FoodWhat's Buffalo Mozzarella?
no googling for answers
Carol hen! No I've never heard of Buffalo mozzarella, but I have heard of Buffalo chips, which I believe is otherwise known as Bull $#!te!!
zero point!
where's our chef Alasdair???
Is Alice dear a chef?
What is Buffalo Mozzarella onyroad? And how are the speakers comming along?
Well he's a man about the houses and loves cooking!!!!
not telling on the Buffalo mozzarella, but with me being a bit dim you'll know there's a story behind it!
Speakers are falling at my feet I wish! I should know from past experience organising an event is a full time job. It's looking ok though.
Is it just a posh way of saying a Cheeseburger?
Can one have a Mc Buffalo Mozzarella, a side helping of finely chopped fried potatoes and a jug of carbonated liquid please? To take away!
I wished it had been! You think buffalo you think meat
nope zero point!
and no googling!
kathyv
If I was to guess I'd say it's a soft white cheese flavored like Buffalo Chicken wings. . . nothing to do with an actual bison but named for the town in New York where the snack was invented. (roasted chicken wings covered in a spicy sauce and then eaten dipped in bleu cheese dressing. I think they're terrible but others like them!)
close
although Buffalo Mozzarella is to do with an actual Buffalo
How about Mozzarella made from fuffalow milk?
clever girl, guesswork or google or did you already know?
I was in a restaurant and noticed it on the menu and thought tasty I've always wanted to try buffalo meat guess the rest ............
I guessed based on your hint! I had heard of buffalo wings and at first thought it was perhaps a certain type of smoked/or flavoured mozzarella. what does it taste like? is it tasty?
sour milk although it did have a distinctive taste and smell i couldn't pinpoint. It was on top of a green salad with tomatoes, I was seriously looking for the buffalo meat You go out to enjoy a meal, it was stinking, so I complained and got another dish off the menu.
I'm still looking for that buffalo meat.
There's a farmshop just outside Perth sells it. Then all i need is a recipe and then learn how to cook!!
Where's Alice when we need him
That sounds lovely carol! Yum!! well I actually do like cheese with green bits running through it,Stilton, Gorgonzola,cashel (the best) and so on. last night I had Gorgonzola with French bread (stick) as i couldn't be arsed to cook supper,nothing unusual there!!
I have never eaten buffalo meat either,it sounds tough!! I tried venison once and it was awful! maybe it was the way i cooked it!
I'll bet you haven't eaten sea urchins better known as sea eggs ? They are a delicacy here but have been over fished so a ban has been put on the harvesting of them for several years.The season is soon, so everyone is waiting for the green light. very expensive tho'.
yukky yukky yukky
venison nice casseroled (not my cooking) was out for a bar meal at the time
anyway tasty tasty tasty http://www.puddledubbuffalo.co.uk/recipes.html
the above is available in my 'local' farm shop
sea urchins - I'm not a shell fish eater, or anything that doesn't look like your traditional fish, I'll not eat anything I don't like the look of
Thanks carol for the link, Its 1.30pm here and I haven't had lunch yet so you can imagine what those delish recipes are doing to me!! Especially the SAUSSAGES!! My kingdom for a sausage!! The ones here are only edible when smothered in mustard,ketchup and anything else that takes your fancy!
Actually the sea eggs taste very nice, when cooked (usually steamed) they look like scrambled eggs. Of course yew dinnae eat the shell!
Buffalo looks like a tasty meat, I'll have to pass thru' Perth for a sample when ever I can get there!! They have these Buffalo in Guyana, you see them wallowing in the canals by the side of the road, bluidy massive they are!
Its time for lunch!!
kathyv
I've had buffalo hamburger, in a bun like a regular hamburger. It wasn't awful.
I was raised on venison, deer meat, like a good Oregon pioneer girl. you have to be careful when you fix it or it will turn out tough and tasteless.
I can't imagine sea urchin, I saw someone eat deep fried starfish once on a TV show, gross!
Loads of venison dishes are on the local menus around here, but I don't really care for it. A bit too strong for my taste.
This is easily the worst thread in this section of the Forum. It's obviously missed on my participation. Consider that position changed!!!
BA you went down around the time this thread was started I was looking for your participation but unfortunately it wasn't to be
Oh don't worry .......... I'm here now ......... and you can stuff your buffalo mozzarella up your soon-to-be-dead husband's backside. I don't give a fig!!!
nasty nasty nasty BA that was uncalled for
kathyv
Blacky, are you sure you are up to a discussion about cheese and backsides? I worry about your recently recovered touchy self!
he's always been touchy when he's stuck for an answer. Haven't you BA?
I'm never stuck for answers ... as you are quite aware, old crone!
And as for a discussion with our American cousin on anything ... I'm not that remotely bored or stupid enough!
Och you're a crabbit auld sod when you can't think up the appropriate answers.
| Quote: | | you're a crabbit auld sod when you can't think up the appropriate answers |
This from the crabbit old crone who's been trying to turn it into an art-form???
Moi, Crabbit, och never. I'm a great natured soul, really I am.
You don't have an enchanted mirror on the wall, do you?? Have to be careful with those things ... they lie! Lots!!!
