darkside
bannockburn 2006
For further information on the above http://www.bannockburnday.com/
There will also be a memorial service at 2pm. Assemble at the Heritage Centre car-park at 1.30pm, there then follows a wreath laying service and speeches with Ken Shirra Grand Prior of the Scottish Knights Templar.
Following the march and rally there will be entertainment at the Tartan Arms, which includes Albannach, the Bannockburn Band and Gaberlunzie. this starts around 5pm tickets are £10 and can be booked through Alistair Walker tel. 01786 814523, for further info http://www.snp-bannockburn.org/bannockburnday.html
Carol
The SNP do themselves no favours by hi-jacking historical events for their own political purposes.
thetimeisnow
| Aventinian wrote: | | The SNP do themselves no favours by hi-jacking historical events for their own political purposes. |
You really are a tit of the highest order. Embarassing.
This event is open to everyone - why don't you come along.
He's actually talking some sense, it should be the people's day, not just the SNP. Here's hoping it's a better organised one this year.
Carol
thetimeisnow
| carol wrote: | He's actually talking some sense, it should be the people's day, not just the SNP. Here's hoping it's a better organised one this year.
Carol |
Carol - it is a people's day - everyone is welcome....
If it weren't for the SNP are other groups the day wouldn't exist.
aye well I've yet to see the Greens, SSP or any other pro-independence party on the platform I can vaguely recollect the speeches one year hardly uttering the words Bruce and Bannockburn
It's an SNP event through and through, they're the organisers.
Other than attendance, what input do other groups have?
Carol
Nice leaflet there! A pity the "Warrior Poet " spirit seems tae be a wee bit oan the wane!! Noo, if we cuid only get the Scots tae vote fer scottish leadership instead ae votin fer the foreigners tae lead our country.......................
Whits wae that onyway, loss of self belief, a lack of confidence???
BG
thetimeisnow
| carol wrote: | aye well I've yet to see the Greens, SSP or any other pro-independence party on the platform I can vaguely recollect the speeches one year hardly uttering the words Bruce and Bannockburn
It's an SNP event through and through, they're the organisers.
Other than attendance, what input do other groups have?
Carol |
If they wanted to be there they could be - they are welcome and would be allowed to speak..or if they wanted to be seen as doing there own thing they could even arrange their own rally if they so wished on the day to take part - nobody is stopping them but it would take organisation from them. The invite extends to anyone who wants to come.....
Why not post your concerns to the SNP or other groups-focus your belief for independence in a positive way.
Maybe suggest that the Independence Convention runs it next year if you feel so strongly about it.
thetimeisnow
| carol wrote: | I can vaguely recollect the speeches one year hardly uttering the words Bruce and Bannockburn
you couldn't have been listening last year
I think you will hear a lot about it this year if you attend the macartney lecture.
the time is now
Last year I was tied up with an early music festival I was partly responsible for organising, and couldn't get away on the day.
I wasn't referring to the McCartney Lecture, it was the politicians I'm referring to. No thought either when laying the wreaths, on saying that it was a few years ago, maybe things have improved since then since then.
As for hearing it at the McCartney lecture, hard not to considering Ted Cowan is a historian.
Regards
Carol
| thetimeisnow wrote: |
If they wanted to be there they could be - they are welcome and would be allowed to speak..or if they wanted to be seen as doing there own thing they could even arrange their own rally if they so wished on the day to take part - nobody is stopping them but it would take organisation from them. The invite extends to anyone who wants to come.....
Why not post your concerns to the SNP or other groups-focus your belief for independence in a positive way.
Maybe suggest that the Independence Convention runs it next year if you feel so strongly about it. |
What invite??? It took me to find publicity on the event!! I was beginning to think noone was welcome. Not all will speak unless personally invited, I'd be surprised to see if there has been an extended invitation to other pro-independence parties, either political or non-political. It always has been known as an SNP event, it would be down to the organisers to change it.
I'm quite capable of focussing my belief for independence in a positive way
Please do enlighten me regards the Independence Convention, I have yet to see much activity there, and their website doesn't say much.
Here's hoping Bannockburn Day 2006 has improved and that all goes well on the day.
Carol