasgow and Edinburgh - you can travel virtually anywhere in Scotland within a few hours. The town itself is nice, has a good range of shopping facilities while retaining a lot of their older buildings.

Given the size of Perth and the fact it might be a city sometime soon, I'm going to say Pitlochry, for a lot of the same reasons as above.
Cymro

Oban

I like the fact that the next big towns and cities are at least an hour away. I can jump on any number of ferries leaving the town to get to islands, it's got second to none scenaries.

And great pubs.

Ideal for forgetting about the stresses of work.

Perth, the ancient Capital of Scotland, for me as well
Cymro

mairead wrote:
Perth, the ancient Capital of Scotland, for me as well

What was the place in Argyll then? I'm thinking Dalriada or was that just the name for Scotland? I recall my wifes Uncle showing me an area where the Ancient Kings where crowned. Between Oban and Lochgilphead (which while being the home to the finest Bacon and Fried Egg roll I've ever tried isn't the finest town in Scotland).

I quite like Oban, been a few times and would go back there.  Perth is a nightmare to navigate, I still haven't quite mastered driving or even walking through the town centre and I'm in there often enough!  Scenery surrounding Perth is stunning  Wink  thankfully the scenery I wake up to every morning  Wink My favourite has to be Stirling, stayed there when I was younger and lived near there for most of my life.  Fab shopping centre, stunning walk up the Back Walk around the castle.  Unfortunately haven't tried the nightlife for years, and can't remember much of it for being more than a bit legless  Rolling Eyes
Abieuan

Cymro wrote:
What was the place in Argyll then? I'm thinking Dalriada or was that just the name for Scotland?

No, Dalriada was the name for the kingdom of the Irish aristocracy who had settled in Argyll, their power-base being in Kilmartin, they eventualy won over the kings of the Picts, and changed the language from Pictish to Gaelic.

Cumnock!

Red, are you sure Rabbies 'best' poems were written in Dumfries?  People from my town would claim Mauchline where he lived when he wrote his most famous poems and where he lived when the Kilmarnock Edition was published.

Actually, what we call Dalriada was Dal nRiata and was the seat of Fergus Mor mac Erca. Kilmartin was only ONE of the centres where these Irish Scots had their powerbases.

The finest town in Scotland ... is the one you are most comfortable in.

(How's that for a diplomatic answer! Very Happy)

Blackadder wrote:
Actually, what we call Dalriada was Dal nRiata and was the seat of Fergus Mor mac Erca. Kilmartin was only ONE of the centres where these Irish Scots had their powerbases.

The finest town in Scotland ... is the one you are most comfortable in.

(How's that for a diplomatic answer! Very Happy)

For me then, that would be Fort Augustus...
RadgeJougal

The shops in Perth are embarrassing.
kevin04

Ullapool has a nice wee feel to it, similar to Cymro's ideas of being so far from a major town or city and you can jump on a boat to the metropolis that is Stornoway every morning, liked the feel of tourists and locals a like.

I do have a soft spot for Castle Douglas, Dunure, Kelty and Tain, for different reasons but are all good places to spend some time.

Tobermory ... many happy memories! Very Happy
RadgeJougal

Re: Finest town in Scotland

Aventinian wrote:
At the moment, I'm siding towards Elgin, although I haven't been in years and I may have rose-tinted my memories somewhat.

Elgin.... where there are massive ned fights on a regular basis. So big that they make into the national  papers.

Oban ... eeewwww!!!!

Tobermory - multi brightly coloured houses, and a sunken wreck?  we never got the benefit of a day trip to Mull as the weather was grim  Confused
RadgeJougal

Falkland's quite cute.

Ecclefechan's cuter! Very Happy

Ah Tobermory BA, and the Mishnish??????

If you're there look for my yacht "Enchantress".  

The food is great. Recommended!

My boat was a power cruiser named 'Thunderchild'  Wish I'd never sold it.
Funnily enough, I won't drive a car, but a boat, well thats a different story.
Tobermory was a great stomping ground of mine in the not so distant past. Never missed the festival.

We may have crossed paths before then.  I have been to several festivals.  I also used to go to the Iona FEISD.
Economist

There's a few that spring to mind; St Andrews, Kirkcudbright, Portree (for the fantastic setting) Perth, Nairn or Kelso.

Probably St Andrews if I was pushed.
Jimbo

IMO Falkland.

Jimbo ... Falkland's a DUMP!  Far as I'm concerned ... Argentina can HAVE it!!!
RadgeJougal

St Andrews - pretty, but always full of obnoxious and annoying students - the kind with no debt, but a loud voice.

Radge,
You always find that. I remember when mobile phones first came out and those who could afford them always used them in public with very loud voices. Irritating.

St Andrews is rather nice though.

If you meet me at the beautifully rugged coastline of St Andrews, Mairead ... I can always claim you tripped and fell over the cliffs in a sudden gust of wind. Happens all the time there.

Och BA,
Once you met me you would change your mind about my sudden demise. You'd love me, really. I'm just a sweet old lady. Wink  Wink  Wink

There's that word that says it'll never happen!   O L D !!!

Ullapool is great when the sun is splitting the trees

My mother came from Ullapool.  She had a voice that could split trees at a thousand paces!

i like Kirkcudbright. Nice wee fishing village and great carvey in the Royal Hotel

Ullapool is dire when you're camping and it's pouring down of rain  Confused

Never liked Ullapool.  Now Fort Augustus ..... the only thing missing from that is the marauding Injuns!!!

liked the canal  Wink

Yes ... but you like washing machines.

Shocked I'd hang you out to dry any time and leave you there  Razz

So you admit you're a scrubber??