No I don't. I gave my last one to you.
Food!!
For lunch today I'm having split peas and rice cooked up together with onion,then I have marinated some pork chops in a special sauce(here's some I did earlier,just kidding) and now I shall go and cook them. I also have some squash to which I am very partial.
Meanwhile I am playing one of my "Spa" CD's, "soothing waterfalls" in the background,its my favorite. Oh its all very peacefull around here on a Sunday. hope you guys are having a good one too!
Cos'
Tomorrow is Monday!! Oh pooper!!
Had a roastbeef and Yorkie pudding dinner and trimmings yesterday. Spent the rest of the day doing as little as possible.
kathyv
roast beef and yorkie pudding! ummmmmmmm!
I will need to make that, soon!
Had a roast beef sandwich for lunch and some cherry vanilla yogurt, that stuff is good.
Tonight it's good old Mince and Tatties
I'm having shepherds pie which is nearly the same thing!! today I cheated because I had my slice of cherry cheese cake first for lunch! I've got class this arvo so I guess I'll dig in to the mince and tattie pie later!
kathyv
I took a chicken enchilada thing to a school pot luck last night, didn't bring much home but luckily I made enough to have a small pan for the Hubby and I for dinner tonight. Our Latin teacher made individual cherry cheese cakes in muffin papers, boy were they good! I had mine first, otherwise I was worried I wouldn't get one!
She got cheese cake filling in a tub at the grocery store, and cherry topping from a can. The only thing she had to make were the bottom crusts with butter and graham cracker crumbs. It's almost too easy and they make you look really good as a dessert chef! I imagine you could do any kind of topping you like best.
Planning to roast a beef this weekend! Yorkie pudding, green beans, gravy, cream biscuits with strawberries. . . . ahhhh!
Trust Kaffy to get on and spoil a good thread with her typical Septic wittering. No wonder Sarah Palin is the way she is!
kathyv
I've never met her, in fact never even heard of her until she got plunked down as voting bait!
Biden, on the other hand, we've ALL heard (yawn). Talk about wittering!
Neither of them hold a candle to you, Kaffy!!!
kathyv
Why, thank you!
That wasn't a compliment!
kathyv
Protesting a lot? I remember reading something once about protesting too much. . . doth that happen to thee?
Again ... you show yourself up by not doing your research! And you call yourself a teacher??
Today for lunch I'm having grilled blue marlin with pumpkin fritters and I haven't decided what else yet!
A sausage supper perhaps?? With brown sauce??
What a great idea BA! yes I think I will go get me some saussage!! thanks ole' buddy!!
Now why didn't I think of that?
The brown sauce is definitely out tho'!!
kathyv
Pumpkin fritters! Wow! Post the recipe, I love pumpkin stuff!
Make yourself a nice cup of tea Blacky, then go catch a nap, you'll feel better. And when you wake up maybe carol and mairead will be back for you to play with!
och, he gets fed up playing with us Kathy. I think he's homed in on you now
You're ALL fair game to me! Though maybe the use of the word "fair" is redundant considering your ages!!!
kathyv
You know, they say that 50 is the new 20, (I still have a bit before I reach that magical number) so does that make 20 the new prenatal?
Don't laugh Blacky, but what exactly is brown sauce? I've never had it but imagine it's a bit like gravy from a jar?
I invented a new thing at lunch today. I forgot to take a plate and had taken stuff to microwave some nachos. Since I didn't have a plate and the school didn't have anything I was prepared to use, I piled all the nacho stuff on the tortilla chips in the baggie I brought them in, zapped them all for 30 seconds and ate them right out of the bag. Worked pretty well but I don't see them taking off real well as most of the cheese stuck to the top 4 or 5 chips and those below didn't get much. But it was better than 'raw' nachos!
Pumpkin Fritters.
Cook enough pumpkin for the amount of fritters you are making, leave to cool and drain,and don't over cook, you don't want mushy pumpkin!
In another bowl, sieve flour about 2 cups.depends again on the amount you want,a tea spoon of baking powder but you can put a dash more according to amount of flour and a pinch of salt. Mix well and sieve.
In another bowl,take an egg, some milk,together probably not more than a cup depends again on amount .Add a tea spoon of vanilla essence, some sugar,not much perhaps a loose table spoon and beat.
Then you take the cooled pumpkin and mash it with a fork or so,but again,not into mush! FOLD in the flour mixture and add the beaten egg and milk according to how thick and dry the mixture gets because remember the pumpkin contains a lot of water.
Mix together until you get it so that you can spoon it out in drops but not runny like pancake mix,more solid than that. Spoon on the griddle,which should be hot but not enough to scorch the fritters .
they cook quickly and then you take a dish and sprinkle sugar and spice,(cinnamon) on it and place the fritters on top.Then you tale some more sugar and spice mixture and sprinkle it over them. (this is why you don't want the mixture too sweet in the first place,i usually do it to taste.
You don't really make them too big,just a little more than bite size and either eat them with your meal or after for desert! They are usually eaten with the meal here,bananas and avocados are also eaten with meals here and its nice.
Hope this makes sense as i did it from memory!!
Sounds real yummy. I'll try that recipe. Only problem is Hubby has a really sweet tooth and I haven't.
You lot should try Sheeps' Brains ... you might gain some of their intellect ... which would be a gain of 300% for some of you!
I take it that it was from eating such that you acquired your modicum of brain then?
No ... you're quite wrong in yet another hare-brained assumption.
I come from a long line of geniuses.
You come from an even longer line of twonks!
kathyv
Thanks for posting that BG, I will try them out then take some to a school night! We have one coming up, November I think, where the snack suggestion is 'anything pumpkin'! These will be perfect.
Blacky, we know you love us! Does your family participate in Mensa?
I don't do clubs!
However, Baldrick IS a charter member of DENSA!!!
You don't do clubs?...... Well I've a rather heavy club here, ( with your name on it)
And I have several rounds of ammunition and heavy artillery bearing YOUR name, you old crow!!!
kathyv
| Blackadder wrote: |
However, Baldrick IS a charter member of DENSA!!!  |
That's a GOOD one! LOL
If Poor Baldrick is as bad as you say, how does he remember the meetings? Or do you help him with his social schedule?
I'm getting a nice, warm, cozy mental image of blacky, prodding Poor Baldrick out to the car, reminding him to get his little coat, asking if he's got the cookie can, giving him a coin for the dues box. Waiting for him to come out of the clubhouse after the meeting and taking him and his little friends out for an ice cream cone after the meeting. . .
It's sweet of you to be so good to him!
Trust you to turn a single line into a paragraph of wittering nonsense. Given another half-hour I suspect you'd turn it into a trashy Jackie Collins novel!
Never read any Jackie Collins novels so I'm not sure what you meant by trashy.
My late auntie read them. She told me they were easy to read, but full of bad sex and sleazy stuff.
I'm sure you do know what that kind of trashy means. But you're in denial about your past!
I don't read many novels to start with. Prefer History books myself. Yes I know what trashy means, but it rather depends on the context in which it is used.
As well you should, since your home decor reflects that, I'm reliably informed.
Your reliable information is completely false I'm afraid.
Not according to my informant who knows you very well!!!
Ain't no-one on this forum has ever crossed my door I'm afraid, nor does anyone here know me very well, so you are misinformed on that score too..
Do you know you talk in your sleep ..............
Yep. Always have done that.
I rest my case!
Which was ????????
A very heavy aluminium flight case. It's doing my back in!!!
Are you ioff to somewhere nice then?
Yes ... off to Nice to see my neice. She's a nice neice in Nice! Neice is nice and Nice is nice ... and it's nice to be nice I suppose!!!
Try saying that quickly!!!
Have a great time and don't forget to come back safely. XXX
Just got back! Did you get the postcard???
Geez, I guess it got lost in the post. Hope you had a good time anyway.
kathyv
Nice quick trip to see the nice niece in Nice! How nice for your niece in Nice!
It's even nicer you live in the States ... in a place I never intend to visit. Please kindly return the favour! (That's favor to you!)
kathyv
Too late! Been there, a couple of times, plan to come back again! Only, I think you can relax, because we plan to go to the Orkneys, I expect that's too primitive for a Blackadder!
And you really should consider traveling, it broadens the mind! heh heh heh
And why is it that the American spellings dropped the u in things?
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz ...
Kaffy's effect on me!!!
Oh Blackadder, you are soooo rude.
... And Mairead often has the same effect!!!
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.........ooooops! YAWN!!!! Eh? yer wot? Oh thats nice,For lunch I had a conkie and some yellow watermelon and I still have the munchies.
kathyv
Yellow watermelon? Wow! That sounds interesting!
I just had a piece of home made bread toast with some apple butter on it! Goes well with coffee!
Yup,yellow watermellon, a nice bright yellow too! I never had it before either. Not much difference to the regular red one,except not so many seeds!
Somehow or the other, the coffee/tea drinking habits as in the UK, isn't really big here ,although it has started to catch on.I probably drink one a day mostly and sometimes, one or two cups a week!!
Jeez, but you pair make watching paint dry positively scintillating!!!
Been watching paint dry has never been one of my hobbies so I wouldn't know.
Mine either .......... but it would be much better doing that, than reading the eternally dull garbage you, BG and Kaffy come up with!
Well we only respond to your garbage don't we. Sez it all BA.
Tit for tat again, eh??
In other words, you can't find the words to allow for debate. Therefore you fall back on the childish "I said You said She said".
Really! Time you grew up, Mairead!!!
Meanwhile ... and as ever ... I shall remain on the side of the tats!!!
Yep. The tatty place sounds just about the right place for you. Glad you said you would stick to the tats and not tits though. l
Nice one aunty M!!
More like 'Tats' with a 'W' stuck in there!
As long as you admit to being complete tits ... I don't give a toss!!!
Won't admit to being one, but will admit to having two.
Your children are tits too?? Figures!!!
Are you guys twitching again? Watching the blue tits and coal tits at play in your garden?
I only watch the nice big rosy tits on the Adult Channel!!!
Sounds about right for you DOM