New season starts at last!The new season kicks off today . Hibs v Dinaburg Daugavpils, 3pm. We can forget about all that World Cup pish and get back to the real thing
Don't know anything about Dinaburg Daugavpils, but putting 5 past any team is a good result.
I think you will be safely through to the next round
Worth getting absolutely soaked on the way up to Easter Road for some good goals, Dinaburg were absolutely s***e though . Hibs missed another 3 or 4 great chances. Given the conditions, there were parts of the pitch covered with water, Hibs passed it about well and looked good, though it's hard to tell against such poor opposition.
It looks like being OB Odense in the next round, might be a bit trickier.
Nice to see a Scottish team doing so well. I think if Hibs can keep a bit more consistancy this season they will do well. Shame about losing thoses players though
Well I think we'll go into the new season with a slightly stronger squad than last, despite the players we've lost. Caldwell leaving certainly strengthened our first team and the new centre half that we've signed seems like he should be able to do a job. Still hoping for another couple of signings as well though. Still such a young squad though, so I still expect consistency to be an issue.
Have Killie signed anyone yet?
They have a few trialists but nothing official yet.
They are at their pre-season training camp in Italy just now, so we'll prob hear a lot more when they get back.
The budget is so tight that we couldn't sign anyone early because that would've meant paying their wages over the summer!
Ross County kick off their friendlies this weekend against Nairn County.
Also have games lined up with Motherwell and our nearest and "dearest" ICT.
That match has just become even more interesting as we have just agreed to sell one of our best players, John Rankin to ICT.
Other big names leaving Victoria Park are David Winters (Robbie's brother) and Jim Lauchlan, our captain.
It's not all doom and gloom though as we have made a few signings including a few youth loan deals from the Old Firm and it is rumoured that Derek Adams is returing to the Staggies.
Your right SLG, its good to be getting back to proper football again.
Seen the Hibs are safely through to the third round of the Intertoto Cup SLG
Aye, safely through Amadou Konte even managed to get a couple! Bring on Odense! It would make a real difference to the season if we could get through to the UEFA cup. I think it really will have us starting the SPL at full strength - much better than meaningless friendlies.
I think Adams would be a good player for you to resign, always liked him. I've never liked loan deals, but I suppose if you can get a couple of good players for the season without having to pay much, can't be a bad thing.
A potential for Ross County to be playing Kilmarnock this weekend
| Quote: | This weekend Ross County travel to Elgin where they will be one of four teams competing for the Ennstone Challenge cup. The other three teams being Elgin City, Inverurie Locos and Kilmarnock.
Elgin & Kilmarnock kick off the tournament with County and Inverurie also playing on Saturday. Sunday sees the two loosing teams on Saturday face each other before the two winning teams play in the final.
All games are at Elgin City's Borough Briggs Stadium
http://www.thejailender.com/
Not an insurmountable deficit to overcome for the Hibees SLG. Then you will be in the same round as Gretna!
Noticed Gretna thrashed Threave Rovers 18-0 the other day. It is going to be tough in the First Division next season.
Ross County have got a friendly against Killie tomorrow.
Should be an easy win for us
RH as a killie fan mate ive never trusted the easy teams lol. Remember that penalty loss to Airdie Utd about 4 years ago, that was the one of them for me
Ha, ha only jesting Morph. Although we usually do pretty well against Premier League teams when we come up against them (que a 5-0 hammering for us ).
We start our league campaign away to Airdrie. Although it is going to be far from easy game.
Yeah, it will be interesting to see how teams treat wee Stevie Naithsmith this season. Also if we can keep up the form that saw us do so consistantly last season
Probably a fair result yesterday. Penalty was never a penalty, but they were the better team. Hibs were never really in it. Odense weren't great though, so if we play, we should beat them at Easter Road. Would be a real disgrace if we didn't.
And less of the jokes about Gretna, they got into Europe for losing - that's the last year that's happening. Not seen any odds, but are they favourite to win the 1st?
Brooks should get his checkbook out and sign all those Juve players wanting a bit of European action this season, would be great for Gretna
| Reluctant Hero wrote: |
Ross County have got a friendly against Killie tomorrow.
Should be an easy win for us  |
Sounds as though it was a fairly tight game - well done to county though for getting the result.
What was the score like? Cannae see it on the BBC site.
Saw this though
| Quote: | Falkirk's pre-season friendly with Turkish side Rizespor in Holland was abandoned when a fight broke out.
A first-half brawl saw play suspended then the match was stopped on 55 minutes when Turkish players reacted to a streaker celebrating a Falkirk goal.
The Turks had shown up three hours late forcing some fans to miss the game in order to catch flights home.
"We are angry about the inconvenience and possible additional cost for fans," director George Craig told The Herald. |
1-0 to county - killie missed a penalty and got a goal chalked off though.
Mc Intyre
Non-Killie fans please excuse me, but I watched our friendly with West Brom last night at Rugby Park, I was impressed with some pretty intelligent football, I just hope they can keep it going. If Allan Johnston plays like he did last night he's worth the gate money on his own.
| Mc Intyre wrote: | | If Allan Johnston plays like he did last night he's worth the gate money on his own. |
How! Does it only cost thruppence tae git in?
I agree about Johnston McIntyre.
I think he will always play better at the start of the season though and fade towards the end due to his fitness - just like last season.
That's a really good result against a team that was in the EPL last season.
aye it was surprising - it only shows up how meaningless pre-season friendlies are though...
Look at Hearts beating Osasona (sp?) 2-0. They finished 4th in la Liga last year. Thought it was a great result. It was their first pre-season game though. In their second they drew 0-0 with dunfermline. Means nothing till the season proper starts.
That's why (as long as we don't get injuries) I think the intertoto cup is going to be the best warm up to the SPL we could get. Much better playing real competative games than meaningless friendlies.
Mc Intyre
Wolf, I'm [not quite] old enough to remember a thruppeny admission fee,but as kids we used to get a "lift ower" the turnstiles and get in free.
We lived outside the town, and most of our pocket money went on the busfare. The good old days!
| Mc Intyre wrote: | Wolf, I'm [not quite] old enough to remember a thruppeny admission fee,but as kids we used to get a "lift ower" the turnstiles and get in free.
We lived outside the town, and most of our pocket money went on the busfare. The good old days! |
Aye me neither,the auld "lift ower" though,i had that mony a times masel.
The days when ye could get in for a few pound,an its no that long ago when ye think aboot it,i mind it wis only £2/£3 tae get intae love street aboot 86/87.It micht still be £2/£3 tae get intae Love Street richt enough.
Mc Intyre
Two quid tae get intae Love St., aye but how much was it tae get back oot? Only kiddin, I've enjoyed watching many games against the Buddies, New Year ones included, roll on.
| Mc Intyre wrote: | | Two quid tae get intae Love St., aye but how much was it tae get back oot? Only kiddin, I've enjoyed watching many games against the Buddies, New Year ones included, roll on. |
Aye i wis only visiting though.I always mind they done a nice line in open air toilets................3 walls stuck the gither wi a gutter an a load ae moss.
SF102
Wolf, that not normal up your way then?
We've progressed darn sarf ya know we got roofs on ours
2 quid to get into a football match jesus wept . . . .i aint EVER seen the Hammers play for that price come to think of it i don't think i've seen anybody for that price
its not like that everywhere SF, i mean at Ibrox or Parkhead you get a free singsong and Band playing all the way through the game
Gung-ho
Come on ye Bairns
SF102
Oh jesus thats all i need . . . . . 1 hibs 3 Killie and 1 Falkirk any more and i'm gonna need to start writing them all down
| Gung-ho wrote: |
Come on ye Bairns |
Looking forward to the new season?
frank rizzo
Yet another Killie fan!
SF102
NOOOOOOOOOOOOO thats 4 Killies 2 hibs and 1 Falkirk. Might be easier if i was to split ya into either Killie fans or Others. If anyone is out there watching . . please add ya team (pref with which league ya play in just so us <ok me> numptiyheads can join in) Cheers
Thaur ye are! The Burnie!
Whitburn Juniors.
Gung-ho
| SLG wrote: | | Gung-ho wrote: |
Come on ye Bairns |
Looking forward to the new season? |
Yes although we could do with acouple of strikers a 16 -nil victory in Holland was just not good enough
m'on the hoops!!
Cymro
Does anyone on here use Freeview to watch Sentanta for SPL matches? If so what kind of set top box do you use? Cost? I tried to use my intergrated Freeview tv to get it and it wouldn't work, neither did it on my parents set top box either. Going to buy Freeview for the tv in the bedroom to get Sentanta occasionally but want to make sure I get the right box to receive it.
Thanks
dont you need one thats top up tv?
Cymro
I think so. But does that mean I need to pay the £7.99 a month for that? Or can I buy the top up tv box and not bother to register to get UK GOld, Discovery etc. I've got Sky downstairs so I don't need to pay for all them twice. I just think Sentanta on Freeview - £8 per game will be cheeper for me for now as opposed to £14 per month for Sentanta on Sky. I don't watch enough SPL to justify that.
i think you can just buy the compatible box, and not subscribe
We started the season today with a 2 - 0 away win over Airdrie Utd.
'mon the County
Aye good start. Looks like Gretna will be living up to the hype yet again. I really hope someone gives them a challenge.
I honestly thought that Gretna were going to be found out in our division. But a 6 - 0 win on the opening game of the season is pretty emphatic.
We play them in mid-August, the 19th I think, so we will see what kind of season County are destined for pretty early on.
What happened to Hibs today?!
Title decider between Hearts and Celtic tomorrow
Well Hamilton were mid table last season so it looks like Gretna are a fair bit ahead of them. We'll see how they get on against Livi and County though.
Only got to hear bits and pieces of the Hibs game on the radio today. Sounds like they were back to their best for the first half, and should have had a few and killed the game off. A Fletcher goal ruled offside when it seems to have since been clearly shown on the tv to be onside. Fletcher is very good but still young and the other strikers brought in to replace O'Connor and Riordan have yet to show enough.
| Reluctant Hero wrote: | Title decider between Hearts and Celtic tomorrow  |
I think if Celtic win, everyone else will be getting worried. If not, it could be a really open season at the top. A draw would see St Mirren stay top as well
I heard that you were the better team in the first half SLG and should have been up by more. As you say a team with O'conner or Riordan may have converted these chances.
In the second half Kilmarnock were meant to be greatly improved adn switchin Stevie out to the right wing seemed to be the difference in the second half.
Was gutted as i was working or i would have been at Rugby park.
I was in Ireland for the weekend - gutted I missed Naisy's goal!
According to Scotland on Sunday:
| Quote: | | At the end, Kilmarnock probably just about deserved their victory on the balance of play in the second half, but how Hibs miss someone up front with a cool head and an eye for goal. |
My Dad says Hibs played like Brazil first half and like the 'Blue Brazil' (Cowdenbeath) in the second.
Aye, sounded like an amazing goal. Hibs will come good though. Zemamma should start next week, Boozy will be back soon and mibee one or two other new signings. We'll be alright.
I hear that Killie are mibee signing Fernandez. Could be a good one. I liked him before he went to Seltic.
Aye we have rumours of about 4 or 5 coming to sign for us. Who knows...
I think we might see Paul Ritchie signing as well. I'll wait until I see them on the pitch before I judge. Seen too many 'stars' arrive at RP and turn out to be complete failures to get excited over a couple of OF failures signing.
Well I don't think Fernandez and Ritchie can claim still to be stars. I'd imagine both will find another club in the SPL though. Been a wee bit of talk of Ritchie coming to Easter Rd. I wouldn't mind giving him a go, so long as his wages aren't too high. Same would apply for Fernandez.
see here for Killie vs. Hibs highlights.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wnb472smgMo
Looked like a good game
I know that some of you big teams don't have to play until the second or third round, but today was the kick off of the CIS League Cup......
.....and County won 4-2 over Stranraer
Get in!!!
...I bet ye' that's the longest trip in the whole cup competition for any away fan.
| Quote: | | ...I bet ye' that's the longest trip in the whole cup competition for any away fan. |
Last season when Stranraer were in our division, the SFL in their great wisdom, scheduled County vs Stranraer for New Years Eve. Quality planning
..you couldn't make it up RH. We regularly have trips to Aberdeen and Inverness around Christmas and New Year.