Hendry
Its Scotland's Andy MurrayQuote Andy:-
"It's happened to me since I was quite young, [being called English]. I want to be known as Scottish. If you look at Henman everyone knows him as English, so I think it's only fair if I'm known as Scottish."
Hear, hear!
Hendry
The American networks still refer to him as England's Andy Murray. I wrote a quick email of complaint to ESPN. They haven't done anything about it though.
Gaags
I think that anybody who is Scottish would have a problem being called English, for the same reason that they would not want to be called French.
What would be more interesting is to know what he thinks about being called British.
I don't think he's going to complain to much about being called British. If he refers to himself as Scots then that still good. I think the fact that he took the effort to put the half Saltire on his shirt overcoming the rule banning political symbols tells us quite a lot.
Who cares about the British part.
The boy has openly stated in the media that he wants to be known as Scottish. Isn't that enough? We know he's Scottish, he wants to be known as Scottish and as long as he keeps winning things the media will keep labelling him British - it's certainly not his fault and there is very little he can do about it. It's an individual sport - Murray is playing tennis on behalf of himself, not for Scotland OR Britain.
Gaags
It's an individual sport for most the time, they do play in teams sometimes though, in the Davis Cup for example.
| Quote: | | Who cares about the British part. |
I do not particulary care, it will not effect me, I was just interested to know.
Hendry
| rs_azzuri wrote: | Who cares about the British part.
The boy has openly stated in the media that he wants to be known as Scottish. Isn't that enough? We know he's Scottish, he wants to be known as Scottish and as long as he keeps winning things the media will keep labelling him British - it's certainly not his fault and there is very little he can do about it. It's an individual sport - Murray is playing tennis on behalf of himself, not for Scotland OR Britain. |
Actually the channel 4 news reported that he wanted to be known as Scottish not British. However it was not a direct quote, and may have been the oft observed synonymity English commentators display re English - British.
Anyway he is now officially UK no 1 in the rankings by getting to the QF in Memphis (although the rankings tables are not updated till Monday).
We can trust the Evening News to keep us in check. Today's sports headline "Murray to be king of the Britons".
will probably only be known as Scottish when he loses or his form dips
I wonder if it is England's Tim Henman now???
Sky news said regarding Andy Murray and i quote"Englands no.1 and deservedly so."at 9.30 this morning.I thought i wis gonnae kick the telly in.The same presenter has just been seen sitting cringing and making an apology just 5 minutes ago after a load ae complaints.Ha Ha he`s still apologising the noo.
Hendry
| Wolf of Badenoch wrote: | Sky news said regarding Andy Murray and i quote"Englands no.1 and deservedly so."at 9.30 this morning.I thought i wis gonnae kick the telly in.The same presenter has just been seen sitting cringing and making an apology just 5 minutes ago after a load ae complaints.Ha Ha he`s still apologising the noo.  |
I notice his sidekick seemed dubious of it being a mistake.
Well it's all about the use of language. If they correct the mistake by calling him Scots, then great. If they correct it by calling him British, then that is a bit redundant to most folk in England the word are synonymous.
Aye he said "I didn`t say that did i?,hes Scottish of course he is,how could he be english?,i love the Scots,i love the country".......i think the words "i apologise humbly were also used."
At least he did appoligise thats been going on for years at events like the olympics, Scottish if they do bad, British if they win a medal, crazy
Murray kicks off his French Open campaign tomorrow.
Let's hope for a win because he has been going through a bit of a rough period lately.
Monfils is supposed to be very good, playing in front of a home crowd as well. I think he did beat Monfils recently though.
Blackleaf
| SLG wrote: | | I wonder if it is England's Tim Henman now??? |
No, although naturally, with our large population, the vast majority of his supporters at Wimbledon will be English.
That's if he hasn't made a serious mistake by declaring that he will be supporting England's opponents in the world Cup, in which case he should have the support of around 3 or 4 Scots in this year's Wimbledon.
Aye weel the boy has came oot an said he`s supporting onybody that plays England,whits the problem wi that like?Personally i couldnae gie a toss aboot yer wimbledon,fu ae the middle classes singing Cliff f***ing Richard songs an eating strawberries and cream an aw talkin like they`ve got hauf ae the tennis baws in their mooths.
Blackleaf
Obviously Murray gives a toss about it, as he's a tennis player.
But we'll see what happens this summer when only 20 people - all Scots - turn up to support him.
I said " personally" i couldnae care less if andy murray gives a toss aboot it.
We`ll see how mony english are supporting him,i`ll tell ye noo the lot ae them will,did ye no notice how fast they aw dropped Henman.Whit happened tae henmans hill then? that wis quickly drapped for some other ridiculous name for a bit ae grass.Ye watch oot they`ll aw be sitting wi mooths fu ae strawberries cheering oan a scotsman that wanted their team tae get gubbed at fitba.Fickle eh?An if yon prick Sir Cliff turns up a hope the boy skelps a tennis baw richt aff his broo,maybe shut up his screeching for a while.
It will just be the same for Murray as all the other non-English players. It's clearly not a 'home' competition for Murray despite representing Britain.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5031598.stm
| Quote: | Struggling Murray needs time
By Chris Bailey
BBC Interactive in Paris
Murray's physical problems caught up with him again in Paris
Roger Federer said last week that Andy Murray is not in the best shape he could be and when the world number one speaks, you sit up and listen.
Lleyton Hewitt's view is that the longer he keeps Murray on court, the better chance he has of coming out on top, and I'm sure he's not the only player who thinks like that about the 19-year-old.
We've had cramping at Queen's and Wimbledon, vomiting at the US Open, cramping again at Monte Carlo and now a lower back problem in his defeat to Gael Monfils at the French Open.
It is all very unfortunate but let's not start thinking this is a mental problem for Andy.
One of Andy's major strengths is his mental fortitude and I think he proved that against Monfils in the opening three sets.
However, it is clear that he has a lot of hard work to do and a lot of pain to go through to get to a level where he is strong enough to go the distance: not just for one match but for seven.
BBC AT THE FRENCH OPEN
Watch live coverage of the French Open daily on BBC Interactive (digital viewers, press the red button)
Until he puts in that hard graft, his body will always let him down.
But the problem Murray faces is very similar to the one faced by Maria Sharapova on the women's tour: to increase your fitness, you need to increase your workload, but if you increase your workload while you're still growing, you risk a long-term injury.
Murray has to be worried about what his body is telling him and that is why he, as well as his former coach Mark Petchey, is convinced we will not see the best of him for at least two years.
We have to remember that he is only 19 and he has not even had a full year on the tour yet.
He knows as well as anyone he has to improve his fitness, but if you look at the way he constructs points and the way he strikes the ball, there is still an enormous amount to be excited about.
But with Wimbledon approaching, it is also a time for realism.
Andy will not win Wimbledon.
Hopefully he can go further than the third round, which is what he did last year, but if does get to the last 16, it will have been a very, very good tournament for him.
Some very wise words
Andy Murray said | Quote: | | its happened to me since I was quite young(being called english) I want to be known as Scottish |
This is the result of the aftermath of Culloden many hundred years into the future. The English havenae got it in their thick heids yet,that the scots are a people seperate and distinct from themselves and that we wuid like tae remain that way.As is our right! We did not show up just tae enrich england.We have been in our ain country for at least 1500 years thank ye very much and wae oot yer (english) permission!!!
BG
Highlander
| Quote: | | This is the result of the aftermath of Culloden many hundred years into the future |
BORING. Go and read some history books and you wil find out that 1745 and all that was not Scotland versus England. And in fact the majority of Scots thought of the highlanders as Irish. So stop going on about culloden. Those people that lost wanted to impose a "divine" king upon on the people of Britain. Not very nice and it is good that they lost.
The majority of Scots did not think the Highlanders were Irish. Not long before the '45 about 50% of the population of Scotland was in the highlands.
Murray was absolutely immense in his opening match at Wimbledon today.
Massu is the current Olympic champion and was seeded 31 for Wimbledon, but Murray just blew him aside.
Let's hope his form continues.
| Quote: | British star Andy Murray got off to a dream start at Wimbledon with an emphatic win against Nicolas Massu.
Murray, who reached the third round on his debut last year, beat the Chilean 6-1 6-4 6-4 in one hour 53 minutes.
The Scot, 19, signalled his intent by racing to a 5-0 lead as clay-courter Massu struggled on the grass.
Murray went on to claim the set and then rattled off the next two to earn a second-round clash with German Bjorn Phau or Julien Benneteau of France.
Highlights: Wimbledon day two
Murray returned to the scene of his big breakthrough last year in confident style.
Despite some inconsistency in recent months, the teenager looked in top form as he dominated his 31st-seeded opponent from the outset with a wide range of drop-shots and slices.
That's definitely the best match I've played on grass this year
Andy Murray
Murray was naturally delighted with his performance, which he ranked as one of his best.
"I couldn't have started better," he said. "I returned really well - I hardly missed a return when I got my racquet on it, and I had so many chances to break him in the second set, I'm a little disappointed I had to close out at 5-4.
"The whole match was pretty solid - I was really consistent. I expected a real tough match but clearly did everything he didn't like and everything I do really well.
"I thought it was a really good match, I didn't do anything wrong. That's definitely the best match I've played on grass this year."
An out-of-sorts Massu had to wait until the sixth game to hold a serve before Murray claimed the first set.
The Chilean, 26, put up more of battle in the second, but Murray got the vital break at 2-1 on his way to a two-set lead.
In the third, Massu had a chance to claw something back when he earned his first break point at 1-1, but Murray nullified the threat before breaking him twice.
A break back from Massu at 5-3 down was not enough to stop Murray eventually closing out for a comprehensive win in front of a delighted home crowd on Centre Court.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5122674.stm
Good start from Murray.
| Quote: | Murray ready to show true colours
WHILE England remains gripped by World Cup fever, Andy Murray is ready to bring a touch of Scotland to Wimbledon with the blue and white of the Scottish Saltire on his wristbands.
... |
http://www.theherald.co.uk/sport/64848.html
aye seems he played realy well.
I doubt he can keep it up though. his form varies greatly from set to set, never mind match to match. If he wins another couple of matches I'm sure he'll be happy enough with that.
Andy Murray's blog has been attacked by hundreds of posts from English folk saying they won't support him any more. Fair enough. Comments about his mother and the Dunblane massacre are a bit out of order though.
Murray stung by English backlash
and if you want to read some of the comments on his blog
see - http://andymurray.com/locker-room/blog/28-06/tuesday/
some of the stuff is really harsh - these folk need to get a grip! It's up to him who the hell he supports ffs!
Just had a wee read. Pretty laughable. Lots of accusations of racism. It does look like there is now an awareness amongst the general public in England of the issues of the Scots raj, W Lothian and Barnett formula etc.
It's pretty unfortunate that Andy seems to be suffereing from this general feeling. Be interesting to see the reaction he gets today when he comes on court.
I think the use of things such as Dunblane take the piss. I mean if he wont support them fine theres not need for that kind of abuse. Will this be investigated for encitement of racial hatred as Jack McConnells comments were rumored to be?
Blackleaf
Friday June 30, 2006
The Guardian
Andy Murray probably has absolutely no desire to do so, but it seems he will struggle to conquer middle England. For all the "Murraymania" of last year, the past 12 months appear to have eroded the affection Wimbledon then had for the 19-year-old Scot.
As Murray prepared to go on to Centre Court last night there was none of the buzz of anticipation that traditionally accompanies Tim Henman's appearances in SW19. Tina Freed, a marketing executive from Kent, believes the escarpment known as Henman Hill will forever be a redoubt for the Oxford-born British No3.
"It is still Henman Hill and it will remain that way, as I think it should," said Mrs Freed, whose young son Charlie wore a dozen "I've queued at Wimbledon 2006" badges like medals from a military campaign. These were the reward of 3½ patient hours spent in line.
"It would be lovely to have a British champion but whatever happens it will always be Henman Hill. It will not be Murray Mount, or whatever, next."
The Freeds are keen tennis players at the local David Lloyd club and Tina's husband Mark did suggest that her opinion might change if their son has success at the sport. "Maybe it will be known as Freed Fold," he said - but then young Charlie is English.
The more opinions were offered yesterday, the more it became apparent that Henman Hill is as English as the jugs of Pimm's and strawberries and cream on which so much sterling was spent yesterday. One girl sported a sweater bearing the legend "Tits McGhee" on the back. It might have been a clan reference, but she explained it was merely a nickname. Alex Theaker, a student at Nottingham Trent University, was most certainly English. "Last year I thought Murray was awesome," she said. "But a few things have turned me off him, some articles I've read and his attitude."
Most specifically: Murray's frivolous claim that he wants "anyone but England" to win the World Cup. Yesterday there was a committed debate about Scottish independence on the Dunblane-born teenager's weblog.
Even if Murray fails to address the 70-year-old failure of British men to win Wimbledon he must surely go down in history as the first ATP Tour player to host a website discussion about whether or not North Sea oil money makes Scotland a net contributor to the UK's economy.
"It's just jealousy," said a 26-year-old scientist, Paul Parham, of Murray's comments, having arrived on Henman Hill proudly sporting an England football shirt.
Yet though he may have alienated upwards of 50m people, Murray's own countrymen have a greater sense of affinity and the 19-year-old did have his admirers from back home yesterday.
Graeme Shaw, a 34-year-old firefighter from Glasgow, was wearing a Scotland shirt after finishing his shift as a Wimbledon steward. "I could have watched Andy on Centre Court but I chose to come here and watch it with the rest of the working classes," he said.
"I'd like to see the wee man do well. I'm right behind him and so is Scotland. There have been a few anti-English comments that have not endeared him with some people and I've read what's on his website. But, then, what does he expect? He's a young boy of 19 and he'll learn.
"If he was Welsh people would be 100% behind him. If he was Irish they'd be 100% behind him too, but because he's outspoken and he wears his Scotland armband everyone outside Scotland thinks differently."
Shaw's was one of just two saltires on show yesterday. The other belonged to two 16-year-olds, Victoria Proud and Rebecca Gillen, and their 17-year-old friend Jennifer Wylie, who play their tennis at Glasgow's Bearsden club. It was the trio's second day of supporting their compatriot.
"On Wednesday we came and we seemed to be supporting him on our own, we were the only ones clapping," said Rebecca. She and the other girls understand Murray's entrenchment: they are not supporting England in Germany, either. "I don't see why we should," added Rebecca. Scotland and England are separate nations."
And never the twain shall meet. Certainly not on Henman Hill, at any rate.
guardian.co.uk
How surprising, more divisive tribal rubbish from the Guardian.
Don't the papers realise the racial war they are brewing?
I think Murray may have unknowingly played an absolute master-stroke.
One of the theories for Henman not winning Wimbledon is the amount of expectation and interest in him around June/July time.
Murray has just alienated, if you believe the English press, a lot of people. This will relieve the pressure/expectation and maybe he can get on and play tennis.
Asked if he would like either to win a major tennis tournament or have a stupid piece of grass named after him, I'm sure I know which one he would pick.
BTW He was outstanding again today. Tough game against Roddick tomorrow. Let's hope the organisers put it on at 4pm so we have something decent to watch on TV
Absolutely outstanding match by Murray today.
