YOUNG-SNP-SCOT
Illegal to spread the word?Alrite guys.
It frustates me (and am sure am not alone!) that many Scots just settle with status quo, that many Scots swallow London politicians' lies about Scottish Independence and where it would leave us Scots. I'm 16 and from Glasgow myself. In Glasgow especially, a Labour stronghold, many Scots vote labour (in general elections) for fear of the tories 'getting in'. Of course, this is determined largley down south.
In the lead up to the 2007 elections, Independence will play a big part .. for obvious reasons. I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there's any laws which restrict individuals from posting leaflets through doors and spreading information about political parties/scottish independence and its benefits? I'm sure there must be?
I'm sure there are no laws against it - apart from the fact you may be trespassing on another person's property.
As long as you keep your leaflets factual there will be no problems. Of course you should make and distribute these leaflets yourself and not affiiate them to any political party - they are bound by regulations when it comes to convassing.
Cado
I'd caution against it. You risk putting things about that could cause embarrisment if at appears the affiliate itself with one or other party when it in fact has been the view of one individual.
The best thing I suggest you do is contact a local party representative and look to work with/support them. They'll have plenty of approved material etc.
Bare in mind also that being 16 you can't vote!
But its good to see someone with an interest in these things at your age. Start reading a range of newspapers and learn to read between the lines.
YOUNG-SNP-SCOT
Thanks for the advice. I think I'm best to contact my local SNP representative - Bill Kidd. I'm sure he'd appreciate help in Glasgow eg posting leaflets. I think people in Glasgow aren't told enough about independence. Maybe next year things will be different, Labour will hopefully lose their strong grip on the Glaswegian electorate - and I'm happy to contribute to that ... by spreading the word (no I aint Jesus and I know I can't vote .. but I can still help )!
Again .. thanks for the advice cado/azzuri
neil8r
Your local branch of the SNP should hopefully be out canvassing door to door starting the campagin for next year.
YOUNG-SNP-SCOT
What .. like just now?
neil8r
| YOUNG-SNP-SCOT wrote: | | What .. like just now? |
Hmmm that might be a bit counter productive, 3am isnae quite the best time to talk tae folk on their door about politics
YOUNG-SNP-SCOT
Aye but you no wit a meen?
Aye, folk should be out canvasing at least one day a week in your area. I would definitely get in touch with Bill Kidd and find out what's going on locally. I'm sure he'll be very pleased for any help.
YOUNG-SNP-SCOT
Thanks. I've sent him an email!
Anthropos
Re: Illegal to spread the word? | YOUNG-SNP-SCOT wrote: | | I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there's any laws which restrict individuals from posting leaflets through doors and spreading information about political parties/scottish independence and its benefits? I'm sure there must be? |
Well won't the SNP actually being doing that?
It is not that unusual to be interested in politics at 16, take this guy for instance:
He was making political speeches at 15, AND drinking 14 pints a night!
YOUNG-SNP-SCOT
| Quote: | | Well won't the SNP actually being doing that? |
The difference is, the SNP is a political party with official leaflets etc - I'm a 16 yr old boy.
| Quote: | | It is not that unusual to be interested in politics at 16 |
Believe me, speaking as a 16 year old myself, it is.
Cymro
I used to post Plaid Cymru leaflets when I was about 7 with my dad. You can't vote until 18, doens't mean you can't be politically active.