doodells
No longer the best small country in the world?Caught my eye on the BBC news site:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/7114861.stm
I personally hated the old best small country jibe, so for me anything is an improvement, but what about the plans for replacement?
At Prestwick/Glasgow airports, would it not be better to have a picture of a ned with bottle of buckfast and a knife with the caption underneath reading in all different languages; 'Beware!'
sgmillerton
aye. i wonder who got pai several thousands of pounds to think that up. i mean, it's crap.
doodells
Once they put in the visuals for each local area I think it could work well. Although personally I think fairly priced bus/train services to and from the airports would give a much better impression of Scotland than any sort of slogan.
doodells
(also a fairly priced breakfast menu, have you seen the price of a bacon roll at Prestwick!?)
It really made me think. If one was going to be arrogant enough to claim to be the best small country in the world, why not go the whole hog and simply claim to be the best country in the world...
I'd rather not hear that sort of cocky nonsense, but I imagine it'll just be replaced by something equally rubbish.
Economist
I think a complete revamp of the Arrivals areas of our main airports is a much more pressing concern (Edinburgh, Glasgow, Prestwick, Aberdeen). Any time I've flown back home, they are characterless, dingy and wouldn't look out of place in the FSU.
| Economist wrote: | | I think a complete revamp of the Arrivals areas of our main airports is a much more pressing concern (Edinburgh, Glasgow, Prestwick, Aberdeen). Any time I've flown back home, they are characterless, dingy and wouldn't look out of place in the FSU. |
Not to worry, you'll soon have a large blue and white "UK BORDER" wall to enjoy upon arrival, as I understand it.
Celtic Indian
Good.It was a stupid slogan in the 1st place.
inga
Re: No longer the best small country in the world? | doodells wrote: | Caught my eye on the BBC news site:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/7114861.stm
I personally hated the old best small country jibe, so for me anything is an improvement, but what about the plans for replacement?
At Prestwick/Glasgow airports, would it not be better to have a picture of a ned with bottle of buckfast and a knife with the caption underneath reading in all different languages; 'Beware!' |
Scotland: Quite Nice Actually.
Seriously, it'd have been an improvement on the old one.
~Inga
Aventinian, I have to agree with you there. It was indeed an arrogant and stupid slogan. I imagine most 'wee countries' think theirs is the best in the world, as do the bigger countries, and rightly so. It's called patriotism in any language.
jeeves
I recently flew into Edinburgh airport and it was refreshing to see the simple words 'welcome to scotland' with the blue and white saltires all over the place. Much less embarassing than the previous slogan and bound to give a better 1st impression of scotland.
Holebender
Unfortunately the old slogan could still be seen at Aberdeen Airport when I arrived from Paris on the 18th of December. It was well after the newer welcomes, but it was still there none-the-less.
doodells
Yeah they probably forgot to pay someone an extra £XXXX to remove the old ones completely.
When visitors arrive at Prestwick Airport they are treated to the slogan "pure dead brilliant". I think that most who dont speak Englaish would only instantly recognise the word dead and think its a threat.
It is an embarrassment and the most cringeworthy thing I have seen at any airport, and I have been in lots of airports.
Welcome to Scotland is more than enough to greet people with alongside the same message in other langauges.
agentmancuso
| Rinty wrote: | | When visitors arrive at Prestwick Airport they are treated to the slogan "pure dead brilliant". I think that most who dont speak Englaish would only instantly recognise the word dead and think its a threat. |
Ah but you're falling into the trap of thinking that this welcome statement is in English. The Scotintern have recently decreed that the language native to this country is to be referred to as Scots from now on. This apparently grotesque message is actually an expression of our embattled - and embittered- cultural heritage, defiantly proclaimed in the face of Foreign Oppression By Them.
An alternative suggestion was Scots: Pure deid pish, but this was rejected on aesthetic grounds.
You're right of course, it's stomach-churning.
personally, I would have thought that the expression 'pure dead brilliant' was more like Glasgow slang that the Scots tongue.