Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication
paintedwoad

Gaelic language

Hello, I was wondering if they are any persons out there into Gaelic language/culture?? Some one who is also a beginner in the language? smurfin [/b]

Hi paintedwoad. Welcome to the forums. I'm not a speaker myself but there are quite a few people of the forums who are.

Someone will no doubt be along soon to converse with you. Smile
Nina

Hello Paintedwoad, I am learing the Gealic from a friend.
Welcome! Laughing
Abieuan

Fàilte, paintedwoad, is mise Abieuan agus tha mi ag ionnsachadh Gàidhlig cuideachd.
Ciamar a tha sibh ?
Nina

Show off Wink

Laughing
SAOR ALBA

Tha gu math. Ciamar a tha sibh fhein?

'S mise Aodh. Tha mi fuireach a' Glaschu.

I'm also learning Gaelic so i am not sure if the above is perfect but i try.
Abieuan

Hai, Aodh,
I have only the basics myself, but i can help by saying that "a' Glaschu" means "from Glasgow".

To say "I live in Glasgow" would be Tha mi a' fuireach ann an Glaschu.

I am from Glasgow - Tha mi a' Glaschu.

What books or courses are you learning from?
I am using the Speaking our Language books.

Tioraidh an-dràsda.
SAOR ALBA

I'm mostly learning from the internet and books i keep getting out from the local library. I'm thinking of enrolling on a course soon though. I mean i've been at Gaelic since primary school but i keep forgetting about it for a while then when i get back round to it i have forgotten everything.
Abieuan

but i keep forgetting about it for a while then when i get back round to it i have forgotten everything.

Tha mi a' tuigsinn.
The best way to get by that is to become "immersed".
Although i have not done it myself, there are week long residential courses where little other than Gàidhlig is spoken.
That would really get it "intae yer heid". Smile

That's what I really want to do Abieuan. It's so difficult to get to grips with a language when you only hear or speak it at a class 1hr a week.
Nina

SLG I find your avatar quite scary Laughing
Who is it? Or...what is it??

Sorry to scare you Twisted Evil He's Papa Lazarou. A character from a sureal comedy show called the League of Gentlemen.

Bizarre, otherworldly guy who calls everyone "Dave", sells pegs, and who steals your taps as well as your wife. He's the ringleader of his "Pandemonium Carnival", and typically travels with 3 dwarves. His coloring is very odd, to say the least. He demonstrates "amazing psychic powers" by contacting the dearly departed as part of his circus act (although he really just does this to get more wives). He collects wives, and keeps a list of all of them in a book. He makes sure he has a good supply of animals for his circus. To "mingle" with normal society he took someone else's name and persona (covering his dark skin with makeup techniques learned from his many wives).

Have a look at http://www.papalazarou.co.uk/index2.html Laughing

"you're my wife now!"

Very Happy
Nina

Wow...
damn... what a creepy bastirt.

He might be inspired on papa and baby Doc? Former voodoo presidents of Haiti?? Laughing

PS: Somehow, i don't think you are sorry to have scared me at all.... Am i right or am I right? Twisted Evil

You've got me there Nina, a wee scare never did anyone any harm Wink

Papa Doc of Haiti really was a scary man though.
Leathlaobhair

I speak Irish Gaelic firstly but I try my hand at Scottish Gaelic every once in a while. It's similar and I can pick out words occasionally. But there are quite a few speakers here.

Haidh,, paintedwoad here! smurfin Thanks for the welcome everyone.I am also a beginner in Gaelic and welcome any attempts from all interested in throwing back and forth what we do know and maybe as a result ,help each other along the way!

I am doing a course at college(online) and have exams in june, I think.

Sorry I did'nt get back to all of you who posted a message.I don't live in the u.k and with you it would be as I post this, 3.59am your time! Very Happy
Abieuan

Hai paintedwoad/babygael !?

Which dialect are you learning ?
I started learning from a lady from Baraigh/Barra, then from the "Speaking our Language" books which are in Skye dialect.

I now find that i pronounce words that i learned earlier in the Barra dialect and ones i learned later in the Skye dialect.

It sounds odd as there are quite big differences.

Haidh Abieuan, Well I realise that the two names are a little confusing,my mistake Embarassed I am not used to using chat sites untill recently.
I was paintedwoad but thought it was a little long winded and tried unsucessfully to change it Exclamation

B.G smurfin is fine.

I am doing an online beginners course through a college in Dun Eideann and yes I am familliar with S.M.O in Skye and have often looked at "Speaking our language" on their web site.

I am glad that you also mentioned the different dialects,I am not that famillar with the language to pick up dialect yet,but I have noticed differences here and there.mainly in the written form.And wondered if it was me or them

I guess at the end of the day the really important thing is to understand each other Exclamation Exclamation

The lack of regular every day use and the ravages of time have most probably contributed to that.Small pockets of folk speaking it here and there around the country in isolation would likely cause these differences to appear.
Maybe unlike English for example where there is one acceptable "correct" way of speaking yet has many dialects. Gaelic has prehaps not achieved a "Standard" way of speaking that all else follows Question I don't know what our Irish friends have to say on the matter?

You pose a good question actually smurf I think I will try and clear that up with my Tutor.

Later,B.G smurfin flower
Abieuan

I am not that famillar with the language to pick up dialect yet,but I have noticed differences here and there.mainly in the written form.And wondered if it was me or them

They are even more noticable in spoken language.
ie, the word bord is pronounced as borsht on Baraigh.
The lack of regular every day use and the ravages of time have most probably contributed to that.Small pockets of folk speaking it here and there around the country in isolation would likely cause these differences to appear.

No, BG, that may be true for the islands, but on the mainland the dialects follow the ancient Clan territories.

I don't know about the Irish situation either, that would be interesting to find out.
Which part of Scotland does your tutor come from and does he/she use their local dialect ?

Oh good grief!! borsht sounds like some sort of German sausage

Yes I can see your point about the clan territories.But surley today there should be a standard? Especially since there have been great efforts going on to restore it? All the new schools recently opened in the Highlands.A little orginisation apparently wont go amiss methinks

Well as I dont currently live in the U.K, my course is online and so I have to send tapes back and forth to college.My Tutor,she lives outside Dun Eideann but I'm guessing that's not her origional area.

For security reasons I'll probably never find out where she actually lives.But I am going to ask about this dialect issue. bigsmurf

Luv ya n' leave ya B.G smurfin flower
Abieuan

But surley today there should be a standard?

Aye, Bg, as far as i know, the Skye dialect is the standard for Gàidhlig learners now.
I agree that there must be a "standard".

is'nt it past your bedtime ?? Im five hours behind,so I can stay up a little longer Where's the anti fag police? We rebellious Scots to crush
.Yes, they do say Skye is the center for gaelic studies.So that would figure.

oidhche Math, Babygael smurfin flower
Abieuan

It doesnae look like a fag tae me Cool

The Cornish have, and still are, having difficulties in standardising their language.
It is interesting that Irish, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh have standard forms, but Kerewek does not.
This is what has held back their langage over the last half centuary.

feasgar math! It doesnae?? Well, i simply cant imagine what it could be then colors I dont smoke.......

I had heard of the Cornish language but not what it was called.They are going to have a harder time securing their language than in scotland.I hope they do.It makes life so much more interesting to have all the various cultures/languages flourishing.Instead of everything English!!Here, the African diaspora have no love for it either.They naturally dont appreiciate being torn from their homeland and forced to work the sugar cane feilds practically in chains.Now its payback time!!
Unfortunately,they cant seem to define the difference between the scots/English and so on.They think we're all the same.The next person who calls me English is going to get THUMPED

See i've only been on here a short while and I've allready learnt a thing or two. Thanks. I discovered the other day that those who were still alive and not wounded after Culloden,were sold as slaves and shipped out to barbados
they have a celtic festival here,I cant remember the month off hand now.A lot of it goes on at MacBrides pub on the south coast.An area they call the gap. We get Pipers/dancers from Scotland,Irish musicians and Welsh choirs etc.And the local group called "Beltane", although I dont know if they are still active.They only do it for fun. A vet from N.I who has lived and worked here for eons played the harmonica in the band one time.

I wonder if anyone out there has been here?( B'dos) If so give me erm.a call PDT_Aliboronz_09

see youse, BG smurfin flower

Haidh Abieuan, ciamar a tha sibh?

Are you really a beginner in gaelic?? Because, and please forgive me if ah've got ye wrang. Ye seem tae be a very advanced gaelic speaker fra' a beginner???

BG smurfinflower
Leathlaobhair

Babygael wrote:
Oh good grief!! borsht sounds like some sort of German sausage

Ironically it's a Ukrainian soup

If you think it's annoying to be mistakenly called English, being Scottish, imagine what it's like for the Cornish, most of whom have been consistently pressured into losing any sort of regional identity . . but that's changing.

Leathlaobhair honey, it's after four in the am your time an' I'M knackered!

So, if its a soup,what was abieuan talkin' aboot??

Yes, Im very pleased to know that the Cornish are working towrard regaining their language and culture. I hope we all do.A garden with only one kind of flower, is ...........well, boring for wan!!

BG smurfin flower
Abieuan

Hai, BG, feasgar math dhuibh.
Tha mi glè mhath a nochd, tapadh leat, agus thu fhèin ?

Yea, Leathlaobhair is quite right about the soup Smile , it's made with beetroot i belive (yugh).
They are even more noticable in spoken language.
ie, the word bord is pronounced as borsht on Baraigh.

I wasn't saying that "table" is spelled that way, only pronounced like that!

I consider myself as a beginer as i'm not good enough to be at intermediate level at conversational classes.
It'a few years now since i went to classes so i'm rather rusty now, there's nobody where i live to speak it with.
The classes i went to are over twenty miles from here, and public transport is poor.

Still, i should think myself lucky, you are having to learn from the other side of the world !

Tìoraidh an-drasda.

Hai Abieuan, Tha mi gle mhath, tapadh leat.

Only two people over here speak it that I know of and that's the Irish Version. Thats why these chat boards are great as far as I'm concerned. Not that there's a lot of Gelic spoken here.
I don't know the word for table, so it could have been a German Sausage for all I know!! Shocked Beetroot soup???? Sweet!!

I keep thinking that if scotland had not regained its own parliament,Gaelic would have been definately in danger of going the way of the dodo. At least now,Scottish issues and concerns can be put on the front burner that would never otherwise have stood a chance down in Westminster.

I was undecided about Scottish independance from England before.But funnily enough,it was through Gaelic that made me realise what else was been shoved on the back burners down south. And even from here I was led to believe that Scotland benefited greatly from English tax payers money.When in actuality it seems to be the other way around!!

Any way, I digress!!

mar sin leibh an-drasta,BG smurfin flower
Abieuan

Hai, BG.
Only two people over here speak it that I know of and that's the Irish Version.
Maybe not a good idea to copy their pronounciation, it may be difficult to get out of the habbit once you progress.
I don't know the word for table
Well, you do now !
Bord is normaly pronounced just the way it looks.

Some of the Gàidhlig words i find easiest to remember are ones that i use for myself on a regular basis. I always write out my shopping lists in Gàidhlig where i know the words.
I've made out one for tomorrow;

aran - bread
brot cearc - chicken soup
isbeanan - sausages
càise - cheese
ìm - butter
bainne - milk
brisgean - crisps
bradan - salmon

As i use these words regularly i will never forget them.

There were dry-roasted peanuts too, but i didn't know the correct term so i just wrote PN rosta-tioram. (tioram means dry)

At least now,Scottish issues and concerns can be put on the front burner that would never otherwise have stood a chance down in Westminster.

Yes, things are looking better now, Smile but there are still a lot of people in Scotland, and in our Parliament, who are hostile to Gàidhlig Sad Mad

Tìoraidh.

aran - bread
brot cearc - chicken soup
isbeanan - sausages
càise - cheese
ìm - butter
bainne - milk
brisgean - crisps
bradan - salmon

If that's your shopping list for tomorrow I despair - you'll give yourself a heart attack man!

Very Happy

Watson's dictionary gives cnò for nut and cnò-thalmhainn for peanut. I try and do the same Abieuan, really good way to learn some basic vocabulary.

Oh, and I was taught to pronounce bord as borsht. My teacher was from Leòdhas.

Hai Abieuan, Ciamar a tha thu? A bheil thu ag irraidh chupa ti/cofaidh agus briscogen teoclaid? Thanks for those extra words! the word for crisps looks similar to that of biscuits,briscogen.

I have to get down to revising as I have to sit the exam for the SQA 1 in Gaelic in june I can do the oral part by phone.Apparently the exam consists of..Three written exercises with a short paragraph of 50 words in Gaelic and 5 questions in English for each one.Plus 5 spoken assesments(over the phone).I hope then to move on to Gaelic SQA2.

I hate to think what my phone bill will be like, Dun Eideann 'aint exactly doon yon road!!

Yes its sad to see so many Scots against the language even among the SMP's.I can't understand why, as it definately defines Alba from sasainn.
I have no intentions of loosing my identity, no matter how far I roam!
If I could speak fluently and there was a community that you could live in where English was not a requirement.I would never speak English again,except where there was no other way of getting around it.
The poetess Margaret cameron wrote these lines...

Dh` fhalbh do ghu`isaich `na duslach fhaseuch
your pine wood has become a dusty desert

`s tha do dhoin air sgaoil s` gach ai`te
and your people are scattered everywhere.
Sad Sad Sad

Beannach leibh BG smurfin flower
Abieuan

rs_azzuri wrote:
If that's your shopping list for tomorrow I despair - you'll give yourself a heart attack man!
Naw, naw, the booze and fags will get me first !!

SLG wrote:
Watson's dictionary gives cnò for nut and cnò-thalmhainn for peanut.
Thanks, i hadn't heard that one.
If i write it every time i buy a bag i'll get used to it.

Babygael wrote:
Ciamar a tha thu? A bheil thu ag irraidh chupa ti/cofaidh agus briscogen teoclaid?
Chan eil dona, BG, tha mi ag iarraidh cupa cofaidh agus briscaidean seoclaid gu dearbh !

Sitting an exam sounds quite tough, but that will certainly get you studying!
One thing though - what if it's a bad phone line Shocked

Tha am pathadh orm - i,m going for a coffee Smile
Tioraidh.

Hai, well here are some of the differences we were speaking about earlier,like teoclaid for example.I spelt it the way I learnt it from the college tutor.

I'm not worried about the phone lines either,I've never had a problem before.Anyway, I can always use my mobile if needed!

Whew! its starting to get hot around here , its almost 32 degrees and its currently night! I'd sleep out in the back yard if I was'nt scared of the bogeyman!

BG sunny PDT_Aliboronz_09

You'll be happy to know guys we have introduced a specific Gàidhlig forum - so now you can go off there and chat to/learn from each other in Gàidhlig as much as you want!

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads