Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
scottishstuart

Henry I or IX or both ??

Hi,

I have just read an article about the Jacobite succession, and how James VII was deposed, his son was claimed in Jacobitism as James II & VIII, who in turn had two sons Charles III (Bonnie Prince Charlie) & Henry IX.

My question is why is Henry numbered only IX when he would have been the first Henry of Scots. In Jacobite succession should he not have been named Henry the I&IX, it's just something i've been wondering - hopefully some1 will be able to help me out.

Scottishstuart,
Just like today's Monarch. She is titled Elizabeth 11 when there has never been an Elizabeth of Scotland, just an Elizabeth of England. Another case of distorted history.
Blackleaf

It's not a case of distorted history.

In 1953, a legal case, MacCormick v. Lord Advocate (1953 SC 396), was taken to contest the right of the Queen to title herself Elizabeth II within Scotland, arguing that to do so would be a breach of the Act of Union. The case, however, was lost on the grounds that the pursuers had not title to sue the Crown, and also that the numbering of monarchs was part of the Royal Prerogative, and thus not governed by the Act of Union. It was decided that future British monarchs would be numbered according to either their English or Scottish predecessors, whichever number is higher

Elizabeth II is higher than Elizabeth I, so she is now known as Elizabeth II throughout the whole of the UK.

If a James ever comes to the Throne, he will be known as James VIII, even though England only ever had a James I and James II.
agentmancuso

Blackleaf wrote:
In 1953, a legal case, MacCormick v. Lord Advocate (1953 SC 396), was taken to contest the right of the Queen to title herself Elizabeth II within Scotland, arguing that to do so would be a breach of the Act of Union. The case, however, was lost

The initial case was lost, yes. But it went to Appeal at the Inner House of the Court of Session, where the presiding judge, Lord Cooper, accepted that the Crown "failed to show that there is or ever was, Parliamentary authority for the adoption by her Majesty of the name and "numeral" which in fact were adopted on Her Majesty's Accession and have been used ever since."

The reason is simple; the Scottish parliamentarians who framed the Act of Union knew full well what they were doing. The Union parliament has no authority to overturn the natural numerical order. Legally, the notion that 'parliament is sovereign' does not apply in Scotland.
agentmancuso

Re: Henry I or IX or both ??

scottishstuart wrote:
My question is why is Henry numbered only IX when he would have been the first Henry of Scots. In Jacobite succession should he not have been named Henry the I&IX,

He would have been Henry I & IX had he ever sat on the throne. But as he had no desire - and no chance - to do so the point remained purely academic.
Runaway Weegie

She's not known as Queen Elizabeth II throughout the UK. In my dad's house she's known by a name that's unprintable.

The court case regarding Elizabeth Windsor's title was a couple of hundred years after Henry was kicking about so probably isn't relevant one way or the other.

Kings and queens have lots of names. Like birthdays one isn't enough for them. Although he was called Henry, if he wanted he could have chosen a different regnal name when he acceded to the throne and the problem would not have arisen.

Rumour has it that Prince Chuck wants to call himself King George, apparently he's not keen on having the same name as a king who got deposed and beheaded. Perhaps he's afraid we might do it again.

Whether she won her court ruling or not, to call herself Eliz 11 is to attempt distort history. She can title herself that but, it doesn't make her  any more the 2nd Eliz. of Britain, than if she called herelf the Queen of Sheba, because she isn't.  Fact is Fact.

While the troll Blackheid is legally right ... both Squeegee and Messheid nailed it.

In Scotland the greater majority have NEVER accepted that ruling. The pillar boxes that were blown up early in her reign testifies to that!  And the Corries second most popular song was ...

