Goldie accuses Labour of losing ‘war on neds’see - http://www.theherald.co.uk/politics/60550.html
Goldie accuses Labour of losing ‘war on neds’
LABOUR'S onslaught on youth crime, which was central to its election campaign three years ago, has resulted in virtually no action against under-16s, according to new figures.
Antisocial behaviour orders came into force in October 2004 and, by the end of September 2005, only two had been granted against teenagers, while controversial dispersal orders – supposedly needed to break up crowds of hostile youths holding communities in fear – were granted only three times.
The figures were obtained by Annabel Goldie, Tory leader, in answer to a parliamentary question asked of Hugh Henry, deputy justice minister.
The "war on neds" was at the heart of Labour's last Holyrood manifesto and caused tension with Liberal Democrats when incorporated in the partnership agreement. But youth offending was up 5% last year, while ministerial targets were to cut it by 10% by this year.
Figures late last year revealed there were 1260 young people who offended five times or more in six months, compared with a target of 1081. These teenagers were responsible for 30% of offence-based referrals.
In 2004, almost one in 20 children in Scotland was referred to hearings, either for protection or for offending. More than 17,000 were referred for offences, an increase of 6%.
Of the powers that came in last year, the most commonly used were fixed-penalty notices for noise nuisance, used 33 times in the first nine months. In the first six months, no parenting orders were granted and just one tagging order was made against an under-16.
Ms Goldie said yesterday: "This was Mr McConnell's flagship policy for the 2003 election and this legislation was driven through … at speed.
"We now see that the very conditions about which Mr McConnell was so concerned largely continue to exist in our communities unaddressed. It is clear the provisions of the act, so far, have had minimal effect. This is clearly a measure of little consequence.
"This government is scared to take tough action and tough decisions because what the public want isn't more laws but more police in our communities visible to the miscreants."
She added: "The executive said they needed all these new provisions, all the tools in the box, as one minister put it. Well, tools in the box without the mechanics who know how to handle them are no use."
A spokeswoman for the executive said: "Scotland has more police officers on the streets than ever before. But the police cannot tackle antisocial behaviour on their own. They need to work in partnership with a range of local agencies, like local authorities.
"There is no question the extra powers were needed and these have been backed by additional resources. Communities were crying out for help and we make no apology for responding. Those new powers are being increasingly used by local agencies and those lessons are being learned and communicated across the country.
"We have always made clear that this is not about setting artificial targets for use of measures. It's about local agencies responding to the needs of their local communities by using the full range of measures available to them – as and when it is appropriate."
At Westminster yesterday, Charles Clarke, home secretary, unveiled new "super asbos" to protect the public from dangerous criminals.
Violent Offender Orders are part of Mr Clarke's response to a series of high-profile murders by offenders on probation.
I agree with Rosie Kane, I don't think they should use the expression 'ned'. You can be a ned without being a criminal.
| Quote: | | At Westminster yesterday, Charles Clarke, home secretary, unveiled new "super asbos" to protect the public from dangerous criminals. |
Should dangerous criminals not be in the jail?
| SLG wrote: | | I agree with Rosie Kane, I don't think they should use the expression 'ned'. You can be a ned without being a criminal. |
Well maybe not a convict or anything, but giving abuse to old ladies and such...
If you're anti-social, you're not a ned. You're an idiot in sportswear.
| SLG wrote: | | Quote: | | At Westminster yesterday, Charles Clarke, home secretary, unveiled new "super asbos" to protect the public from dangerous criminals. |
Should dangerous criminals not be in the jail?  |
Well said!
Re: Goldie accuses Labour of losing ‘war on neds’ | rs_azzuri wrote: | see - http://www.theherald.co.uk/politics/60550.html
Goldie accuses Labour of losing ‘war on neds’
LABOUR'S onslaught on youth crime, which was central to its election campaign three years ago, has resulted in virtually no action against under-16s, according to new figures.
