Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Global Politics
twistednbent

g-20 protesters (not the maryhiil ones)

i hope these neds,thugs and thieves caising bovver down in london are punished to the full extent of the law.scumbags to a man.allthats missing is the sheel suits, the burberry cap and the bucky.

I agree, all of the police officers who have attacked innocent protesters and who have deliberately stoked uop trouble should be prosecuted.  Take away the riot gear and uniforms and they would be arrested for that sort of behaviour on any street in any town.
twistednbent

there are horrible reports of a man collapsing in the street last night in whitehall, as police tried to save this man they were attacked by these g20 protesters.the police were unable to do their job and the man died.

shame on these scumbags.
Holebender

Interestingly I have seen a report that two policemen have been suspended for allegedly beating the man so severely that he later died. Who are the scumbags?

Yes.

The report I read said the man was unconscious and had stopped breathing when the Police arrived at the scene, after being alerted by a protester.  The police moved the body as some missiles were thrown at them and the police, and later the ambulance, failed to resucitate him.  There is no news on whether the man was actually dead when the police arrived, what caused his death etc.

Thats terrible.
Alasdair

Holebender wrote:
Interestingly I have seen a report that two policemen have been suspended for allegedly beating the man so severely that he later died. Who are the scumbags?

The scumbags are the people on BOTH 'sides' that behave like animals, lets face it not all protestors are innocent bystanders, and some of the police aren't any better.
jamesieboy

I think the problem is with the anarchists.

I mean they want anarchy, and anarchy equals violence, and the problems with the anarchists is the violence they espouse.

I seem to remember some folks on this list proclaiming their allegiance to anarchism and anarchist groups.

Answer me this - why are they all so violent?
Alasdair

Does Anarchy equal violence?  I thought it meant an absence of 'state government' ... ... ... ah yes, the oracle that is wikipedia says:

wikipedia wrote:
"No rulership or enforced authority." [1]
- "Absence of government; a state of lawlessness due to the absence or inefficiency of the supreme power; political disorder."[2]
- "A social state in which there is no governing person or group of persons, but each individual has absolute liberty (without the implication of disorder)."[3]
- "Absence or non-recognition of authority and order in any given sphere."[4]
- A society free from coercive authority of any kind is the goal of proponents of the political philosophy of anarchism (anarchists).
- Independent from rule or authority.

Anarchy on Wikipedia

The cartoon version in the media blames anarchists, and idiots like the troll jamsieboy lap it up.  To him, it's all about cartoon demons, anarchists, muslims, whatever target the tabloids go for, jamsie is there.

The RBS vandalism was so stage managed it was embarrassing.  All of the major media outlets were there to film a window being broken with more photgraphers than anarchists in sight and, somehow, an RBS branch in the city had no police anywhere to be seen.

It gives the green light to excessive policing.
agentmancuso

Alasdair wrote:
Does Anarchy equal violence?

No, but it would inevitably lead to violence.
twistednbent

Alasdair wrote:
Holebender wrote:

The scumbags are the people on BOTH 'sides' that behave like animals, lets face it not all protestors are innocent bystanders, and some of the police aren't any better.

calling all rangers fans arrested in manchester.calling all rangers fans arrested in manchester.

this man will defend some of you and blame some of the police officers on duty.

he is your friend.

it was'nt all your fault!!!!!
twistednbent

jamesieboy wrote:

I mean they want anarchy, and anarchy equals violence, and the problems with the anarchists is the violence they espouse.

I seem to remember some folks on this list proclaiming their allegiance to anarchism and anarchist groups.

Answer me this - why are they all so violent?

because they are idiots, idiots to be mocked and chased by big, hungry police dugs.thats their level.fighting with rabid dugs.
jamesieboy

The question still hasn't been answered - why are they so violent?

And by the way....

1/ I don't like tabloids (because I'm a teacher, you see, and we don't read tabloids)

2/ My name is not jamsie but jamesieboy. I can't take jam becuse i'm a type 2 diabetic and it would be bad for me.

Anarchism just seems an unreal state of mind. As I asked a few weeks ago (without getting a satisfactory answer) who would you call if your house got burgled? Would you just call up your mates to duff the burglar up?

A spectacular display of ignorance jamesie, conirming my post that you have no idea what you are talking about.
Dave Coull

Alasdair wrote:
Does Anarchy equal violence?

agentmancuso wrote:
No, but it would inevitably lead to violence.

Let's see now, did anarchists develop, test, and stockpile nuclear weapons capable of making the Earth virtually uninhabitable, and did anarchists threaten, and continue to threaten, to use these? No, it was governments that did that. Have anarchists fought wars that slaughtered large numbers of people in every year since gawd-knows-when? No, governments did that. Were anarchists responsible for the Holocaust, or ethnic cleansing, or other very large scale atrocities? No, governments were. Compared with the countless millions killed by governments, what is the anarchist record? The assassination of a handful of kings and presidents and one or two capitalists? Anarchist violence pales into insignificance compared to the violence of governments.
Dave Coull

Holebender wrote:
Alasdair wrote:
The scumbags are the people on BOTH 'sides' that behave like animals
But Jamesie favours neither balance nor a recognition that things are not always quite as they are presented by the less thoughtful sections of the media.
jamesieboy wrote:
Wow! Such penetrating insight! Nothing to do with folk being angry with the mess that governments and greedy bankers have got us into. It's all the fault of the anarchists! It must be nice having a simple scapegoat to blame. Jews, Palestinians, anarchists...........
jamesieboy wrote:
anarchy equals violence
No, I don't think that can be true. The various manifestations of the IRA have been quite violent, and none of them are even remotely anarchist. The Police FORCE of course does use force (violence) and none of them are anarchist. Come to that, the British state as such is violent, and it certainly isn't anarchist. During the 64 years since the end of the Second World War, the armed forces of the British state have been involved in violence in some part of the world or other in every one of those 64 years except one. That's right, just one year of "peace" out of 64. You can't convince me that record of continuous violence was ALL entirely the fault of the other guys. Plus which, the British state has threatened to use nuclear weapons. You can't get much more violent than that. Such violence makes anything that any anarchist has ever done pale into insignificance.
jamesieboy wrote:
why are they all so violent?

They're not.

"Anarchist" is a word which, like the word "socialist", or the word "conservative", or the word "liberal", can cover a wide range of views and activities. In South Africa, members of the CONSERVATIVE Party were involved in bombings, assassinations, and attempts to resist the dismantling of apartheid by extremely violent means. In London, in 1607, a group of conspirators of conservative views were involved in a plot to blow up Parliament. In Russia, the LIBERAL DEMOCRATIC Party founded and led by Vladimir Zhirinovsky is both fascistic and violent. You will of course have heard of a certain well known socialist, A.H., who led the National SOCIALIST DEMOCRATIC WORKERS Party in Germany? And other famous socialists such as Pol Pot, Joseph Stalin, Tony Blair, and Gordon Brown? Another word which covers quite a wide range.

There is no such thing as "the anarchist party". People who are opposed to government as such cover a wide range. Tolstoy, author of that famous novel "War and Peace", was an anarchist of the non-violent kind. The internationally famous writer Noam Chomsky is an anarchist who has, so far as I am aware, never been involved in a violent act in his life. Yes, at the other end of the spectrum, you do get some anarchists who are not averse to a punch-up, and no doubt that was true of a MINORITY of the anarchists who took part in the demonstrations in London. But it is equally true that there are plenty of members of the POLICE FORCE who are not averse to a punch-up. And OF COURSE the police force is political. So far as the metropolitan Police is concerned, I would guess that a very high percentage of them are Conservatives. In fact, I would guess that, of the seven thousand police on duty in London the other day, several thousands of them were Conservatives who would not be averse to having a punch-up with those they regard as their political enemies. But of course there were Labour supporters amongst them as well. AND cops whose sympathies tend to be with the British National Party. But what nearly all of the cops in the Met have in common is an antipathy towards protesters.
Dave Coull

Well, well, I wonder why these eye witness reports were not carried by the BBC?

Various participants in the City of London demonstrations on April 1st have come forward as witnesses to the collapse of a man later identified by authorities as Ian Tomlinson.  Four different university students witnessed the collapse of Mr. Tomlinson.  “He stumbled towards us from the direction of police and protestors and collapsed,” said Peter Apps.  “I saw a demonstrator who was a first aider attend to the person who had collapsed.  The man was late 40s, had tattoos on his hands, and was wearing a Millwall shirt.”

While the first aider was helping the man, another demonstrator with a megaphone was calling the police over so that they could help.

Natalie Langford, a student at Queen Mary, said “there was a police charge.  A lot of people ran in our direction. The woman giving first aid stood in the path of the crowd.” The running people, seeing a guy on the ground, went around them.

Another demonstrator had already called 999 and was getting medical advice from the ambulance dispatcher. “Four police with two police medics came. They told her [the first aider] to ‘move along’.”, said Peter Apps. “Then they pushed her forcibly away from him. They refused to listen to her [the first aider] when she tried to explain his condition.”

The first aider, who did not wish to be named, said “The police surrounded the collapsed man.  I was standing with the person who’d called 999. The ambulance dispatcher wanted to talk to the police, the phone was being held out to them, but the police refused.”

Another witness, Elias Stoakes, added “we didn’t see them [the police] perform CPR.”

Other people who had tried to stay with the collapsed man were also pushed away.

All of the witnesses deny the allegation that many missiles were thrown.

According to Peter Apps, “one bottle was thrown, but it didn’t come close to the police.  Nothing was thrown afterwards as other demonstrators told the person to stop.  The person who threw the bottle probably didn’t realize that someone was behind the ring of police.” All the witnesses said that the demonstrators were concerned for the well-being of the collapsed man once they realized that there was an injured person.

Natalie Langford said “when the ambulance arrived the protestors got straight out of the way.”

These witnesses are happy to give media statements.

They can be contacted through this press liasion email: g20witnesses@gmail.com
Dave Coull

"With regard to the death reported yesterday, which happened three hours before it was officially reported by BBC and Sky News (obviously orchestrated and timed), a 'natural death' was suggested - as natural as someone kettled in for many hours without food, water and access to a toilet and surrounded by aggressive riot cops can be. The disgusting or unwittingly satirical reporting by BBC News at 10pm last night also included statements that police tried to save the man, but had to retreat because they were being targeted by bottles and other 'missiles' thrown by the evil protestors. Of course the reality is different."

More of this, plus eye witness statements and videos of the events, at

http://colonos.wordpress.com/2009...death-at-the-hands-of-the-police/

It's ironic that a website based in the Amazon rainforest of South America should be carrying news from London not reported by the BBC.
agentmancuso

Dave Coull wrote:
Let's see now, did anarchists develop, test, and stockpile nuclear weapons capable of making the Earth virtually uninhabitable, and did anarchists threaten, and continue to threaten, to use these?

To attempt to answer the startling obvious point that anarchism would inevitably lead to violence by screeching that 'governments use violence too' is just the sort of abject, tedious and irrelevant nonsense one would expect from people who confuse teenage rebellion fantasies with politics.

Anarchist violence pales into insignificance compared to the violence of governments.

I'm not talking about violence by anarchists. Mostly they're too busy reading Manga comics or listening to supermarket punk bands to do anything more than break a few windows. I'm talking about the perfectly real violence that would immediately follow the collapse of law and order that anarchism endorses.
Alasdair

twistednbent wrote:
Alasdair wrote:
Holebender wrote:

calling all rangers fans arrested in manchester.calling all rangers fans arrested in manchester.

this man will defend some of you and blame some of the police officers on duty.

he is your friend.

it was'nt all your fault!!!!!

Definitely not their friend and, thankfully, definitely not yours ... my criticism of the rangers fans involved was as vociferous as it was brutal.  Still, I recognise that there will be those in the police force (as there always has been) who are too quick to resort to baton and boot.

As to who I would defend ... well, I wouldn't be inclined to defend any of them.
twistednbent

hahahahahahha. mone the violent scumbags.down with law and order, they are to blame.hahahhahahaha.bad cop beats violent scumbag throwing bottles at people.

ya, boo hiss the police.

mone the scumbags.

hahahahahhahahahaha. teenage rebellion fantasies taken to the extreme indeed and apparently sensible adults are justifying it and blaming the police.hahahahhhahaha.brilliant stuff. can i have some of the class a's your on?
agentmancuso

Look, I don't mind you being a halfwit troll, but can't you at least make an effort to write in proper sentences?  
Alasdair

agentmancuso wrote:
Look, I don't mind you being a halfwit troll, but can't you at least make an effort to write in proper sentences?  

Laughing
jamesieboy

Mancuso makes a number of good points, but sadly gets derailed by going on about wee made-up names, and Rinty denounces people as being idiots when he simply hasn't got a clue about them or their background.

It is a sad reflection on the clique that dominate this forum: agree with me - fine, if you don't - you are a troll, idiot, na na .. na na na

And awld Dave...what can we say about him? A 71 year old anarchist, he must be interesting company in the pub down in Fife, or wherever he lives.
Jews, Palestinians, Arab dictators and Human Rights abusers, yas they are, and will be, open to the occasional broadside as will the anarchists because amongst their number they have violent individuals who harm people. They will be denounced, as will the tribalists/torturers who masquerade as leaders down in Africa.

We'll keep the flag flying for social democracy, caring capitalism, wealth creation with a human face, because we will always prevail because most people like nothing more than having a good health service and paying some taxes at the same time as making a bob or two.

Anarchism is a dream. A fantasy which can never come true because it goes against human nature.

Name me somewhere where it's been successful applied.
twistednbent

agentmancuso wrote:

ah yeh tinertet grammur blame tht whn it a wrang eh@
pffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffftttttttttttttt. hoo dareeeeee ye sult ma suny pust egooooooooo.mel gubsun.freeeeeeeeeeeeedum.
jamesieboy

We have freedom in this country and in western Europe.

We can say what we want, we can debate, we can support terrorists and idiots like George Galloway frequently does, no-one comes round from the security services and knocks on Auld Dave's, or Mancuso's, or Rinty's door at 4 in the morning and drags them away to a detention centre.

Our press if free and can say what it wants, which it frequently does, although much of it is in the pocket of scum/vermin like Rupert Murdoch.

We can go out with our loudspeakers (remember that word?) and shout from the rooftops 'Gordon Brown is a w*****, and we probably would be right.

So get out there and celebrate - celebrate our freedom!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Alasdair

jamesieboy wrote:
We have freedom in this country and in western Europe.

And yet our freedoms are being gradually worn away by the current encumbent, I fear that too many take the presumption that they are free for granted and are willing to effectively sign away their rights through their sheer impassiveness.

james wrote:
We can say what we want, we can debate, we can support terrorists and idiots like George Galloway frequently does, no-one comes round from the security services and knocks on Auld Dave's, or Mancuso's, or Rinty's door at 4 in the morning and drags them away to a detention centre.

Depends on what you're saying there have already been cases of people being dragged away simply for browsing information on the internet and storing said information on their PC.

James wrote:
Our press if free and can say what it wants, which it frequently does, although much of it is in the pocket of scum/vermin like Rupert Murdoch.

And if people like rupert are in the pocket of government (or vice versa) how free is the press then?  There seems to be an issue of balance in the media and that balance may well be interpretted as a bias at the best or state control at the worst, there seems to be very little in the way of good independent journalism available today.  Whether this is due to declining journalistic standards or something more insidious is debateable and whilst the former undoubtedly plays a part the latter woud be far more concerning.

James wrote:
We can go out with our loudspeakers (remember that word?) and shout from the rooftops 'Gordon Brown is a w*****, and we probably would be right.

Unless you're at a labour party conference perhaps.
twistednbent

there certainly does seem to be a clique on here. they most certainly do not like people disagreeing with them or others being critical of them.if you do criticise them or what they say they witter on about grammar and tell them they are a troll, bigot or lunatic.all the while they speak of the virtues of violent anarchism and blame the police, media or the state. it's very unusal but thankfully they are a tiny minority.

the decent folk in the scottish independence movement must cringe at some of the things that are said on here and are left unchecked because their mate said it.

you have posts glorifying violence, terrorists,racism. one notorious poster who is a member of a republican flute band posts the most disgusting stuff possible in his/her crusade to inform us of the virtues of bombing and how ordinary people are part of a grand conspiracy against ireland. as far as i'm aware he has not been banned.go figure.

so, it does not surprise me that anarchism and violence is glorofied here.
Holebender

It doesn't surprise me you know very little of what goes on here. The poster you refer to gets slapped down regularly, for instance, and I haven't seen him post in a long time.
twistednbent

Holebender wrote:
It doesn't surprise me you know very little of what goes on here. The poster you refer to gets slapped down regularly, for instance, and I haven't seen him post in a long time.

but he/she is still a member.hypocrisy.
Holebender

You call it hypocricy. I call it free speech.

I can't stand the person you mentioned and I have had several serious fights with him, but I will defend his right to free speech any day. I'll even defend yours even though you are an obvious troll.
jamesieboy

Holebender and Alastair, you have both made decent points free from abuse.

You should remember that the point of these forums is to provoke discussion and debate and that, sometimes, involves making statements which are controversial/offensive/outrageous and ..provocative.

The problem with some of the people who post on here is that they are very PC and are hidebound by what they say. In other words they can't think out of their box and say something which goes against their PC ideology.

It is a bit like in the heyday of communism when there was only one school of thought and the rest was all reactionary and revisionist.

Immigration is one of those areas where one has to be very careful in case you are labelled as racist. And that fear of being labelled racist leads to a dumbing down of debate and that has to be resisted by all free thinkers.
Dave Coull

jamesieboy wrote:
awld Dave...what can we say about him?
That he has been very ill for several days and was taken by ambulance to a hospital thirty miles away a couple of days ago and is only now starting to recover enough to begin to catch up with discussion on Our Scotland.
jamesieboy wrote:
A 71 year old anarchist
That is what Jamesie says, but then, as Jamesie has himself proved many times before, he is a very poor source for anything remotely resembling the truth. Fact number one: I have never, here on this Our Scotland forum, made any claim to be 71 years old; Fact number two: I have never, here on this Our Scotland forum, made any claim to be an anarchist.
Dave Coull

The Observer, Sunday 5 April 2009

Police 'assaulted' bystander who died during G20 protests

report by Mark Townsend and Paul Lewis

The man who died during last week's G20 protests was "assaulted" by riot police shortly before he suffered a heart attack, according to witness statements received by the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

Investigators are examining a series of corroborative accounts that allege Ian Tomlinson, 47, was a victim of police violence in the moments before he collapsed near the Bank of England in the City of London last Wednesday evening. Three witnesses have told the Observer that Mr Tomlinson was attacked violently as he made his way home from work at a nearby newsagents. One claims he was struck on the head with a baton.

Photographer Anna Branthwaite said: "I can remember seeing Ian Tomlinson. He was rushed from behind by a riot officer with a helmet and shield two or three minutes before he collapsed." Branthwaite, an experienced press photographer, has made a statement to the IPCC.

Another independent statement supports allegations of police violence. Amiri Howe, 24, recalled seeing Mr Tomlinson being hit "near the head" with a police baton. Howe took one of a sequence of photographs that show a clearly dazed Mr Tomlinson being helped by a bystander.

A female protester, who does not want to be named but has given her testimony to the IPCC, said she saw a man she later recognised as Tomlinson being pushed aggressively from behind by officers. "I saw a man violently propelled forward, as though he'd been flung by the arm, and fall forward on his head.

"He hit the top front area of his head on the pavement. I noticed his fall particularly because it struck me as a horrifically forceful push by a policeman and an especially hard fall; it made me wince."

Mr Tomlinson, a married man who lived alone in a bail hostel, was not taking part in the protests. Initially, his death was attributed by a police post mortem to natural causes. A City of London police statement said: "[He] suffered a sudden heart attack while on his way home from work."

But this version of events was challenged after witnesses recognised the dead man from photographs that were published on Friday.

An IPCC statement was due to be released the same day and is understood to have portrayed the death as a tragic accident. However, the statement's release was postponed as the complaints body received information that police officers may have been more involved in events than previously thought. An IPCC spokesman said yesterday that in light of new statements it was "assessing" the information it had received before deciding whether to launch a full investigation.

Part of the commission's inquiries will involve the examination of CCTV footage from the area.