Very Happy you beat me to it BA, cos I was going to ask you if you scrubbed up well  Razz

I see.  Would you mind leaving your brain to medical science, Carol?  They've never seen one so unused in such an old person before!

Very Happy I always was brain dead, don't think I'd be worth much BA

Old but young at heart (and looks) unlike youself who is no doubt not long out of nappies  Razz

Ah, but I am very handsome too! Very Happy

A Prince Charming you will never be  Razz

oops back to towns etc ....................... Edinburgh is another favourite

A Prince Charming I will never be ... not my bag (as they might have said in the 70s). I'd much rather be who I am ... Sir Edmund Blackadder XIV, Lord of .... well that's just it, isn't it?  I'm not telling. You'll just have to consult Debrett's! Very Happy

Edinburgh ..... mine ain romantic toun ... as Scott so succintly put it!  The finest capital city on the planet. I LOVE my Edinburgh ... and Arthur Seat is a great playground for children and adult alike!   You've never lived till you've slid down the slopes on cardboard, at the Crags!

sounds fun, don't think I'd have the stamina to walk up Arthur's Seat!

I was a 'traveller' for most of my early years, can't determine anywhere being my ain toun, nearest would be Dollar (The Wee County) where my maternal grandparents eventually settled.

Got roots in Kilmacolm (not sure where) and Italian blood flowing through my veins  Rolling Eyes

Dollar!!!  Wonderful place.  I always take people I know to Dollar Glen.  I thoroughly recommend a walk through it to everyone.

yes an affluent area, 'cept we came from 'Lower Mains' at the time (council houses).  I pass through Dollar often enough, just not time to stop off  Confused

Well, of course I knew you were a peasant! There was no need to confirm it!

not quite the lower end of the scale, but not far from it  Wink

Worst place in Scotland ............. Pittenweem!!!

St Monans is erm .......... quiet  Rolling Eyes still was nice for a wee break at the time.

although I prefer sandy beaches, to rocky coasts.

loved the beach at Carradale  Wink my ex snapped me in an itsy bitsy bikini, note when I was not at my slimmest  Confused men have a strange sense of humour!!

The only Bikini you should ever have been in was an atoll ... in 1946 ... in the open!

Gourock - nice walk along the promenade
Lord Pitsligo

Durness! I fell in love in Durness, and try to get back as often as I can.

Dunoon's not a bad wee place either.
Red Justice

Dunoon is nice and I like Portree in Skye and Golspie in Sutherland

BA you're showing your age!!

Lochcarron is stunning, Plockton I liked the palm trees  Wink

anyone going away for the Easter weekend?

Carol ... I read a lot ... sue me!  I stand by what I say. Bikinis are only fit for women under a certain age ... and weight!

Easter is going away for me!

it was in my yonger days  Confused and I wasn't enormous  Confused just baby fat  Razz

And how many times have we heard that excuse??

c'mon BA 6 babies what do you expect?

A conveyor belt??

I think you would call it a production line  Wink

You pop 'em out ... and we'll pop 'em off!
Tamed by a Scotsman

I take it no one has suggested Rigside yet ...
Fedayn

Rinty wrote:
Cumnock!

The only town i've ever been in where someone wanted to buy the entire pub a round, only about 15-20 in at the time, when a footballer broke his leg live on TV.

I would nominate Cromarty, it's a gorgeous wee place. Stayed there for a week last year, highly recommended.

Also an honourable mention to Crail.

Another of my fave places is Boat of Garten. Anyone ever been there?

To balance that ... the absolute worst place in Scotland is Oban!  Whenever I'm in Turin (that's in Italy, Carol), it reminds me of Oban.  Grey, cauld an dreich!  The sun never shines in Oban. Certainly not for me anyway!

Shocked thanks for the geography lesson BA!!!

had the odd sunny day in Oban, but yep tends to be dreich.  not sure if Fort William improves on a sunny day, was there for an afternoon and it was miserable.

Been to Boat of Garten, stayed in a guest house there for a few days I think around 12 years ago, nice place, had regular trips into Aviemore on the steam train, brilliant!!!  

best place at present is home in the middle of the hills in rural Perthshire

Yes BA, Boat of Garten is lovely.
I have heard some people say that Plockton is the most lovely in Scotland. Anyone been there?

I wouldn't say that of Plockton, the palm trees add to it though.

anyone been to Isle of Ghia?

Tamed by a Scotsman,
Rigside, you jest of course?????

Drymen's no' a bad wee place either, well if you like pubs that is.

apologies should've read Gigha.  Margaret I vaguely remember a certain laddie of yours being involved around the community takeover time, to what extent i don't know.

I don't think Mairead will Gigha toss about it, Carol!!!  Laughing Laughing

It was the son of a friend of mine Carol.

Yeah ... I would disassociate myself from it all too! Very Happy

Confused regardless what you think BA, it is worth a visit.

We're looking to going to Dornoch over the summer period, haven't been there but heard it's worth visiting

Dornoching is not allowed on the Blackadder estate. We have bells!

Laughing

we've got a push bell that says 'hello, is anyone in' it drives me nuts, unfortunately it was here before I was, I keep meaning to replace it  Confused

Personally I'm a big fan of the Castle Douglas area.  Very beautiful place.
kingkev

Cullen and Lossiemouth are nice worth a visit honest.

If people don't get on mine ... try Wick!  It's a nice wee spot ... or pimple depending on your view!

visited Killin recently, worth exploring further

I think KIngkev is suffering from a Lossiemouth at the present. Most Jambos are! Twisted Evil

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter