True Scotsman
Independent Scotland 'will work with England'Alex Salmond has put an idea forword for a "partnership of the Isles".
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/politics.cfm?id=1588352006
Independent Scotland 'will work with England'
PETER MACMAHON SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT EDITOR
ALEX Salmond yesterday promised that an independent Scotland would work with England and Ireland in a new "partnership of the Isles".
The leader of the Scottish National Party said Edinburgh could co-operate with London and Dublin in the same way that the Scandinavian countries did in the Nordic Council.
Mr Salmond said that the British-Irish council, which already brings together the British and Irish governments and the devolved administrations, was an example of close working relationships.
He added: "I believe this provides a starting point, but with Scottish independence there will be an opportunity to develop and improve our co-operation based on the Nordic model.
"We would all benefit from a new Council of the Isles. This more modern relationship with London and Dublin will leave Scotland with the freedom to flourish. We will take our own decisions on peace and prosperity. And we will have an effective forum to work together as equal, sovereign states."
In an effort to counter Labour claims that independence meant "divorce" from the other nations of the UK, Mr Salmond said the Scandinavian countries proved that independent nations could work together to promote common interests.
Mr Salmond's speech, in Falkirk, came just days after Jack McConnell, the First Minister, ruled out the idea of immediately giving more powers to the Scottish Parliament.
But Mr McConnell yesterday went on the attack, joining Annabel Goldie, the Tory leader, in turning his fire on the SNP.
During First Minister's questions, Ms Goldie claimed that the SNP had not provided an effective Holyrood opposition and warned that independence would be "dangerous" for Scotland.
The First Minister provoked ironic cheers from the Nationalists when he agreed that breaking up the Union would be an economic and social "disaster".
Mr McConnell told MSPs that Scotland gained extra public expenditure as part of the UK, as well as having a stable economy. "There is a benefit to Scotland in being part of the United Kingdom. But there is also a benefit to Scotland in having this parliament making decisions on the matters that are devolved to it. By using both we have the best of both worlds," he said.
Russell Brown MP, a Borders MP, reinforced Labour's attack on the SNP. He said: "Alex Salmond has finally realised just how unpopular the SNP policy of breaking up Britain is.
"We already have a successful alliance in which Scotland prospers: it is called the UK."
I like the idea of having Council of the Isles.
"Russell Brown MP, a Borders MP, reinforced Labour's attack on the SNP. He said: "Alex Salmond has finally realised just how unpopular the SNP policy of breaking up Britain is. "
haha - classic - reminds me of that wee Iraqi guy on the news saying that they were winning the war and that US forces will never get into baghdad - when you could see their tanks rolling in in the background.
I think Salmond is only stating the obvious.
We have got so many economical and socialogical links with England and Ireland, not forgetting Wales, that it would be suicidal not to have close working relationships.
But the point is, that we would be able to decide what was in the best interests for Scotland, rather than having things imposed on us.
I dinnae care how hard it will be to be free again........just bring it on!
macwea
Nordic CouncilI totally agree with Alex Salmond that an independent Scotland should co-operate fully in a 'Council of the Isles', however we should also co-operate fully with our Nordic neighbours and Scandinavian cousins by becoming a full and equal partner in the Nordic Council, or at least be an associate member state, like the new Baltic states.
patriot1320
The unionist are twisting the words of Alex Salmond again.
Personally, I think this is a must have. We need to have links with all countries around us.
The point unionist seam to miss is Scotland WILL be Independent, Making its own decisions. Communicating on a Level playing field with the rest of the world.
Unionists need a wake up call…
Shadowman
Damnit, there was I thinking independence would quickly be followed by a campaign to reconquer Cumbria and Northumbria.
What does Macwea mean by Nordic neighbours? Scotland is not a Nordic country. As for close relations with nearby countries, the vast majority are already in the EU.
Maol.Chaluim
There's this set of countries that are called "Nordic", cos they're in the north, and they're close to Scotland. I'm guessing that's where the "neighbours" part comes in.
Hope that clears it up for you.
I suppose they'll have to come up with a new name for the isles - council of the islands of the north atlantic is a bit of a mouthfull - council of IONA I suppose sounds a bit better, council of the celtic isles sounds ok too
"What does Macwea mean by Nordic neighbours? Scotland is not a Nordic country"
Presumably he means that there are nations near Scotland which could be described as Nordic - another word for this kind of proximity would be neighbours. He also didnt say Scotland was a Nordic country - simply that it should join the Nordic council.
macwea
I don't mean to cause a major debate, however perhaps you should look at who owns what land!
Angus
macwea
Sorry Avatar
Scotland is a Nordic country!
I guess you failed your Higher Geography!
We must acknowledge that our best friends, and the people who would help us if we were stuck - are the Nordic nations and not our friends in the south!
"Sorry Avatar
Scotland is a Nordic country!
I guess you failed your Higher Geography!
We must acknowledge that our best friends, and the people who would help us if we were stuck - are the Nordic nations and not our friends in the south!"
I didnt take higher geography im afraid - however to the point - I guess you could argue that Orkney and Shetland are Nordic - and in the broader sense if by Nordic you are refering to Northern European countries then all of the North atlantic isles would be considered Nordic, not just Scotland.
However in the modern sense the Nordic region comprises of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden along with their associated territories. So currently no Scotland is not a Nordic country, however theres nothing to say that that definition wont change to include Scotland after independence as you say geographically we are in the same area as them.
