Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter

I'm devastated because ....

David Tennant is giving up Doctor Who after the next four specials!!!  Waaaah!!!   Shocked
kathyv

A world-wide day of mourning is required. Sad

Halleluja

Bite your tongue and get off my thread, woman!!! Evil or Very Mad  Evil or Very Mad

NOOOOOOOOOO. I like it here wallyheid

Get out you old witch ... this is for people who are totally devastated about something!  You can stay ONLY if you are grieving over the devastating news about David Tennant and Doctor Who!!! Evil or Very Mad

Awa ye go, ye big wean. I stopped paying attention to kids programmes when I grew up. An' further  mair, Ah'm no gaun onywhere. See.

Which shows you haven't watched it since the Rebirth!  It's not a kids show. It's a show for the entire family, with good stories and good acting! Very Happy

well, whatever turns you on.

Well, Doctor Who does ... so ..........  

It's a strong indicator of you real intelligence then isn't it.

Pardon???

Oh I think you got the message alright. Wean.

Yes ... but only after much translation.  You seemed to get lost after the first word ... and then wandered into a morass by the third.  You need to learn to choose your words better!  Twisted Evil

Na. You got it right away.

Okay ... tell me why it is constantly voted as best TV series every year since it restarted ... and Tennant wins best actor every tim .... and it ain't kids voting ... since you have to be over 16 to vote?

Cos all the weans love it. Even the big weans. OK.

Your point is ?????
Runaway Weegie

Doctor Who is just for weans? Heretic!

Doctor Who is for weans, but Doctor Who is also High Art with the capital letters and everything and full of a million and one sly references and some very camp and knowing humour. Like in the episode Tooth and Claw when Sir Robert Macleish, who the Doctor has just saved from a cult of werewolf worshipping Scottish monks (don't ask), asks the Doctor and Rose "Didn't you think it was a bit strange that I was alone in this castle with all these shaven headed men?" And the Doctor replies, "Oh... We just thought you were having a good time." You don't get stuff like that in Star bloody Trek. That's what makes Dr Who sublime.

And Blink was 45 minutes of pure genius.

When David Tennant leaves I'm going to cry. Unless they get Eddie Izzard as the new Doctor, which would cheer me up no end.

Oh God... I've just outed myself as a Dr Who nerd.

I'll get me anorak.
Lord Pitsligo

Runaway Weegie wrote:

And Blink was 45 minutes of pure genius.

I'm still scared of statues...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=fEwbgJ8RH3A

Whit? Cry for Doctor Who? Dearie me, it's like childrens hour on here.

I had all the statues in the manor and grounds covered with tarps for MONTHS after "Blink"!!  Anything with a carved face got covered.  Shocked

Like Pitslug ... I'm, not overfond of statues either ... especially ones of angels!!!   Shocked
Lord Pitsligo

Blackadder wrote:
I had all the statues in the manor and grounds covered with tarps for MONTHS after "Blink"!!  Anything with a carved face got covered.  Shocked

Like Pitslug ... I'm, not overfond of statues either ... especially ones of angels!!!   Shocked

Statues, kids asking for their mummy, scary bald men in the highlands, mirrors (after what he does to the little girl in that creepy family in the episode with the ending to rival Blackadder Goes Forth) and, of course, German Daleks. You name it, Doctor Who has left me scared of it

Lady Pitsligo also has to frequently stop me tapping my fingers in a rhythmn that sounds a bit like a double heart beat...

Mairead ... I have one thing to say to you ....

Exterminieren! Exterminieren! Halt! Sonnst werden wir Sie exterminieren! Sie sind jetzt ein Gefangener der Daleks!  Twisted Evil
Lord Pitsligo

Blackadder wrote:
Mairead ... I have one thing to say to you ....

Exterminieren! Exterminieren! Halt! Sonnst werden wir Sie exterminieren! Sie sind jetzt ein Gefangener der Daleks!  Twisted Evil

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=I_69p7cZvM0

I have but one thing to say to you, Pitslug ....

Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum!!  Twisted Evil
Lord Pitsligo

Blackadder wrote:
I have but one thing to say to you, Pitslug ....

Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum, Dum di di di dum!!  Twisted Evil

I think you've got an extra di in there  Wink

Try it out!  I had to!!! Sad
Lord Pitsligo

Blackadder wrote:
Try it out!  I had to!!! Sad

I went looking for a clip with the drums, but this one if far more worthy - one of Doctor Who's finest moments:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Bh78KWOkiGE&feature=related

It still brings a tear to my eye.

Can you believe Tom Sangster was 16 when he filmed those episodes??  I thought he looked about 12!!! And Harry Lloyd who played Baines was 24!

Oh to be that young again, with what we know now!!!  Evil or Very Mad

oooh Lord, are we still on about the weans TV programmes. Long Sighs......

Go back to your knitting, old crone ... we're all too young and interesting for you!!! Twisted Evil

Yes, I think I will do just that. Knitting is by far more interesting Gobby Git.

And no doubt you've been sitting under the guillotine at that same bit of knitting since they started chopping the heads off in Paris in 1789!!! Evil or Very Mad
Lord Pitsligo

mairead wrote:
oooh Lord, are we still on about the weans TV programmes. Long Sighs......

Go check out that clip I posted and then tell me its a kids programme  Smile

Right on Granpa!!! You tell her!!! Twisted Evil

Seen it often enough but still regard it as childish, mind you that's in keeping with the mental age of you lot.

Hoi!!!  They resemble that remark!!!  Except me of course!!! Twisted Evil
Lord Pitsligo

mairead wrote:
Seen it often enough but still regard it as childish, mind you that's in keeping with the mental age of you lot.

How can you mock German Daleks?!?

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=I_69p7cZvM0

You tell her, Pitslug!!!

How can anyone mock, "Exterminieren! Exterminieren! Halt! Sonnst werden wir Sie exterminieren! Sie sind jetzt ein Gefangener der Daleks!"

I hope she gets turned into a Dalek-drone one day!!! Twisted Evil

They've been trying to exterminate me for centuries, but I'm still around. heh heh heh

Hiding in the woods only works for so long!  There's a pyre with an upright pole and chain waiting for you somewhere!!! Twisted Evil

And it's been waiting a Looong Looong time.

Oh don't worry .... it hasn't long to wait now .... Twisted Evil

That's what you surmise dearie, but it aint gonna happen.

Why do you screw up every thread you're on by going off-topic, Mairead?  Is it the meds you're on??

I take it you mean by that, that every now and then I say something you can't find a suitable reply to???  Tough.

no ... it was a serious question!

Och well, I don't do serious. Life's too short.

Don't do serious??  Well ... I suppose at your advanced age ...

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> General Banter
Our Scotland Hit Counter Scottish Top Site - Topsites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites View Site Stats Scottish Politics