Liberal Democrat MP David Howarth said: "Eventually there will have to be a full inquest with a jury. It is a possibility this death was at police hands."

A police source told the Observer that Mr Tomlinson appears to have become caught between police lines and protesters, with officers chasing back demonstrators during skirmishes. He was seen stumbling before he collapsed and died on Cornhill Street, opposite St Michael's Alley, around 7.25pm.

At around 7.10pm, protesters had gathered outside the police cordon to call for those contained inside - some for hours - to be let out. Officers with batons and shields attempted to clear them from the road.

Around 7.20pm, five riot police, and a line of officers with dogs, emerged from Royal Exchange Square, a pedestrian side street. Three images taken around this time show Mr Tomlinson on the pavement, in front of five riot police, and in apparent distress. He had one arm in the air, and appeared to be in discussion with the officers.

Mr Tomlinson then appears to have been lifted to his feet by a bystander. Minutes later he fell to the ground. "We saw this guy staggering around," said Natalie Langford, 21, a student. "He looked disorientated. About five seconds later he fell, and I grabbed my friends to help him."

Police have claimed that when paramedics tried to move Mr Tomlinson away for urgent treatment, bottles were thrown at them by protesters. He was later pronounced dead at hospital.

Branthwaite added: "He [Mr Tomlinson] was not a mouthy kid or causing problems, but the police seemed to have lost control and were trying to push protesters back. The police had started to filter people into a side street off Cornhill. There were a few stragglers who were just walking through between the police and protesters. Mr Tomlinson was one of those."

The police tactics during the G20 protests were condemned in the aftermath of the demonstrations. The clearance of a climate camp along Bishopsgate by riot police with batons and dogs after nightfall on Wednesday came in for particular criticism.

Protesters marched to Bethnal Green police station in east London yesterday to demand a public inquiry into Mr Tomlinson's death.
Dave Coull

Holebender wrote:
The poster you refer to gets slapped down regularly, for instance, and I haven't seen him post in a long time.
I certainly found plenty to disagree with in that poster's views. As you say, we haven't heard from him in a while. Not even about the recent renewal of IRA-faction violence in Northern Ireland.
twistednbent wrote:
but he/she is still a member.hypocrisy.
So are YOU still a "member". The fact that you post here and your posts appear here proves that you are a member of the Our Scotland forum in exactly the same sense as anybody else is. I'm not one of the moderators who run this forum, but, so far as I'm aware, they are extremely reluctant to ban ANYBODY. As Holebender says, what you call "hypocrisy", us freedom-loving folks call free speech.
Dave Coull

agentmancuso wrote:
the startling obvious point that anarchism would inevitably lead to violence
It used to be "startlingly obvious" that the Earth was flat. OF COURSE it was. Everybody knew that. Well, everybody apart from a few nutters. It is probably true that anarchy would lead to individual or smallish-scale violence. But what is beyond question is that Government has given us some very large scale violence indeed. Government gave us the "Final Solution" of the "Jewish Problem" in Europe, which led in turn to Zionist Jewish governments seeking a "final solution" of the Palestinian problem. Government has given us endless war, year after year, century after century. Government has given us nuclear weapons which threaten annihilation.
agentmancuso wrote:
I'm not talking about violence by anarchists. Mostly they're too busy reading Manga comics or listening to supermarket punk bands to do anything more than break a few windows.
Oh well, I could never hope to be an anarchist, then. I've no interest at all in Manga comics, I never could stand punk bands, and although I did once break a window, as a young laddie, about sixty years ago, I was shocked by what I had accidentally done. However, being fair about it, have you actually got any evidence at all that the Royal Bank of Scotland windows which got broken recently had anything to do with anarchists? My guess is that there are thousands of folk who are  not  anarchists, who are angry enough about what the bankers have been up to, to want to do something like that.

On the other hand, an alternative, but very real, possibility, is that the window-smashing was a set-up by the police. It has been alleged in the media that not only did the RBS building in the City of London have its windows smashed but that "its computers were trashed". But there WERE no computers in that building, for the very simple reason that particular RBS building had been shut down for some time, and the building was up for rent. Furthermore, it was the ONLY building in the area which had not been boarded up. Somebody must have taken a deliberate decision NOT to board up such a tempting (and yet rather pointless) target. Also, when the window was broken, surprise, surprise, it turns out that what was on the other side of the window was a team of police intelligence photographers. You can see a photo of the police intelligence photographers, on the inside, pointing their cameras out through the broken window, at
http://colonos.wordpress.com/2009...death-at-the-hands-of-the-police/

Police squads can't just move in and occupy empty (but locked) buildings on the spur of the moment, they were obviously there in advance. The windows had mirrored glass and were the only ones in the area not boarded up, so presumably the place was being used as a surveillance point and the intention was to take pictures of the protestors from behind the 2-way mirror.

Suddenly a group of protestors, penned up for many hours, pushed around and and moved about by the police, find themselves in front of corporate windows with a mirror reflection and in possession of something sufficient to smash these windows. Under intense scrutiny for hours, under surveillance for months, even teenagers in Plymouth had their fireworks confiscated, and pushed about, yet suddenly in front of a very-obvious-target corporate building that is not boarded up and in possession of the means to smash heavy plate glass ?!?!??

Somebody probably took a decision like

We hide in there, move them close, make sure they have something heavy they can throw through the window, we inform the Evening Standard and co, and then we have those pictures that can justify all the propaganda and budget money spent on our totalitarian measures against concerned citizens, sorry evil anarchists — failing that, we've got a couple of police agent provocateurs amongst the demonstrators who are in possession of something that can smash those windows, because we made sure they would be.
Dave Coull

twistednbent wrote:
there certainly does seem to be a clique on here.
On ANY forum, any forum at all, there will be a tendency for discussion to come to be focused around the concerns of the people actively participating in discussion on that forum. For instance, on a Rangers forum you are less likely to hear praise of Celtic FC. However, the test of whether a forum allows free speech or not is, can folk with a completely different point of view express their view on that forum? For instance, on a Celtic forum, could a staunch Rangers supporter express their views? Could somebody with very different views from most of the active participants post on the forum? By that standard, Our Scotland most certainly DOES allow freedom of discussion. If you can't handle trying to present a reasoned argument to the folk on here, well, that's YOUR problem. Your purely personal problem. It is not a problem with the Our Scotland forum as such. I'm not one of the moderators of this forum, in fact I've never even met any of them, but, so far as I'm aware, they are extremely reluctant to ban ANYBODY. You can say what you like. If what you say comes across as being really stupid, well, again, that's YOUR problem. Your purely personal problem.
twistednbent wrote:
the decent folk in the scottish independence movement must cringe at some of the things that are said on here and are left unchecked
"Left unchecked" implies that you want more censorship. Again, I'm not one of the moderators of this forum, in fact I've never even met any of them, but, so far as I'm aware, they are reluctant to ban anyone, or to act as censors. However, if you have a complaint, you're welcome to contact one of the moderators about it. This particular discussion is taking place in the Global Politics section of Our Scotland. At the top of each section, you will find the net-names of those who are moderating the discussion. If you click on any of these names, you can e-mail one of the moderators, who may then act on your complaint, or draw your complaint to the attention of the other moderators. I believe they do occasionally decide to censor some things. I have no idea what your particular gripe is, and I have no idea how the moderators would react if you actually managed to clearly express your complaint. However, if, after consideration of your complaint, they decide not to censor posts that YOU think should be censored, that is not necessarily because they actually AGREE with everything that is said. It is probably just because, unlike you, they have a strong commitment to freedom of speech.
twistednbent wrote:
you have posts glorifying violence
Give an example of a post glorifying violence. Give an exact quote from somebody, in their own words, not YOUR words, showing them glorifying violence.
twistednbent wrote:
terrorists
Give an example of a post glorifying terrorists. Give an exact quote from somebody, in their own words, not YOUR words, showing them glorifying terrorists.
twistednbent wrote:
racism
There have been some posts from YOU which seemed quite racist. But, so far as I'm aware, nobody has asked the moderators to censor your racist posts. Probably because most of us, unlike you, are quite committed to freedom of speech.
twistednbent wrote:
one notorious poster who is a member of a republican flute band posts the most disgusting stuff possible in his/her crusade to inform us of the virtues of bombing and how ordinary people are part of a grand conspiracy against ireland. as far as i'm aware he has not been banned.
No, he has not been banned. Instead, people have argued with him. As it happens, we haven't heard from him for a while.
Holebender

To be fair, the rfb character has frequently posted praising the IRA and its violence, so there have indeed been posts glorifying terrorists and violence. Teacherboy has posted some pretty racist stuff about "Arabs", Jews, etc. so there have been racist posts too. The question is how such posts are handled and, in my book, a robust counter-argument beats censorship any day.
Dave Coull

jamesieboy wrote:
Rinty denounces people as being idiots when he simply hasn't got a clue about them or their background
I've never met Rinty, in fact there's a lot of folk here on this Our Scotland forum I've never met, but it's possible Rinty forms his impressions of folk on here from what they say here, same as I do. To me, if it seems like a duck and quacks like a duck,  the working hypothesis that it belongs to the Anatidae family of birds (but is neither a goose nor a swan) seems a reasonable one. And if the things folk say seem idiotic, there's a possibility they may be idiots. I would say that possibility could apply to both yourself and  twistednbent.
jamesieboy wrote:
It is a sad reflection on the clique that dominate this forum: agree with me - fine, if you don't - you are a troll, idiot
Personally, I have occasionally been called a "troll", but I have never in my life used this description about anybody else. However, regarding this "clique" thing   -   on ANY forum, any forum at all, there will be a tendency for discussion to come to be focused around the concerns of the people actively participating in discussion on that forum. For instance, on a Rangers forum you are less likely to hear praise of Celtic FC. The test of whether a forum allows free speech or not is, can folk with a completely different point of view express their view on that forum? For instance, on a Celtic forum, could a staunch Rangers supporter express their views? Could somebody with very different views from most of the active participants post on the forum? By that standard, Our Scotland most certainly DOES allow freedom of discussion. If YOU, Jamesie, can't handle trying to present a reasoned argument to the folk on here, well, that's YOUR problem. Your purely personal problem. Like body odour or bad breath, it is a problem for YOU to come to terms with, and to deal with, yourself. It is not a problem with the Our Scotland forum as such. I'm not one of the moderators of this forum, but my impression is that they encourage free and open discussion. You can say pretty much what you like. If what you say comes across as being really stupid, well, again, that's YOUR problem. Your purely personal problem. Nothing at all to do with any "clique". The solution lies within yourself. Or on your belly when you wake up in the morning, as the case may be.
jamesieboy

So if somebody disagrees with Dave and comes out with statements that he doesn't like then they're 'really stupid' and an 'idiot'.

There's an intolerance that permeates the clique on this site, and others are now coming on and saying this. And I can assure you Dave, I am no idiot though I may admit to being a troll on occasion.

That doesn't make me a bad man.

There's too many pseudo intellectuals that take themselves really seriously and when they come across someone like myself who asks questions that others are afraid to address, and can quote experiences of living in countries that they have little knowledge about, and having an academic background as well as an experience of working in offices and industry then it seems as if some people feel intimidated. That feeling of inferiority is regrettable but I'm here to help all you pseuds.

It is simply pathetic that some people on this site have ridiculed me and my background, despite me quoting individuals and individual organisations and references until I'm blue in the face.

Of course, other people have their own experiences and it is a good thing to speak of them and to relate to them with people on this messageboard.
Why should I be any different?

The issues that I bring up on this site are ones that I often hear being discussed on the street, in the pub, on the train and the bus and in the staffroom. They are issues which concern a large slice of the population. Immigration. Terrorism. The Economy. Corruption. Rising Prices. Football. Scottish culture.

And Dave, you said you were breaking windows about 60 years ago yet deny you are 71. Let's just say you are well past your working lifetime, probably in your early 70's, though it is not that important.

Anyway, I suspect you're a sincere kind of guy and I wish you well and hope that you have recovered from your illness.

And you live 30 miles from the nearest hospital. Obviously not an urbanite. Perthshire, maybe. The Borders?
jamesieboy

Holebander -

I have never made a racist posting on this site. To accuse someone of racism you need hard facts. It is pathetic and a slur to cry wolf (racist).

I have denounced both the Zionists (fascists) and the terrorist low-lifes that run the Arab (Palestinian) entity of Gaza.

I have never called our friends in the jewish community silly names like yids or jewboys. And i have never called our Arab amigos ragheads.

I have quoted human rights organisations when doing that.

Free the repressed peoples of the Arab world from dictator scumbags like Assad in Syria and the ruling royal despots in Saudi Arabia, to mention a few. Free the Palestinians from the clericalists of Hamas and the Israeli militarists.

Be consistent. And show respect.
Dave Coull

jamesieboy wrote:
if somebody disagrees with Dave and comes out with statements that he doesn't like then they're 'really stupid' and an 'idiot'.
No, I've never said that, and it's extremely easy to prove you are wrong in claiming that.

I have disagreements with Holebender, but I wouldn't dream of calling him stupid. I have profound disagreements with Agentmancuso, but I don't call him stupid or an idiot just because he disagrees with me. I have even bigger disagreements with Aventinian, the Conservative-Unionist, but I don't call him either stupid or an idiot. When RFB was posting his pro-IRA-militants stuff on here, I deeply disagreed with him as well, but I didn't call him an idiot. So there's four people who have come out with statements I very much disagree with, and yet I never called them stupid. If I was to give a minute's thought to the matter, I could easily come up with dozens more folk I have disagreed with, and didn't call them stupid. So why the discrimination? Why did I  NOT  say that statements I very much disagreed with, from all those other folk, seemed stupid, but statements from both twistednbent and yourself do appear stupid? The answer is really quite simple. Because, from my point of view, THEIR statements were mistaken, but not actually stupid. Whereas, in twistednbent's case, and in yours,  I would say that some of the things you come out with appear to be both. In fact, this latest claim of yours, which I have just so very easily disproved, is an example of yet another rather stupid statement from you.
jamesieboy wrote:
There's too many pseudo intellectuals that take themselves really seriously and when they come across someone like myself who asks questions that others are afraid to address
That's an example of you blowing your own trumpet, which I suppose you have to do because nobody else is going to blow it for you.  I can truthfully say I have never known you ask any question I was afraid to address. In my view, you are boringly un-original.
jamesieboy wrote:
Dave, you said you were breaking windows about 60 years ago yet deny you are 71.
You're not going to wriggle out of this one so easily. You claimed I had said I was 71. You were LYING.  And even in your attempt to justify your lie, you again get things wrong. Your claim that I had said I was "breaking windows" about sixty years ago is not true. Here is what I actually did say:
although I did ONCE break a WINDOW, as a young laddie
(specifically, when I was about seven or eight years old I think)
about sixty years ago, I was SHOCKED by what I had ACCIDENTALLY done.
See what you did? You changed something that happened "once", by accident, into repeatedly "breaking windowS", plural. As usual, you distort things. That is why nobody believes you are capable of reporting things accurately, and that is why people keep asking you for more reliable sources than yourself for the things that you claim.
linoleum

re. the clique on here. there are some very vague and extremely flimsy arguments being put forward to defend the viewpoint it's not a clique.

it's seems clear if you step out of line and question things you are  branded a racist.

'groupthink' is what springs to mind.

also this talk of people being banned but members freely admit that one member glorifying violence and terrorism on here remains a member.

could i be as bold to ask what you have to do to get banned?

i'll not be posting here again if people are comfortable with trash who glorify child murderers posting on their site.

good luck to you all.i mean that.
Dave Coull

linoleum wrote:
re. the clique on here. there are some very vague and extremely flimsy arguments being put forward to defend the viewpoint it's not a clique
What complete and utter skitters.  NOBODY, nobody at all, so far as I am aware, has bothered to "defend the viewpoint it's not a clique". Talking about a "clique" is such a pointless observation, why bother with "defending"? But here, once again, is my own comment on this, which is NOT a "defence", but rather, a "SO BLOODY WHAT?"
I wrote:
On ANY forum, any forum at all, there will be a tendency for discussion to come to be focused around the concerns of the people actively participating in discussion on that forum. For instance, on a Rangers forum you are less likely to hear praise of Celtic FC. However, the test of whether a forum allows free speech or not is, can folk with a completely different point of view express their view on that forum? For instance, on a Celtic forum, could a staunch Rangers supporter express their views? Could somebody with very different views from most of the active participants post on the forum? By that standard, Our Scotland most certainly DOES allow freedom of discussion. If you can't handle trying to present a reasoned argument to the folk on here, well, that's YOUR problem. Your purely personal problem. It is not a problem with the Our Scotland forum as such. I'm not one of the moderators of this forum, in fact I've never even met any of them, but, so far as I'm aware, they are extremely reluctant to ban ANYBODY. You can say what you like. If what you say comes across as being really stupid, well, again, that's YOUR problem. Your purely personal problem.
and regards "some of the things that are said on here and are left unchecked",
I wrote:
"Left unchecked" implies that you want more censorship. Again, I'm not one of the moderators of this forum, in fact I've never even met any of them, but, so far as I'm aware, they are reluctant to ban anyone, or to act as censors. However, if you have a complaint, you're welcome to contact one of the moderators about it. This particular discussion is taking place in the Global Politics section of Our Scotland. At the top of each section, you will find the net-names of those who are moderating the discussion. If you click on any of these names, you can e-mail one of the moderators, who may then act on your complaint, or draw your complaint to the attention of the other moderators. I believe they do occasionally decide to censor some things. I have no idea what your particular gripe is, and I have no idea how the moderators would react if you actually managed to clearly express your complaint. However, if, after consideration of your complaint, they decide not to censor posts that YOU think should be censored, that is not necessarily because they actually AGREE with everything that is said. It is probably just because, unlike you, they have a strong commitment to freedom of speech.
Turning now to the interesting suggestion from Holebender that "linoleum" and "Jamesieboy" may be the same person, I've met Holebender, and his Canadian-Scottish wife, many times. We were involved together in the "Independence First" campaign, Holebender was the Honorary Convenor of Independence First and acted as master of ceremonies at IF's first rally at the Scottish Parliament, an event involving several hundred people, several bands, singers, musicians, etc. Oh, and HB and his wife personally paid for the services of the pipe band which played for the march through Edinburgh to that rally. When we thought I.F. had taken a wrong turning, we were involved together in a breakaway from it. I was quite surprised the first time we ate a meal together, and I realised this macho oil rig worker was a vegetarian. But although I know HB is real, it's not always so easy to be so sure. It's quite easy for people to assume false identities on the internet, and it's also quite easy for people to assume multiple identities on the internet.
Holebender wrote:
Teacherboy never actually posts any links to back his assertions and is forever telling us to use Google to verify his stories for him. Guess what our new member linoleum does? No links, just a helpful suggestion to type keywords into Google so we can do all the work in verifying his tales. Sound familiar? Notice the writing style and punctuation? I smell an altered ego.
So, Holebender is saying this "linoleum" is so similar to "Jamesieboy", they may be the same person.
linoleum wrote:
i'll not be posting here again
That's up to you. People come, people go. No big deal, either way. In any case, if HB is right, you will be continuing to post under another identity.
linoleum wrote:
if people are comfortable with trash who glorify child murderers posting on their site
Eh? Since Linoleum says he won't be posting here again, I suppose there is no point in asking "HIM" this question, but there is probably every point in asking "Jamesieboy", since they seem to think so remarkably similarly. So, what the hell is that about? Can you, or can anyone at all, actually quote, word-for-word, not some revised and re-interpeted version, but the un-altered original, any statement, by anybody here on this Our Scotland forum, "glorifying child murderers"?
magister ludi

@dave coull,

dave, i know it was many posts ago on this thread ( and you seem to have been in and out of hospital meantime...hope you're ok...pleased if you are)

you said:
" During the 64 years since the end of the Second World War, the armed forces of the British state have been involved in violence in some part of the world or other in every one of those 64 years except one."

Pray please tell, which year was that?
I ask because I must have missed it.

There is no clique on here, the forum is mainly populated by people who want to discuss politics so there is usually unanimity when a racist troll comes on to the forum.

I suggest the mods issue a yellow card for Jamsie's latest pathetic attempt to indirectly introduce racist terms for jewish people and arabs.
jamesieboy

I am NOT a racist because much of my life I have fought against racism.
I have worked and helped asylum seekers from violent racist and mysogynist regimes like Zimbabwe and Somalia and have helped to raise funds to take them to Scotland games. Sound racist to you?

Ragheads and Yids are common terms used by many people in our society. I don't use these terms myself because some may regard them as offensive but yids are what some people call Tottenham supporters because of their Jewish links. It is an affectionate term for some people the same way as ***** is used in some rap songs by some black singers in the US but would be regarded by most as offensive.

You shouldn't be afraid of using racist terms in the context of a discussion.
Because different races have different names, some offensive, others less so.

Micks come from Ireland. Poms come from England. As do limeys. Scousers come from Liverpool. Brummies from Birmingham. Polaks from Poland. Russkies from Russia. Jocks from Scotland (and I, for one, don't mind being called a Jock), Cockneys from London (sometimes known as spivs), sheep shaggers from Aberdeen, frogs from france, eyeties from Italy, dagoes and spicks from Spain, shirtlifters from Brighton and so on.

Some of these names are offensive, some are not. You just have to be a big boy and live with them and not be afraid of the PC police coming to lift you.
Holebender

Just because a word is in common use in some circles that doesn't mean you have to be a thoughtless boor and continue its usage. The test, for me, is would I feel comfortable using the term in front of a stranger from that group. If the answer is no, I don't use it in any circumstances. It has nothing to do with "Political Correctness" and everything to do with respect for others and for myself.

From now on I'm just going to refer to you as "Trollboy" because "Teacherboy" gives you too much credit. It's no wonder kids today as so poorly educated.

There is no PC police, it's all in your mind.

People like you get everywhere telling us that we are not allowed to talk about race or immigration when, in fact, it is dicussed in every media oputlet constantly.  Usually accopmanied by an ifiot who proceeds talking about race and immigration with a statement as to how no-one is allowed to talk about it!

You are trying to influence almost every debate on this site into becoming another outlet for your rants about arabs, gypsys and jews.  I am bored with it now and think that the mods should start pulling you up when you use racist terms.  You pretend that you are using them in context but are delighted to have a context to use them in.

You are not shocking anyone, this is the grown up world.  You are just boring and, of course, an idiot.
jamesieboy

There is nothing more boring than a politically correct pedant like yourself.

As a previous poster pointed out this is groupspeak, when you have all those in the group who adhere to this conformity of not using words which might offend.

You politically correct mob are laughed at and ridiculed by the rest of society for your sheer stupidity and naivety.

I am proud to say i am not politically correct, and many of my friends are not either (most of whom are very well-educated and well-travelled. We're not afraid to use any word, anywhere, anytime, to anyone. As long as we don't insult a person and use sweary words then it is perfectly fine to do that and we will not put up with some woolly headed liberal censoring us.
linoleum

[quote="Holebender"] It has nothing to do with "Political Correctness" and everything to do with respect for others and for myself.

From now on I'm just going to refer to you as "Trollboy" because "Teacherboy" gives you too much credit. It's no wonder kids today as so poorly educated.[/quote]

hahahahahahahahaha, you been on the happy pills?
'respect for others'.
hilarious, absolutely hilarious.
go research 'groupthink'. it really does sum up the clique on here.

"You politically correct mob are laughed at and ridiculed by the rest of society for your sheer stupidity and naivety."

There is no 'politically correct mob', people are laughing at the tin-foil capped paranoid idiots like you.

"As long as we don't insult a person and use sweary words then it is perfectly fine to do that"

So you ARE politically correct then?
jamesieboy

Let me ask you a simple question:

who decides what is a racist insult and what is not.

Jock - is that an insulting word?

Mick - is that?

Scouser - is that?

Why is the word p**i an insult yet afghani is not?

Let me ask you a simple question:

In law it is down to the victim.  An offence would be 'racist' if the victim thought it to be, at least at the investigation stage.

it depends on the term used, on the context and on whether an offence is caused.  I am sure that you know this.  Or maybe.......

there is a secret PC Brigade who go around following people like you to stop you using "harmless" racist terms  Rolling Eyes

Why is the word p**i an insult yet afghani is not?

You are a teacher who claims to have taught kids of all backgrounds, surely you have thought about this before?

It is pretty straightforward.  The term p... is used as a derogatory term and is often intended to offend.  British pakistani's see this as a derogatory term so the reasonable thing to do is not to use it.  Also p... is often used as a catch all term for anybody who is from anywhere east of turkey or south of Spain.  I know Syrians and Indians who are callled p.... b***ards by racists.

The term Afghani is also a language from Afghanistan, as well as the currency and is in common use, as is Afghanistani.  The same isnt true of p... which was coined by British tabloids with scare stories similar to your ones about roma and arabs.
linoleum

[quote="jamesieboy"]Let me ask you a simple question:

Jock - is that an insulting word?

Mick - is that?

Scouser - is that?

Why is the word p**i an insult yet afghani is not?[/quote]

now this is interesting, i've often wondered about offensive and being offended. who decides?
gets right interesting with the old firm.
celtic fans are notorious for being offended about anything that gets 'sung' there way and in turn claim rangers/hearts/killie fans are offensive and thus are bigots etc.

heres where it gets intersting, celtic fans claim they are offended so an 'offence' has taken place. but if a killie or jam tartz fan feels offended by something that is 'sung' at them by celtic fans, the celtic fans right it off as 'political'  or 'heritage'   or 'banter'.

same applies to racism, with the watered down rules on racism being thrown around on here like confetti, the same watered down rules apply to everyone. the simpleminded fools calling jamsieboy a racist are in fact being racist themselves by making deragatory remarks about him, they are intolerant of him and his views.

and as we are being told, silly deragoatory remarks can be regarded as racist, offensive and whatever else. jamiesboy is well within his rights to call you racist or whatever else.

PC people, these are the rules you choose to play by, you have to accpet that they apply to you as well.

is'nt this fun?
Holebender

So Trollboy is a race is he?

You didn't stay away long, did you?
Dave Coull

linoleum wrote:

Hang on a minute, what was that? "Linoleum wrote"? That can't possibly be the same "Linoleum", who, at twenty past nine last night, said

It must be a different piece of linoleum.

a different piece of linoleum wrote:
the simpleminded fools calling jamsieboy a racist are in fact being racist themselves by making deragatory remarks about him
No, no, a different piece of linoleum, you've got that all wrong. It's a matter of opinion whether folk are simple minded fools or not. It's also a matter of opinion whether jamesieboy is racist or not. But it's not a matter of opinion whether making derogatory remarks is automatically racist. For example:  suppose I should form, about somebody who I know to be of a virtually identical national/ethnic/cultural/religious background to myself, the opinion that they are not too bright. Suppose I should say this person is as thick as two short planks. That would be a derogatory remark by me   -  but it could NOT be racist, because it would be about a person I knew to be of the same "race" as myself.
linoleum

[quote="Dave Coull"][quote="linoleum"]
[/quote]
Hang on a minute, what was that? "Linoleum wrote"? That can't possibly be the same "Linoleum", who, at twenty past nine last night, said

[quote]i'll not be posting here again[/quote]

It must be a different piece of linoleum.

[quote="a different piece of linoleum"]the simpleminded fools calling jamsieboy a racist are in fact being racist themselves by making deragatory remarks about him[/quote]No, no, a different piece of linoleum, you've got that all wrong. It's a matter of opinion whether folk are simple minded fools or not. It's also a matter of opinion whether jamesieboy is racist or not. But it's not a matter of opinion whether making derogatory remarks is automatically racist. For example:  suppose I should form, about somebody who I know to be of a virtually identical national/ethnic/cultural/religious background to myself, the opinion that they are not too bright. Suppose I should say this person is as thick as two short planks. That would be a derogatory remark by me   -  but it could NOT be racist, because it would be about a person I knew to be of the same "race" as myself.[/quote]

i lied.
how do you know he's the same race as you?
he could be welsh, english,irish, presbyterian or mormon.
if he is different from you in one of these ways ait can be regarded as racism.
thems the rules according to here.
Holebender

Religions are races too? Who knew?

Do share some more of your wisdom with us, oh great floor covering.

"how do you know he's the same race as you?
he could be welsh, english,irish, presbyterian or mormon.
if he is different from you in one of these ways ait can be regarded as racism.
thems the rules according to here."

What rules?  How is it racist to call someone an idot when you have no idea what race they are and dont mention his race?

Thats nonsense.

To get back on thread, I hope this video from the Guardian clears up the story about the police trying to save the life of a man and being stopped by protesters.  The footage clearly shows the man being pushed to the ground by police.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2009/apr/07/video-g20-police-assault
Dave Coull

linoleum wrote:
i lied.

Right.
Linoleum is a self-confessed liar.
I'll keep that in mind.

I wrote:
Suppose I should form, about somebody who I know to be of a virtually identical national/ethnic/cultural/religious background to myself, the opinion that they are not too bright. Suppose I should say this person is as thick as two short planks. That would be a derogatory remark by me   -  but it could NOT be racist, because it would be about a person I knew to be of the same "race" as myself.
linoleum wrote:
how do you know he's the same race as you?

Who?

It was a purely hypothetical example. In this purely hypothetical example, the hypothesis is that I DO know this about some completely hypothetical person. And, using that purely hypothetical example, I have conclusively proved that it is possible to make a derogatory remark about somebody without being racist. The whole point is that, if I say about somebody that I consider this particular individual to be as thick as two short planks, I am saying this about them as an INDIVIDUAL. I am not saying it about any larger grouping, just about one particular person. Now, having proved conclusively that this is possible, let's apply it to what you said. You claimed that those people who said Jamesieboy was racist were themselves being racist in calling him racist. But there is nothing intrinsically racist about calling somebody a racist. It may or may not be true, but, either way, it is not in itself a racist statement, because it is not a statement applied to a larger grouping, but only to one particular individual. Therefore, like I said, and have now conclusively proved, you were completely wrong about that.

ditto.

jamesieboy IS a racist.
linoleum

[quote="Dave Coull"][quote="linoleum"] I have conclusively proved that it is possible to make a derogatory remark about somebody without being racist. .[/quote]

i'm in complete agreement, thank you. could you please advise some of the idiots on this site that this is so.
Holebender

But, o magnificent floor covering, you cannot apply Dave's logic to conclude that derogatory remarks are not racist, only that they need not be. In other words, advise the idiots yourself, and be sure to tell us how you reach your conclusions. We like a bit of corroboration with our opinions around here.
linoleum

[quote="Holebender"]But, o magnificent floor covering, you cannot apply Dave's logic to conclude that derogatory remarks are not racist, only that they need not be. In other words, advise the idiots yourself, and be sure to tell us how you reach your conclusions. We like a bit of corroboration with our opinions around here.[/quote]

you like a bit of corroboration?
is that a joke?
2 people who live and work both in and near govanhell, tell it like it is and it is derided and the word racism is branded around, you only like corroboration if it suits your view.

as for racism, of course one can be derogaotory with out being racist and of course one can be derogatory and be racist to both individuals and other races.you merely underline my point and you seem to have a grasp of what the word means.some do not and apply it very minor derogatory comments and phrases. liberal agitators like to use the word racism on a whim and it makes a mockery of the true meaning of the word and where true racism occurs.that in itself is shameful.
Alasdair

linoleum wrote:
you like a bit of corroboration?
is that a joke?
2 people who live and work both in and near govanhell, tell it like it is and it is derided and the word racism is branded around, you only like corroboration if it suits your view.

That's not corroboration, it's purely anecdotal based on the opinions of an unknown individual/s with unknown motivations.  Corroboration would involve perhaps a link or two to known and, hopefully, respected sources ... online newspaper articles from the better/more respected papers would be a good start.
jamesieboy

Alasdair - you are a sad individual for whom everything must be corroborated by finding sources like 'serious newspapers' and no doubt books by Marx on dialectical materialism.

And look what happened to him and his philosophy. Dustbin of Historymy friend.

Other folk, you'll find, live in the real world and prefer to believe what they see and hear.

Deflect and Deny. I like that, linoleum. You've just about summed up this mob.

BTW, I noticed that you didn't put a comma where it should have been. Or a full stop! That tactic then takes on arms and legs and becomes the topic of conversation itself.

As if anybody cares if you're familiar or not with every aspect of the keyboard. The purpose is to deflect and deny, as you pointed out.

Anybody that knows me, and I can be found in Tennent's Bar, Byres Road on a friday night, know that I most certainly not a racist.

Why would I work with asylum seekers?

My point is, that if you come into this country from somewhere unstable you come in as a guest. Yes, you will be helped, yes you wlll be encouraged but you have responsibilities too.

And guests have to respect not only the hospitality and support that they get here, but the customs of the local people.

And wrecking the community and the environment around them is certainly not one of those customs.
Dave Coull

linoleum wrote:

Hang on a minute, "Linoleum wrote"? Could that possibly be the same "Linoleum", who, at twenty past nine on Monday night, said

Here was me thinking it must be a different piece of linoleum, but
linoleum wrote:
i lied.

and then
linoleum wrote:
2 people who live and work both in and near govanhell, tell it like it is
The poster calling himself "Jamesieboy" has proved himself incapable of reporting accurately a post on here he'd read just half an hour before, and has repeatedly been caught out in inconsistencies, so can hardly be considered a reliable source of evidence. The poster using the name "linoleum" is a self-confessed liar. Maybe these are two different people, and maybe they're only one. Maybe that one lives and works in, or at least near, Govanhill, and maybe not. All we can really say for certain is that there have been some anonymous e-mails from a source or sources of dubious reliability, making unsubstantiated claims.
Alasdair wrote:
Corroboration would involve perhaps a link or two to known and, hopefully, respected sources ... online newspaper articles from the better/more respected papers would be a good start.
Quite so.
Alasdair

jamesieboy wrote:
Alasdair - you are a sad individual for whom everything must be corroborated by finding sources like 'serious newspapers' and no doubt books by Marx on dialectical materialism.

No I am the sort of individual who will not take what I am told for granted by vague individuals who spend most of their time in ...

jamesieboy wrote:
... Tennent's Bar, Byres Road ...

... like anybody really cares where you spend your friday nights.

As to marx, no I can't say Marx is of any particular interest to me just as evidence or corroboration seems to be of no particular interest to you or the lino man.

You can call me "sad" or whatever you like, to be honest I don't really care I've been called worse by better than you but fortunately my skins thick enough to take it. Rolling Eyes
linoleum

[quote="Alasdair"][quote="jamesieboy"]Alasdair - you are a sad individual for whom everything must be corroborated by finding sources like 'serious newspapers' and no doubt books by Marx on dialectical materialism.[/quote]

No I am the sort of individual who will not take what I am told for granted by vague individuals who spend most of their time in ...

[quote="jamesieboy"]... Tennent's Bar, Byres Road ...[/quote]

... like anybody really cares where you spend your friday nights.

As to marx, no I can't say Marx is of any particular interest to me just as evidence or corroboration seems to be of no particular interest to you or the lino man.

You can call me "sad" or whatever you like, to be honest I don't really care I've been called worse by better than you but fortunately my skins thick enough to take it. Rolling Eyes[/quote]

actually i think you are quite sad. not just what you post here but that dull, patronising, twee, 'father-earth', 'daddy's club' blog i had a look at. i'm sure your not a bad guy and all that but good lord thats dull.
Alasdair

linoleum wrote:
actually i think you are quite sad. not just what you post here but that dull, patronising, twee, 'father-earth', 'daddy's club' blog i had a look at. i'm sure your not a bad guy and all that but good lord thats dull.

you might find it dull, that's your opinion, and you're welcome to it.  I'm not sure what's patronising about it though, referring to it as "father-earth, daddy's club blog" on the other hand is a bit patronising and actually shows how much of it you actually did look at ... needless to say as with Jamesieboy I can't say I'm really concerned by your opinion.
Alasdair

hmm ... is this the 'delay and divert' tactic that was being referred to earlier?

The marxist stuff is another clue to the fact that these two are BNP propagandists.

They see everyome to the left of Genghis Khan as a marxist, from the media to New Labour.
linoleum

bnp propoganda
Holebender

Troll!
jamesieboy

Rinty. Holebender. Alasdair.

Keep denying. Keep deflecting. Keep calling other posters childish
made-up names and keep burying your head in the sand.

Troll. Racist. BNP supporter. It is worse than pathetic.

I have seen it all before but, like many others who ply my trade,
I soldier on in the hope that you will all get good standard grades in
a few years time.

And maybe after that the puerile name-calling which passes for
informed debate will subside.

WE live in hope.

pot and kettle eh?

It is you who is in denial and you who reverts to name calling. 'informed debate' suggests involving information.  You should try it.
jamesieboy

..and in the world, according to Rinty, things are fairly simple.

Example: if you are opposed to Marxism/Marxist policies/Marxist dialecticalism then you are a BNP supporter.

I don't know what you do for a living Rinty, son, but I hope it's not a Modern Studies teacher

Because I think after about 5 minutes you will see that there are quite a few parties and points-of-view in-between.
jamesieboy

And, yet again, what are you looking for.

I have given Sites for the Sunday Herald on this topic.

I have stated a number of articles in the Evening Times about the possibility of a race war breaking out in Govanhill.

Good God, given the nature of my profession do I need to spell it out for you where I get a lot of my information from.

I'm saying no more about that - it should be bleedin obvious.

In the meantime, I will state that social workers, police, health professionals and teachers have a wee bit more information about what is
(and what's not) going on in Scotland's communities than the rest of you.

And we don't need to read an Oxfam report, interesting though it is, to know that the people most exploiting the most wretched ones in Govanhill are the slavemasters, the pimps, the despicable slum landlords...

And by pure coincidence, most of the names and the reports quoted  in the papers suggest that the Roma parents and certain Asian businessmen
(including one, embarrassingly, an SNP councillor are the worst perpretrators.

And Rinty, Govanhill WAS NOT always a deprived area. In the seventies I worked for BT in St Vincent St (address 255) beside some elderly ladies who came from there and it was a thriving area which people had a pride in.

Also, another point. I, and my friends, have been going to Scotland games at Hampden regularly since the Brian Labone(crusher) and Colin Stein incident, we have been drinking in the pubs and still do so (Billy McNeil's - off Victoria Rd)in the 70's and we are in no doubt that the area has gone badly downhill (not Dowanhill1) especially in the last 5 years or so.

Again, for the LAST time, I urge you to talk to folks in these establishments. They will tell you the truth.

I speak to more people and know more people in Govanhill than yopu do.  You have stated that you used to know people from there who worked with you and that you used to work 'near' there, now you have a connection through drinking in a pub in Vicky Road in the 70's.

The health professionals and people directly involved were part of the oxfam report.  It is you who are being blinkered and refusing to take in all of the available evidence.

Very interesting that you describe the landlords as asian.

I see pimps, you see roma, I see slum landlords, you see asians.  If you could see past the race issue you might be able to make sense of the experience and information you have instead of wasting it on tin-foil hatted conspiracy theories of our culture being under attack.
jamesieboy

Obviously the Oxfam report is going to be selective.

They, as an international organisation, have a duty to be diplomatic
and not offend any ethnic group. Their agenda will almost certainly be PC.

They will certainly not include any material which criticises the Roma/Slovak gypsies for the dirty conditions which they are creating and the criminal activities many of their number are engaged in because their agenda is, before they even arrive, 'the Roma are a discriminated minority who are persecuted all over Europe' without asking why????

Most of the slum landlords probably are Asian. The same as most of the neds in the west of Scotland are indigenous Scots or second generation Irish. As are most of the gangsters like the Lyons and McGovern clans.

Obviously you don't read the Evening times. Remember Councillor Kalshnikov a few months ago? He was the main perpretrators of the awful housing conditions in the area ..and profiting from it.

Or is your reading selective and only suits your narrow political agenda.

I much prefer to listen to what local people say on the ground. And what they are saying certainly doues not fit in with this denial nonsense you are peddling.

As I have tried to point out to you before my info comes from the horse's
mouth. You know my profession, you know who I talk to and sometimes we discuss what is going on in the local area. It doesn't take a genius, and you are certainly not that, to figure it out.

And BTW, my knowledge of Glasgow and the surrounding area is very good, based on the info in the last paragraph.

Also, I suggest you by the Digger - a local newspaper which exposes what is going on that reaches the parts other papers fear to reach.

I know the digger well mate, I know Glasgow well, I know Govanhil well.

You push selective evidence that suits your racist agenda.
jamesieboy

You have no evidence that i am a racist. This name-calling is 'pathetic'. You are obviously of an adolescent mentality. and that is very typical of, in the absence of being able to indulge in informed debate, someone who constantly repeats the stock answer because they don't have the information/knowledge/education to formulate a cohesive answer.

It is, as a previous poster mentioned, infantile name calling where, if anybody criticises certain traits of an ethnic/cultural group they are instantly condemned as racist. This is shoddy and amateurish analysis and shames and embarrasses the individual who makes the remarks.

Again, go up the closes in Westmoreland Street where the roma/slovak live and see for yourself. And take a sick bag when you come across the mess, it is not pretty.

We are all supposed to be so right-on and believe the myth that all peoples are the same. They obviously are not.

Multiculturalism makes a lot of assumptions, some of which are glaringly wrong. History is full of massacres and abuses by one ethnic group over the other, unfortunately. It is based on wishes, rather than facts. Did I mention the Hutus and Tutsis,anybody?

I'm sure the Armenians thought they could fit in to the Ottoman Empire until they were massacred in their millions in the early 20th century..

I have a lot more experience in living in, and observing the traits and habits of people who inhabit places where I've taught English. Some I like,
the Swedes organisation and technical ingenuity. But there is also a coldness among many of the people, a reserved nature which, coming from the west of Scotland takes a bit of getting used to.

Of course, the phrase 'to see ourselves as others see us' also applies.
Rabbie Burns glorified the partaking in the consumption of John Barleycorn.

The glorifying of drink and drunkenness may be viewed negatively by someone from a more pious culture. A devout muslim/hindu/sikh/jew no doubt looks at the young people out of their minds at weekends in this culture and be repulsed. But, then again, they may have their own issues.

I mentioned before on this site the peculiar habit of some cultures of making a noise frequently. The Spanish do this often, sounding their 'timbre' (horn) at any annoyance they might come across when driving in the middle of a city. Madrid is a good example. The din from car horns is , at times, insufferable. Drivers there often sound the horn if they are blocked in, no doubt in the hope that somebody, somewhere will arrive and alleviate the situation. It never occurs to them that someone else, namely the thousands of householders and pedestrians may be annoyed.

This never, ever happens in Stockholm, where silence prevails.

So Rinty, get out more. See the world. Take in the annoying and appealing traits of different cultures. See life as it really is, not through the textbook.
linoleum

[quote="Rinty"]I know the digger well mate, I know Glasgow well, I know Govanhil well.

You push selective evidence that suits your racist agenda.[/quote]

this may sound crazy but
i know the digger well mate, i know glasgow well, i know groundzero well. YOU push selective evidence that suits your PC, liberal,handwringing and self-loathing agenda.
Alasdair

since when have "liberal" and "PC" been insults, for my money they equate to open-mindness and politeness?

Just curious, I'm sure the "liberal" one is an american import while the "PC" one is only thrown about by bigots and racists ... maybe I'm wrong.

I'm not sure why I bother tbh ... I don't really care Rolling Eyes
linoleum

[quote="Alasdair"]since when have "liberal" and "PC" been insults, for my money they equate to open-mindness and politeness?

Just curious, I'm sure the "liberal" one is an american import while the "PC" one is only thrown about by bigots and racists ... maybe I'm wrong.

I'm not sure why I bother tbh ... I don't really care Rolling Eyes[/quote]

not so much liberal, perhaps liberal agitators is a better turn of phrase. as for PC being an insult, if you are unaware that being labeled PC is an insult then i suggest you get out more and stop reading whatever you have been reading or stop listening to whoever has filled your head with codswallop like that.

it is not, never has been and never will be 'cool' to be PC.

being PC is just wanky. i find that being decent, respectful,kind and an all round good egg is much more positive.

i don't go around being anti-semetic, racist, sexist or ageist to be PC. it comes naturally, am a decent human bean.

you have issues if you have to be PC to know how to behave and what to say and when and where.BIG issues.
Alasdair

Being PC is not about being cool, nor is it about turning a blind eye to the nastier elements in the world.  What it is about is understanding that not every slovak/albanian/londoner/whatever is the same as the next one because one or a group happen to behave in a particularly despicable manner.

More, than that in some ways.  It's also about being polite and accepting that certain turns of phrase are not acceptable.
Dave Coull

Alasdair wrote:
since when have "liberal" and "PC" been insults
The term "Tory" (toraigh) is a Gaelic term which originally came from Ireland and referred to robbers and cattle rustlers, but came to be used as a term of abuse by the folk that the Tories called "Whigs" (a term of abuse which was invented by their Tory opponents). Like a lot of other political terms, the term "PC" was invented as a term of abuse, by opponents of the folk to whom they applied the term. It was ALWAYS an insult, right from the start. And yes, you are quite right, it has always been an expression thrown about by bigots and racists.
Alasdair wrote:
I'm sure the "liberal" one is an american import
You are absolutely right about that. "Liberal" in the UK referred to a political party, the Liberal Party, later the Lib-Dems, or it was used in a way that could be quite complimentary. The use of this word as a term of abuse (by the extreme right wing) DOES come from the USA, and it is only very recently that this American expression has crossed the Atlantic. I had thought that "linoleum" probably came from Kirkcaldy originally, but the use of this distinctively American term does raise another possibility.

Responding to Alasdair,
linoleum wrote:
perhaps liberal agitators is a better turn of phrase
There it is again. linoleum just can't help proving my point. In UK terms, "agitators" can be "left-wing", but "liberals" tend, if anything, to be regarded as a bit wishy-washy, a bit middle-of-the-road. It is only in the USA that the expression "liberal agitators" can make any sense, because, THERE, "left wing" and "liberal" are practically identical, in a way that is not true here. Linoleum is repeatedly using specifically and exclusively American expressions.

It is ironic that, at a time when the American far right has taken some huge setbacks in the USA, an attempt should be made to import their alien way of looking at things into Scottish politics.
Shagpile

jamesieboy wrote:
In the meantime, I will state that social workers, police, health professionals and teachers have a wee bit more information about what is
(and what's not) going on in Scotland's communities than the rest of you.

Which is why of course cases like "Baby P", occur all too often. Crimes go unsolved. Pensioners and the mentally ill are abused. And our dole ques are bursting with uneducated graduates.

I know enough about "what's going on" to realise that this sort of caveat is espoused, by those who don't; or don't wish to know, what's going on.

A bit harsh on the above proffetionals?.... Absolutely! Have I just disparaged; what I'm sure is the majority, involved in these professions?.... Again, absolutely!

I am aware of that...... I don't believe you can say the same.

The death penalty in this country has been abolished, and rightly so. Never (likely) to return.

You give me the impression from your remaks that the police were absolutely right to shoot the De Menzies boy. And it was absolutely correct that the only post mortem carried out, was the one on that poor lads body.

So, we don't have capital punnishment per se. Instead we have summery executions, by what is no more than a government death squad!

But that's ok.. "I will state that social workers, police, health professionals and teachers have a wee bit more information about what is
(and what's not) going on
".    Aye right!
jamesieboy

You just loathe your country. What's your alternative to what we've got?
Which country should we aspire to?

De Menezes being accidentally murdered was a massive tragedy and injustice. No-one could deny that.

Liberal economics means Reagan/Thatcherite policy. It means laissez faire which basically says, leave well alone.

In other words let the markets decide.

We are now seeing the results of that policy in the financial chaos that is enveloping the country.

On and by the way, Gordon Brown loved liberal economics. He couldn't get enough of it when he was chancellor.
linoleum

[quote="Alasdair"]Being PC is not about being cool, nor is it about turning a blind eye to the nastier elements in the world.  What it is about is understanding that not every slovak/albanian/londoner/whatever is the same as the next one because one or a group happen to behave in a particularly despicable manner.

More, than that in some ways.  It's also about being polite and accepting that certain turns of phrase are not acceptable.[/quote]

hello,HELLO!!!! why are you just repeating what i said. normal, decent, polite,kind, respectful and thoughtful people do all of the above all the time. it's not new, it's being a decent person. as i said before if you have to abide by PC rules to do the above, there something wrong with you and something lacking in your moral fibre if abiding by the PC guidlines stops you being offensive.

if you need a rule book to tell you how to be a nice person thats your problem but don't try and force your false value system onto others who's value system is fine. and drop the patronising tone while your at it although i think that comes free with the PC rule book.
linoleum

[quote="Shagpile"][quote="jamesieboy"]In the meantime, I will state that social workers, police, health professionals and teachers have a wee bit more information about what is
(and what's not) going on in Scotland's communities than the rest of you.[/quote]

Which is why of course cases like "Baby P", occur all too often. Crimes go unsolved. Pensioners and the mentally ill are abused. And our dole ques are bursting with uneducated graduates.

I know enough about "what's going on" to realise that this sort of caveat is espoused, by those who don't; or don't wish to know, what's going on.

A bit harsh on the above proffetionals?.... Absolutely! Have I just disparaged; what I'm sure is the majority, involved in these professions?.... Again, absolutely!

I am aware of that...... I don't believe you can say the same.

The death penalty in this country has been abolished, and rightly so. Never (likely) to return.

You give me the impression from your remaks that the police were absolutely right to shoot the De Menzies boy. And it was absolutely correct that the only post mortem carried out, was the one on that poor lads body.

So, we don't have capital punnishment per se. Instead we have summery executions, by what is no more than a government death squad!

But that's ok.. "I will state that social workers, [b]police,[/b] health professionals and teachers [b]have a wee bit more information about what is
(and what's not) going on[/b]".    Aye right![/quote]

tbh i don't think you have any idea as to whats going on. whilst debating one subject and you start rambling on about something unrelated (the brazilian illegal immigrant who ran away from armed police after being told to stop, several times, onto a train,the day after  attempted homicide bombings on trains.duh, how daft was he????. and then his 1 post mortem) whilst trashing not 1 but 4 groups of public servants. you should be writing for the daily sport.
Dave Coull

I have already pointed out how "linoleum" persistently follows the agenda of the far right in the USA:
"Liberal" in the UK referred to a political party, the Liberal Party, later the Lib-Dems, or it was used in a way that could be quite complimentary. The use of this word as a term of abuse (by the extreme right wing) DOES come from the USA, and it is only very recently that this American expression has crossed the Atlantic. I had thought that "linoleum" probably came from Kirkcaldy originally, but the use of this distinctively American term does raise another possibility.
and also,when
linoleum wrote:
perhaps liberal agitators is a better turn of phrase
I pointed out
linoleum just can't help proving my point. In UK terms, "agitators" can be "left-wing", but "liberals" tend, if anything, to be regarded as a bit wishy-washy, a bit middle-of-the-road. It is only in the USA that the expression "liberal agitators" can make any sense, because, THERE, "left wing" and "liberal" are practically identical, in a way that is not true here. Linoleum is repeatedly using specifically and exclusively American expressions. It is ironic that, at a time when the American far right has taken some huge setbacks in the USA, an attempt should be made to import their alien way of looking at things into Scottish politics.
It is worth noting that the term "Politically Correct", or "PC", was ALSO invented by the far right in the United States of  America.  Basically, some  racist right-wingers in the USA got fed up of some other folk in the USA objecting to them persistently using racist terminology. So, in order to defend their right to persistently use racist terminology, they accused the folk who thought that persistently using racist terminology wasn't very polite of seeking to impose a "Politically Correct" agenda. There never was such a thing as an agreed "politically correct" agenda, all there was, was some folk trying to be a bit more considerate of other people. The extreme right wing objected to some folk trying, in a disorganised sort of way, not in an organised campaign or anything like that, to be a bit more considerate of other people. The whole idea of a "Politically Correct" agenda was, right from its very beginnings in the USA, a myth invented  by organised extreme right wingers seeking to impose their own racist agenda.
linoleum wrote:
why are you just repeating what i said
He isn't. Alasdair isn't repeating what you said. You have followed the example set by followers of George Dubbya Bush, and folk even further to the Right than that, in the USA, with your attacks on "liberal agitators", "PC", etc. Alasdair did NOT repeat your USA Republican Far-Right nonsense.
linoleum wrote:
normal, decent, polite, kind, respectful and thoughtful people do all of the above all the time. it's not new, it's being a decent person.
So why do extreme right-wing imitators of the American Far-Right, such as yourself, attack normal, decent, polite, kind, respectful and thoughtful people for being "PC"?
linoleum wrote:
if you have to abide by PC rules to do the above, there something wrong with you
No, there is something wrong with YOU for believing this American Far Right propoganda about normal, decent, polite, kind, respectful and thoughtful people being "PC"
linoleum wrote:
and something lacking in your moral fibre if abiding by the PC guidlines
WHAT "Guidelines"?
Since you claim that they exist, go on, quote me something from these "PC Guidelines".
Tell me the year when these "PC Guidelines" were published.
Tell me who wrote the "PC Guidelines". I don't care if it was a single author or a collective effort, I want you to name names.
Tell me which publishing firm published the "PC Guidelines", and which town or city this publishing firm is based in.
linoleum wrote:
if you need a rule book to tell you how to be a nice person thats your problem
WHAT "rule book"?
You have just accused Alasdair of following some rule book.
What is the name of the rule book you are accusing him of following?
What year was the rule book published?
Who wrote the "rule book"? I don't care if it was a single author or a collective effort, I want you to name names.
Also, tell me which publishing firm published the "rule book", and which town or city this publishing firm is based in.

You will be unable to do any of this, because both your "PC Guidelines" and your "rule book" are myths, or, in other words, LIES, invented by the American extreme right, and it was these lies which helped the American extreme right to impose George Dubbya Bush and his madness on the rest of the world, and all that you are doing is repeating the lies of American extreme right-wingers.
linoleum wrote:
drop the patronising tone
Awa an stuff yersel ye grite neep.
Holebender

I said I wouldn't feed the troll, but I really have to comment on his latest post; Jean Charles deMenezes was not running from police and he was not challenged to stop. That was confirmed by every non-police eye witness at the enquiry into his illegal killing. I also doubt if he was an illegal immigrant, but I can't be bothered checking.

If all you are going to do is comment on another post, why try (and fail) to quote the entire post when only a sentence or paragraph would do? And why don't you learn to use the quote facility (you've been told) before continuing? Here's a suggestion; if the quote doesn't work, edit your post and remove the quoted text. It's just an annoyance as it is, which I am quite prepared to believe suits you fine.

Back on ignore.
Dave Coull

Holebender wrote:
Jean Charles deMenezes was not running from police and he was not challenged to stop
True.
Both of those claims have been conclusively shown to be lies.
Holebender wrote:
I also doubt if he was an illegal immigrant
He wasn't.

"I have a lot more experience in living in, and observing the traits and habits of people who inhabit places where I've taught English."

No, you come where and tell people that you do. And, so far, what you have told us of your extensive experience doesnt amount to much.

"So Rinty, get out more. See the world. Take in the annoying and appealing traits of different cultures. See life as it really is, not through the textbook."

Thanks for your advice mate.  Do you really think that you are qualified to judge whether I need to do this?  

What parts of culture, lifestyle or the world do you reckon I am short in experience in?

This debate has now focussed an a divide between the majority who have an open mind on Govanhill.  They acknowledge the problems, from dirty closes, to prostitution, have a 'bigger picture view' of how these problems emerge and how they affect communitites.  And on the other side are two people whose views of Govanhill are that all of the problems are down to asian landlords and slovak immigrants.

The evidence presented so far amounts to one report from the work of the professionals involved and one report in the Herald from a resident and a report in the Sunday Herald about a police operation.  All of that evidence lends support to the open-minded side of the debate.

It seems jamsie and Lino are reduced to trying to smear the individuals with allegations that they live sheltered lives.  Dont you realise when you are fighting a losing battle?  cant you recognise when a debate is lost?

It's now a matter of whether you two bring new eveidence to the table to ressurect your failed argument, or just give up

Mods: Can we merge the two anti-roma threads into one as they have become the same debate more or less.

As it has degraded into the two racists calling people PC and Liberal and making the usual baseless claims that everyone else has never been out of a textbook or a leafy suburb then it would be better if there was only one of those annoying threads.
Dave Coull

Rinty wrote:
This debate has now focussed an a divide between the majority who have an open mind on Govanhill.  They acknowledge the problems, from dirty closes, to prostitution, have a 'bigger picture view' of how these problems emerge and how they affect communitites.  And on the other side are two people whose views of Govanhill are that all of the problems are down to asian landlords and slovak immigrants.

The evidence presented so far amounts to one report from the work of the professionals involved and one report in the Herald from a resident and a report in the Sunday Herald about a police operation.  All of that evidence lends support to the open-minded side of the debate.

It seems jamsie and Lino are reduced to trying to smear the individuals with allegations that they live sheltered lives.
Yes. They haven't got any evidence to support their interpretation of things, so they have to resort to outright lies. Pathetic, isn't it.
Rinty wrote:
Mods: Can we merge the two anti-roma threads into one as they have become the same debate more or less.
True. In the meantime, while there remain two threads, I'm going to post this message on both of them, as it is relevant to both of them.

That staunch British patriot (although under the influence of the American far right)
linoleum wrote:
i would much rather take my chances being mugged or extorted by yer average glasgow or london gangster
Yes, British gangsters are all lovable cockney rogues. Responding to Shagpile, that staunch British patriot (although under the influence of the American far right)
linoleum wrote:
whilst debating one subject and you start rambling on about something unrelated
Oh, it's related, all right. It's just that you have a very limited idea of what constitutes crime, or gangsterism. For you, these terms relate specifically to things that are illegal (that is, not sanctioned by Government). For you, the possibility that terrible crimes and gangsterism might happen quite "legally" doesn't exist. In your world, there was no "Holocaust" involving the extermination of many millions of Jews, Gypsies, etc, carried out by a legally-elected German government. In your world, many millions of Soviet citizens did not die under Joseph Stalin. In your world, the crimes of George Dubbya Bush and Tony Blair are irrelevant. However, your sometimes ally Jamesie has noticed one way in which government-sponsored crimes might be relevant
jamesieboy wrote:
the vicious brutes of the Kosovan mafia, formerly Kosovo Liberation Army operatives. The yanks used to fund these people
That's right, the Government of the United States of America, aided and abetted by the Government of the United Kingdom, provided the KLA, which is now the army and police force of the state of Kosovo (it is impossible to draw any real distinction between the "government" and the "mafia") , with both guns and money. However, our small-minded cheap floor covering wants to focus entirely on the problems caused to "native" Scots by a minority of a minority in one area of Glasgow, without recognising that any solution to the problems is likely to involve wider and deeper matters.
jamesieboy

Political correctness is the enemy of all free thinkers.

The PC world involves denial and then deflection.

It involves censorship.

It censors not only free thinking but humour. Think of all the humorists, satirists and comedians who have been condemned by pc people because they have taken offence to something that they have said.

Bernard Manning anyone? The more they condemned him the more popular he was with the people.

Free speech will never die. And a free press will never die, no matter how much you try to oppress us.

And, above all, political correctness patronises black, asian and chinese people. It assumes that they are offended by certain words, actions and phases. In many cases, it assumes wrong.

On many occasions individuals from the ethnic minorities have mentioned to me that they don't find anything offensive about the some of the stuff the PC brigade go on about.

But it keeps people in jobs. It gives jobs for the boys. Anti-racism officer on Somewhereshire Council???? I ask you.

There is no PC brigade, its a contsruct of a right-wing media and an overreaction to people being a bit embarrassed at not knowing how to address people.

All 'PC' is is the changing of our cultural terms of reference due to despite from society not to offend, a sort of institutionalised politeness, albeit sometimes in clumsy form.

Those that make a big deal about it are usually those who object to being social pariahs for using offensive terms.  They get an embarassed silences in public when using words like 'p**i and then, instead of the mature response to change your habits, go into a rant about 'freedom of speech'.

There has been no examples of the "PC Brigade" in these threads, apart from in your tin-foil caped head.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Global Politics Page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Our Scotland Hit Counter Scottish Top Site - Topsites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites View Site Stats Scottish Politics