Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication

Hi Folks

Hi Folks - my I'm azzuri and I'm the admin of this messageboard.

I'm 23 years old and have recently completed my Politics degree.

Hi everyone

you're a difficult one to follow!!

Ok my name's Carol, I found this link through the IF forum.

I'm a community activist, involved with 2 local heritage groups in my area. Also an active member of SnG

I'm not a member of any political party although had previously been a long term supporter, and a member of the SNP for 12 years.

Not that age matters, 44yrs old with 6 of a brood, youngest 2, eldest 20

Carol
thebullywee

Hi all.

My names Adam and i am 16. I work as a warehouse assistant which is a load of balls TBH. I am a Clyde fan and go far and wide with them (unfortunately Laughing)

I found this forum through Pie and Bovril which is a scottish football site.

Hi Adam - welcome.

Hope more folk introduce themselves on this thread soon.
kalashnikov

Hi there, i'm Matthew. I'm a 21 year old socialist from Fife. I'm not currently a member of any political organisation, I also help run the MarxismOnline.com website.

I'm an East Fife supporter too Cool
andreimack

hi

Ok Andy here,35, Scotland fan,carpenter not really that politically minded as most parties are full of liars and never stick to pre election promises anyway! best of luck with the new board Very Happy how much fun are all those smilies gonna be Razz PDT_Aliboronz_31

welcome guys.

Andy hope this site can ignite your interest in Politics with some interesting discussions.

Matthew - look forward to discussing the merits of Left-wing Politics with you (I'm guessing Marxism online is a 'Pro-Socialist' site?) Confused

Whatever gave you that idea? Wink
kalashnikov

damn, i was logged out Confused
sandmountainslim

Hello,
William Potter here, I live in Fyffe, Alabama in the Appalachia, I shall be 35 on the morrow, 18th September, my ancestors the McCurdy's and Stuarts came to America from the Isle of Bute in the 1740's and we have resided on this mountain since 1835. Glad to meet everyone and good to be aboard.
neil8r

Hi Everybody, as i'm sure you've guessed from my user name i'm Neil,

i'm 29 live in Cumbernauld at present i'm a house husband with two kids under three. I used to work on an I.T. Helpdesk.

I joined the SNP in July after deciding that i should do more than just argue on the Tartan Army message board about Independence.
Sir Duncan Balfour

Some of you should be able to guess who I am from another message board. Very Happy

If you do you will know that I love my country and its people and I am proud of its history and culture. If you did not then you do now. Razz

I am looking forward to learning more about you all here Surprised

welcome to all you guys.
Tartan Jack

introduce yourself

Hi all,my names Ian and i found this site through the "Tartan Army messageboard" website.I"m 32 and a Scotland and Swansea City fan.Hope this site picks up and does well,im not heavily into politics but i"ll die a happy man when we get independence!
jacobiker

Hiya

Hello people im Marti aka The Jacobiker, I am a former SNP active member and member of a few other clubs and associations. I love three things in life with unwilting passion My kids Scotland and Motorbikes, everything else is up for debate : )
lassy

Hello,
My name is lassy- I live in the western region of the United States. I am in to all things Scottish and love music.
I work part time at a optometrist office and do a lot of computer work.
I am so glad to have found this site, I am hoping I can learn more on Scotland..
I am looking forward to meeting all of you.
sandmountainslim

Re: Hiya

jacobiker wrote:
Hello people im Marti aka The Jacobiker, I am a former SNP active member and member of a few other clubs and associations. I love three things in life with unwilting passion My kids Scotland and Motorbikes, everything else is up for debate : )

Hello Jacobiker Cool
Folks, Jacobiker is one outstanding individual and a Scottish patriot to the core, known on SnG and several other places, a fine patriot indeed. Smile

Hi all. Andrew from Edinburgh. Found out about the site through the Independence 1st forum. SNP memeber. Look forward to seeing another pro-independence forum develop Very Happy .
Buckeye

Hello, I am from the midwest and I too, signed up to learn. I saw this link on another forum.
MiLadyCeilidh

baorbrat

Hi, i'm baorbrat, you can work that one out.

like a good debate.

Will be back "Hame" in October.

as for politics, an unreconstructed socailist.
Peat

Hi, I'm Pete. I live in Bothwell, work in Rutherglen. Scotland fan, 'Well fan.

The site looks good. Looking forward to joining in.

welcome to you all, guys!

Very Happy
chaff

Like so many others on here I am chaff, came here from the TAMB.
Mike

Well, I suppose I better say hello. I see some of the usual "suspects" from a couple other places are here. Wink

I hail from the States, Indiana specifically.

Just home from a visit to Scotland and already planning a return trip.
CALEYLAD

Hi

Hi im caleylad got a link to here from caleythistleonline.com
i dunno how political this site gonna be but im a member of the conservatives im 16 and stay in inverness

4th year student doing a politics with sociology honours degree. member of the parkhead republican flute band which is a member of the west of scotland band alliance campaigning for an united Ireland. celtic fan.

parkhead_rfb wrote:
4th year student doing a politics with sociology honours degree. member of the parkhead republican flute band which is a member of the west of scotland band alliance campaigning for an united Ireland. celtic fan.

Hi parkhead_rfb, welcome to the board. Do you mind if I ask if you are Irish yourself?

no im scottish. i take an interest in many aspects of irish life though its politics, women Laughing , music (i suggest purchasing a christy moore cd if you havent heard him Wink ) and im starting to get into the gaa as well.

parkhead_rfb wrote:
no im scottish. i take an interest in many aspects of irish life though its politics, women Laughing , music (i suggest purchasing a christy moore cd if you havent heard him Wink ) and im starting to get into the gaa as well.

Not having a dig here, but I always find it quite amazing how many folk in Scotland care more about the situation in Ireland than they do about the situation in Scotland. I know there are a lot of folk descended from Irish immigrants, but...
Big fan of Ireland myself, and do consider the Irish to be Celtic cousins of ours. I just don't understand when we have so many problems here, When we are still ruled from a foreign nation ourselves, why some folk see Ireland as so imortant that all of our own problems are relegated to the background.
Heard of Christy Moore, never listened though. My flatmates into hid GAA, rather watch the Cammanachd myself Wink . Did you see the Scotland-Ireland Shinty/Hurling match last week?
fof

Hi I'm fof
I love the bones of Scotland I think I have a lot of reading to do before I post
Question Why do so many people from abroad seem to take such a great interest in our politics? do they take as great an interest in their own countries politics?
Looks like I'll be asking lots and answering little Wink never mind we'll see how it goes Smile

welcome fof

Smile

fof wrote:
Question Why do so many people from abroad seem to take such a great interest in our politics? do they take as great an interest in their own countries politics?

Failte fof. I'm afraid I don't know the answer, but it might be the same reason that so many folk in Scotland take such an interest in Ireland, Basque county, Palestine, Cuba etc.

this thread is supposed to be light-hearted and for people to be welcomed no matter their political persuasion.

It is one of the only parts of the forum where people can say hello without worrying about someone jumping on their back and having a go.

I don't mind threads evolving - as long as they stay roughly on topic.

Almost every thread - even those within 'Scotland and Independence' are turning into an 'Ireland' thread. It can't go on for much longer. It's turning people off to the forum. Please start posting on-topic.

agree

Let's all agree to continue this subject in one or both of the current threads with a similar theme?

Azzuri might be right - it might out people off just saying hi when they join if they feel they have just walked in the middle of something.

I am going to delete a number of the posts on this thread for that very reason. If anyone has an issue with this please pm me. This thread is for people to welcome new members, nothing more.
Leathlaobhair

Hi, I'm Leathlaobhair. I'm 16 and close to finishing secondary school in the USA, looking to go to University College Dublin and maybe study linguistics or Celtic studies. I got the link from Lobscow's Celtia forum (link, i suppose). I joined the Celtic League last year and got into the history & languages of Ireland and Scotland, and that naturally spread to an interest in Wales, Cornwall, and so on. I've decided it would be important for me to understand more about Scotland as my knowing of it unfortunately hovers around Braveheart and the History Channel show about the inconsistencies of it.

I can say that as an American I find American politics to be extremely boring. In fact I was never into politics at all until I started following those of Ireland, France & the UK. A two-party system is so bland and tasteless, especially when no one is willing to take a stand on any issue for fear of offending a group of voters.

As for Scotland in particular I think it's because so many other nations have been influenced by Great Britain (read: England) and can sympathize so much with countries where there are independence movements.
Abieuan

Fàilte, Leathlaobhir.

Fàilte bhuam-sa cuideachd a Leathlaobhir.

Tut - look at yous lot with yer fancy Gaelic!

Rolling Eyes Very Happy

rs_azzuri wrote:
Tut - look at yous lot with yer fancy Gaelic!

Rolling Eyes Very Happy

Believe me, it's taken a long time to get anywhere with the language, so I'm going to use it any chance I get.

It's not the easiest of languages to learn Shocked I attempted beginners class 3 times, just didn't have the time to revise in between.

I'm fine with a 'class' environment but useless writing, thinking on the spot etc.

Carol

carol wrote:
It's not the easiest of languages to learn Shocked I attempted beginners class 3 times, just didn't have the time to revise in between.

I'm fine with a 'class' environment but useless writing, thinking on the spot etc.

I don't speak any other languages, but I do get told it is fairly difficult to learn. I'm onto intermediate classes now, and should by the end of this one be approching conversational. Hardly hearing the language outside the class is probably the most difficult part of learning IMO.
Maol.Chaluim

I'm fluent in Spanish, did French and a year of German at school. I'm studying Gàidhlig on and off. It may be because I'm used to different languages, but I would say that although Gàidhlig is difficult, it's no more so than German, possibly easier. The trick with any language is to think in the language as soon as possible, and not translate in your head.

There's a shortage of tutors through here. The Gaelic Development Officer took a secondment elsewhere and it appears to have ground to a halt Confused

Cool getting to the intermediate level.

Carol

There is a shortage here as well (at least at the beginners level). My flatmate tried to get on the beginners class, but it was oversubscribed by >100%. Something really needs to be done to help meet demand. The council seems to do nothing as far as I can see.

Now that the Gaelic Bill has went through parly all councils should have a responsibility. There is seperate funding that councils can draw down from the exec. I'll need to find out ins and outs re Gaelic Bill

Has your council a Gaelic Development Officer?

Carol
Leathlaobhair

I've been studying Irish Gaelic for a while and recently started Welsh. It's hard to get any real support for Irish around here in the USA and I'm thinking of putting it on hold until I do a course in Ireland. Then maybe I'll start Scots Gaelic, which I think might be a little easier with all the cognates & such.

carol wrote:
Now that the Gaelic Bill has went through parly all councils should have a responsibility. There is seperate funding that councils can draw down from the exec. I'll need to find out ins and outs re Gaelic Bill

I'm pretty sure Edinburgh doesn't have a Gaelic developement officer. I think some of the Gaelic development folk from the Parliament try to encourage development, but it really needs to come from the council. It seems clear to me that unless there is pressure put on the councils (most of them anyway), they won't do anything.
Has your council not tried to put someone else in place while the existing officer is away?
Seoc Colla

Ciamer a tha sibh?

'S mise Seoc Colla - se bodeach a than'am a-nis --tri feachid a h-un deug.
Rugadh agus thogagh mi ann Glasgu. (Gorbals).

I was an enthusiastic member of the SNP, but abandoned them, or, rather, they abandoned Scotland.
Seems a great board.
I'd love to see the Celtic diaspora reversed.

welcome mate Smile

Re: Ciamer a tha sibh?

Seoc Colla wrote:
'S mise Seoc Colla - se bodeach a than'am a-nis --tri feachid a h-un deug.
Rugadh agus thogagh mi ann Glasgu. (Gorbals).

I was an enthusiastic member of the SNP, but abandoned them, or, rather, they abandoned Scotland.
Seems a great board.
I'd love to see the Celtic diaspora reversed.

Madainn mhath a Sheoc. Fàilte gus a’ bhòrd. Am bheil thu a fuireach ann an Glaschu an-dràsta?

Can I ask if you have left politics completely after leaving the SNP, or have you joined another party?
Seoc Colla

Feasgar math, a' SLG.
Tha mi fureach ann an Glasachu fhasad.

(cha fios agam, gu bheil ' fhasad' tha ceart).
Cha robh partaidh political agam, idir idir.

awrite, c'mon smart arse - translate for all us plebs. Smile
Hazel

Introducing Myself?

I am Hazel from the center of USA. My mother was a Douglas. Need I say more? I love reading the history of Scotland and watching what the Scots are doing for their country these days. I hope to enjoy the threads here and learn more. Hazel

Re: Introducing Myself?

Hazel wrote:
I am Hazel from the center of USA. My mother was a Douglas. Need I say more? I love reading the history of Scotland and watching what the Scots are doing for their country these days. I hope to enjoy the threads here and learn more. Hazel

Welcome to the board Hazel. Hope some of the debate isn't too fractious Laughing
Seabird

Hello to all,

I am from the US, a representative with the Leonard Peltier Defense Committee and very active with the International Movement for Political Prisoners. I am an Irish American and follow the political arena in Ireland very closely. I am far from where I want to be on my historical knowledge of Ireland but do try to learn on a daily basis so my posts will be well informed. If I am not sure then I TRY to stay quiet, Laughing sometimes that is hard. Wink

I am here because I know absolutely nothing about Scotland and thought this would help verse me with your country. So please be patient with me and remember the only stupid question is the one unasked.
Hazel

Indiana

Mike wrote:
Well, I suppose I better say hello. I see some of the usual "suspects" from a couple other places are here. Wink

I hail from the States, Indiana specifically.

Just home from a visit to Scotland and already planning a return trip.

Mike, I grew up in Indiana. Where are you? Hazel - now in Missouri but feel like on Ben Nevis. Ten inches of snow and temperature of 3°F. I think that is about -16°C. Brrrrr.
Hazel

revise

carol wrote:

Carol

Speaking of languages, my next foreign language study will be British. In America, "revise" mean change, redo, edit, make over. In UK, it apparently means "review".

Thank goodness for "British English from A to Zed". Hazel
Hazel

Gaelic Development Officer

SLG wrote:
carol wrote:

I'm pretty sure Edinburgh doesn't have a Gaelic developement officer. I think some of the Gaelic development folk from the Parliament try to encourage development, but it really needs to come from the council. It seems clear to me that unless there is pressure put on the councils (most of them anyway), they won't do anything.
Has your council not tried to put someone else in place while the existing officer is away?

Maybe a visit to Wales to see how they do it? I don't think there is another country anywhere that works harder to spread its langugage. We are overwhelmed with sources and with contacts in Wales to guide us. I understand that, in Wales, there are a multitude of classes and one special school in the north.

Rhyfeddol. Marvelous. Hazel
James N

Hello everybody - I'm James, 18, from Glasgow, SSP member and activist

Hi James, welcome - hope you can contribute to the discussions here. Smile
Seabird

rs_azzuri,

Who is your signature quote from??? I really like it, yes very nice indeed.

It's from the 1320 Declaration of Arbroath, Scotland's version of the 'Declaration of Independence'.

It is thought that the American Declaration of Independence was based heavily on the Declaration of Arbroath, Scotland's declaration of Independence from England that was literally a letter sent to the then Pope.
Maol.Chaluim

The Declaration of Arbroath wasn't a declaration of independence, since England hadn't conquered Scotland, but at the time was trying to. The Wars of Independence, as they're called, were about maintaining Scottish independence, not achieving it.
delescluze

I hope that this is the right place to say hello to the forum. I found it on an independence website and like what I see. Greetings to you all.

j

Hi james, I'm an SSP member and activist from Cumnock. This is a good forum, you will enjoy it, lots of healthy criticism of the SSP and lots of good debates.

delescluze wrote:
I hope that this is the right place to say hello to the forum. I found it on an independence website and like what I see. Greetings to you all.

Glad you like the forum delescluze Very Happy . Welcome to the board.
Gung-ho

Gung-ho a commited nationalist and republican and a Falkirk supporter for my sins. I hope i can add something to this board.

Good to see you here Gung-ho. Hope you enjoy the forum.
wisnaeme

Ciamar a tha a h-uile duine? My name is Tom,originally from North Lanarkshire, lived in various places in Scotland before becoming an economic exile in England.I sent myself tae Coventry.I have lived here for 30 years but that hasn't prevented myself from foraying south o the border to my homeland to cause some mischief tae our political lairds and masters.I am a bit of a rebel with a Nationalistic bent.I was a bit of an activist for good causes but I am now semi retired.I still remember enough to know how tae smile and be sarcastic to a polis man without being lifted fer it and how to be an affront to their lordship's dignity in court without serving time fer contempt of court.
Mise le meas, Tom.
Nina

wisnaeme wrote:
I still remember enough to know how tae smile and be sarcastic to a polis man without being lifted fer it and how to be an affront to their lordship's dignity in court without serving time fer contempt of court.