Scottish Breakaway (Coronation Coronach)

Chorus:
Nae Liz the Twa, nae Lilibet the One
Nae Liz will ever dae
We'll mak' oor land Republican
In a Scottish breakaway

Noo Scotland hasnae got a King
And she hasnae got a Queen
How can ye hae the Second Liz
When the First yin's never been

Her man he's cried the Duke o' Edinburgh
He's wan o' the kiltie Greeks
Och dinnae blaw ma kilt awa'
For it's Lizzie wears the breeks

He's a handsome man and he looks like Don Juan
He's beloved by the weaker sex
But it disnae really matter at a'
'Cause it's Lizzie that signs the cheques

Noo her sister Meg's got a bonny pair o' legs
But she didnae want a German or a Greek
Poor aul' Peter was her choice but he didnae suit the boys
So they sellt him up the creek

But Meg was fly an' she beat them by an' by
Wi' Tony hyphenated Armstrong
Behind the pomp and play the question o' the day
Wis, Who did Suzie Wong

Sae here's tae the lion, the bonnie rampant lion,
An' a lang streitch tae his paw
Gie a Hampden roar an' it's oot the door
Ta-ta tae Chairlie's maw!

Very Happy
Dave Coull

the Corries second most popular song was ...

Scottish Breakaway (Coronation Coronach)

Chorus:
Nae Liz the Twa, nae Lilibet the One
Nae Liz will ever dae
We'll mak' oor land Republican
In a Scottish breakaway

Noo Scotland hasnae got a King
And she hasnae got a Queen
How can ye hae the Second Liz
When the First yin's never been

etc.

About forty years ago, I used to have an LP of Scottish Republican songs with that on it. But I loaned it out to somebody and never got it back. Still, I  knew the words and sang it myself quite a few times. Just in case anybody doesn't already know this, the tune to sing it to is "The Sash".

Coolio ... those words were on the post IMMEDIATELY preceding yours.  

They didn't need to be repeated in a stupid quote box!  Talk about a waste of space!!! Evil or Very Mad
Alasdair

Blackadder wrote:
Coolio ... those words were on the post IMMEDIATELY preceding yours.  

They didn't need to be repeated in a stupid quote box!  Talk about a waste of space!!! Evil or Very Mad

Ahh, the hypocrisy! Twisted Evil
Dave Coull

The poster using the pseudo-name
Blackadder wrote:
Coolio

That is just one of the terms "Blackadder" has used to refer to myself. He also refers to me as "coolie-boy", a term which is both offensive and downright racist. Like I said
I had been prepared to quietly let matters drop. But where quietly letting matters drop is concerned, it requires two to do that. Since my willingness to do so has not been reciprocated, I repeat that making fun of folks' names is a bit reminiscent of a primary school playground. But even that wouldn't be quite so bad if it happened between folk on equal terms. That is, if it was possible for both parties' real names to have fun made of them. Now, there is plenty of proof of who I am. Scores of folk on the internet, including many on this forum, have met me in person, loads of details about me are a matter of public record, and, despite some sceptics taking the trouble to check, everything I have ever said about myself on line turned out to be true.  But "Blackadder" is just a net-name, not a personal name. Anyone who, while sheltering behind a pseudo identity, is offensive about the real name of a real person, is, in my opinion, acting in a cowardly fashion.

Every time the poster using the false identity "Blackadder" uses some distortion of my name,  whatever the topic under discussion, the topic will then become the fact that he chooses to twist the real name of a real person, while himself hiding behind a false identity, in a cowardly fashion.

Alice, anyone been following recent posts in this section under the thread "What's In A Name" would know that I made a point of mentioning the overuse of these quote boxes with Coolio and the way he utilised them unnecessarily.

What's hypocritical about that??
Alasdair

... just passing through ...

In that case ...  salute
Dave Coull

I only very recently started using quote boxes.

Before that, several posters criticised me for NOT using them, saying it wasn't always clear whose remarks I was commenting on.

Now I am being criticised for following other posters' advice to use quote boxes.

Well, you can never please everybody, so it is pointless even trying.

The poster using the pseudo-name
Blackadder wrote:
Coolio

That is just one of the terms "Blackadder" has used to refer to myself. He also refers to me as "coolie-boy", a term which is both offensive and downright racist. Like I said
I had been prepared to quietly let matters drop. But where quietly letting matters drop is concerned, it requires two to do that. Since my willingness to do so has not been reciprocated, I repeat that making fun of folks' names is a bit reminiscent of a primary school playground. But even that wouldn't be quite so bad if it happened between folk on equal terms. That is, if it was possible for both parties' real names to have fun made of them. Now, there is plenty of proof of who I am. Scores of folk on the internet, including many on this forum, have met me in person, loads of details about me are a matter of public record, and, despite some sceptics taking the trouble to check, everything I have ever said about myself on line turned out to be true.  But "Blackadder" is just a net-name, not a personal name. Anyone who, while sheltering behind a pseudo identity, is offensive about the real name of a real person, is, in my opinion, acting in a cowardly fashion.

Every time the poster using the false identity "Blackadder" uses some distortion of my name,  whatever the topic under discussion, the topic will then become the fact that he chooses to twist the real name of a real person, while himself hiding behind a false identity, in a cowardly fashion.

No ... you are being noted for the over-frequent use of quote boxes unnecessarily!   It's stupid to use a quote box from the post immediately preceding your own.  We can all scroll back a couple of spaces and read the previous comment, for goodness sake! Frankly ... unless you're being sarcastic ... it's a waste of time and space! Evil or Very Mad
Alasdair

Dave Coull wrote:
I only very recently started using quote boxes.

And for that you must be applauded [applause] and cheering [/applause]

the poster with the affrontery to refer to himself as Blackadder wrote:
No ... you are being noted for the over-frequent use of quote boxes unnecessarily!   It's stupid to use a quote box from the post immediately preceding your own.  We can all scroll back a couple of spaces and read the previous comment, for goodness sake! Frankly ... unless you're being sarcastic ... it's a waste of time and space!

However, you must surely admit that there are times, when quoting a particular element of a lengthy post where multiple short quotes or a quote referring to a singular point are useful for the clarifiacation of the issue being referred to.

Dave why keep repeating the above?

I've known BA for well over a year both on and off forum (via pm's), I have yet to see him act in a cowardly fashion.  Twisting the real name of a person as you call it, on BA's part, is actually referring to that person by a nickname.  He does it with others, as no doubt Alice will confirm  Wink

A coward in my eyes is someone who deliberately targets individuals, or organisations, publicly trying to disgrace them from behind a keyboard, yet will say nothing to their face/faces.  A coward in my eyes, is someone who if they don't get their own way, throws the dummy out of the pram, threatens legal action, or threatens to run to national newspapers.  
Dave Coull

Carol wrote what was clearly intended as a personal attack on myself, and which will be answered as such.

carol wrote:
A coward in my eyes is someone who deliberately targets individuals, or organisations, publicly trying to disgrace them from behind a keyboard, yet will say nothing to their face/faces

In late 2004/early 2005, myself, Holebender, Chicmac, Donald, Keri, Niall, and some others set up "Independence First, the non-party-political campaign for a referendum on independence for Scotland". But from the start there were a tension between those who genuinely accepted differences, and those who didn't. So far as you are concerned, you consistently showed little understanding of the concept of a broadly-based campaign, regularly seeking to get everybody to toe a "line". You were consistently in favour of censorship, of closing down discussion amongst members. That reached its head at an IF meeting in which members of the Communist Party of Scotland played a significant part, at which you got your way over closing down the Members' Forum, and even banning ALL communication by e-mail amongst members! It was that which led fifteen members, including myself, to resign from IF.  .

I don't see the point in me endlessly repeating all that, especially at actions where what we are doing is seeking to influence members of the public who probably aren't too interested in such details, but I will repeat it if and when necessary. There is nothing I have ever said "from behind a keyboard" that I would not be prepared to repeat to people face to face.

carol wrote:
threatens legal action

I have several times received solicitor's letters stating "My client wishes you to withdraw......", and I have frequently been THREATENED with legal action. I have myself considered taking legal action on a couple of occasions. Not in order to damage anybody financially, but simply in order to have an opportunity to prove, IN PUBLIC, that what I said was the truth.

carol wrote:
or threatens to run to national newspapers

Now you have completely gone off the point!

What could possibly be "cowardly" about being willing to debate publicly? Surely, if anything, many folk would be likely to think that NOT being willing to debate things nationally showed the greater timidity?

Turning to the poster who calls himself "Blackadder",

carol wrote:
Dave why keep repeating

Why ask a question which has already been answered?

UNLIKE Blackadder, who has mentioned the possibility of trying to get myself "banned", and who has in fact called for Blackleaf to be "banned", I am, in general, against censorship. But of course that doesn't mean I will let things pass without comment!

carol wrote:
Twisting the real name of a person as you call it, on BA's part, is actually referring to that person by a nickname.

The so-called "nick-name" coolie-boy was and is offensive and racist. That "Blackadder" alternates this with "coolio" doesn't make his habit any less offensive.

carol wrote:
He does it with others

He may do it with others, but there are obvious differences. (1) where what is being twisted is simply a pseudonym, like "Blackadder" itself, that has no bearing at all on the person's actual name. (2) there is also the question of context. A good friend of mine might call me "you old so-and-so", and I think nothing of this, while, exactly the same words, coming from a complete stranger, would be offensie. Blackadder was in the "complete stranger" category. (3) In Alasdair's case,  it is his FIRST name that is being distorted. I do not know of a single other case where Blackadder has twisted somebody's SURNAME (4) In any case, Alasdair hasn't objected, while I have. For Blackadder to persist when he knows perfectly well that there has been an objection that he is being offensive, and what that objection is, is deliberately provocative. If he chooses to be deliberately provocative, then, obviously, he is in no position to complain about provoking a reaction EVERY TIME.

carol wrote:
I have yet to see him act in a cowardly fashion

He may not act in a cowardly fashion in other respects, however, in this particular respect, yes, I do consider twisting the real name of a real person while hiding behind a pseudonym to be cowardly.

Alice ... I freely admit that yes there are times,when quoting a particular element of a lengthy post where multiple short quotes or a quote referring to a singular point are useful for the clarification of the issue being referred to.

But not from the immediately preceding post .... especially if it's not a lengthy, didactic and frankly, sleep-inducing post like we've seen from certain posters!

Yes, I've done one or two myself ... but not (hopefully) in such a way it bores the readers to near stupefaction!  This forum has more than enough of those.

Personally, I had my fill of lectures at University.  I much prefer posts that are short and to the point .... unlike this one which putting even ME to sleep!!!

But when does a post become an attack?  Carol is one of the sweetest posters I've ever had the pleasure of having online fun with. Even if she is a multiple murderess with her exes buried in the rhubarb patch. "A personal attack" is certainly not in her post. Just a point she wanted to make.

None of my witches (appropriate for the date) are nasty, vicious ladies attacking anyone ... except perhaps me. But read our posts and you'll see it's nothing but disguised camraderie!!

It's the likes of a silly old duffer who's forgotten what it is to be young and have fun. He calls ME childish ... but HE's the one who needs to grow up!!!

Blackadder wrote:

Carol is one of the sweetest posters I've ever had the pleasure of having online fun with.

Embarassed eerm please note peeps (folk looking in) there is no hanky panky here, no cyber sex stuff, no web cams, just plain fun  Wink Ask Mairead, BG, Alice, RH  Rolling Eyes they all participate willingly  Wink

Who's going to believe you, Carol?

Not me for starters.  I know what you lot are like! Twisted Evil

You were consistently in favour of censorship, of closing down discussion amongst members. That reached its head at an IF meeting in which members of the Communist Party of Scotland played a significant part, at which you got your way over closing down the Members' Forum, and even banning ALL communication by e-mail amongst members! It was that which led fifteen members, including myself, to resign from IF.  .

I'll say again you are a coward from behind a keyboard, as well as distorting the facts, the meeting concerned you and others chose not to attend. You had every opportunity to challenge any decisions from that meeting and other meetings, face to face, you chose not too.  

You also single out individuals with your petty attacks, in some cases ones that aren't even on here (definitely not on a regular basis) to defend themselves.

Hell mend anyone that DARES cross Dave Coull

Blackadder wrote:
Who's going to believe you, Carol?

Not me for starters.  I know what you lot are like! Twisted Evil

BA just because I described you as tasty in another world doesn't mean I have the hots for you  Razz anyway it's the other way around  Rolling Eyes

You wish!!! Twisted Evil

I know  Wink

och Dave,
Get a life and stop going on about names. Blackadder frequently refers to me as Messheid, along with an assortment of other names. It's known as 'taking the mickey' and is just fun. Anyway, sticks and stones and all that.
I got called moron the other day on the forum, but I don't worry about that, because I and those who know me know I'm not a moron. Lighten up and have a laugh.

The real COOLIO by the way is a multiple award-winning Rap artiste and actor, who's had a pretty colourful life before becoming the HUGE star he is today.

He made the ONE rap song I really love above all others "Gangsta's Paradise" ... it is the 15th most successful single of all time.  It went quadruple platinum! You can listen to it on YouTube. Look up the lyrics too and appreciate the thoughts that are behind them.

Then come back and tell me that calling anyone COOLIO is an insult!  Evil or Very Mad
Dave Coull

mairead wrote:
Och Dave, Get a life

Got one, thanks.

I'm a naturally optimistic and positive sort of person. My mother taught me to "count my blessings", and I know I have plenty of blessings to count, although not in a material sense of course. Don't make the mistake of thinking that, if somebody jokes all the time, they must automatically be happier than somebody who jokes a bit less. When I was working as a bricklayer, I once worked with a guy called Derek, who was a real life-and-soul-of-the-party type. Derek was always laughing, always clowning around. His sixteen year old daughter found his dead body dangling from the rafters one morning, with a noose around his neck. He had hung himself. There had been nothing to indicate he would do so.  He had been laughing and kidding around right up until the day he committed suicide.

mairead wrote:
I got called moron the other day on the forum, but I don't worry about that

That's nothing, I got called a "moronic parasitic Nazi boot boy". But since, according to the eminent Doctors Agentmancuso and Holebender, the person describing me in these terms is certifiably insane, I'm not too worried.
Dave Coull

Carol wrote what was INDISPUTABLY intended as a personal attack on myself, and which will be answered as such.

carol wrote:
I'll say again you are a coward from behind a keyboard

And I will say again there is nothing I have ever said "from behind a keyboard" that I would not be prepared to say to folk face to face.

carol wrote:
the meeting concerned you and others chose not to attend

The fact is, MOST members of Independence First chose not to attend most meetings! So far as that particular meeting is concerned, even Donald, who lives in Glasgow, just a few streets from the meeting venue, chose not to attend.

In my particular case, my reasons for choosing not to attend that particular meeting were (1) I had already promised to take my 85 year old disabled and widowed sister out on a shopping expedition that particular day (she had said she would pay for petrol for the car), and (2) even if I could have disappointed my 85 year old disabled and widowed sister by re-arranging that commitment for some other day, Glasgow is a long way away, and I couldn't really afford to go there.

But the fact that most members of IF did not attend that particular meeting doesn't alter what happened there. It is a fact that you had consistently been in favour of censorship, of closing down discussion amongst IF members. It is a fact that, at an IF meeting in Glasgow, you got your way over closing down the Independence First Members' Forum, and you even got ALL communications between members by e-mail banned. And it is a fact that is what led fifteen members, including myself, to resign from IF.  

Now, I don't see the point in me endlessly repeating all that, especially at events where what we should be doing is seeking to influence members of the public who probably aren't too interested in such details. But I will repeat it if and when necessary. Like now, for instance, when YOU are making it necessary. And I repeat that there is nothing I have ever said "from behind a keyboard" that I would not be prepared to repeat to folk face to face.
Dave Coull

Blackadder wrote:
The real COOLIO by the way is a multiple award-winning Rap artiste

Blackadder wrote:
come back and tell me that calling anyone COOLIO is an insult!

I have a black tee-shirt with THIS  IS  WHAT  COOL  LOOKS  LIKE  on the front, in white lettering. It was a gift from my mother-in-law, who is actually only three years older than myself. From her, I accept this as a genuinely friendly gesture. A complete stranger messing around with my surname, I'm not so sure. Especially the "coolie-boy" variation. Especially if the complete stranger in question is himself using a false name.

I now accept that there was no particularly malicious intent. But I'm still not too happy about complete strangers messing with my surname, I still think my reaction to this makes sense, and I still reserve the right to copy and paste all of my previous reactions ad nauseum any time I consider this necessary.

Coolio ... the use of "coolie-boy" was not meant in a racist way ... and I said that aaages ago. I think I only used it twice anyway! Once you flagged up the racist overtones of it, I was as appalled as you were! If you want a personal apology for that, you have it, willingly!

Unfortunately, I have many friends called Dave/David and the name doesn't lend itself at all well with parody, whereas your surname was just begging to be played with. So you got Coolio, whom as you can now see I hope, is a person of some admiration for changing his life around. No-one was making a fool of you!

My name is Edmund, not a lot of fun with that either, but my surname Blackadder (derived from the Olde English words 'blaec' meaning 'black', but possibly in this context 'deep', plus 'adar'- 'winding' - a deep, winding, river) has been lampooned for centuries. I'm used to it now. But it is an honourable (?) name in the annals of History. When I gave Messrs Curtis and Elton access to my family histories, I had no idea how infamous it would become ... or how funny! But, I did earn a pile of dosh to get the family pile into good nick, and fund my extravagant lifestyle.

My doctor is actually called Doctor Darling! And what HE'S put up with in the past makes both of us pale into insignificance ... poor sod!

So anyway, I'm happy to see you now accept there was no malice intended ... no insult at all! Very Happy

Doesn't stop me thinking you're a boring old fart though!  Looks like a few people on this forum called you on that one! So, it's still handbags at dawn if you're gonna be up for it ....

You know what they say ... Have at thee, varlet!!! Twisted Evil Twisted Evil
Alasdair

Blackadder wrote:
Unfortunately, I have many friends called Dave/David and the name doesn't lend itself at all well with parody ...

My brother's name is David ... certainly, calling him Davina, used to be an effective wind-up, although the fact that he and my sister came back with Alice and a song Rolling Eyes made me lay-off a bit ... and no, I'm not telling you what the song was ... although in hindsight it was quite amusing.

Afterall, I'd have had to be pretty childish and petty to get upset by some name calling.
Dave Coull

Alasdair wrote:
My brother's name is David ... certainly, calling him Davina, used to be an effective wind-up, although the fact that he and my sister came back with Alice and a song Rolling Eyes made me lay-off a bit ... and no, I'm not telling you what the song was ...

Well, I did say I have a huge memory store of songs about practically everything, and yes, I can think of at least three songs about "Alice", and I can guess which of these three songs would be the most embarrassing for a young laddie.

But, of course, I'm not going to descend to that level......
Alasdair

Gladly, I'm not so young anymore Wink

Alice?  Alice?  Who the feck is Alice??? Twisted Evil
Holebender

Alice well that ends well?
Dave Coull

Blackadder wrote:
I was rong abou you Coolio. You're not a boring old fart

Your apology is accepted.
Blackleaf

You're not really called Edmund Blackadder, are you?
Red Justice

Blackleaf wrote:
You're not really called Edmund Blackadder, are you?

Laughing  Laughing  Laughing

The eldest son in the family has always usually been called Edmund since 1478, with a few different names in between a various times.  I am the present incumbent, XIV of the name!  Very Happy

Now ...Blackheid ... stop being a stupid English troll and become a real poster, instead of hiding behind newspaper articles you didn't write!  Twisted Evil

carol, surely we dont all have to go over this again?  Your post was deliberately aimed at provoking Dave, the only result could be that this thread, like so many others, goes off topic and over the details of allegations that we either have made up our mind on already, or are not bothered either way.

If the thread degenerates I will recommend locking it or even deleting it.

Sorry, but I have to step in to defend Carol here, Rin-tin-tin.  

She was  provoked by being accused of making an "attacking" post by the poster I call Coolio. If you look back at the offences in this (and other) threads, you'll see Carol was positioning herself to defend me from Coolio's interminable posts about me. It wasn't necessary but she did it anyway.

Frankly, there's no-one with clean hands in this mess ... since it appears there has long been an antagonism between Coolio and some posters. He's a smug git and they get annoyed. I can see that. I just didn't know about it till after the unintentional fracas blew up between me and him.

You can't single Carol out, because it wouldn't be fair. Coolio has a tendency to twist things to suit himself (see replies to me) and is deliberately provocative. You can't deny that ... otherwise you're just drawing a blind eye over his proclivities.  I've read enough to see for myself in the past week. And as I said before ... it takes two (or more) to make an argument. Certain people just shouldn't be so sensitive!  

Blame one ... blame all ... then draw a line under it!  Either that or recommend to Idi Admin that everyone gets flagged up with a warning!  

Rant over ........ carry on, Rinters!!!  Very Happy
Dave Coull

Blackadder wrote:
Frankly, there's no-one with clean hands in this mess

Agreed.

Let him that is without sin stow the first throne.  

Blackadder wrote:
Carol was positioning herself to defend me

Only partly true.

Carol ALSO seized the opportunity to attack me, as so many, many times before. Rinty and many others are of course aware of this. Carol's antagonism does not arise from things I have said on this forum, but PRE-DATES my very first post on Our Scotland. Her antagonism arises from the dispute which led to a split in the Independence First campaign. A dispute in which she favoured an authoritarian "solution" to IF's problems, while I took the libertarian, anti-censorship side.

I only mention this to explain. I have no desire to go over all of that interminable argument yet again.

Carol clearly took the thread in the direction of digging up old fights with dave.

The mods have discussed this previously, if it continues I will discuss it with them again and I am sure it will not be tolerated.

Our Scotland does not take sides in the internal wranglings of pro-independence groups and it is not the forum for unsubstantiated allegations based on opinion and personal interpretations.
Dave Coull

Re: Henry I or IX or both ??

scottishstuart wrote:
Hi,I have just read an article about the Jacobite succession

Does the article mention Prince Michael of Abertay, the present day Jacobite claimant?

scottishstuart wrote:
My question is why is Henry numbered only IX when he would have been the first Henry of Scots.

Because the aim of Bonnie Prince Charlie (the only man in history to be named after three sheepdogs, as Billy Connolly pointed out) and of his Jacobite cronies was to become kings of ENGLAND, so the last king who counted was Henry the 8th.

What a load of tosh Dave, and I at least gave you credit for knowing a wee bit about Scottish history.
Charles Edward Stewart came to reclaim the THRONES, (note the S) of his grandfather, not any one particular throne.
And as to your reply about the Jacobite succeession, who is dragging up old crap now????? Seems you have one rule for yoursel and one for everyone else.
Dave Coull

mairead wrote:
Charles Edward Stewart came to reclaim the THRONES, (note the S) of his grandfather, not any one particular throne.

But whereas some of his Scottish supporters would have settled for the kingdom of Scotland, Charlie was determined on claiming the English throne.

mairead wrote:
as to your reply about the Jacobite succeession, who is dragging up old crap now?????

Be fair, at least my post was on-topic.........

Some folk would probably regard the whole question of a "Jacobite succession" as being "old crap". But this is the History section after all, and at least I did seek to make a link to more recent history, by raising a question regarding a more RECENT Jacobite claimant.

mairead wrote:
Seems you have one rule for yoursel and one for everyone else

Who, me?

Not guilty. m'lady.

I am not a Ruler, I have never claimed to be a Ruler, I have never aspired to be a Ruler, I don't make the rules here on this Our Scotland forum, and I am not responsible for enforcing the rules here on this Our Scotland forum, so, since I have nothing at all to do with rules, it can't possibly be true that I have one rule for me and another for everyone else.

This is such a useless thread. Whatever anyone thinks of Henry I/IX ... he was a priest and made no advances for the British thrones ... any of them. Neither did his successors. He was probably gay anyway!  So what's the point?  The retender Michael is a fool if he thinks he has any chance!

No Stewart will ever bear the title King or Queen in Scotland, England, Ireland or Wales ever again.  Hopefully, we'll get shot of the "Windsors-Mountbattens" soon and we can end this outdated institution once and for all.    

Finally ... I will no longer refer to the poster I call Coolio as such.  This should please him since he objected to his surname being played about with.  Instead, I'll come to his first name now that I've found a word to replace it.  Ex-Coolio ... is now ... DEVIOUS!

Because after reading so many of your posts, I find this is the one that suits you best ... since you are without doubt, a devious and manipulative sod, happy to be alienating everyone you contend with. However you manage to live with this ... well, that's your affair, Devious ... Anyone with half a brain who's not you, should know you for what you are!!!  Evil or Very Mad
Holebender

Blackadder wrote:
Whatever anyone thinks of Henry I/IX ... he was a priest and made no advances for the British thrones ... any of them. Neither did his successors. He was probably gay anyway!

A probably gay priest with successors! How did he manage that then?
Dave Coull

Blackadder wrote:
I will no longer refer to the poster I call Coolio as such.  This should please him since he objected to his surname being played about with.

A lot depends on context. If a good friend calls you "you old so-and-so", that is a very different thing from exactly the same words being used by a total stranger. So far as internet discussion forums like this one are concerned, I think that, in general, twisting folks names is a childish thing to do, the sort of activity you would expect to find in a primary school playground. It's not the sort of thing I would choose to go in for myself. I did think it a bit cowardly for somebody who was himself hiding behind a false identity to take the mick out of the real name of a real person, and I still think so. I did think the first attempt both objectionable and borderline racist. But yes, having said that, it's true I would have less objection where my first name is concerned, instead of my surname.

Returning briefly to the actual topic, I did send a couple of posts which were actually on-topic, despite Henry I/IX being hardly the most rivetting of historical subjects.

Blackadder wrote:
This is such a useless thread. Whatever anyone thinks of Henry I/IX ... he was a priest and made no advances for the British thrones ... any of them. Neither did his successors. He was probably gay anyway!  So what's the point? The retender Michael is a fool if he thinks he has any chance!

No Stewart will ever bear the title King or Queen in Scotland, England, Ireland or Wales ever again.  Hopefully, we'll get shot of the "Windsors-Mountbattens" soon and we can end this outdated institution once and for all.

I agree........
agentmancuso

Holebender wrote:
A probably gay priest with successors! How did he manage that then?

Noblesse oblige?

Who can tell with priests??? Twisted Evil

Good reply agent Laughing  Laughing  Laughing

As the only peer of the realm contributing on this forum, Agent Manky ... I say "Bollocks" to Noblesse Oblige!! Twisted Evil

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> History
Our Scotland Hit Counter Scottish Top Site - Topsites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites View Site Stats Scottish Politics