Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

wisnaeme
Labour loans scandal.Did anyone watch the Channel4 programme, Dispatches tonight?
There seems to be rather a noteable absence of a prominent New Labour figure who may have shed some light,(if he cared to) on the subject of loans.
Not one word was mentioned about a certain Mr Ian McCartney MP, Minister for something or other and former chairman of the Labour party. I find it strange that the polis haven't chapped on his door yet. I wonder if he has a plausible explanation for his alleged part in those proceedings?
And, while I am on the subject of trade and Industry, perhaps some investigation into the doings of another new labour sleeze bag would not come amiss. European Trade something or other. Perhaps this gentleman may or may not be spending a large amount of his time representing corporate interests in Europe as opposed to representing UK interests.
Mibee "Dispatches" will eventually get round to asking himself some awkward questions in a few years time.
Never saw it. For me, Ian McCartney characterises all that is wrong with Labour. I'm not surprised he never took part. Nothing new in the program then?
I hear 'Sir' Chris Evans (no, not that one, the biotech investor) has been arrested and questioned regarding cash for honours. Interestingly that other good Labour man and multi-millionaire 'Sir' Tom Farmer has just decided to invest in Evans company.
wisnaeme
| SLG wrote: | Never saw it. For me, Ian McCartney characterises all that is wrong with Labour. I'm not surprised he never took part. Nothing new in the program then?
I hear 'Sir' Chris Evans (no, not that one, the biotech investor) has been arrested and questioned regarding cash for honours. Interestingly that other good Labour man and multi-millionaire 'Sir' Tom Farmer has just decided to invest in Evans company. |
Aye "SLG", you would be right enough with your opinion of Mr McCartney. Loyal in his servitude, malleable, sleekit, devious, egostitical and with a chip on his shoulder at the same time. Mibee those are qualities that the high heid yins of Labour value in their lackies? One things for sure, the trait of loyalty within Labour seems to be in short supply at the moment.
No,nothing new in the Dispatches programme. Perhaps the producers knew a lot more than they broadcasted but due to the subject being sub judiciary and polis enquiries on going, Channel 4's legal suits might have been over enthusiastic with the correction fluid in the script.
A few interesting points were repeated or raised though. If New Labour were soliciting for "loans" then that raises an interesting conundrum that New Labour will have to solve. If they received loans on a commercial basis then the interest rate of the "loans" as revealed in last night's programme of 2% above base rate is pish poor and I know of no commercial bank in the financial sector who would have thought that it was a good investment. Apparently New Labour have been defaulting on interest repayments for many of the "loans". But the most serious point raised in the programme may actually lead to the total discredit of New Labour, If these "loans" were on a commercial basis and if it can be confirmed that in commercial terms New Labour were on the verge of bankruptcy and did not have viable means or assets to cover those "commercial loans" then indeed they have broken the law of the land. But if they back track on their previous pronouncements and then say that they were personal loans then the creatures are also in trouble with PC plod. I think that even with the passage of time, delaying tatics, coupled with a public short memory span, New Labour will think the problem will just disappear and that shows you just how out of touch with reality they are. These days perception is nine tenths of public opinion and the drip,drip of the tap continues. It also appears that the Brown jobbie will eventually pay the price of this public perception, Mr Brown is one of the major architect of mixing power with beezness ventures, favours given in return for fiscal favours received and that is fact not fiction as events have already proven. I hear that some of the players have already hinted at an unfair trial if eventually that comes to pass due to adverse publicity and public disclosure of the evidence.Would you believe that? Unbelievable that they would dare to use the human rights act after all the breaches of the same in the spirit of the act if not in the law of same. I've even heard that they have tried to use the commercial confidentiality laws to their advantage and to prevent disclosure of sleeze.This was used by beezness who have connections with New Labour and who coincidentally, have and are profiting from contracts awarded to them through the alleged influence of those connections.
Oh yes, Himself formerly of Kwickfit, I heard he used to quite fond of aquiring wee scottish islands, one of his former hobbies I believe. Pity about that wee island that got away, Mr Farmer, wasn't it just. The one that one of the Skye bridge pillars stand on. The one that Gavin Maxwell enjoyed, the one with the lighthoose and lighthoose cottages on it. The one that the numpties tried to flog off. Were ye disappointed that yon secret Saturday auction was cancelled? Mr Farmer.Noo that wis embarrassing tae the numpties,wisn't it jist. I heard that Mr Farmer was an advocate of free enterprise, so no doubt he would have applauded the enterprise and far sightedness of some lads and lassies with their trip to the outer isles and the transplanting of some rare and protected plant species.
Indeed, and didn't we have the public spiritness to inform the Bridge company that it would be unlawful to tramp apon those protected plant species when they wanted to inspect the bridge pillar. Aye and it is now owned by a public trust for and on behalf of us all. Isn't that right Mr Farmer. And while ah'm on the subject, we haven't forgotten Mi Lud Noble's part in the affair and Mi Lud, yer propriety brand o whisky is pish by ra way.
Well hopefuly it will catch up with them at some point. As long as an investigation is ongoing who knows what could happen. In the meantime if it means that Labour have less money to spend next spring then it's a step forward. I know they're trying to make themselves look better when they introduce measures to control party finances, but I really hope they bring in controls to stop parties spending money they don't have to disrpupt the democratic process.
Interesting to read that about Farmer. He's the owner of Hibs and quite a big figure around here. Unfortunately it's not him involved with Evans! I thought I'd changed it, but hadn't. It was that other Scottish multi-millionaire Sir Tom, Tom Hunter. I don't know if Farmer has links with Labour - probably.