To beat a two times Wimbledon finalist, a former world no. 1 who has a serve of in excess of 140 mph in straight sets was brilliant.
A good day for Scotland all round
Certainly, brilliant performance - totally outshone anything 'Tiger Tim' has ever done at Wimbledon.
To show such courage and maturity at such a young age was breathtaking.
Blackleaf
| Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | This is the result of the aftermath of Culloden many hundred years into the future |
BORING. Go and read some history books and you wil find out that 1745 and all that was not Scotland versus England. And in fact the majority of Scots thought of the highlanders as Irish. So stop going on about culloden. Those people that lost wanted to impose a "divine" king upon on the people of Britain. Not very nice and it is good that they lost. |
Correct. The Battle of Culloden was a part of the Jacobite Rising, and had nothing to do with Scots fighting for independence.
The gist of it is that the English, quite rightly, didn't want the Catholic James II on the British throne (considering we are overwhemingly Protestant). So he was forced to leave the throne and in came William III, the Prince of Orange, and Britain's first Hanoverian monarch.
Some people,. though, wanted the Stuarts back on the Throne, and those people were known as Jacobites. They eventually had a leader - Bonnie Prince Charlie, who tried to make himself the King of England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, but he and his Jacobites were defeated by the Royal Army at the Battle of Culloden. There were actually MORE Scots fighting for the Royal Army than there were in the Jacobite Army of Bonnie Prince Charlie.
This battle had NOTHING to do with England VS Scotland. It was just part of the Jacobite Risings but, for some reason, some Scots seem to think it was some sort of battle for Scottish independence.
Blackleaf
More about Murray -
WORLD CUP'S MADE US A DISUNITED KINGDOM
The Mirror
3 July 2006
WIMBLEDON joy? Why's that, then? That pockmarked goon Andrew Murray is just Cristiano Ronaldo in a kilt.
I know it feels like we have been here before, but here's what is different about this World Cup: for the first time in my life it feels like being British doesn't matter a damn.
Ask yourself, when was the last time you saw a Union Jack?
If you believe what you read in the papers, then Germany 2006 has made us a Disunited Kingdom. As England were courageously going down to the Lisbon wing of RADA, they were said to be celebrating in Scotland.
Can it be true? The Scots may have cheered Big Phil's writhing, diving strolling players in the pubs, but did they truly feel that way in their hearts?
The Anybody But England movement has to be more wind-up than genuine feeling, doesn't it? Aren't we all still British? Or not any more?
TV ratings reveal that the Scots have tuned into the World Cup just as much as the English, but that they cheered for Anybody But The English (the Welsh are more ambivalent - but then they were with us as far back as Agincourt).
I can't quite believe any thinking Scotsman can truly detest England, just as I can never understand how any thinking Englishman can express a hatred of Scotland.
How can you dislike the country that gave the world Robert Louis Stevenson, Denis Law, Annie Lennox, porridge, Billy Bremner, Irvine Welsh, that fat bloke in Cracker, Bill Shankly, Matt Busby, Richard Jobson, North Sea oil and the most ruggedly gorgeous landscape on the planet?
Scottish soldiers have distinguished themselves in every conflict this country has ever seen. The British empire would have been impossible without the sons of Scotland. In their hearts, most of the English have nothing but love and respect for Scotland. But the World Cup posed the question: do they honestly hate our Sassenach guts?
The football certainly increased tensions. Was Gordon Brown a jock Judas for saying that he would be supporting England? Is the acne-ravaged Andrew Murray a chippy sourpuss for saying he would not? Or merely a stout Braveheart, a Scottish patriot with a Saltire sweatband - Mel Gibson with lousy skin?
Murray later desperately backtracked on his anti-English remarks, but it felt like craven hypocrisy during Wimbledon. Yes, I bet he was weeping all over his sporran when Rooney got sent off.
Newsnight conducted an interesting experiment that suggested things are not as bad as pus-chops Murray would have us believe.
For the price of about two-and-a-half licence fees, a brave Newsnight reporter bought a car, decked it out with English flags, painted the cross of St George on the bonnet and drove it around Scotland.
MOST Scots gave a friendly wave and wished the English lads well in their doomed World Cup adventure.
For a Sassenach who loves Scotland, it was all quite moving.
A man in a kilt, who looked about as genuinely jock as a packet of porridge oats, said he hoped they beat Portugal - although his wee lad, also in full jock kit, laughingly said he hoped the English lost.
But the banter was good-natured, until the brave little English van went all the way to Glasgow's Parkhead, where hooded vandals kicked in the windows.
But mostly the Newsnight experiment revealed a Scotland that was proud, confident and enlightened enough to be well above crass Sassenach-bashing. And you wonder where that leaves the most successful Scottish sportsman of the day.
If mouthy Andrew Murray hates the English as much as he seems to, then he should take up a sport that is a little less middle-class, a little less poncy, a little less cucumber-sandwiches-with-the-crusts-cutoff. Something a little less English. Try croquet, Jimmy.
mirror.co.uk
| Blackleaf wrote: | | Highlander wrote: | | Quote: | | This is the result of the aftermath of Culloden many hundred years into the future |
BORING. Go and read some history books and you wil find out that 1745 and all that was not Scotland versus England. And in fact the majority of Scots thought of the highlanders as Irish. So stop going on about culloden. Those people that lost wanted to impose a "divine" king upon on the people of Britain. Not very nice and it is good that they lost. |
Correct. The Battle of Culloden was a part of the Jacobite Rising, and had nothing to do with Scots fighting for independence.
The gist of it is that the English, quite rightly, didn't want the Catholic James II on the British throne (considering we are overwhemingly Protestant). So he was forced to leave the throne and in came William III, the Prince of Orange, and Britain's first Hanoverian monarch.
Some people,. though, wanted the Stuarts back on the Throne, and those people were known as Jacobites. They eventually had a leader - Bonnie Prince Charlie, who tried to make himself the King of England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, but he and his Jacobites were defeated by the Royal Army at the Battle of Culloden. There were actually MORE Scots fighting for the Royal Army than there were in the Jacobite Army of Bonnie Prince Charlie.
This battle had NOTHING to do with England VS Scotland. It was just part of the Jacobite Risings but, for some reason, some Scots seem to think it was some sort of battle for Scottish independence. |
Ho Troll!Whaur did ye get yon pish fae?Wisnae the Daily Mail wis it? Dinnae come oan here an stert lecturing aboot history,especially when ye cannae get yer facts richt.William of Orange wis the first Hanoverian monarch wis he? I`ll rest ma case thaur an let ye work it oot yersel an as for the rest ae yer post weel the least said the better.I can hear yer fingers typing in dailymail.co.uk the noo.Dinnae gie up yer day joab.
Murray shows why he is top seed in Newport's Hall of Fame Championship by cruising into the semis with a 6-0 6-0 win
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5182110.stm
...good on ye Andy!
He showed today how he is still relatively inexperienced as he lost in straight sets to the no.8 seed in the semis.
It was a good run though.
I think it was a fantastic move by for Andy Murray (and the LTA) to secure the services of Brad Gilbert as coach. He previously coached both Andre Agassi and Andy Roddick.
I think it is a bit early for the US Open which is later this year, but in the next year or two, he could be pushing for a Grand Slam.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5238540.stm
| Quote: | Murray to begin Gilbert adventure
Gilbert puts Murray through his paces earlier this week
Andy Murray will play his first match under the tutelage of new coach Brad Gilbert in the second round of the Legg Mason Classic in Washington.
The pair are teaming up for the first time after Gilbert became Murray's coach at the end of last month.
Murray will play Paraguay's Ramon Delgado after receiving a bye in the first round.
"Andy does a lot of things well. At 19 he has a lot more years in his game to get better," said Gilbert.
"This is not the time to make a lot of changes. You don't want to take away a player's confidence. The main goal is keep getting better."
Murray had been without a coach since splitting with Mark Petchey last year.
We've had a good time so far
Andy Murray
Gilbert, whose salary is being partly paid by the Lawn Tennis Association, will also work with the LTA on other programmes.
And one of Gilbert's first acts was to have Murray train with eight-time Grand Slam winner Andre Agassi.
"Watching Andre work, how intense he is and how professional he is, at his age to be so motivated and work so hard, it's unbelievable and it's the reason he's still playing at such a high level," said Murray.
The Scot says the relationship with Gilbert has got off to a good start.
"The best thing about Brad is he worked with Andre at 23, he worked with Roddick at 20 and he has kids my age," he said. "He knows how to deal with younger guys.
"I respect him so I don't think there's going to be any problems with personalities.
"I knew he was a very good coach. Obviously personalities have to match a little bit. It's good for me right now to have someone with a strong personality, someone who knows what they are talking about."
Murray won again last night. He is now in the Quarter-finals.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5244136.stm
| Quote: | Murray and Henman into quarters
Murray will play Mardy Fish in the quarter-finals on Friday
Andy Murray and Tim Henman are on course for a semi-final meeting after both cruised into the quarter-finals of the Legg Mason Classic.
Henman took a straight-sets victory over Jan-Michael Gambill while Murray saw off Feliciano Lopez 7-5 6-2.
Murray will now play Mardy Fish, while Henman takes on his old Russian foe Dmitry Tursunov.
Murray said: "It'll be difficult match. Mardy finished five hours before me. He'll get more time to rest."
Henman took just one hour and 13 minutes to wrap up a comprehensive 6-1 6-3 victory.
It went from pretty light to pitch black
Andy Murray on the Washington weather
The tone was set in the opening game with Henman breaking the American's serve.
He maintained the momentum at the start of the second, breaking for a 2-0 lead as Gambill's serve continued to let him down.
Murray, meanwhile, led 5-4 in the first set when showers halted play for over two hours.
Murray said: "It went from pretty light to pitch black.
"It was a different match when we got back - the ball was a lot slower.
"But as long as you are sharper than your opponent, you will make the better start."
Marat Safin had one of his best results since coming back from a knee injury as he beat top seed and world number five James Blake 7-6 (8-6) 7-6 (7-5).
"These kind of matches are the most important," said the Russian.
"Playing good, bad, with a lot of luck - these are the ones that are going to give you the confidence."
Third seed Lleyton Hewitt eased into the quarter-finals with a comfortable 6-1 6-4 win over Denis Gremelmayr.
But fifth seed Dominik Hrbaty made a third-round exit, beaten 6-3 6-2 by French 11th seed Arnaud Clement.
Murray had a great week last week reaching his second ATP final.
Unfortunately he lost to Frenchman Clement in the final.
This week he is already through to the second round of the Toronto Masters knocking out seeded Ferrer in the first round.
Today he is taking on Tim Henman, which is due to start any time soon. Should be a good game. Come on Andy
...how's his world ranking now RH?
Before this event he was up to 31 in the world.
He is sure to rise even higher as he has just beaten Henman to get into the last 16. However, he is playing former world number 1, Carlos Moya in the next round.
good on him! There's no doubt he's the best on these Isles now!
You've got to assume getting a top class coach in place will see him continue to impove.
you can keep up to date with his progress on his website:
http://www.andymurray.com/
Murray has just blown away former world number 1, Carlos Moya, in straight sets. Outstanding display.
Onwards to the quarter-finals tomorrow.
He is looking in good shape for the US Open which starts on the 28th of August.
....brilliant display. Every tie won is a real step forward for the wee man.
Isn't Federer still in it though?
Yeah, Federer is still in, but he is in the opposite half of the draw to Murray.
Murray is now playing someone I can't even pronounce, let alone spell!
Oh no - using Scottish footie fan logic, he must be brilliant!
| azzuri wrote: | Oh no - using Scottish footie fan logic, he must be brilliant!  |
He was brilliant, but fortunately Murray was even more brilliant
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/4783159.stm
| Quote: | Murray reaches first Masters semi
Murray is in the semi-finals at a Masters event for the first time
Andy Murray reached his first Masters semi-final with a 6-4 6-7 (0-7) 6-3 win over Finn Jarkko Nieminen in Toronto.
The British teenager struggled with his first serve throughout the match, but produced more classy shots than his opponent, who is ranked in the top 15.
Murray was the dominant player in the first set and served for the match in the second before capitulating to an ugly whitewash in the tiebreaker.
But he rallied to take a 5-2 lead in the decider and eked out a fine win.
Alas, all good things have to come to an end and Andy Murray was beaten in straight sets in the semi-final 6-2 7-5.
He is sniffing about the World top twenty at the moment and should get a decent draw in the US open at the end of the month.
Next week it is the Cincinatti Open and he is playing Henman in the first round. Should he get through that, he has a potential tie with Federer in the second round! Eeeeeaaaaaasssssssyyyyy!!!!!
He's still progressing at some rate. Surely it's just a matter of time before he makes it into a final of a Masters event.
...good for him.
It's all progress - that's the main thing.
Today, Murray was confirmed as number 21 in the world.
He is also going to be seeded in the US Open at the end of the month, which should hopefully give him a slightly easier draw in the first round.
I see he's drawn Henman again this week... should be another easy route to the next round eh
| SLG wrote: | I see he's drawn Henman again this week... should be another easy route to the next round eh  |
He beat Henman yesterday in a tough match. That's Murray 3 Henman 0
He should have a much easier match today - ROGER FEDERER!!
Andy Murray has just BEATEN Roger Federer, World No.1 in straight sets 7-5 6-4
| Reluctant Hero wrote: | Andy Murray has just BEATEN Roger Federer, World No.1 in straight sets 7-5 6-4  |
Absolutely BRILLIANT!
Well done Andy!
No doubt he's 'British' today.
A few stats to put Murray's win into perspective
BEFORE THIS FEDERER HAD...
Won 55 straight matches in North America
Only been beaten by one player (Rafael Nadal) this year
Not lost in straight sets for 194 matches (when Gustavo Kuerten beat him in May 2004)
Reached 17 successive finals (one short of Ivan Lendl's record)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/4800797.stm
my favourite bit of that article:
| Quote: | | Murray's new coach Brad Gilbert said afterwards: "The best four words in tennis are: game, set, match, Murray - and that's what we heard. |
Murray did well again last night.
The 40 degree heat and the fact that he has played so much tennis in recent weeks were really beginning to show, but he still managed to manufacture a way to win against American Rooby Ginepri.
Next up is Andy Roddick.
He looked as if he was running on empty (more than usual) in last night's game, so I would be surprised if he will manage to beat Roddick again. Here's hoping though.
The report of last night's match can be read at
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5261576.stm
I saw it on Sky Sports Xtra and he did look out of it towards the end but made an amazing comeback to win the third set.
Well done Andy.
Unfortunately, Murray was not able to beat Roddick, but his good form over the last year has seen him jump into the world top 20.
He is also seeded for next week's US Open and will play a qualifier in the first round.
Poor Tim Henman If he gets past Rusedski in the first round, it is most likely that he will face Federer in the second.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tennis/5277196.stm
Murray is playing qualifier Robert Kendrick in the opening round of the US Open.
In their previous meeting, Murray won 6-0 6-0.
Let's hope for more of the same
Andy Murray has just destroyed this Italian guy Di Mauro in the second round in the US Open 6-0 6-1 6-1. Chris Bailey has just described his display as a "masterclass"
He now plays number 10 seed Gonzalez in round three.