Scotland should appeal to join the Nordic council in some capacity IMO. But there is no doubt there will need to be some 'council of the isles'. Scotland should play as full a role in that as possible.
abcdefg
dont wanttony blair was born in edinburgh and gordon brown is a loyalist he dosent want a free scotland
IF Convenor
... and your point is, caller?
| SLG wrote: | | Scotland should appeal to join the Nordic council in some capacity IMO. But there is no doubt there will need to be some 'council of the isles'. Scotland should play as full a role in that as possible. |
Yet joint committees between MSPs and MPs were just rejected by your Independentisa chums in that thread on McLetchie's ideas....
Because you have a Scottish Parliament working with (or should it be for) another parliament that sits above it. That's not like the Nordic council at all. Is that really what McLetchie was suggesting? I doubt it, but never saw any more details.
He was suggesting joint committees between MPs and MSPs on matters of health, education etc. Clearly devolved matters. While the UK Parliament is superior, it doesn't trample on decision making in these areas as a result of the Memorandum of Understanding. In effect, these are exactly the same things that you are advocating here, yet your fellow Nationalists are shooting down.
This joint committee seems to me to be a way of making sure the Scottish executive doesn't cause any problems for Westminster, what with the likelyhood that we'll end up with the parliaments controlled by seperate parties in the near future. The council of the isles idea is more of a co-operative scheme with each parliament on an equal footing and not subservient to the other.
Exactly, these issues (health and education) are not ones of cross-border importance like the joint-committee type discussion we have previously had (such as defence and environment). These are, as Avatar says, just about keeping devolved policy in line with that south of the border.
| SLG wrote: | | Exactly, these issues (health and education) are not ones of cross-border importance like the joint-committee type discussion we have previously had (such as defence and environment). These are, as Avatar says, just about keeping devolved policy in line with that south of the border. |
In many cases, the provision of healthcare and especially education are of enormous cross-border significance.
Personally I don't think education should ever have been devolved, or indeed separate. It is an enormous inconvenience for Scottish students applying to universities in the rest of the UK (and even the ancients in Scotland) to have only highers. These systems are largely worked out in terms of A-levels and there is absolutely no reason why state schools don't follow suit with private schools in Scotland and offer A-levels too .
I'm not trumpeting the merits of A-levels though, I'd prefer an amended system to reflect the best qualities of the education systems throughout the UK, or even use of the international baccalaureate. There is absolutely no need for this postcode lottery which effectively puts hurdles in the way of children's futures.
Just an example (and a bit of a rant ) but there you go.
| Avatar wrote: | | This joint committee seems to me to be a way of making sure the Scottish executive doesn't cause any problems for Westminster, what with the likelyhood that we'll end up with the parliaments controlled by seperate parties in the near future. The council of the isles idea is more of a co-operative scheme with each parliament on an equal footing and not subservient to the other. |
What problems could it cause for Westminster? I am quite sure that different strategies are not problematic - in fact, the smaller nations of the UK probably suffer most as with my education example - it's simply that there are countless benefits of working together.
"What problems could it cause for Westminster? "
One example may be that westminster decides to go ahead and build new nuclear power stations, and the Scottish executive are against this and refuse the planning permission.
Ok Av, of course there are cross-border issues. I wouldn't call them enormous though - there are plenty of Irish student in Scotland that prove the situation is viable - and I'm not sure these formal committees would be required to solve them. However we should look at the structures required for cross-border cooperation and with MPs representing a de facto English Parliament on this issue, this could help form the model for cross-border cooperation on issues such as defence and environment once Holyrood takes control of them. I think it would be important to involve all the assemblies on these islands who have control over these issues in their respective areas though.
| SLG wrote: | | Ok Av, of course there are cross-border issues. I wouldn't call them enormous though - there are plenty of Irish student in Scotland that prove the situation is viable |
A lot of things are very viable without being at all desirable. I believe Anglo-Irish co-operation could certainly be improved, hell I'd welcome them back into the UK tomorrow if they so desired, yet I believe this does not occur not for practical or pragmatic reasons, but rather due to the prejudices and idle preferences of the population.
| Quote: | | I think it would be important to involve all the assemblies on these islands who have control over these issues in their respective areas though. |
Fair observation certainly.
| Quote: | "What problems could it cause for Westminster? "
One example may be that westminster decides to go ahead and build new nuclear power stations, and the Scottish executive are against this and refuse the planning permission. |
Then I'd hope that the UK government would simply act like any other federal-style government does when faced with such a problem: offer incentives.
Whit is SO hard tae onderstand????? Scotland and engerland are historically two soverign and seperate nations/peoples. Only the unionist have no stomach for it but are a marvelous bunch of @#^#
Ah have nae time for those gutless wonders!
Anglo-Irish??? Whit is that?? The Orange Order??You could welcome THEM back into the (puker) Uk tomorrow!! Yer welcome tae them!!
The only wans who hate their ain fowk and country are unionist.
| Aventinian wrote: | | A lot of things are very viable without being at all desirable. I believe Anglo-Irish co-operation could certainly be improved, hell I'd welcome them back into the UK tomorrow if they so desired, yet I believe this does not occur not for practical or pragmatic reasons, but rather due to the prejudices and idle preferences of the population. |
Fair enough. But the ROI won't rejoin the UK. Not with the UK ask the Republic if we can join them - is that also not for practical or pragmatic reasons? So lets rethink our whole relationship with each other on these islands. The UK is not working.