It's hard finding your way back home.http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/s.../Human-fans-mourn--the.4549428.jp
I saw an Osprey resting on the beach where I take my dogs for a walk! I wonder if it had flown from Scotland? The Azores are a stop between here and the UK .
kathyv
Interesting story.
We have Osprey return here every year and nest on the power pole behind the pasture, there are also a lot of them around along the river in snags and on other poles. They are fun to watch and it's fun to see the chicks grow up and learn to fly.
We can pretty much tell when Spring is officially here and when Summer is officially gone from when they come and when they leave. They've been gone about 3 weeks now. I wonder where they do go?
It was a f**in stupid bird, you incredible eejit, BG! You opened up a new thread just to witter on after reading a damn ridiculous article in the Hootsmon??
And of course, the Queen of the Witterers comes on right behind you and once she starts .... ofcourse Mairead and Carol will get in on the act ... followed by Macnumpty no doubt ...
Gimme strength ..... bliddy wimmin!!! There's banter ... then there's what you lot do ....
Aw.. shutupayaface....
You're being a particularly moody old cow this morning, Mairead ... what's up??
Na, I'm fine really, that expression just came to mind. Someone outside was playing a song that went something like that the other day. .
Well, at least I am not an incredible........Blackadder!! oh but I promised I would shut up and walk away!
I'll go play some place else.
Jimbo
I thought your initial post was very touching BG - That seeing an Osprey made you think of home.
The black-hearted one's retort was most inconsiderate to you under those circumstances.
Ospreys from europe tend to migrate to africa babygael, yours was probably american, they migrate south to South America, thy dont, as far as I know, cross oceans, the australian ones dont migrate at all.
You're such a clown, Jimboneheid!
And it looks like Rintintin lost his way too! Haven't seen him in these parts for quite a while. And I suppose it'll be long time till his next foray into these threads!
Jimbo
Clown eh? Time for cocoa I think.
D'ye think Rinty came down here out of boredom cos there's not much happening up in the serious bit BA?
| Quote: | | Clown eh? Time for cocoa I think. |
Mr Poliakoff was retired before I was born.
And I tend not to think of Rintintin ... or why he turned up here.
What the f*ck do you think I am? The lost and found department???
I came here because I like ospreys
Just noticed that babygael is in barbados. In that case the osprey is very probably local as ospreys in florida, like those in california, tend not to migrate.
It could be a north american or canadian one on the way south but I doubt it, as it is a bit early for them.
Ask someone when you're standing at the start of a long rope bridge over a chasm.
I'm hoping for a Sir Robin in Monty Python and the Holy Grail moment for you!!!
Jimbo
Are you into bird-watching Rinty. My son was into the RSPB for a while.
Me, I wouldn't know the difference between an Osprey and a buzzard.
Wouldn't surprise me at all if Rintintin was a twitcher. And not necessarily into bird-watching at all.
All kids join the RSPB or SSPA when they're at Primary school. They just don't realise they've been pressured into it. Not that it ever lasts long. Becoming a teenager seems to end these things!
Would you know the difference between a bison and buffalo though ... that's th real question!
What a lot of fuss. Babygaels and Rinty's posts were very interesting for those who enjoy wildlife. Must you mock eveything BA?
I am not a mocker. Though when you post twice like that ... I'm sorely tempted!
Since when did you stop yielding to temptation?
The minute she knocked on my bedroom door!
Yes Blackie, you cant wash your hands in a buffallo!
No, I'm not a twitcher, I just like big birds
Over the years I developed an interest in Eagles, Ospreys and Red Kite, I dont go 'twitching' them but I do like to find out what is happening to them and a lot about them.
There is a buzzard that sometimes perches on my building, havent seen her for a while.
There are load of Buzzards here and a few of them were after my newly hatched ducklings last year. Nae Luck though, I had them well protected.
| Quote: | | THere is a buzzard that sometimes perches on my building |
I'll bet you anything it's our resident witch, Sairheid, eyeing you up as a future snack!
To continue.... I shall Carry on ignoring Lord Blockheid after all the poor thing comes from a long line of caber tossers, (he being the biggest of them all!)
I have never seen an osprey here before Rinty and so I was quite amazed, especially at its size. I've never seen one that close in the wild before.I guess this one came from America but who knows!
I hope you enjoyed your cocoa jimbo, I usually resort to music,my favorite tune for stabilising blood pressure, "Panis Angelicus" sung by Elisabeth Schwarzkopf...otherwise!!
When I was in Canada I saw an osprey close up once, BG .... just before it exploded in a mess of blood and feathers.
