Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Global Politics

Milosevic dead

Milosevic’s untimely death robs the world of justice for atrocities
From Alexandra Hudson in The Hague

ADVERSARIES of Slobodan Milosevic said last night that the unexpected death of the man they blamed for the bloodshed in the Balkans in the 1990s meant justice had been cheated.
The 64-year-old former president of Yugoslavia was found dead yesterday in his prison cell at The Hague.

“The death of Slobodan Milosevic, a few weeks before the completion of his trial, will prevent justice being done in his case,” said Carla del Ponte, chief prosecutor at the United Nations war crimes tribunal in The Hague.

“However, the crimes for which he was accused, including genocide, cannot be left unpunished.”

Milosevic had been on trial for genocide and crimes against humanity during the violent break-up of old Yugoslavia for four years.

The “Butcher of the Balkans” was widely seen in the West as the main culprit in Europe’s worst conflicts since the second world war.

Foreign Secretary Jack Straw said that he hoped that the dictator’s death would end a turbulent chapter in the Balkans.

“What’s important is that the region, and particularly the people in Serbia, now draw a line across Milosevic’s past and his life, which was a malign influence,” he said.

But Russia, a traditional ally of Serbia, criticised the tribunal for rejecting a request by Milosevic last month to travel to Russia for specialist treatment . He had suffered from a heart condition and high blood pressure.

“Unfortunately, despite our guarantees, the tribunal did not agree to give Slobodan Milosevic a chance to undergo treatment in Russia,” the Russian foreign ministry said in a statement.

Others spoke of their regret that Milosevic died before receiving the court’s verdict.

Croatian president Stjepan Mesic and Bosnian Muslim leader Sulejman Tihic both said it would have been better if he had lived to the end of the trial.

Munira Subasic, a survivor of the 1995 Serb massacre of 8000 Muslims in the Bosnian town of Srebrenica said: “It would have been just if he had lived to see his conviction and served the sentence for the crimes he committed.”

Milosevic was charged with 66 counts of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes in complex indictments covering bloody conflicts in Bosnia, Croatia and Kosovo . He had declined to enter a plea.

Serbia and Montenegro foreign Minister Vuk Draskovic, said he should have faced justice in his home country.

“Milosevic organised many, many assassinations of people of my party, of people of my family,” he said.

http://www.sundayherald.com/54548

I didn't get a paper this morning due to the weather, so this is the first I knew of his death.

It's times like this I wish I was religious... but I suppose sometimes the most evil scum in the world do get away with it.
Nina

Whatever "justice" would have brought, the punishment would not weigh up to the number of people he had slaughtered.

I don't know if what I said there makes sence, but I don't really know how to say it otherwise Confused
macnumpty

In a strange way, justice has been done: a man who was strong enough to send thousands of people to an early death has died, bitter and weak, in a jail cell in The Hague.

No one might have said the word "guilty", no earthly judge might have passed a sentence. But on some level, Milosevic has received the justice that as you say, Nina, no court could really administer.

Nina wrote:
Whatever "justice" would have brought, the punishment would not weigh up to the number of people he had slaughtered.

I don't know if what I said there makes sence, but I don't really know how to say it otherwise Confused

It makes sense. Very good sense indeed.

But he went to his grave effective as an innocent man as he was never convicted of his crimes.

Aventinian wrote:
But he went to his grave effective as an innocent man as he was never convicted of his crimes.

Could he not still be convicted posthumously?
the bard of keppoch

does no one think how convenient it was for slobodan milosevic to die in his cell before his trial came to a conclusion,i think his previous hearing where a farce the same way as suddama is,for instance,suddam is being tried by the iraqis,yet american investigators where out gathering evidence to be used against suddam at his trial,also slobadan supposedly wrote a letter saying that he was being poisened,then next minute,he's dead,i remember david kelly saying how he would probably be found dead in a wood,where he regularly went walking,and he new he was going to be killed by the state

the bard of keppoch wrote:
does no one think how convenient it was for slobodan milosevic to die in his cell before his trial came to a conclusion,i think his previous hearing where a farce the same way as suddama is,for instance,suddam is being tried by the iraqis,yet american investigators where out gathering evidence to be used against suddam at his trial,also slobadan supposedly wrote a letter saying that he was being poisened,then next minute,he's dead,i remember david kelly saying how he would probably be found dead in a wood,where he regularly went walking,and he new he was going to be killed by the state

Aye thats the first thoucht that cam intae ma heid when i heard it oan the news,very convenient indeed.They can dae aw the investigations they want tae aboot his death but it`ll come back wi the same thing....no the truth.Oh!! thaur me bein` cynical agin. Rolling Eyes

SLG wrote:
Aventinian wrote:

Could he not still be convicted posthumously?

I'm aware that a few less desirable places have attempted this sort of pseudo-justice. Indeed, our very own country did it with Oliver Cromwell (before post-humously executing him for high treason) - but I don't think there's any way that one can be deemed fairly convicted without being given a forum to answer against one's accusers.

In theory though, Hitler also went to the grave an innocent man.
RFM

These so-called international tribunals seem to have a peculiar notion of justice, it seems to me. When might they get around to Henry Kissinger, or Augusto Pinoche, or George W. Bush, or Madeline Albright, for starters? Or is this only the sort of justice that we reserve for the people we can pick on?
RFM
Neil

Despite the Netherlands police deciding that they should not pursue it they accepted the correctness of his previous blood test showing he had been poisoned. All the autopsy showed was that this poison was not in his body at the time of death & thus had not had extra poison in the last few days. Considering that he was imprisoned under 24 hour video surveillance it must be obvious that the only people able to poison him were the NATO funded court.

Of course virtually all reporting of this "trial" has been kept off our screens ever since Milosevic was able to discredit every Nato/Nazi witness & evidence. His murder removes the inconvenient fact that there was absolutely no evidence against him.

The same, of course, could not be said of Clinton, Kohl, Blair & their KLA henchcreatures who are, beyond any question whatsoever, guilty of war crimes (making agressive war, deliberate bombing of civilians) & crimes against humanity (genocide, ethnic cleansing, child sex slavery & assassination).

Unfortunately, in the real world justice is not always done but let nobody ignorantly abuse the memory of a man who was 10,000 times more decent than any of the obscene filth who made up our government. Just because the racist scum at the BBC say something doesn't make it in any way true.
sandmountainslim

Neil wrote:
Despite the Netherlands police deciding that they should not pursue it they accepted the correctness of his previous blood test showing he had been poisoned. All the autopsy showed was that this poison was not in his body at the time of death & thus had not had extra poison in the last few days. Considering that he was imprisoned under 24 hour video surveillance it must be obvious that the only people able to poison him were the NATO funded court.

Of course virtually all reporting of this "trial" has been kept off our screens ever since Milosevic was able to discredit every Nato/Nazi witness & evidence. His murder removes the inconvenient fact that there was absolutely no evidence against him.

The same, of course, could not be said of Clinton, Kohl, Blair & their KLA henchcreatures who are, beyond any question whatsoever, guilty of war crimes (making agressive war, deliberate bombing of civilians) & crimes against humanity (genocide, ethnic cleansing, child sex slavery & assassination).

Unfortunately, in the real world justice is not always done but let nobody ignorantly abuse the memory of a man who was 10,000 times more decent than any of the obscene filth who made up our government. Just because the racist scum at the BBC say something doesn't make it in any way true.

Amen!
I have saw or heard no hard evidence that Slobo was guilty of any crimes against humanity. Wait until the EU and the United States of North America get the power which they seek over all of us, genocide will not be a nasty word in their "Fourth Reich".
Deo Vindice
WP

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Global Politics
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads