mebuffyg
Looking for General AdviceI am trying to plan a trip to Scotland as soon as I am able to slow down on some of my schooling. I don't want to appear to be just a typical American tourist. Any suggestions on when to come and where to go?
Abieuan
If you are planning on visiting Glasgow, then January is the best time, when the three week long Celtic Connections music festival is on.
Many smaller towns have traditional folk music festivals at various times from spring to autumn.
If you like the outdoors, the west of Scotland has the best scenery but also a higher rainfall.
You could try "The West Highland Way", a 98 mile walk from north of Glasgow to Fort William, with hotels and hostels along the way of course.
The best time for outdoor pursuits is May, before "the dreaded midgies" come out. (They are tiny wee fleas that bite you, they don't hurt but are very anoying)
mebuffyg
The music festival sounds wonderful! Thank you for the information. I always loved celtic music, even before I knew I was part Scottish. hmmmm, that explains alot. Anyway thank you again.
When to come.... Onytime ae the year wid dae seein as it`ll be raining or snawing onyways.
Melrose.Hawick and Selkirk are aw nice doon the borders.
Ye`d maybe want tae check oot Linlithgow,South Queensferry and gang ower tae The Kingdom o Fife{jist dinnae eat ony swans},gang oan the whisky trail aroon Speyside even if ye dinnae like whisky the scenery is braw.
The Highlands and Islands is a must.Gang up tae Orkney tae.Glasgow is a great city if ye like shopping and Edinburgh is a grand place tae visit tae.
Check oot Dundee tae its nae as bad as ye micht hear people saying and check Arbroath whaur the "Declaration o Arbroath" wis signed.
That should keep ye goin for a year or twa.
Thats jist a few,nae doobt this thread ye`ve sterted will fill up quick.
mebuffyg
I would LOVE to spend a year or two, but I might not ever leave! Then again that would not be so bad.
There is an amazing weekend music festival on Mull sometime in April. It's on every year and it's a brilliant weekend. Try the Mishnish pub in Tobermory. Fab.
Maybe someone on site knows the date.????????
wisnaeme
| mairead wrote: | There is an amazing weekend music festival on Mull sometime in April. It's on every year and it's a brilliant weekend. Try the Mishnish pub in Tobermory. Fab.
Maybe someone on site knows the date.???????? |
21st,22nd and 23rd of April.
Katie1984
You should go to Edinburgh during the Festival - it is brill!
Katie1984
Oops forgot to say - it runs during August!
Hi there wisnaeme,
Are you going up to Mull for the festival this year? It was a favourite weekend for me for many years but I wont make it again this year.l