I shot it and can recommend the meat!!! Better than chicken!
OOOO You are awful BA. Shooting at my foreign cousins now are you. Well just have a care, I might perch on your fence one day.
kathyv
| Blackadder wrote: | When I was in Canada I saw an osprey close up once, BG .... just before it exploded in a mess of blood and feathers.
I shot it and can recommend the meat!!! Better than chicken!  |
Gross! I would imagine, if you could stand to eat it, it would be nasty and dead fishy tasting. I've seen what they haul back to the nest to feed the chicks! eeeewwwwwwwwgggggghhhhhh!
"I have never seen an osprey here before Rinty and so I was quite amazed, especially at its size. I've never seen one that close in the wild before.I guess this one came from America but who knows!"
actually baby I did some emailing around and some searching on this and it might be that your osprey is a scottish one after all, like deshar here http://www.scotsman.com/latestnews/Wing-and-prayer-fail-to.4549428.jp
Also, a friend tells me that barbados is one of the best places for twithchers to see ospreys as the DO stop there when migrating south from Canada, and also have some of the non-migrating florida ospreys.
So i was wrong, right and the rest
In Barbados you will also see boobys, pelicans and albatross, magic.
Thanks for that bit of info Rinty,it's quite a thrill to think that the Osprey I saw could have flown all the way from Scotland! I hope I didn't startle him too much,he did fly off further up the beach when I and the dogs showed up!
Erm what's a twitcher???
Nothing quite like a mouthfull 0f buck shot eh BA! Great for the teeth! For you I recomend it.I bet you never shot a gun in your life much less at a poor bird!! Not that you could hit it even if it jumped up and bit you on the erse!
A twitcher is a bird-watcher in common parlance, BG. Rintintin is a twitcher for other reasons.
And you are the booby he mentions in his post ... but you knew that! Heck, we all did!!!!
Please be on the lookout for this albatross magic he mentions. Sorcerous marine avifauna is something we can do without!
Seemingly babygael, barbados beaches are a good place to see ospreys so you should see many more.
I'm not a twitcher, more of an armchair, discovery channel, fan of big birds. I read about ospreys when I was at school and some of the knowledge sticks and I follow the progress of their small scottish population, but not by twitching
So ... why do you twitch then, Rintintin???
And what about this sea-bird that does the black magic???
Hey BA,
You can learn a lot by watching the birdies. I often spend ages watching the varieties that visit my garden. Quite fascinating some of them, and quite smart too. They come and bang on the window when their feeders are empty.
I'll be sure to look out for the ospreys and others Rinty, I know about the pelicans,there was an Island off Barbados called 'pelican Island" but they joined it on to the main Island,I think its the sea port now better known as the Deep water harbour.
I would love to see a blue footed Booby,I think they are called that anyway.
Yes my little sweet potato pie,BA, I do have a pair of Booby's around here someplace but I mysel' am noat wan!!!!
JINGS AND CRIVENS MAIREAD HEN!! I didnae ken yer were a part time bird watcher!
Mairead twitches a great deal, BG ... but that's extreme old age. Although, it could be rickets.
No exactly a bird watcher as such BG. I just like to see the variety which come into the garden. Living in the forest I take an interest in all sorts of wild life and see some amazing things. When Mother was alive and living here, I had to get up at 4.30 am one morning to see to her, and when I went back upstairs I glanced out of the window and spotted a true Scottish wildcat creeping into my garden from the forest. I was really chuffed at seeing that as they are so rarely seen and there are now so few of them.
I'm right ............ it IS ricketts!!!
You won't get blue footed boobys where you are babygael, you would have to go to the pacific for that, in barnados you are more liekly to have masked boobys but barbados, in am told, also has brown boobys and red-footed boobys.
Rintintin ... I think I'm on this forum with a whole lot of boobys ... and you, BG and Sairheid are the prize boobys!!!
Well, as I told you before, 'It takes one to know one'
And you certainly seem to know them!
Hmm, you included. At least as far as this forum goes.
I shall be on the look out Rinty for the "other" Booby's! Although I don't recall seeing them around. we have a bird sanctuary here, "Graham Hall swamp", maybe they go there.
If we are Booby's Blackadder, just what the heck are you?
Your superior in ever sense of the word!!! Isn't that getting through to your thick brain yet???
Na, No-one is the lady's superior, certainly not a Blackadder.
I'm NOT your "pal". And I most certain am superior to all of you. Sometimes I wonder why I go on this forum of peasants! But, my father always believed in allowing the peasants space to acknowledge their betters!