What do you say then Tom, wisnaeme??
Just kidding!! Wink Welcome!

Failte Tom. Tha mise dìreach sgoinneil tapadh leibh! Bhuannaich mo sgioba an-diugh Very Happy A bheil Gàidhlig gu leòr agad?

Alright everyone? The Wolf here from the high country...well west lothian actually..its high enough for me though cos i suffer fae vertigo PDT_Aliboronz_08 ..ha ha.
I was directed to your forum by a friend and it looks a good one,plenty going on.
I look forward tae reading through all the posts an gettin` ma tuppence worth in as weel.I forgot ...ma names Chid an` i work in child care/education.

welcome Wolf. Smile
Nina

Welcome Wolf, good to see ye Laughing
wisnaeme

SLG wrote:
Failte Tom. Tha mise dìreach sgoinneil tapadh leibh! Bhuannaich mo sgioba an-diugh Very Happy A bheil Gàidhlig gu leòr agad?

Tapadh leibh "SLG".Tha mi ga h-ionnsachadh.Moran taing,Tom.

wisnaeme wrote:
Tapadh leibh "SLG".Tha mi ga h-ionnsachadh.Moran taing,Tom.

Mise cuideachd Tom Very Happy
ME

Re: Hi Folks

rs_azzuri wrote:
Hi Folks - my name's Russell and I'm the admin of this messageboard.

I'm 23 years old and have recently completed my Politics degree from Dundee University.

oops this ansers my nosey question
deleted noo
me saw u elsewhere
helllo admin Laughing
Gaags

Hello I am Graeme, currently staying in Edinburgh, erm ...
Hello!!

Hi Gaags/Graeme - welcome to the messageboard.

Hope you can contribute positively here.

Smile

Gaags wrote:
Hello I am Graeme, currently staying in Edinburgh, erm ...
Hello!!

Hallo Gaags! Hows it going??? Welcome to the fastest growing Scottish discussion forum on the net!

well - scottish politics discussion forum.

Smile
Nina

Hello there Greame, welcome Laughing
the bard of keppoch

hi everyone,angus james macD here,just your average man off the street,
Nina

Hello to you too Angus James MacD.
Do you like it off the street? Laughing

An official welcome to you then James! Hope you enjoy the forum.
Bigchap

Hello people, i'm a local govt enforcement officer (no, not the polis) and i work in Fife, but live in Glasgow.

Hello to you all!

shakng2
Nina

Hello BigChap, welcome Laughing

welcome Big Chap. Smile
True Scotsman

Welcome to Our-Scotland Big Chap.

I'm not much for these "Hello, my name is..." threads, but what the heck.

My real name is Neil and I am the Honorary Convenor of Independence First, the campaign for a referendum on independence for Scotland. I work at drilling directional (i.e. non-vertical) wells for the oil and gas industry and I am currently in Gabon, West Africa. I have worked in many different places and right now West Africa (anywhere south of Nigeria and north of South Africa) is my stamping ground. I always go back to Scotland for my days off.

I thought I'd drop in and add my tuppence-worth to some of your political and historical threads. I will probably only be an occasional poster, but you never know.

www.independence1st.com

Thanks for popping in anyway Neil - you're always welcome.
kathyv

Hi everyone! Nice to meet more folks to visit with!

Cheers, Kathyv

Hai Kathyv, nice tae meet ye! Dinnae be a stranger. Very Happy

wit's the web address af yer forum?? Ah dinnae ken it.

BG dwarf
Nina

Hello IF Convenor and KathyV, welcome! Laughing

Awricht there IF Convenor and Kathyv!! How goes it?

Hi KathyV welcome on board

Neil hi, good to see you in here.

Carol

Fàilte KathyV. Hope you enjoy the forum. Very Happy

Good to see you back as well Carol!

Hi kathyv, welcome to the forums.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Introductions and Communication Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads