Archive for Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Politics Discussion Forum / Messageboard - Dedicated to online discussion about Scottish Politics and an Independent Scotland, as well as Scottish Society today. We also have a section dedicated to Banter, Sport and Recommended Sites.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Campaigns/Events...

Campaign for St. Andrews Day National Holiday......

see - http://www.petitiononline.com/STANDREW/petition.html

go on - we all want another day off work don't we!?!? Very Happy

you can see the website here -

http://www.saintandrewsday.org/

I didn't realise there was a website as well, I'd seen the rally announcement via an email and wondered where it came from.

There's going to end up being a rally on the Sat, this one on the Wednesday and the convention launch on the Wednesday evening. Rolling Eyes

Carol

carol wrote:
I didn't realise there was a website as well, I'd seen the rally announcement via an email and wondered where it came from.

There's going to end up being a rally on the Sat, this one on the Wednesday and the convention launch on the Wednesday evening. Rolling Eyes

Carol

I saw that as well. A bit of overkill really. Does anyone know who's organising the one on the Wednesday? The first name on the petition is Jeff Duncan. He set up the Save the Regiments campaign did he not?
kiltedpride

I suggest everyone wears the kilt on 30th November this year to show the Executive how much support there is for this proposal.

kiltedpride wrote:
I suggest everyone wears the kilt on 30th November this year to show the Executive how much support there is for this proposal.

I dare say there will be plenty of kilts on show for both of these rallies. Will you be on either of them yourself, Kiltedpride?
thetimeisnow

kiltedpride wrote:

I do that anyway - if you have to work at least wear your kilt to work!! Great fun!

I don't think I'd wear my arisaid doing housework Rolling Eyes

Is there any plaids out there?

I've traditional stuff I can wear to the launch and the rally on the Saturday.

Carol

Just a reminder about the 3rd annual St Andrew's day rally on Saturday.

Saturday 26th Nov

Meet from about 11am on, in the vicinity of the Hebrides Bar in East Market Street.

The march, after a mile or so, terminates at Festival Square, where there will be short speeches.

http://www.standrewsdayrally.com/
thetimeisnow

Wonder if the petition has been sent to Parliament yet?
thetimeisnow

see this has raised its head again -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/5239454.stm
x_scotsdream_x

we run a small scottish family business, and on st andrews day would love to do somethin that would wake scotland up and get everyone feeling a bit patriotic about theyr country, we need a major event or some sort, or even just loads of small events in towns throughout the country, get everyone involved, my idea was to have a scottish parade, then a ceilidh at night in the street - with scottish music ONLY being played in all pubs throughtout scotland. Whaddya's think?

x_scotsdream_x wrote:
we run a small scottish family business, and on st andrews day would love to do somethin that would wake scotland up and get everyone feeling a bit patriotic about theyr country, we need a major event or some sort, or even just loads of small events in towns throughout the country, get everyone involved, my idea was to have a scottish parade, then a ceilidh at night in the street - with scottish music ONLY being played in all pubs throughtout scotland. Whaddya's think?

Brilliant idea,it`d be guid tae see that happening in aw the wee toons an villages richt across Scotland, only thing is i think ye`d need tae drap a bomb oan this country tae waken it up. Sad
x_scotsdream_x

Aye a think ye could be right enough there!
thetimeisnow

"Before you jump to send a text, please bear in mind that each text sent will cost 50p, plus your standard network charge. You will not be charged for any future texts you may receive. But then again, at what price is another day off work?"

Workshy gits! You get more than enough holidays!
thetimeisnow

Blackadder wrote:
Workshy gits! You get more than enough holidays!

8 is enough for you?

No ... YOU!!! I'm an executive and a wealthy aristo ... I holiday when I like!

You peasants are lucky we let you have any holidays at all ...
thetimeisnow

Blackadder wrote:
No ... YOU!!! I'm an executive and a wealthy aristo ... I holiday when I like!

You peasants are lucky we let you have any holidays at all ...

Haha Laughing

Well the Scottish Parliament has now decided that St Andrew's Day is now an official holiday. But...
New national holiday will not be a bank holiday or official public holiday

and
Workers will be allowed to take the day off if they can swap the day for one of their existing public holidays: the most likely option is the autumn holiday in September or October, which varies from region to region.

However, the day off will not be made statutory and it will be up to employers to decide whether they want to give staff the time off. There has been considerable doubt as to how many private companies will do so.

Funny sort of Holiday. So they are basically saying we support the right for folk to celebrate St Andrew's Day, but it's up to you to sort out the day off work. How has this changed anything?

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/politics.cfm?id=1440362006

well it hasn't - but surely now it's only a matter of time until it's made official?

Just to fool folks in the run up to the election I think. It's either a public holiday or it ain't.

Our Scotland - www.our-scotland.org Forum Index -> Campaigns/Events...
Our Scotland Hit Counter 'Top Scottish Websites' - www.our-scotland.org Scottish Top Site - Topsites Top 100 Scottish Websites Our Scotland Forums Critical Acclaim ~ Politically Progressive Top Sites Tartan Army Topsites View Site Stats Our Scotland Blog Scottish Politics Scottish Lads