Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Football
SF102

how does the league work (or not as the case may be)

So how does the SPL work then i got the jist of it from the Italian thread but i thought i'd need it explained in abit more detail so started a new one. I assume that at a set date the final 6 matches are worked out and thats how they stay is it? even if say Celtic dropped to 7th the day after the date they still play the matches as if they were still in the top 6? or does it all chop and change depending on who is where on any given day? Seems a right mess to me . . . .but then again i know naff all about football really.

PS only chose Celtic cos it was shorter to type than Rangers

Hibs would have been even shorter to type Wink
SF102

It sure woulda been . . HAD i known they was in the SPL Very Happy

Ach well, you know now.

As for how the league works. 12 teams all play each other three time. At which point the league splits into two mini-leagues of six. Each team plays each of the others in their league the once, and they try to match it so it means each team has playes each other twice home and away. I can't always work out like that though. It also means that, yes, if Celtic make it into the top six at the time of split and lose all their remaining games, they could end up with less points than the seventh placed team, they will always keep their sixth place though.

Bit of a joke really.
SF102

With a system like that it's a surprise that fans pay good money to watch a match when it could end up being a meaningless friendly (if there's such a thing between rival football teams)

g

The opposite is often the case SF. We have a few teams who would be midtable playing meaningless games involved in the race for 6th place near the end of the season followed by 4 out of the six qualifying for europe which usually means that not many of the post-split games are actually meaningless.

It is not an ideal situation but it is not the cause of meaningless fixtures anymore than having a bigger league with no split would be.
SF102

Oh right, in THAT case it's not a surprise that fans pay good money to see the matches then seing as they're not meaningless. I wonder if they'd be able to get away with that in the EPL (just praying for Man U to be in the lower half <eg>)

They`re aw money grabbing bastirts as faur as am concerned,i`d rather pay tae see the juniors noo than a load ae overpaid poseurs. Evil or Very Mad
That gits richt oan ma wick yon,seein aw they wee daft laddies runnin oot oan tae the field wi thaur lovely haircuts,nae a hair oot ae place.
I`m sure some ae them wear make up anaw!

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Football
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads