Hazel
HawaiiThis is not as far removed as it first appears. For some reason, I'd never seen it. If you live in UK, you might want to just for fun. Go to the US flag site below and click Hawaii. Talk about British!
http://www.50states.com/flag/
wisnaeme
Re: Hawaii | Hazel wrote: | This is not as far removed as it first appears. For some reason, I'd never seen it. If you live in UK, you might want to just for fun. Go to the US flag site below and click Hawaii. Talk about British!
http://www.50states.com/flag/ |
Ah ken yon place wull take American Express and Visa but do they take unionists as weel? Ah'm sure they they would feel richt at home there and Hawaii would be welcome tae them.
Hazel
I would guess they do since they joined ours. A bit of a conflict in my head though that they joined ours with a British flag copy.
wisnaeme
| Hazel wrote: | I would guess they do since they joined ours. A bit of a conflict in my head though that they joined ours with a British flag copy.  |
Aye, ye got tae keep yer eyes on them sleekit, devious unionists. Can ye think o a better way fer them tae plant yon rag of a flag in somebody else's country,especially wan that they've already been booted oot off. Ah wid hae thoucht Canada wid hae been mair tae thur liking or maybe thur's twa many French thur.
PS. It's nae called ra British flag, it's called ra Union Jack on account of it maistly being made up frae bits o ra Scottish flag and ra English flag (ah don't know whit happened tae ra Welsh bit or who Jack was ) after ra union between Scotland and England with Wales and Ireland and any other bits of real estate England had got it's greedy paws on. The British Isles used tae be called Great Britain but it's nae so great any mair so it's now called the United Kindom (UK) though not fer much longer if we Scottish nationalists win oor fight fer independence frae England as perhaps you may have understood from the contents of this web site..
IF Convenor
Hawaii was "discovered" by Captain James Cook of the Royal Navy. In fact he was killed there during his second visit. I have a feeling the Union Flag in the corner of the Hawaii flag has a lot to do with Capt. Cook.
Cook's father was a Scot.
kathyv
And, wasn't Hawaii once a British Colony?
Chookie
And your point is?
kathyv
Maybe the inclusion of the Union Jack on Hawaii's flag honors their old ties to GB? Isn't that why Australia includes the British flag on theirs?
No point really, just discussion!