Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Football
doodells

McLeish leaves Scotland job for top flight English footie.

Any ideas for the new manager?

I'd take Craig Levein if he'd go.
Celtic Indian

Disgusting.What ever happen to Country before club ?
sgmillerton

i wish him well, a smashing big chap he is, did well at hibs and he deserves his opportunities. good luck alex.

neil warnock for scotland.
Celtic Indian

Feed the bear !
sgmillerton

oh dear god no.noooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Celtic Indian

Aye.He's already the assistant.Give him the full job !
sgmillerton

he's pish and quite probably illiterate.
Cymro

Billy Davies anyone?

It seems a shame he's gone to Brum (who I think will be relegated this season anyway), but he's the latest in a long line of managers who've chosen career managing a club over a country, so no point blaming Eck in that. Footballs changed, for the worse unfortunatly. Managaers prefer the constant managing of the club to the occasional work of an International Coach. Maybe the FAs need to take this into account?
agentmancuso

Cymro wrote:
Billy Davies anyone?

I'd vote for that.

I think McLeish got a lot more out of his Scotland experience than Scotland got out of McLeish. Yeah, we got a good result against France, but we were found wanting against Georgia. It is a long road back for Scotland after the Vogts fiasco and we have only just embarked on it. We should be gracing football tourneys like Euro 2008 and World Cup 2010, but McLeish bailed after only 10 months.

If we go down the Billy Davies route, it will only be the same. A couple of decent results and he will be off to some lower table English Premier team as they can offer 4 times what he gets at Scotland. Not very great ambition, I would say.

Roy Aitken is not getting it as he has gone with McLeish.

What we should do is offer it to Alex Ferguson on a part-time basis and when he finally hangs up his chewing gum at Old Trafford, he can take on the role on a full-time basis if it needs that commitment.

Totally agree RH. At least the SFA don't look like they're going to rush into anything. But I think we should go for a more mature manager. I'm sure Davies would do a good job, but it could be damaging when he leaves.
doodells

so you think that macallister is a bad move since he'll probably use it as a steppig stone too?
Cymro

I like Gary McAllister. Have done since he was with Leeds. Seems like a genuine guy. He's said he doesn't want it now though.

I think becase of the nature of football that International Managment, expecially for a smaller footballing country thatn the likes of Scotland and Wales it's inevitable that the time will come if a manager is a success that they move to a huge league like the Prem. The marketing of leagues like this is too much for FAs to cope with. It's the same when players retire from international football but keep playing at club level - i.e. Carragher for England.

I don't see how McAllister could be offered the job. What real management experience does he have? If it was my club, I would say sure, take the risk, as I think he could well become a good manager one day. But with WC qualifying, we don't have the luxury of taking on an untested rookie. We need someone with experience.

We need someone with recent experience at the highest level as well, ruling Souness and Dalglish out.

Ideally I'd go for Davie Moyes, but that I'm living in dreamland...
sgmillerton

azzuri wrote:
We need someone with recent experience at the highest level as well, ruling Souness and Dalglish out.

souey for me, he was managing in the premiership for years up until about 1/2 years ago. by your criteria we will get no-one. watty was out of work for a while b4 he took the job..................
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
azzuri wrote:

souey for me, he was managing in the premiership for years up until about 1/2 years ago. by your criteria we will get no-one. watty was out of work for a while b4 he took the job..................

The Premight of been but he was rubbish.

Liverpool - one of their worse Prem positions for a long time
Blackburn - as rubbish
Newcastle - worse
Southampton - rubbish

Not really a record he can be proud of!
sgmillerton

and what exactly has souey done in the premiership that walter has'nt (apart from win things)?
Cymro

Grahame Souness won 1 thing - the FA Cup in 1992, and even then he was barely there. It's widely beein accepted that the real person who won that for Liverpool was Ronnie Moran not Souey. Souey had a heart attack in the Quarter Final.
sgmillerton

Cymro wrote:
Grahame Souness won 1 thing - the FA Cup in 1992, and even then he was barely there. It's widely beein accepted that the real person who won that for Liverpool was Ronnie Moran not Souey. Souey had a heart attack in the Quarter Final.

more than walter though?

and he won the carling cup with blackburn, his track record is so much better than walters in terms of premiership expirience. and we were all happy with his appointment and his work. perhaps some folk have an issue with souey.............
agentmancuso

sgmillerton wrote:
perhaps some folk have an issue with souey.............

I certainly do. He was a thug on the park, and his managerial style consists of shouting loudly. Not good enough.

He does have a good sense of dramatic timing though. I was at Parkhead when Celtic beat Blackburn a few years back. Souness waited till the game had kicked off before emerging from the tunnel to meet his 'welcome' from the crowd. Biggest roar I ever heard.
sgmillerton

agentmancuso wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

I certainly do. He was a thug on the park, and his managerial style consists of shouting loudly. Not good enough.

He does have a good sense of dramatic timing though. I was at Parkhead when Celtic beat Blackburn a few years back. Souness waited till the game had kicked off before emerging from the tunnel to meet his 'welcome' from the crowd. Biggest roar I ever heard.

shouting loudly won 2 trophies in thepremiership/england. walter couldnae do that and he was loved by the terin ermy.
Cymro

sgmillerton wrote:
agentmancuso wrote:
sgmillerton wrote:

shouting loudly won 2 trophies in thepremiership/england. walter couldnae do that and he was loved by the terin ermy.

I stand corrected about his vast achievments as Prem Manager. However, I have a fried who's a big Blackburn fan and I'm gladly informed that he's hated by fans. This is by supporters of a club who since Keny Dalglish's exit have been managed by a fair few usless people...Roy Hodgson, Brian Kidd, Ray Harford.

Walter is regarded as a far better manager by fans, his one attempt in the Prem has been with Everton a club which at the time was spiralling out of control and a club he still managed to stabilise (in mediocrity I admit).
sgmillerton

so, souey for you as well then?

I think that any manager with a career in front of them will inevitably be a short term appointment.  That might not even be a problem, getting a new manager for every tournament.  It might have been worse in previous times but I think that we have a core squad of players who will more or less pick themselves for the next few years.

Aitken has a lot of experience and is very much a leader, I hear he would also be a popular choice with the players.  He accepted the Birmingham role with McLeish while still making it known to the SFA that he is interested.

Being a good club manager doesnt easily tranlate over to being an international manager as you dont see the players often, have no control over their general caoching and fitness, but are required to get them working and playing as a team in short bursts sopread over a season.

Sometimes countries have been succesful with young relatively inexperienced managers, other times it hasnt worked so I've no real opinion on the type of person we should be looking for.

I do think thought that we have to be realistic as to who would want to manage an international team and who would accept the wages on offer.

Joe Jordan could be another good choice in my opinion, or even Archie Knox.

If we go for Davies or similar we can expect them to go quickly if succesful.

There is no chance of getting Moyes with the money that he is on.
Cymro

As a Welshman I wouldn't like to see that cheating bar steward Joe Jordan going anywhere near the Scottish Managment set up.

Of course if Billy Davies (or anyone else) makes a success of things they will more than likely be moving on after relative success, but to be honest I think that's going to happen regardless of who it is, even Roy Aitken. More money and attention for managers with clubs than at International Level unfortunatly for the game. Davies to be fair has said he's give it 5 years.

Souness will send things backwards. He's a crap manager. He's desperate for a job, he's been after the RoI job (interesting given his Rangers connections), suprised he's not pushed himself for the England job.
kevin04

Would fancy Mark McGhee for the vacancy, doing a good job at Well just now and also has done good work before in England with Brighton and Wolves. Davies, Collins and Strachan would be good choices as well but I doubt Strach or Collins will be interested at present.

Mark McGhee for me!

and Souness can get to france, he's a loose cannon. He'd lose the dressing room in 10mins.
Cymro

So, is John Collins a realistic option then?

Nope.  Or at least he shouldn't be.  Seems to be highly regarded down south, so could end up Fulham manager.
The Lithgae Jambo

SLG wrote:
Nope.  Or at least he shouldn't be.  Seems to be highly regarded down south, so could end up Fulham manager.

What a difference a day makes.

Yesterday

"This is a selling point without a doubt," he said. "If we are trying to sign youth players, the parents can come along here and see it is a splendid environment to bring their kids at night.

"That is also the case if I am trying to sign a first-team player. In the past I have taken them on trial to Granton or another complex where we're up to our knees in mud. Then we've had to drive back in a freezing cold mini bus.

"These are not ideal conditions for an athlete and it puts players off," he continued. "It's happened before, and I am sure it happened to managers before me. Now we can bring them from the airport to here and they won't fail to be impressed – no matter which club they have come from."

http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/C...-hopes-to-use-training.3607074.jp

Today

Bye-ee
Cymro

SLG wrote:

Good call, Sanchez has just quit now!

And bookies not taking bets on the Fulham job (can still get money on Betfair though).  Seems like a done deal.

TLJ, aye, think a lot of folk will have lost a lot of respect for Collins if he has been tapped up by Fulham.  More interested in his replacement now though.

Looks like Collins isn't going to get the Fulham job after all.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/f/fulham/7163374.stm

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Football