Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Free nursery places for two-year-oldsFree nursery places for two-year-olds
see - http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/politics.cfm?id=894502006
ARTHUR MACMILLAN
EDUCATION CORRESPONDENT
SOME of Scotland's most vulnerable two-year-olds will be offered free nursery places in an effort to save them from failing parents.
Education minister Peter Peacock has signed a multi- million-pound deal with three Scottish councils to pilot the controversial plan within months.
Free state nursery places are currently restricted to children aged between three and five, but the pilot scheme will see hundreds of neglected two-year-olds taught basic hygiene, how to eat properly and how to interact with other youngsters.
Ministers have taken the decision after research showed that if children, particularly those from deprived communities, were given access to high-quality nursery education, they did better at school.
If the pilot - in Glasgow, North Ayrshire and Dundee - is successful, it will be rolled out across the country.
Parents of pre-school children aged three and over are currently entitled to 12-and-a-half hours a week of nursery education paid for by the Executive.
The move to extend free care follows growing public concern about the welfare of some of Scotland's most at-risk children. North Ayrshire Council has been given £500,000 to pilot the scheme over two years, starting in August.
It is anticipated that between 50 and 60 extra nursery class places will be created at primary schools in Kilwinning, Irvine and Cumbrae. Another 30 spaces will be available in Kilbirnie and Saltcoats. It is not yet clear how much will be spent or how many children will benefit in Glasgow or Dundee, but it is likely to be in the hundreds.
An Executive spokeswoman confirmed it will offer the scheme to parents with two-year-olds who need extra help due to poverty, drug issues or other family problems. It is estimated up to 20,000 children in Scotland are being brought up by drug addict parents.
An insider said: "The view from the Executive seems to be that they need to get children into nursery as soon as possible because the state has an enhanced role to play.
"Governments have only intervened at that age before when there has been a genuine problem in a family, such as people not looking after their kids. This raises questions about changing roles between the family and the state."
But Dr Bronwen Cohen, chief executive of Children in Scotland, said the scheme would provide vulnerable children with "a stimulating, creative environment". She said: "This is a useful initiative, but my main concern is that if families are targeted in this way, then the youngsters could become stigmatised.
"Scotland needs universal nursery services because we lag behind the kind of schemes offered in Scandinavia that offer families help and get parents back into work."
Professor Eric Wilkinson, an expert in early child education at the University of Glasgow, said: "I welcome this idea, but its success is entirely dependent on how it operates. What it must not do is take away the bringing up of children from parents.
"We have to make sure the government is not taking over responsibility and creating a nanny state. Help must be complementary."
The revelation that hundreds of two-year-olds will receive free nursery care comes amid widespread concern about nursery provision. Last week, Holyrood's education committee urged a shake-up of services and highlighted a need for more qualified teachers to be involved, particularly in deprived areas, after an 18-month inquiry.
Last night Fiona Hyslop, the Scottish National Party's education spokeswoman, said: "A key finding was that Scotland is falling behind in its support for zero to three-year-olds.
"Support for two-year-olds is to be welcomed, but I hope that councils find a way to engage the mothers of these youngsters so that the family unit can be helped. Just taking children away from their situation is not enough."
A Scottish Executive spokeswoman said: "We know that early intervention can really make a difference for children whose families need extra help and support.
"We have been in discussions with local authorities about a pilot scheme extending free nursery places to vulnerable two-year-olds. We intend to announce full details shortly."
A spokesman for Glasgow City Council added: "We are always looking to improve the education and social development of our pre-five age children."
A debate about the welfare of young children was triggered last December following the death of Derek Doran, two, from East Lothian, after he drank methadone.
The decision to allow nursery staff to teach youngsters basic hygiene and how to eat properly follows a similar pilot scheme by Edinburgh social workers.
The project trains families in every aspect of daily life, including cooking breakfast in the morning, making sure children are properly dressed for school and even helping them with homework.
Sounds a guid idea tae me,but i can hear the wailing an gnashin ae teeth fae members ae staff awready.This proposal sounds like the services provided by the social services family centres although placements are granted in those centres if "at risk" is identified or even just if parents need help.This is the first ive heard onything aboot this,i`m wondering whits gonnae happen regarding contracts cos at the moment the nursery staffs contracts wilnae cover it,it wid be different in the private sector nursereies richt enough but as i say i can hear a lot ae moaning an greeting aboot this if it happens.Guid idea though,i like the sound ae it.