True Scotsman
Nats burning question is McConnell a True ScotsmanThe SNP has launched an attack on Jack McConnell.
http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/politics.cfm?id=1138422006
Nats' burning election question... is McConnell a true Scotsman?
EDDIE BARNES
POLITICAL EDITOR (ebarnes@scotlandonsunday.com)
THE SNP is to launch a highly personal attack on Jack McConnell, adopting a presidential-style campaign in the run up to next year's Holyrood elections.
Setting the scene for what promises to be one of the most bruising political dog-fights of recent years, one campaign manager last night laid out plans to use a notorious photograph from 2003 where the First Minister attended a Tartan Day event in New York wearing a pin-striped kilt. The source said the image would "encapsulate" the SNP's campaign, adding: "It shows that when he tries to be Scottish, he makes a fool of himself."
Another strategist added: "We are keen to have a massive push on 'Jokey Jack'."
The SNP is of the view that with leader Alex Salmond going head-to-head with McConnell for the first time, they can only benefit by a personalised contest. Internal research within the party has shown that while Salmond has high personal ratings, many Scots still do not have a clear idea of what McConnell stands for.
Consequently, they will seek to make a contrast between what they are terming "mediocre McConnell" and "statesmanlike Salmond".
Nationalist strategists have also been encouraged by a recent declaration by McConnell in which he appeared to concede that Scotland could continue as an independent country and that the "journey" to separation was the biggest problem.
The row over McConnell's support for teams playing against England in the World Cup has also added to their belief that the First Minister is poorly perceived.
One Nationalist source added: "Trying to be a Scottish nationalist with a small 'n' and then taking on Scottish nationalism at the same time is why people aren't sure what Jack McConnell is about."
Another senior campaign strategist added: "McConnell is having to play to different galleries. He obviously felt it necessary to make a series of pre-meditated statements on independence and on football matches which to most folk out there just don't stand up. This is about credibility."
The source added: "We have a bit of a mediocrity in charge and what we will be saying is that we could have somebody who can be a substantive First Minister with big ideas.
"This is going to be about that two-horse race. Only two parties can win and it is going to be a straight choice between mediocre McConnell and substantial Salmond."
Asked if the SNP would be using the picture of McConnell in his Tartan Day kilt on posters, a party insider said: "I am sure people will be seeing that image. If you are wanting an embodiment of his inability to take a sensible decision then that is it."
In 2003, the party relentlessly campaigned on McConnell's character. One controversial poster depicted McConnell as a stubbed-out cigarette urging voters to "kick the habit".
Labour strategists brushed aside the SNP's tactics last night, insisting that as they had failed to work in 2003, they would fail against next year.
Party chiefs pointed to Salmond's record as leader in previous elections. "Every election Alex Salmond has gone into as leader of the SNP the Nats have lost," said a senior source. "The difficulty for the SNP is that beyond Salmond and independence, nobody actually knows anything about the Nats or who they are - not exactly what you would describe as a government in waiting."
A spokesman for the party said: "The choice at the next election will be about policies, not personalities. Voters will choose between a stable economy, tough action on crime, investment in schools and hospitals with Labour, and the ruinous Scottish Nationalist Party alternative of economic disaster with their damaging policy of independence."
He added: "The SNP's policy of independence has an £11bn hole that would need to be paid for by cuts to public services and tax rises. With their policy of independence, the SNP are a one-trick pony led by a one-man band."
What a story!
I hope the SNP do concentrate on slating McConnell - everyone knows he's a complete fool.
As for this £11billion 'black hole' rubbish - where are they actually getting these figures from?
neil8r
i'm not happy with that at all, if they want to slag McConnell's political record then fine, but to start getting personal by slagging him for an outfit he wore on Tartan day in the U.S that could really backfire quite badly. There is so many things that we can slap the British nationalist parties on we don't need to get personal.
...maybe so. It must be the McConnell-hater in me that wants him to be seen as a fool.
I do however think pitching him one-on-one with Salmond is a good idea - not everyone agrees with the SNP, but I'd imagine 9/10 Scots would choose Salmond as First Minister over McConnell if they had that straight choice.
It'll be interesting to see whether this strategy convinces the floating voters.
neil8r
| azzuri wrote: | ...maybe so. It must be the McConnell-hater in me that wants him to be seen as a fool.
I do however think pitching him one-on-one with Salmond is a good idea - not everyone agrees with the SNP, but I'd imagine 9/10 Scots would choose Salmond as First Minister over McConnell if they had that straight choice.
It'll be interesting to see whether this strategy convinces the floating voters. |
Aye but they can stick to politics, lets face it if you had a debate between these two, Salmond is gonnae wipe the floor wi McConnell. So there really is no need to get personal in any way. It could really could backfire because it would be pushed by the media as being petty and vindictive.
October1974
I hope we don't have a repeat of the 2003 election with McConnel's face on SNP election posters. It didn't work then.
No, I think most folk recognise that was a mistake. You never know though.
I knew this McConnell peasant in the '70s. Didn't like him then, don't like him now. The word a***hole was made specifically for him.
I remember an old tv advert where a dog goes and sits down by a fireplace, then its joined by a cat and then a mouse - personally I'd like to see a poster similar to that with the dog's head replaced by Bush's Head, the cat's head replaced by Blair's and the mouses head replaced by McConnells. I mean who wants the head of their country to be a lapdog of a lapdog? - I think a poster to that effect would strike a nice chord with the voters considering their general opposition to US and UK foreign policy.
I agree about not attacking McConnells dress sense though, it'll just make the SNP seem like the political wing of the national enquirer or some such trash. Theres far more concrete things they could focus their efforts onto.
Title of thread ...
... is McConnell a True Scotsman???
Stupid question. He whines all the time!! Of course he's a true Scotsman!
Hendry
| Blackadder wrote: | Title of thread ...
... is McConnell a True Scotsman???
Stupid question. He whines all the time!! Of course he's a true Scotsman! |
Just back from NZ and they say its the the Pomms who are whingers.
Err and didn't Blackadder's entire act consist of whinging?
Hendry
| Quote: | | Err and didn't Blackadder's entire act consist of whinging? |
Act? Entire Act??
Are you mayhap insinuating I am a whiner ... and for your entertainment?
I still have the Queen's ear you know and the headsman has been idle too long ... and though I appreciate the cartoon ... it does not mitigate you in any way. Just you be careful ... it's a dangerous world you live in.
IF Convenor
| Blackadder wrote: | | I still have the Queen's ear you know |
I expect she'll be wanting it back.
Is her monaural state the reason she is always shown in profile on coins and stamps?
She copes without it ... that way it's easier to ignore the great unwashed. That's your lot you know.
She also has a monocular state, but has a glass eye fitted for state occasions. It's a closely guarded secret so you can't tell anyone. But surely you saw that she wore an eyepatch before? Not many people guessed that she had lost the glass eye that day, from playing marbles with Nursie and Melchett. Lord Percy found it while portraying a pig for Her Majesty's amusement.