Antisocial behaviour orders came into force in October 2004 and, by the end of September 2005, only two had been granted against teenagers, while controversial dispersal orders – supposedly needed to break up crowds of hostile youths holding communities in fear – were granted only three times.
I wonder whaur these "dispersal orders" were granted.Only last week residents in Knightsridge were told they were mair or less tae poor tae be granted ony sort ae asbo against youths terrorising the community but a few miles doon the road in the mair weel tae dae Mid Calder they were granted wan a few months ago wi nae problems at all.It seems the postcode lottery applies tae asbos as weel then.Nae surprise thaur onyways.
stuarty
90% of neds will have some sort of conviction. they show little or no respect for others with their behaviour and attitude toward decent people going about their business. if i were buying a home and saw loads of neds milling about i would not live there. rosie kanes about not calling them neds was just another of her publicity stunts, what should they be called, ' cheeky monkeys' 'wayward darlings' ??
my first post, stick with me.
Welcome to the forum Stuart. I can't say I'm a fan of gangs of neds hanging about the street. They do intimidate folk and I wouldn't want that happening on my street. But I'd say rather than 90% having some sort of conviction, I'd put it closer to about 10%. I think most of them are just kids that hang about in the same group. Especially in small towns, it usually seems to be just a small number of folk actually committing criminal acts. Just my view though.
I'm sure Kane was after some publicity, but it is important that folk aren't criminalised because of their social grouping. I think the name ned is fine, I just don't think we should use expressions like "war on neds". We should wage war on criminals.
| stuarty wrote: | | 90% of neds will have some sort of conviction. |
Most of them are quite young and while a lot seem to be regularly in contact with the police, there doesn't seem to be a lot of convictions handed out.
| Quote: | if i were buying a home and saw loads of neds milling about i would not live there.
Nor I.
| stuarty wrote: | what should they be called, ' cheeky monkeys' 'wayward darlings' ??
Wee bastirts that need a guid kick in the erse.
Katie1984
I say war on neds!
There is a group of them hang about in Teviot Row causing trouble and making horrid comments particularly to the girls but nothing seems to be done about it.
They should be moved on so that students can go about our business in peace without being whistled at and other stuff.
| Katie1984 wrote: | I say war on neds!
There is a group of them hang about in Teviot Row causing trouble and making horrid comments particularly to the girls but nothing seems to be done about it.
They should be moved on so that students can go about our business in peace without being whistled at and other stuff. |
I agree wi ye there Katie its a damn disgrace whit they`re daein tae yees at yon University id much rather they were threatening the old folk and vandalising peoples properties.Ghastly neds.
| Katie1984 wrote: | There is a group of them hang about in Teviot Row causing trouble and making horrid comments particularly to the girls but nothing seems to be done about it.
They should be moved on so that students can go about our business in peace without being whistled at and other stuff. |
How do they get in if they're just neds?
I presume she means out the front on Bristo Sq. They're not neds. There may be some kids that hang about, usually skate boarders, but I've never seen any neds there. However, if Katie truly is suffering serious intimitation from some folk there, she should inform the polis.
Katie1984
I certainly DON'T mean the skateboarders - they are now a traditional part of Bristo Square and they cause trouble to no one. In fact they add to the atmosphere of the place.
However there are a bunch of drunken neds who hang about there who have no business to be there and they should be moved on as this is a part of the city centre and it should be a nice student area and not full of drunks making comments about the girls etc.
And no I don't think it is ok for them to go somewhere else and bother other people - point is they should not be harassing ANYONE!
should these people just retire to the lovely council house estates on the outskirts of the city then Katie?
i used to wear tracksuits and hang about on the streets and also occasionally drank as well. I dont have any convictions, never damaged any property got involved in gangs etc. this is the case for the majority who eventually grow out of these things and also become old enough to get into pubs, as usual its the minority that are used by tabliods to tar everyone and cause hysteria.
| parkhead_rfb wrote: | | i used to wear tracksuits and hang about on the streets |
Somehow I guessed as much